You are here: HomeBusiness2015 07 16Article 368963

Accra’s streetlights gobble up GH¢190million annually

Read Comments Comments (9)

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

Cities from from Los Angeles, Boston, Copenhagen, & Christchurch are all turning to smart LED streetlights, and we should do everything humanly possible to do likewise.

Cheaper and long lasting, let's go for it.

• Jojo 8 years ago

Have you people forgot that you have been charging every Ghanaian street lights on their light bills? Besides you are too lazy and weak to think and invest in civilized projects. These project should have been handle by the e ...

• Suhum Saman 8 years ago

Our leaders from any of the political parties have responsibility to see to it that our roads are well lit at night to prevent accidents. The blood of all those who perished due to the unnecessary carnage lies squarely on the ...

• Andy B 8 years ago

For the moment if some of the street light in Ghana go off and we will be getting regular power so be it. It will be better than companies to close down and workers laid off because there is not power to work.

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

Why not use photovoltaic cells? Can be done by our unemployed university graduates after receiving training.

• VICTOR CARRILLACE 8 years ago

THE HEADLINE SAYS IT ALL: PREPARE FOR HIGHER LEVY. THE QUESTION, HOWEVER, IS IF WHAT IS CURRENTLY BEING TAKEN IS WELL MANAGED.

• BlaGoDzi 8 years ago

just add the solar panels and stop going on and on and on and on.

• RASTA BANGI 8 years ago

WHY CANT WE THINK? SUN IS SHINING DAILY AND WE CANT INVEST IN SOLAR? HAABAA??

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

With dumsor all over there are no lights in Accra so how come street lights will consume as much as 16 million Ghana cedis every month? Where is this voodoo mathematics coming from? Oh, MOTHER GHANA!