The sea can get Ghana out of the power crisis - Kofi Anokye tells VRA

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Fanti Man 10 years ago

Salt water.. and then diverting sea.. you cant even manage ordinary Korle Lagoon. Country of Fools and jorkers

• ghanaman 10 years ago

You are lost man. It is so simple tapping water from the sea. You are alway quick at commenting but you rarely make sense from.

• CONCERN 10 years ago

WHEN MR.ANOKYE HAVE LOVE FOR THE COUNTRY OTHER IDIOTS HAVE LOVE FOR TILAPIA

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

If it is that simply why are all countries with sea not doing it. Do you know amount of energy you need to tap the water and pump and fill the Volta ---

• ATO KWAMENA, USA. 10 years ago

MR. ANOKYE YOUR IDEA IS BRILLIANT AND THERE IS LOGIC IN IT BUT HOW DO WE DO THAT.CHINA HAD ALREADY STARTED PULLING WATER FROM THEIR RIVERS TO THE FAR DRY INTERIOR TO CULTIVATE CASH CROPS SO THIS IDEA TO ME IS LOGICAL.THERE IS ...

• dk 10 years ago

Energy cost required by the pumps n the time involved to calculate the required pump head can in itself build an entirely new generating station. It also totally ridicules the law of energy conservation

• CA 10 years ago

So many countries have taken advantage of the sea water and have made it a healthy alternative to the regular source of water. I believe this is a very simple straight forward idea that can be implemented if we want longterm ...

• Abena 10 years ago

Where are scholars, the engineers the bio chemist e.t.c.
    All of them have become administrators and sitting in their offices having meetings and traveling for per diem.
    They are not using their profession to help build or i ...

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

Yes Ghana is one of the few African countries that has being thinking outside the box. We have a running plant now using sea water to provide portable water for the people of Nungua. A project is underway at Ada to use the ti ...

• Matt 10 years ago

worth trying...hope it works

• Living Stone 10 years ago

those who don't reason are talking about tilapia. we can't even feed o
    ur family all because of dumsor and you are there talking about the survival of fish where as human bieng are dieing. please let be serious, and forget a ...

• Plasma Kote 10 years ago

Not at this time, a lot of research is required, there is more involved than just WATER, Salt Water / Fresh Water.

• APUU 10 years ago

Who tells you this is news to VRA. VRA has experts and if the experts are allowed by POLITICIANS to work automously' the Ghana will see light. So far as governments appoints CEO who are their cronies, GHana will continue to s ...

• A.M.A 10 years ago

Engines on board ships are cooled by sea water but first filtration the water from salt/sodium before entering the engines.By this way there is always fresh potable water for the engine and human consumption.We can pump saltl ...

• Sly 10 years ago

So ridiculous suggestion. Because of power problems everybody is talking anyhow. Please leave the solution to the experts and our lazy reporters post this for the world to read without finding out where this wierd idea is bei ...

• GH Boy 10 years ago

who said its not possible, it has been proven worldwide. other countries are using it.

• The Jodocus 10 years ago

Fact: you require energy to pump water higher into lake volta.
    The energy that that water can produce by coming down, is never more than you put into it. (first law of thermodynamics)
    Hence: you loose energy
    Conclusion: ...

• CA 10 years ago

no comment

• Squash 10 years ago

Very soon someone will say the sand can generate energy.

• lol 10 years ago

it can. read about quartz.

• Iddisah Saaka 10 years ago

I have thought about this idea for a long time but because my educational background is not science or engineering bias, I felt it probably was not feasible that is why our engineers at VRA have not given it a thought . I see ...

• Eric London 10 years ago

Worth a try if we have the resources to buy powerful pumps and lay pipes.

We could calculate the flow rate and how much will be needed volume wise

• T'pau 10 years ago

1. The energy required to pump sea water to such a distance and altitude will outweigh the energy generated.
    2. The turbines are not designed for sea water and will result in corrosion and permanent damages.

