What has Mahama got to say about this solid proof of incompetence. It is only in Ghana that we expect dead goats to improve the economy.
Moses Tetteh Dzaga 10 years ago
Where is Nigeria, the largest economy in Africa.
KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago
You thinking about Nigeria, have you been there? They are not joking like we do. Go to Their airport in Lagos and see how many airlines are landing per minute. You fool you sit in you stupid Ghana talking shit. I am Ghanaian, but I say it how it is.
Ghanaba 10 years ago
Some of these idiots here cannot see past those second rated overpasses and third rated malls in Accra.Not too long ago we were touted as a success story in the developing world with potentials that made people far and near envy us.Looking now at our shrinking economy and chaotic security atmosphere we have now become the pity and charity case of the developing world.Only president Dumsor can call this progress and only n idiot will accept it.
BB 10 years ago
Mahama and Asiedu Nketiah are now so proud. They have achieved something, which is drive in reverse gear.
In 4 years time after mahama in 2020, then Ghana would be first from the bottom.
Congrats NDC.
Mahama and Asiedu Nketiah are now so proud. They have achieved something, which is drive in reverse gear.
In 4 years time after mahama in 2020, then Ghana would be first from the bottom.
Congrats NDC.
BEN 10 years ago
Some of you readers must think out side the box. The report did not say Ghana's economy ranked 14th. It says on competitiveness oooooo, otherwise Nigeria would have been raked highest because it the the largest economy. The question you should be asking is where do we rank on GDP growth basis. These journalist are useless with their misleading headline
Private Ajet 10 years ago
Ben: You should be thinking _inside_ the box. Only 3 readers have commented so far. And the survey is not about GDP growth, it's about competitiveness. Read it again.
Nana Kofi 10 years ago
WE MUST STOP EXCUSING THE INCOMPETENCE OF OUR ELECTED PARTY AND OFFICIALS, OTHERWISE OUR GHANA WILL BECOME A FAILED STATE. The quote below from the article is NOT an NPP, CPP, PPP, NDP propaganda. We whitewash its INHERENT lessons at our peril.
"A critical scrutiny at the report shows Ghana performed unsatisfactorily under the basic requirement category. With a barometer of 7, the economy scored 3.9 in institutions, 3 in infrastructure, 3.4 in macroeconomic environment, and 4.5 in health and primary education.
According to the report, the quality of institutions has actually been deteriorating"
REVELATION + RATIONALITY = TRUTH 10 years ago
This fire service you call economy. Not even enough water to quench the fire.
Yellow man 10 years ago
Even if this survey is based on competitiveness of our economy we still slipped in point.I just dont get it,what must happen to us for us to wake up from this slumber?Because each time these sort of international institutions give us low grade some of still believe that political affiliation or should I say political party comes first before ghana.Just imagine a country like Rwanda been more competitive on the global market than ghana and yet some still think we must stick to status quo.I dont wether it's simple apathy or we are just dumb because there's no way we could sit down and make things fall apart.
Private Ajet 10 years ago
Ghana will not cease regressing economically until the pain gets too hard to bear. There is no effective management of affairs, and no sign of one on the horizon. There is no answer to your question, until the begging bowl economic strategy no longer works.
de maria 10 years ago
Ghanains are just dumb. They like to tickle themselves. Speak twi in schools and still think you can be competitive globally
fr 10 years ago
what do you know about language and education? who told you that the language you speak is the basis of your competitiveness.
Bright Boadu 10 years ago
IS CORRUPTION PART OF THE PROBLEMS FACING GHANA AND AFRICA AS A WHOLE? WHAT IS THE WAY FORWARD?
Kaakyire 10 years ago
UPDATES FROM TANZANIA POST ELECTION ACTIVITIES
Last weekend they were opening parliament and there was a state dinner planned for all guests that was going to cost about 300m. President Magulufi cut the budget to 25m and ordered that the rest be taken to buy hospital beds for Muhimbili they got 300 beds and mattresses and 600 bed sheets from that money.
On 23rd Nov 2015 he announced that there will be no official ceremonies for Independence Day on 9th December, the money is to be used for more pressing issues and the day should instead be spent cleaning up our environment.
On Saturday 21st nov 2015 a group of 50 people were about to set off for a tour of commonwealth countries (don’t know for what) but President Magulufi cut that list down to 4 people, saving government 600m in tickets, accommodation and per diems
No more foreign travel, embassies will take care; if it’s necessary to go, special permission must be sought from him or Chief Secretary
No more 1st class and business class travel for all officials except President, Vice, and Prime Minister.
