You are here: HomeBusiness2016 05 03Article 435652

Chinese company sacks 180 workers on May Day

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Kwamea 8 years ago

This is common in all Asian companies operating in our country today with the government doing nothing about it.We have slave masters operating in our country with impunity.

• Grammarian 8 years ago

Terrible English again..

• ghanaman 8 years ago

@Grammarian. Couldn't agree with you more. Just examine the following sentence:

"They indicated that their over four months’ engagement had been characterized by maltreatment and infringement on their rights as Ghanaians ...

• CREATION 8 years ago

Who is to blame now, the journalist or the editor? What is the work of the editor?

• Hiagama 8 years ago

English is not our language so shut the fuck down. Fool

• Jake 8 years ago

English is not our mother tongue, but must we use that as an excuse to commit unpardonable grammatical error much to the embarrassment our journalists?

• give us a break 8 years ago

TERRIBLE OR NO TERRIBLE AGAIN,STAND UP FOR YOUR RIGHT.ENGLISH OR NO ENGLISH, STAND UP FOR YOUR RIGHT.THE CHINESE ARE IN YOUR LAND.BEAT THEM ALL.

• Kay 8 years ago

When such thing happens,there others will sit to call we the vulnerable citizens lazy.These investors are abusing Ghanaians yet our leaders won't step in for us. I can vehemently beat my chest that SLAVERY is still in progres ...

• pilolo 8 years ago

If you set up your own business you can do as you please but no one will use their money to employ and pay you for you to be tomfooling around. If it is not a good job no one enslaves you, leave, why are you complaining after ...

• kwadwo 8 years ago

Do you think a Chinese company in North America or Europe can do such a thing? There is something called labor laws which prohibits employers from sacking employees for lawful strike. Our leaders are a joke. This is the new f ...

• Anonymous Coward 8 years ago

In my country you have to give the workers 30 days notice. Full stop. In this my country unemployment is below 5%.
    Go see

• Fox 8 years ago

You always complain about everything. Ghanaians take everything for granted. Besides, you're very lazy. I applaud the Chinese for their actions. Next time learn lessons.

• Hiagama 8 years ago

You're Chinese. Hope you can say it in my face

• Kofi jnr 8 years ago

This is one of the greatest insults. For a Chinese to abuse a Ghanaian in his own country? Ghana has fallen apart.

• SAY IT AS IT IS 8 years ago

The government must stand firm not to defend any lazy worker in the country by complaining all the time.
    Our people are just pure lazy and thinks they must be even be paid more than the owner of the company they work for.

• Hiagama 8 years ago

Your family are the laziest in Ghana

• my mind 8 years ago

u are the biggest disappointment to humanity. i will not be surprised if u are a chines. these jokers should be sent home. speak the truth for once in ur life. pack ur things and go back home. fake people hahahahaha

• jojo1717 8 years ago

Please read your comment again!

• Grace 8 years ago

It seems people forget these workers only work for the company for four months, They are still on probation. We need to know the truth.

• anokwale 8 years ago

Many people commenting have not owned a business before do they lack objectivity.

• anokwale 8 years ago

so they lack....

• Anonymous Coward 8 years ago

I am very sure that there are many Ghanaian entrepreneurs eagerly waiting to continue where the chinese slave traders left... picking up that business and re-employing all these abused workers...

• obi 8 years ago

my brothers this guys u people should put pressure on them if not they ll over read u guys

• lampard 8 years ago

Experience is the best teacher.Anyone who have worked with the chinese will give a better account of them.I quiet remember a friend of mine who wept like a baby on phone when he was given accounts on what he was going through ...

• bemunka 8 years ago

The media got their information from one side and never verified from
    the company . That is sad and poor

• kojo, china 8 years ago

come to china and see, chinese ppl work more than 6am to 6pm. these biased newsmen should wise up! why suddenly call the company a 'a chinese company'. must we call it a chinese company to make our point clear? do u think it' ...

• Obuamah 8 years ago

Do you know how China built her economy? They sacrificed to work for peanuts, and they still do. Chinese are hardworking, working for long hours for very little remuneration. The truth is that Ghanaians are generally lazy. W ...

• Nicman@atl 8 years ago

Our love for foreign investors

• Nana Osei 8 years ago

They know their rights more than their responsibities

• Appiah Kubi 8 years ago

It's very unfortunate that our governments, previous and present cannot create jobs for its citizenry to earn a decent living.

• Kasavubu 8 years ago

Sack them and sack them again!
    Why not? Is this not Ghana? Sack them Abi. Dem no get teeth, them no get leadars, even if them get na improper fraction wey we do for primari school.
    Aa! Nobody go do nothing. Nobody go go any ...

• Kasavubu 8 years ago

where is my comment that I sent ?

• Tdot 8 years ago

Ghana must be very careful because we are becoming indebted to China. Sooner or later they will take over Ghana watch. All the grants they are giving Ghana is not free.

• michael abidjan 8 years ago

We 'll bigin to kill them one by one wach n see foolish with small penis like my thumb with bad odor