• Kobina Sam 10 years ago

I'm so surprised that this stupid and totally unworkable idea was published. Even if the country has the funds to execute such a project I want to make the gentleman who suggested the idea and those who feel that the idea is ...

• rida isaac 10 years ago

Those citing tilapia are those who are profiting from dumsur and has no desire to it come to an end. They nedd to be replace with with smart brains like Kofi anokye. Power minister the ball in your court.

• Eric London 10 years ago

What about those villages that drink water down stream? He wants them to drink sea water? All these people have ideas for Ghana. Aaaaba

• gaba 10 years ago

It's advisable for us to start harvesting the rain. When harvested it can be used to top up the dams when there is a shortage.
    Waters from nearby areas should be harvested and not allowed to waste.

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

Brilliant idea. How do you ensure more water from catchment areas of the dam get into it. This is where your suggestion is worth considering

• KO 10 years ago

Instead of the water from the lake running to the sea, it can be pumped back into the lake. The problem is that this will still use electricity that the people need. You can use tidal waves to generate electricity too if the ...

• NKONTOMOAH KESE. 10 years ago

One should remind Mr Anokye that , salt can be very corrosive. Are the turbines made to withstand such corrosiveness? And secondarily, how in world is Ghana, now a high indebted country Going to undertake a project of that ma ...

• amegbetor 10 years ago

pls is de problem caused by shortage of water or lack of management???? if its shortage of water den de genius' submision is rite. now do we hav any energy research center in gh??? kk if there is y dont dis politicians invest ...

• CA 10 years ago

with you, it would have remained in your head. at least he has got us thinking and assessing the possibility.

• I work for KOFI ANOKYE 10 years ago

On the 24th Dec. my boss and I were talking about this dumsor issue when I came up with this Idea. We had an argument over this for a while. But now he is trying to take the credit.

• ghana 10 years ago

with you, it would have remained in your head. at least he has got us thinking and assessing the possibility.

• Tommy 10 years ago

Morons, there is nothing like a perpetual motion machine neither can you create more energy from pumping water back into a dam to produce yet more energy. The net effect would be zero.

• impromptus 10 years ago

The problem with Africans. One way traffic continent. We don't tolerate differing views no matter how promising.

Tolerance is the answer to many of our problems. Great idea from the young man but read negative comments from the talibans

Backward we go again

• FiFi 10 years ago

We are averse to great ideas... This can be done...the science will be to remove the salt from sea water( to prevent corrosion)... The US has a ship that takes sea water and converts it into drinking water... the technology e ...

• FiFi 10 years ago

We expect our engineers to come up with creative ideas to solve problems... At the very least, draw up a plan the will work and find the money to pursue it as a long-term solution!!!

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

A HIGH TECHNOLOGY WHICH IS COST INTENSIVE FOR COUNTRIES LIKE SWEDEN AND NORWAY BEING PUT IN A COUNTRY SEEKING BAILOUT AND IN THE MIDST OF POVERTY.

TALK ABOUT SOLAR AND WIND POWER GENERATION.

SMALL IS BEAUTIFUL.

• anaanu 10 years ago

what kofi suggested is a splendid conception and i pray the govenment take that into consideration

• frab 10 years ago

Kofi I am a world class engineer so let me educate you. It is said sea never dries so the best form of electricity generation would have been sea and sea is all over the place but the Americans and the Chinese haven't though ...

• CA 10 years ago

Do you know who Kofi is? aside that, for you really understand the point he raising?

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Will the salty sea water not silt up the turbines in no time?

why not pump the effluent from Akosombo or Kpone back into the dam waterhead to raise its level? This is reportedly being done in Burkina Faso.

• peace 10 years ago

are people still debating this idea no wonder we are where we are.

• Attah 10 years ago

The idea is ok, but its application is not as simple as it seems to be.The fact is that such a system will come into play when the water level at Akosombo is low.
    Reasonably, when the water level is low the total amount of ...