No more workshops and seminars in expensive hotels when their so many ministry board rooms available.
President Magulufi asked how come engineers are given V8s when a pick-up is more suitable for their jobs.
No more sitting allowances, how the hell are you paid allowance for a job which you have a monthly salary; that also applies to MP’s.
President Magulufi has literally pressed the reset button; returning Tanzania to default factory settings, because that was the TZ Nyerere left us with.
On the day after he was brought to power, in the morning as State House officials were showing him round he decided to take a walk to ministry of finance, told them to get their act together, asked why some employees weren’t in office (ever since then the traffic jam in mornings has become worse) and ordered TRA to scrap all tax exemptions, everyone must pay taxes especially the big guys
President Magulufi went to Muhimbili Hospital unannounced and walked thru the worst parts that they keep hiding from important visitors he fired the director, fired the hospital board and ordered that all machines that weren’t working (so that people go to private hospitals owned by some doctors) to be repaired within 2 weeks otherwise he fires even the new director; the machines were repaired in 3 days
Finally, last week when going to officially open parliament President Magulufi didn’t go by plane, drove the whole 600km from Dar to Dodoma.
President Magulufi has reduced the size of the presidential convoy, even reduced the size of presidential delegation that travels with him
President Magulufi chose a Prime Minister we haven’t heard of before, a guy with reputation for hard work and no corruption all the big guys we expected could be PM have been let wondering what hit them.
His motto is: Hapa Kazi Tu
After President Magulufi visited Ministry of finance and Muhimbii Hospital without announcing it is said the port (most corrupt, delaying, thieving officials) were all of a sudden the most efficient place. No loads are missing, things are done quickly and that habit of forcing for a bribe so that your container is released is no more.
Oh, they say when he was confirmed as winner people started congratulating him and wanting to bring gifts to his place he turned them back, saying he will receive all congrats over the phone, nobody should visit him.
All individuals/firms that bought state companies that were privatized but haven’t done anything (20yrs later) are to either revive the industries immediately or hand them back to the government
………………………
steph 10 years ago
Now that's what we call a leader, not yours truly who only knows how to make noise.
ZAC 10 years ago
People Mahama is Ghana's problem,because he is incompetent.
Mahama has borrowed 100 billion cedis in seven years and we have nothing to show for. 2016 cannot get here soon enough to show him the exit door.
KANAWU KASABA 10 years ago
You cannot expect or have any other outcome than this one given that the country is being governed by near brain-dead incompetent bunch of clueless nincompoops.
Socrates 10 years ago
better than Nigeria and Ivory Coast
Better than 50% of countries in the world or 38 countries in Africa. There is more room for improvement. We are on course, the leading light within the West Africa sub-region
Socrates 10 years ago
Joe Turkey 10 years ago
Oh, Mahama. And he is expecting Ghanaians to vote him back into recklessness and incompetency
uncle boo 10 years ago
All the indicators have been brought out to tell us that GHANA,S ECONOMY is in SHAMBLES.And it constitutes INCOMPETENCE.Mahama,s economic team as well as his political advisers including his party executives are making him naked.Instead of telling him the truth of the bad shape of the state economy they'll just tell him you are popular so tour the country and see.He goes out with rallys he sees people bussed from all corners of the country cheering him, meanwhile the same people use this programmes to chop money.Mahama should find time and mingle with the masses without been identified then he will know what people are saying.They know Mahama is loosing grounds yet he is been given wrong hopes. Recent election must be an important issue for NDC to tackle ,they should seek very good statisticst to educate them about the 5percent NO voters.They are not bothered to understand the issue of 50+1.Instead they are praisng themselves for getting 95percent meanwhile the target was 100percentTHANK YOU.
Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 10 years ago
PRO Patria! Ghana my Motherland paa nie? Useless mahama. Trumu useless!
Forecaster 10 years ago
This is what Rawlings NDC should have done as a legacy for the June 4th. Now what do we see? Corruption here and there. Everybody is eating with both hands. Even a messenger at the flag staff house has a filling station. OMG. Can Akofo Addo be the Messiah? Otherwise lets forget about so call democracy and go the Millitary way. That suits us.
Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago
This what corruption can do to a country.Rwanda,Mauritius,Madagascar,Morocco and all the countries mentioned in the report have not got a third of natural resources we have. Since our independence in 1957 which makes us 58years old as a nation,Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah the founding father of our nation Ghana and his patriotic and gallant men who had 9years in government and built the nation until the demise of Osagyefo in 1966,Ghana has never been the same.We are paying dearly for our hatred of Osagyefo and our backwardness and tribalism.Forty nine years of Ghana fifty eight years of nation hood has been in the hands of criminal soldiers and political prostitutes, greedy bastards,college trained illiterates without common sense and character.Uncivilised bushmen are appointed in higher office because they have PhD,UAC, UTC etc,etc.All institutions are upside down, corruption is normal where judges take bribes from armed robbers.Discipline in the country is no more.Elections are rigged,tax payers money is spent to bribe the voters,like what happened in the last election when Mahama lost the election and the judges as usual were bribed by Mahama and his bunch of criminals so that the criminals could do what they do best,-empting the coffers at the expense of the majority of the people.The criminals and the greedy bastards will always go to the IMF and World Bank criminal institutions with cup in hand.These two criminal institutions always prey on the mentality and ignorance of the corrupt leaders and bankrupt government in Ghana and elsewhere in Africa.So long as these idiotic,unpatriotic coconut heads,zombies who can even sell their mothers for peanut,the people are doomed.The people in power in Ghana are laughing stock,simplitons,egocentric and above all,ThieveS.Wake up my people and get rid of these deviants who have brought so many suffering on Ghanaians.Ghana's image is in tatters.Stand up for your right,Ghana is the only country you have-Nana Egyir Aggrey Snr citizen
Nana Kofi 10 years ago
Unfortunately, many Ghanaians are NOT old enough to have witnessed Gold Coast, the struggle for independence, the HARD WORK and SACRIFICES of our leaders and appointees which positioned our Ghana high on MOST international indicators.
Yes in our Ghana now, PhD holders and even Medical Doctors ABANDON THEIR PROFESSION FOR POLITICS. THAT'S WHERE THE LOOT IS!!
DAYTON 10 years ago
our so called profs.are nt hlpin us @ all.tlkin abt Education sector de3 na ase3 koraaa.saa maame no callin herself prof,she shld b ashame of herself as a minister.Fake country Ghana
the crusader 10 years ago
U see yourselves MISMANAGING GHANA? IDIOTS cROOKS THIEVES MURDERES MAIMERS ABONSAMFO NKONFEM BRI GAGE GOD PUNISHES U ALL.
You thinking about Nigeria, have you been there? They are not joking like we do. Go to Their airport in Lagos and see how many airlines are landing per minute. You fool you sit in you stupid Ghana talking shit. I am Ghanaian, ...
Some of these idiots here cannot see past those second rated overpasses and third rated malls in Accra.Not too long ago we were touted as a success story in the developing world with potentials that made people far and near e ...
Congrats NDC.
Some of you readers must think out side the box. The report did not say Ghana's economy ranked 14th. It says on competitiveness oooooo, otherwise Nigeria would have been raked highest because it the the largest economy. The q ...
WE MUST STOP EXCUSING THE INCOMPETENCE OF OUR ELECTED PARTY AND OFFICIALS, OTHERWISE OUR GHANA WILL BECOME A FAILED STATE. The quote below from the article is NOT an NPP, CPP, PPP, NDP propaganda. We whitewash its INHERENT le ...
Even if this survey is based on competitiveness of our economy we still slipped in point.I just dont get it,what must happen to us for us to wake up from this slumber?Because each time these sort of international institutions ...
Ghana will not cease regressing economically until the pain gets too hard to bear. There is no effective management of affairs, and no sign of one on the horizon. There is no answer to your question, until the begging bowl ec ...
Last weekend they were opening parliament and there was a state dinner planned for all guests that was going to cost about 300m. President Magulufi cut the budget to 25m and o ...
All the indicators have been brought out to tell us that GHANA,S ECONOMY is in SHAMBLES.And it constitutes INCOMPETENCE.Mahama,s economic team as well as his political advisers including his party executives are making him na ...
This is what Rawlings NDC should have done as a legacy for the June 4th. Now what do we see? Corruption here and there. Everybody is eating with both hands. Even a messenger at the flag staff house has a filling station. OMG. ...
This what corruption can do to a country.Rwanda,Mauritius,Madagascar,Morocco and all the countries mentioned in the report have not got a third of natural resources we have. Since our independence in 1957 which makes us 58yea ...
Unfortunately, many Ghanaians are NOT old enough to have witnessed Gold Coast, the struggle for independence, the HARD WORK and SACRIFICES of our leaders and appointees which positioned our Ghana high on MOST international in ...