You are here: HomeBusiness2014 02 15Article 300769

Aluworks Boss: Country Broke- o, country no broke- o, we dey inside!

Read Comments Comments (60)

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

GOOD SUGGESTIONS.THIS PROBLEM IS A NATIONAL ISSUE WHICH SHOULD BE SOLVED WITH THE UNITY OF THE MPS AND GOVT.MAJORITY AND MINORITY MPS SHOULD LEAD THE EDUCATION TOGETHER TO AVOID PARTISAN POLITICS.IF THE MPS DO NOT GIVE ACADEM ...

• AMB 10 years ago

Great stuff Kwasi. Step 1 recommendation will go counter to the implementation of the ECOWAS Common External Tariff recently signed for preparation to start now towards implementation in Jan 2015.

Kwasi we are just not pro ...

• Kalashnikov AK47 10 years ago

Excellent article, but as always, in economics, 1+1 does not always equal 2; one measure here added to another measure elsewhere in the economy does not necessarily produce a positive result; they may in fact negate each othe ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

[98+1]%.This is my marks for Kwasi Okoh's article.You would think that the numerous advicers would know i.e. understand these but no they don't. I wish you were in the economic team.
    Does the President and his economic read ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Hmmm! Mensah I may say you have been generous with Aluworks Boss, though his article is very good. I agree with him on the demand and supply basis of the cedi's free fall. In fact, I said the same in an article I sent to Ghan ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

In the main you agree.With reference to your last paragraph,what then needs to be done?

• Son of Man 10 years ago

Dear Kofi,I follow your articles and contributions closely and find pleasure in reading most of them, however, you have to be very careful when trying to interpret someones practical application analysis in a subject matter t ...

• BIG DICK MENtality size 15 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU MAKE GH MORE ECONOMICALLY COMPETITIVE, U ASK?
    A/upgrade and improve infrastructure: road systems,airports, ports, the entire infrastructure, and IT infrastructure IN GH IS LAGGING. IMAGINE THE JOBS THIS WILL CREAT ...

• Kofican 10 years ago

AK,

Good addendum to a good article by Kwasi.

My question is: Do we have the leadership to implement all or some these measures without being distracted by POLITICAL PARTY manifestoes which is basically, bribry, corrupt ...

• YAA 10 years ago

BOSS you said it all,but who is reading and taking note?

• HMENG 10 years ago

A guy from cold and stormy Ireland (no, not affiliated with Tullow oil). Very interesting and to the point article. Hits many nails on the head, but rather simplified. The problems for Ghana as well as most emerging markets c ...

• Araba 10 years ago

No need for workshops, conferences and meetings. Let's roll up our sleeves and start working. The time to save Ghana is now! Forget about Mahama and co. Even if you can plant some corn in your backyard when the rains start, p ...

• Stephen 10 years ago

Araba,

My kinda girl!!

• Adom 10 years ago

Our dependency on imports is too much and not until we stop importing for example cars like BMW.Mercedes and Range Rovers which are very very expensive in Europe or America costing over $30,000.00 or Grapefruits,Used clothes ...

• Joshua Annan 10 years ago

Where is the Kade Match Factory which was established by Nkrumah government over fifty years ago? Are we still importing match sticks? Kwame Nkrumah,the man of VISION is turning in his grave.

• Joshua Annan 10 years ago

Very impressive analysis of the economic situation.Mahama should appoint Kwasi Okoh as an advisor,and dismiss all those bogus economists surrounding him.

• JONES 10 years ago

There are too many economists with PhDs in the Mahama government enjoying fat salaries and doing nothing.Dismiss all of them immediately,Mahama.

• Duodu in Düsseldorf 10 years ago

Jones , economists with PhDs will never improve your economy for you. Tell this Boss and his other manager -pals to do all they can to improve the Quality of their products ----so that no Ghanaian would be forced to buy impo ...

