You are here: HomeBusiness2015 05 23Article 359318

CEIBS Prof. disappointed in Ghana’s economic dev’t

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Balderash 8 years ago

This is not to take anything from the South East Asian countries. They had a vision. These countries allowed the government to direct their development. With Ghana, we listen to the IMF/World Bank to the letter. Some might ...

• Kofi K, 8 years ago

Truth is the Ghanaian leader starts by thinking of his family. When he is in a position, it is about how to place his or her family a place that when that position is no more he can still enjoy the same rewards. See how many ...

• Eko 8 years ago

Excellent post. Certainly more insightful an analysis than that provided by Dr Ramasamy in the article.

• Goldcoater 8 years ago

No, it is NOT the IMF, it is called, stupid and myopic leaders. Why should IMF come in if everything goes right? The folks in Ghana love to brandish degrees, feel big, steal money and don't have a clue about development, so w ...

• Dr Jay 8 years ago

Good contribution but want to add that Ghanaians do not love each other as the so called Whiteman or Caucasians do. We must put a stop to our divisive, envious and selfish ways and do the opposite. Also those countries have z ...

• TWILIGHT SPARKLE 8 years ago

Yep, that's a better analytical construct than the lame comments made by this so-called professor who thinks a skyline is the indicia for development. Nkrumah advocated the position this post takes: unity of the continent to ...

• Fo Koku - Tanyingbe 8 years ago

I ASK MYSELF, WAS THERE OPPOSITION PARTIES AS WE HAVE IN GHANA. THIS MAN IS TALKING RUBBISH. THESE ASIAN COUNTRIES HAD AND HAVE NO NEGATIVE OPPOSITION AS WE HAVE IN GHANA. EVERY COUNTRY AND REGION HAS UNIQUE SITUATION.

• Chief 8 years ago

Our leaders ,culture and thinking doesn't aid devt ..until we change this animal mentality we are going no where ..we will develop in 500 yrs time

• Eric 8 years ago

I think we can discuss and talk about any issues and which solutions will be good for Ghana BUT the FACT of the matter is that the FOOLS in Ghana heavily outnumber the wise men!!!

• Goldcoaster 8 years ago

Exactly! Sometimes you wonder if there are any wise people in Ghana.

• james 8 years ago

They are waiting for Jesus to come back and develope the country for them... lol

• ERIC, STUTTGART 8 years ago

YOU ARE VERY RIGHT! INSTEAD OF THINKING AND BEING PRODUCTIVE THEY SPEND 7DAYS A WEEK PRAYING IN CHURCH HOPING GOD SHALL SWEEP THEIR BACKYARDS FOR THEM.

• Toffey 8 years ago

....we also do not love our country. All of us! The only time we show love Black Stars are playing in a football tournament. We shout the most at churches and profess to be Christians but we are damn greedy and do not care ab ...

• most Ghanaians are fraudsters 8 years ago

The politicians are chopping all the money

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Good observations!

Paint!

Even simply painting homes regularly is a non-activity, even in Ghana's capitals.

Forget about the towns and villages!

• Dr. Appocco 8 years ago

How does a country make significant changes with persistent "dumsor"? A country can't develop without a reliable supply of energy/power. That's no rocket science!!!

• Eko 8 years ago

Not only that I know plenty if Ghanaians like myself who work in fields of technology who would like to take that expertise or new innovations to Ghana to help the country grow. However Dumsor makes it foolish to base yourse ...

• jon 8 years ago

Ghana people waist their time going about religious practices and funerals. This is where they also leave a lot of the stolen money. In developing and developed countries religion is not exaggerated like it is in Ghana and ma ...

• james 8 years ago

Spot on... religion keep Ghanian minds from inventing and creating things that can be exported. they would prefer to pray to a non existing god and than to have a developed country. Amen!

• aboa a oni dua Nyame na opra ne ho 8 years ago

In Ghana it is misplaced religion and misintepretation of the Bible.

• KANAWU 8 years ago

PROF. SORRY TO BE DISAPPOINTMENT. THE TIME YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT, WE HAD A DIFFERENT GOVT. NOW WE ARE RULED BE NDC AT NIGHT.

• KWAME DANSO-MIAMI-FLORIDA,USA. 8 years ago

THE REASON WE DO NOT DEVELOP AND RETROGRESSING IS CLEAR...CORRUPTION
    ,LAZINESS,GREED AND STUPIDITY OF GHANAIANS MOST GHANAIANS SPEND MORE TIME IN CHURCHES PRAYING OR HAVING SEX ENDLESSLY THINKING MANNER OR SOME MIRACLE WILL ...

• JAMES Y 8 years ago

Say it as it is! Shame unto Ghana! What the Professor has said should spin the heads of all Ghanaians. Rawlings was there, as President, for 19 years; what did he do? Kufuor, 8 years; what did he do? Mills/Mahama, now going 8 ...

• james 8 years ago

Rawlings made sure to empty the state coffers before leaving office. That about all he did in the almost 20 years he was in charge and some see him as a national hero lol

• Chief 8 years ago

Ok

• Akwasi Nyame Adom 8 years ago

Prof. you've said it all.Extremely shame to Ghanaian political leaders whos only aim is to acquire wealth,dress well and drive in expensive cars surrounded by filt and porverty.We need a major REVOLUTION to change the mentali ...

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

First what do Ghanaians in reality want as a nation , and do the WHITEMAN agree with them? It is very true that after our independence Ghana's economy was better than South Korea and Malaysia etc. It is because the leader Nkr ...

• Dr Jay 8 years ago

Good contribution so far but want to add that Ghanaians do not love each other as the so called Whiteman or Caucasians do. We must put a stop to our divisive, envious and selfish ways and do the opposite. Also those countries ...

• Captein 8 years ago

You said the truth and rightly so, because and because again, 1. stupid politicians who think about just power and want to remain there forever so they entrench themselves by pleasing people with petty gifts, so they become s ...

• kb 8 years ago

Most of other countries were once enslaved, colonized or occupied one time or the other. 58 years of independence is a long time for us to decide what we want as a people and work towards it. We should stop the talking and bl ...

• OKOE 8 years ago

WHAT THE PROF. IS TELLING OUR LEADERS IF THEY CARE TO LISTEN IS THAT, WE ARE NOT PROGRESSING DESPITE OUR RESOURCES. IF RAWLINGS AND THE ARMY WANT TO LISTEN, THEN THEY MUST READ WHAT THE PROF. JUST WROTE OR SAID. YOU HAVE COLL ...

• PEKI TUMU 8 years ago

The reasons are simple. Cultural differences are one such reason. The governments of Ghana have also not been singularly minded about their objectives as Malaysia, for example has been

• kweks 8 years ago

Prof di wu fie asem!

• Alaji bature 8 years ago

The citizens are timid with a lot of negativity,whiles the leaders selfish and greedy both in the civil and govts services

• aboa a oni dua Nyame na opra ne ho 8 years ago

Did you hear this? The guy is not an NPP so listen carefully.

• PAPSON 8 years ago

We do not even have enough to eat, Ghanaians are hungry. There must be a complete overhaul of the entire system. God bless Ghana.

• Ibn Batuta 8 years ago

Simple, foreign companies are making all the money and shipping it overseas without reinvesting it in Ghana. Unless we force these companies to reinvest in the local economy, our development will be very anemic.

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 8 years ago

The reason is simple , we have a deficit in leadership in Ghana.
    That kind of person who has a vision of where we need to be, selfless enough to sacrifice fiends, relationships and even family to get us there.
    Someone who w ...