You are here: HomeBusiness2015 07 28Article 371443

Foreigners shun Ghana; arrivals drop by 49,449 in 2014

Read Comments Comments (35)

• KANAWU? 8 years ago

WOULD NOT LIKE TO LEAVE GHANA?

• ELINAM 8 years ago

Do we have to be surprised when there's no light and the city is dark at night and filth is everywhere?
    People did not travel to your country to come get sick?
    SO WHY AUTHORITIES ARE ALARMED INSTEAD OF GETTING BUSY TO MAI ...

• ed 8 years ago

GHANA HAVE ALOT TO LEARN GHANA OFFER NOTHING TO WESTERN VISTORS ,HOTEL PRICE ARE IN THE SKY ,PRICES OF EVERYTHING IS HIGH,ACCRA STREET ARE FILTY WITH OPEN GUTTERS THAT NO ONE SEES IN EUROPE OR AMERICA,THE ACCRA BEECHES ARE D ...

• ASEM OO! 8 years ago

Why should I go to Ghana and live in darkness ?
    By voting in this inept and clueless government of NDC, Ghanaians will rue their mistake for a long time.

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 8 years ago

Folks i support all your comments and suggestions. But imagine the influx of all kind people mostly illiterates abandoning their towns and villages to come to Accra for nothing better are also the cause of filthiness in Accra ...

• Paa Nii 8 years ago

xx

• KANAWU 8 years ago

THIS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN GOVERNMENTS DEVELOP ON THE CAPITAL FOR THE "STOP-OVER BURONI" TO KNOW THAT GHANA IS BEAUTIFUL. THIS IS A COUNTRY WHERE WHEN A PUBLIC COMMITS A CRIME HE SENT OUT OF ACCRA. SINCE WE DON'T DIVERSIFY RESOUR ...

• Nee Adjei-Blebo 8 years ago

This is a very serious matter and this must be a wake-up call to those who run our tourist industry and those whose duty it is to meet visiting personnel at our airport. The Ministry of Tourism should take note. It is a rea ...

• Jasmine 8 years ago

You have to bribe your way at every turn of the way so what does anyone expect? People force you to give money everywhere and this begins right at the airport!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Yes, foreigners registered low patronage on our shores in 2014 due to the Ebola scare in the sub region as a whole and the popular ‘Dumsor’ debacle. The pulling out of the German airline, Lufthansa, come 1 October, is mor ...

• Nana Yaa Asantwaa 8 years ago

Good gad, your English is atrocious. The problem with Ghana is arrogance, ignorance, and illiteracy. Ghanaians don't know what they don't know and are too arrogant to careless. The whole country is in an embarrassing race to ...

• Jasmine 8 years ago

When immigration officials and CEPS officers demand money by force on everything and every situation, that what you get.

The corruption is way too much in Ghana. I have visited most African countries and can confess the co ...

• Asemooo 8 years ago

"Foreigners’ arrivals dropped from 547,263 in 2013 to 503,996 in 2014, a reduction of 49,449." My calculation says thats a reduction of 43,267.... Asem ooo.... simple maths. no wonder we can't get people to visit. we can't ...

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

PEOPLE DO NOT TRAVEL TO SPEND THEIR HOLIDAYS OR VACATIONS IN DARKNESS.

ASK MAHAMA WHO LOVES TO VISIT DUBAI WHETHER THERE'S ANYTHING LIKE POWER CUTS-OFF OR DUMSOR IN CIVILIZED PLACES LIKE DUBAI.

THE PROBLEM WITH GHANAIAN ...

• anokwale 8 years ago

Lights even go off at restaurants and night clubs for about 15 minutes before the generators kick in. This is quite embarrassing. People will not spend their hard earned money for that.

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

POWER SUPPLY TO EVEN GHANA'S STREET LIGHTS ONLY AT NIGHT HAS BECOME A MASSIVE PROBLEM FOR GHANA'S LEADERSHIP.

THE GAREWAY TO AFRICA INDEED.

WHAT A SHAME!!!

• Pastor Josiah 8 years ago

The drop in foreigners visiting Ghana is also due to the corrupt and bureaucratic nature of our public office system. As if we don't know what is destroying our economy, we choose to continue to live in a fool's paradise. A d ...

• Pastor Josiah 8 years ago

Bribery and Corruption is scaring foreigners away. Let us face the fact, go to the public offices and see the rot that is going on. In Ghana everything illegal have become an accepted norm. I wish I have another country, I wo ...

• james 8 years ago

Why would foreigners come to west african the first place, the only place in the world where EU and US nationals have to apply for VISA, when they can just go to Kenya, Egypt or South Africa cheaper and with no hassle from im ...

• Jimmy 8 years ago

The numbers does not tell all: 1. Most Ghanaians with foreign passports have stopped coming home due to Dumsor.The effect much needed money to spend is lacking.2.We as Ghananians need to accept that the cuntry is moving backw ...

• YEBOPOWER 8 years ago

Corruption is number one. Customs officials share visitors address with armed robbers. Secondly, dumsor is to blame with the sitting president doing nothing about it. Thirdly, Ghana sucks. All the charm is gone. Fourthly , th ...

• JOJO 8 years ago

dumso

• ABRAHAM 8 years ago

BAD ECONOMY AND BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE BECOMES UNFRIENDLY TO FOREIGNERS SINCE THEY ARE PAYING

• Kilkor 8 years ago

DuMSOR is our nightmare!it will drop more if it is not fixed

• Yaaasantewss79 8 years ago

Hotels are too expensive for a third world country. I wonder what the occupancy rates are in these hotels. You charging London and New York rates for Accra and that is ridiculous

• Iwan 8 years ago

Add doom mongers to the reasons.

• JJ 8 years ago

Corruption, bribery demands, arrogant rude treatment of foreigners, dumsor, filth, high costs, high taxes...
    Of course foreigners are going elsewhere for tourism and business where they are better received and business is ...

• De 8 years ago

Which tourist or foreign national would want to throw away hard earned money visiting a country where they cannot enjoy good services and facilities their monies' worth because of this irritating, disgusting and destructive p ...

Why are we surprise when security is poor and any one can have access to a gun.

• veronica ann adams 8 years ago

Yes and 1000's of foreigners all over the world who have and are still been scammed out of billions by Sakawa Boys and Girls wenare going to lobby all out governments to impose sanctions against ghana. Sakawa is destroying l ...

• ashawo 8 years ago

there is nothing to do in Ghana anymore.
    a country of scammers and hypocrites.

• Better Ghana no matter what 8 years ago

Ghana is just to expensive for a third world country. Hotels & Restaurants are charging way more then European providers and on top the service or food is crap. Went to more then 14 countries in Africa and Ghana has one off t ...

• Yiddana 8 years ago

Good job, Ghana should thrive to catch up with Kenya. Such data helps a lot.

• Kofi Yaro 8 years ago

A good look at the numbers showed a drop of only 6000 for non Ghanaian passport holders.
    About 39,000 of the drop are Ghanaian passport holders.
    While a big drop, not fatal.
    Reason could be Dumornay but could it be ...

• Kofi Yaro 8 years ago

I meant Dumsor.