You are here: HomeBusiness2015 07 23Article 370510

Cedi will fall soon – Economist

Read Comments Comments (44)

• K Man 8 years ago

The Cedi needs to (at this time) settle at it's natural exchange rate. If the government had any sense of urgency or strategic thinking then it should start to consider how to build the foundations that will help to restructu ...

• TOWEI 8 years ago

even zimbabwe survived, prophets of doom

• K Man 8 years ago

Look, Towei, I have been commenting on Ghana issues for ages on Ghanaweb and have also focused on ghana first. Just because your beloved NDC is flopping you think all of us should just shut up and sing hymns.

I am for Ghan ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

And who told you that he is an NDC fellow? Also, when was it that you started commenting on issues in here with such a moniker? Unless, you are using a different moniker which is the order of the day for some of you in here, ...

• Kojo-Kumasi 8 years ago

WE GHANIANS SHOULD NOT ALLOW THOSE RADIO WHAT AND WHAT PEOPLE TO SPOIL OUR COUNTRY FOR US> THIS ARTIFICIAL SYSTEM TO SPOIL THE DOLLAR WILL NOT HOLD AGAIN> GHANA NEEDS HELP AND WE ALL NEED TO HELP IN ONE WAY OR THE OTHER> NOT ...

• K Man 8 years ago

Whether or not you have followed my comments or not or can remember me or not is not the issue.

My point is that he has accussed me of being an NDC hater because I stated that NDC needs to step up and I don't think it will ...

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

Thanks, k. Man. The idiots who have no idea about economics or finance, always want to talk shit and blindly support a failed government. Anyone surprised Ghana is the 7th dirtiest country in the world? This corrupt governme ...

• Kwame Birmingham 8 years ago

Let it rain, sorry let it fall so my the pounds i sent back will increase, good for me.

• Another Thief of Baghdad 8 years ago

AAll you pray for is that the cedi should continue depreciating for you to continue harvesting your personal pprofits. God is awake not asleep so your dreams will not come to pass

• Fabs 8 years ago

He is explaining why the cedi will fall and you are accusing the economist of being a pessimist. Currencies do not rise and fall on the basis of hope but because of proper economic policy and strength.

The currency is bein ...

• Gali 8 years ago

He was explained how it will fall again. Did he explain how something can be done to restructure it again and stabilized it for the long-term? No he didnt. So of course he is pessimist. Its good to point out the problem as an ...

• Fabs 8 years ago

I understand what you are saying, but first thing any country needs is for its people to understand what is going on. Too many in Ghana don't even understand why the Cedi has jumped up and why it will come down again.

That ...

• Fabs 8 years ago

Plus he didn't even ask the question "ok, understood, but what can Ghana do". He accussed the economist of somehow wanting personal profit from it and praying for the cedi to fall....come on, that's just ignorant.

• Africanus 8 years ago

It is not his responsibility to explain anything. There are people being paid to do the job. If they have no clue how to run the country they should step down.

• ed 8 years ago

THE MAN IS NOT PESSEMIST HE EXPLAINS DUMMEYS LIKE YOU HOW THE CEDE CAN POSSIBLY CAME DOWN AGAIN

• Africanus 8 years ago

What has God got to do with this? You should worry about the clueless officials running the country, not the Economist. We did not need an economist to tell us the Cedi will fall again. Everybody knows that, even a layman kno ...

• santa 8 years ago

I wonder what some of us learn in schools. God gave us wisdom to make things right in times like these. See the angel u are seeing the problém . This is not God is asleep or awake issue. Wat can of upbringing will u give to ...

• ANKOBEA-HENE 8 years ago

Are you the one holding it? You are "Downfall people".

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

IN THE FIRST PLACE,PEOPLE TEACHING AT POLYTECHNICS ARE NOT CALLED LECTURERS BUT TEACHERS OR INSTRUCTORS.

THANK YOU.

ON THE CEDI FALL, IT IS BECAUSE, THE ECONOMY OF GHANA DEPENDS ONLY ON THE EXPORT OF COCOA AND MINERALS ...

