Salary workers can never be rich - Torkornu

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Paapidi 9 years ago

Not only in Ghana but everywhere in the world. Like the say in the good old USA: "9 to 5" will never make you rich.

• Mr Objective 9 years ago

Absolutely true ooo! The truth can be bitter but it's still the truth.

• OBRONI 9 years ago

also add stop looking for being rich !

why can't workers just look for a good job and regular income like the rest the world instead of always looking how to become (short term) rich.
    If you are looking to become instantl ...

• brain bwoy 9 years ago

very true, show me a salary woker and i will show you frustration

• Stinky ass 9 years ago

Hahaha......you done make I laugh

• Serious,Dortmund 9 years ago

This is when a blindman with a hammer hit the nail right in one attempt.THE ROOT OF CORRUPTION starts at the civil workers

• Earl Jonea 9 years ago

Salary workers can never be rich unless they steal or engage in acts of corruption.
    If they run their own business then that is secondary income from business and not a salary

• Nors 9 years ago

This is more than true. Even spiritually you cannot march up your master. You are the slave and your boss your master

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

There's NOTHING WRONG with this assertion.....1000% CORRECT!!

• Akosua B 9 years ago

What a ridiculous statement to make. Absolutely absurd! Is he saying the the CEO of Coca Cola is not/can never be rich? Earns millions of dollars per year. The CEO of Sainsburys (a supermarket in the UK) earns well over £5 m ...

• aaron 9 years ago

@Akosua.. you are been shallow with your analysis...you think the CEO of Coca Cola and Sainsbury have jobs?..They are business owners..they have a system of people working for them..thats why they are rich...you can never be ...

• Aduanaba 9 years ago

The CEO of Coca Cola is not the owner. She is also a salaried employer hired to add value to the company. Her huge salary, bonus, perks or what have you is contingent upon performance. Mr Tokornu's statement holds in cases wh ...

• Akosua B 9 years ago

Thank you Aduanaba. I don't know where Aaron got the idea from that the CEO of Coca cola is a business owner.

• Akosua B 9 years ago

@Aaron, you could have made your point without describing my analysis as shallow. As it turns out you don't know what you are talking about. The CEOs of Coca cola and Sainsburys are NOT business owners. As their titles go, th ...

• KONKONSA 9 years ago

Don't be fooled. They all hold valuable shares in the company. They belong more to the ownership band than the workers brigade. It's stunning people just don't understand corporate arrangements.

• Stinky ass 9 years ago

She is a lil kid she doesn't know the vast difference between a common ordinary salary worker and a business reckon

• kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

Akosua when someone is a C E O of a company the person is more or less a company within a company he is not a mere salary worker

• Josh Baff Osei 9 years ago

Akosua, the man's assertion is for the average Ghanaian or African.
    Using UK is out of the equation, they work with the minimum wage and the economy reflects their income. Because average British with low salary gets support ...

• Stinky ass 9 years ago

Akosua....where have you seen a salaried worker becomes rich.? Those you mentioned are not ordinary salaried workers but business people and don't be deceive that being paid monthly can make you rich, it's a lie unless you st ...

• Kwame USA 9 years ago

My father quit his job in Ghana and started selling commodities at Kejetia to be able to send us to the USA for university and now he has been able to send 5 kids to the USA.

Getting a monthly salary will never make you ri ...

• I be your paddy 9 years ago

U have spoken the truth. God bless you. Every person in Ghana want to be rich. The civil servant want to be richer than the businessman and demand more commission and percentage of bribe than what the businessman wants for hi ...

• i am a fool and you are a fool!!!!! 9 years ago

YOU HAVE SPOKEN WELL!!! I WISH YOU ARE MY DAD OR YOU ARE IN MY FAMILY!!!!

100000000000000000000000000000% RIGHT

• De man 9 years ago

Thank u.ONly God can make salaries workers rich not government

• yaw 9 years ago

This is perfectly true, I am a teacher in a senior high school in Ghana

• Wofa Kyei Uk 9 years ago

True talk, no mistake sir, we will try to be on our own. Start it somewhere small. It will become BIG

• Gyimeh 9 years ago

I totally agree with you.

• Kwaku 9 years ago

I don't think so. It depends on the sector u find yourself. Some salary workers are actually rich.

• Mississippi 9 years ago

Can't agree with u more, but some can corrupt d system in their favor other than that u cannot be a salary worker n build mansions n drive expensive cars

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

how does a sports minister own a stadium?