• Fiifi 10 years ago

Excellent!! Where are our so-called profs. who keep propounding theories from others after they have had their BANKU AND TILAPIA OKRO STEW AFTERNOON MEAL (& JUMP), topped with cream salat and their COOOOOL BEER!The problem ...

• Jordan 10 years ago

i am very happy that there is one person in your position has spoken the truth.Let us stop eating the exotic foods and let us as country start apretiating how and where we come from ,to guide us to a Better Ghana Destination

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

THE TRUTH, THE WHOLE TRUTH, & NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH.

HOWEVER, IT IS THE HUMAN BEING WHO SHOULD TRANSLATE WHAT'S ON PAPER INTO REALITY. OUR PRESIDENT (and of course, the rest of the population) ARE HEAVILY CORRUPT & INT ...

• DAN 10 years ago

was high blood pressure or diabetes a problem when food with out salt or sugar was eaten? So fish or meat must be refrigerated and not salted to preserve

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Neoplan Ghana was established in 1974,yet Ghana import Yutong buses.WHY? Peugot Automobile Nigeria was established in 1972,yet Nigeria import buses from China...WHY? African politicians are worse than terrorist and drug deale ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Kwesi Orko has said all.
    His strategies are so simple,but too complex to our naive economists,surrounding MAHAMA,the historian.
    This guy should be engaged in teaching these strategies at schools,for the youth to learn from ...

• OKOFO 10 years ago

This is what we need to move our economy forward and not the rubbish and insults coming from Sir John, Akoto Osei, Kabila, the baby face Sammy Awuku and the rest from various opposition parties, particular NPP.

• Whatever 10 years ago

That's a brilliant illustration on the need to remedy our international trade tariffs to support our exports as the EU does

• Kwabena 10 years ago

How can Ghana import tinned coconut drink, paper orange juice, raw oranges, carrots from Ivory Coast, onions from Burkina Faso,etc. These vegetables can be grown at our backyards using pots and wooden boxes. I grew and canned ...

• OKOFO 10 years ago

This is a character Ghana need not doom gospel singers. Kaba of Asempa FM and Kwame Sefa Kani of Peace FM will never pick this article for their shows simply because it does not meet their master's need. They have refused to ...

• bt 10 years ago

The best article i have read in 50 years. I can't say more.

• LUCK 10 years ago

Ghana's cedi is fast depreciating as a result of our adverse balance of payments, a situation fuelled by our insatiable appetite for imports.A country well-known for processing its raw materials locally through its import-s ...

• ALI ABUBAKAR 10 years ago

Wascce economics , the makola trader can teach the PHD graduate in Ghana. What a shame.

• efo korkuvi 10 years ago

Me I go give you 101% for this your
    thought him provokinking harticle.
    Na you be the Boos oooo. Na true say kantry broke oo kantry no broke ooo we dey inside.
    Ebe people like you wey dey for be president and things.
    But ...

• SD 10 years ago

Very nice piece

• bt 10 years ago

Well said Araba. Right on spot.

• Setsoafia Livingstone Yao 10 years ago

This is an excellent macro economics which I told a friend three days ago.i think these are the kinds of people we need in our Central Bank to run the financial affairs of the country.

Thank you for this idea and be blesse ...

• Brainy Guy 10 years ago

Thank you sir. But prepare for the insults from the NDC hired serial writers.

• Bonso 10 years ago

What a statement

• Reason well 10 years ago

This is an excellent contribution from a Managing Director of a manufacturing company, a practical man. This is the kind of person that should be serving on a board or be sought as a stakeholders' representative. He has avoid ...

• MICHAEL 10 years ago

Excellent Article, this is exactly how every learned Ghanaian should contribute to the knowledge body of Ghana. Well said Allu Boss,how come we can't manufacture anything in Ghana? We always look forward to live luxurious liv ...