• OKOFO 8 years ago

These doom soldiers will forever be disgraced. EEEEJOO BODOOO

• Farmer 8 years ago

Solutions are well known. Drastically cut foreign spending and boost exports. However, it is far too late now for 2016 so they started blowing lots of smoke. Starting fixes in 2017 will become a true nightmare for everyone.

• COMMON SENSE 8 years ago

GOD WILL PUNISH THIS THINKING BAD PEOPLE.

• Truth 8 years ago

He hopefully punishes all those rent a bible quote Christians who wish ill on their brethren.

• moro 8 years ago

what mr.boafo said is the truth but wat i don't understand is that the non-thinking footsoldiers of ndc always demand solution from ppl who comment on the economy,my question is do we pay our taxes to mr.boafo.foolsoldiers as ...

• COMMON SENSE 8 years ago

MORO NOBODY WILL VOTE FOR YOUR THAT SHORT MAN,STUPID GUY.

• VERDICT 8 years ago

The fact of the matter is, the fundamentals does not support the process Wampah of BoG and Terkper of MoF have been instructed by John Mahama to do to stabilize the cedi.
    It is a non-sustainable exercise and the injection of ...

• RichardBoansi, uk 8 years ago

This is a man with a great vision. His predictions towards the IMF came 2ru..He's a man of integrity. .

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 8 years ago

Kusi Boafo:

You are a liar! If you will not do what you were taught, you will fail in life. God bless you.

Sincerely,
    Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah

• Vibe 8 years ago

Sometimes we need solution frm dis economist, not only the doom that anybody in the markey can predict. We re getting tired of this cheap prediction, we shouldnot be selfish about our own mother Ghana, if u can't provides sol ...

It is written, "Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves. Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? Even so every go ...

• Truth 8 years ago

We are dealing with a situation of serious economic mismanagment and you are quoting scriptures without any relevance to the issue.

Do you self appointed men of God seriously think you have wisdom because you quote bible ...

God bless you.

Since you have referred to me as "self-appointed", scorned God's wisdom, and told me that I am "less trust worthy than the politicians", hear this.

In this season, may the living God faithfully judge bet ...

• mr amin 8 years ago

Prof kusi why predict doom for the cedi? Why, we need a strong purchesing power.

• Prof 8 years ago

Is he really an economist I pity his students if the imf policy as he is saying is adhered to by the government it will simply sustain cash flow from the government to the economy hence sustaining the cedi and definitely the ...

This idiot so called economist, where did he do his graduate studies?
    Ghana, Ghana, I weep for you. If we have such people in this country always looking for the downward trend of our currency , then I don't know what kind ...

• dr_assiamah 8 years ago

always gud at predicting d downfall but u knt gv solutions...yabr3 mo

• ChampionTek 8 years ago

Kusi Boafo is an enemy of this country.
    I

• ChampionTek 8 years ago

Kusi Boafo is an enemy of this country.

• johnson 8 years ago

Trying to fuel speculation to weaken the cedi. Oo NPP why? Dr Bawumia was doing this dirty job for NPP using pastor Otabil university. Now see this so called accountant without shame. Oooo doom monger!

• johnson 8 years ago

Trying to fuel speculation to weaken the cedi. Oo NPP why? Dr Bawumia was doing this dirty job for NPP using pastor Otabil university. Now see this so called accountant without shame. Oooo doom monger!

• diplomengineer ebenezer sackey 8 years ago

the fall of the cedi against the Dollar increases items in the ghanaian market.such as Buses etc.
    yesterday a Bus was sold at 225,000 ghanaian cedis which was 51000 dollar at 1 dollar for 4.4117647 cedis.today the Dollar sta ...

• Bell nono 8 years ago

Speculators at it again. If really you are a good citizens, you could hold your mouth for at least a moment.

• Iwan 8 years ago

Kumasi Prophet of doom we hear your poly economics.

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Ist unfortunate your analysis this How economicaly foolish you go on do your masters bid for him ,but that will not happen enemies of progress.