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

1000000000000000000000000%%%% truth .
    Intoning I can see you want to be poor , so be it for you.

• KARIM ALHASSAN, SWEDEN 9 years ago

Totally false. Are Mps, Ministers, DCEs, Managers of public banking institutions, Board chairmen, Director Generals of State corporations not salary workers?. Are they rich or not?. Anyway, How do you measure richness

• Akosua B 9 years ago

Thank you!

• payoola 9 years ago

Massa true talk to some extent because there are some salary workers who are building mansions all over and what will say about that.

• Kwame USA 9 years ago

If a salary worker puts up a mansion either

1. They have a side business
    2. They are using dubious means

• payoola 9 years ago

Haaahaahaa for point number 2 de3 thats what somebGhanaians are masters on.

• KM 9 years ago

Very true. I was in banking for 2yrs but now that i am doing smtin for myself i clearly notice the difference. Even a week's earning can pay for 3 or 4 months salary. Ghanaians lets use our brain.

• palmwine tapper 9 years ago

What are you doing please share with us.

• OWUSU 9 years ago

GREAT. BITTER TRUTH

• Socrates 9 years ago

Daddy u have spoken well. These r de kind of people we need.

• Adaansi 9 years ago

U cannot be more than true

• Citizen General 9 years ago

It is often said that: "Looking somewhere is better than looking in the air". So we all wished we were fixed into some where and also be managing with whatever megar salary we get so we will be comfortable as you put it. And ...

• Richdad 9 years ago

You have hit the nail right on the head salary workers are even too lazy to think for themselves. Thank you.

• Cliff 9 years ago

Mr Torkornu you are 100% correct. Akosua B or whatever you call yourself you are very shallow minded CEOs all over the world are not paid salaries as ordinary poor workers, they are on contracted sums of money. How many CEOS ...

• Akosua B 9 years ago

@Cliff, when you start to insult it means you realize you are losing the argument. Aduanaba and Kwaku support my view. So you are saying that because CEOs negotiate their salaries, they are not employees. Now who is the idiot ...

• Django 9 years ago

Pls stop arguing on things you don't understand. CEO,s of the said company you mentioned are always hired and their salary??? Are discussed and fixed for a particular time in accordance to his or her performance, even if the ...

• Bullsh*t 9 years ago

So is that the same strategy he used by collecting people's moneys for his tilapia business and now refusing to pay investors after over a year. He is just a dupe who doesn't earn the right to talk about been rich without squ ...

• Kofi Yaro 9 years ago

CEO'S receive stock options and highperformance bonuses. These are not available to ordinary employees.
    Stock ownership is equivalent to owning part of the business.Akosua you have to make that distinction.

• Akosua B 9 years ago

I get your point @Kofi, but other employees - eg cashiers at the bank,do get bonuses. Some companies offer stock options to their employees too. Fact is these are ALL employees and receive salaries. Torkornu should have made ...

• Same person 9 years ago

In all you just need a salary to stand on then you do the rest by yourself. If you don't have a salary work it is not easy to stand up with a new business from scratch.

• Cliff 9 years ago

There we go again, you made mentioned negotiated salaries by CEOS that is even enough to rest point. Thank you MADAM FINANCE MINISTER.

• Akosua B 9 years ago

@Cliff, you have demonstrated that you don't have the ability to think. Let me give you a little bit of education - for free.
    The CEOs are the high end of the spectrum. There are all kinds of workers from the very lowly by- ...

• Miss E 9 years ago

I agree wid him......one must create a system...to bcome..rich ..

de old system whr we fnsh school..and look up to govt....for work..is passed child bearing...

we need to fink outside de box........

Yu can start a bi ...

• Stinky ass 9 years ago

Everybody knows salary worker can't be rich because you bankers make money out of anyone ignorant enough to believe saving at bank is good which is not good because those money that they save monthly at the bank instead they ...

• Kenny Rogers 9 years ago

another idiot and mediocre creature...if we have peoples like this,how can we even succeed...l will redraw or close my account with this bank if l were having account with them....total shit....which told u salary workers can ...

• Akosua B 9 years ago

@Kenny, you see that unfortunately the majority of the comments here side with the 'idiot'. Any wonder the majority of our population feel they have to steal or be corrupt before they can get rich? We are doomed.

• Stinky ass 9 years ago

The laws of being rich were not written by poor or ignorant people but by rich men and if you don't strive for it you not going to be rich. There's is a vast difference between a business man and a common salary worker. A bus ...

• Akuvi 9 years ago

Unless they join NDC.