• james naru 10 years ago

Good Article.
    I will vote for you.
    Let us produce the following:
    Coffee,Maize,Cocoa, Rice, Peanuts, Pineapple, Sheep , Goats, Chicken
    Factories to produce: Fridges,Matches, Can Fruits and Vegetables, Matches,

• Coco T 10 years ago

Look guys the engine for progress manufacturing. Do you remember the industrialization of America? That's all you need to come out of this. To develop and progress you need to adopt a manufacturing mind set.
    You can not take ...

• Kwadjo, London 10 years ago

This is a very good piece, thank you, Boss.You are on the ground and hands on.
    1. The cedi is a traded commodity, therefore apart from demand and supply, in the short term all factors (eg speculations,criminality) that influ ...

• Edward Cosby 10 years ago

The only way forward is for the Government to encourage manufacturing by by giving grants and affordable loans to help local industries. Because at the moment it cost much less to import some basic stuff than to manufacture .

• Papaloto 10 years ago

Thanks for this masterpiece. You hit the nail right on the head. No economy survives by importing more than it exports, especially when what it is importing can be produced right there.

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

THE TRUTH, THE WHOLE TRUTH, & NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH.

HOWEVER, IT IS THE HUMAN BEING WHO SHOULD TRANSLATE WHAT'S ON PAPER INTO REALITY. OUR PRESIDENT (and of course, the rest of the population) ARE HEAVILY CORRUPT & INTENSE ...

• Ismail I 10 years ago

You beat me to it Mr Okoh. I had a lengthy discussion with a friend just yesterday and almost all your suggestions were touched upon. The problem is our leaders all behave like the sakawa kids in town today, wanting to have i ...

• Owura Kofi 10 years ago

Uncle Kwasi, you've expertly summed up Ghana's problems, and provided solutions. The question is, will any politician share your analysis? You have ignorant people ruling the country. Would they even listen to or read what yo ...

Contribute to solutions and stop insulting. We need to work with our brains !

• KANE 10 years ago

Nonsense

I know many relatively poor third-world non-African countries that import even blocks and sand and gravel for house building, yet they have better and comfortable economies.

Ghana is collapsing because of huge ...

Name the third-world non-African countries. You have not used your brain to offer any suggestion, except to insult somebody who has intelligently offered solutions. Try to be creative and don't react unintelligently.

• aliyu 10 years ago

great by the horns.warning signs that if the pattern continues unabated, we are doomed to witnessing the collapse of the Ghanaian economy.god forbid.

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Good piece and fairly good and decent responses. I feel I am seeing the light at the end tunnel as regard the solutions to Ghana's problems. This piece and a couple of solution oriented articles I read from Dr. Quarm, make m ...

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 10 years ago

MAHAMA PLEEEASE IM BEGGING YOU GO BACK AND READ POLITICAL SCEINCE AND ECONOMY LEVEL 5 AND PLEEEASE DONT RELY ON KWASI TERKPE BECOS HE WAS NOT ALL THA BRILLIANT WHEN WE WERE IN SCHOOL.MR PRESIDENT PLEEEASE USE STATE MONEY TO F ...

Please, this is no joking matter. The economy is not doing well so we need to be very serious and offer real solutions without party coloration. The sinking Cedi affects all of us.

• Bewise Wisdom. 10 years ago

Can someone forward this information to Mr. President, the Ato Ahwois, BOG finance committee. It appears the President is surrounding with fools and contract awarders who has no Economic sense to advise him. Mr President why ...

I am not sure that we, as a people, have the stomach for the corrective actions that need to be taken to put our economy on a sound footing. We are always "too poor to afford" this, and therefore "government must be responsib ...

We need to put our brains together and solve this problem. No party business please. Like the writer said "we dey inside"

• DAN 10 years ago

by banning or heavy tax on used cars you only give toyota and africa motors or tata the ability to charge any price they want while there is competion in america and Toyota has to advertize on tv that they will sell you a BRA ...

• Austine 10 years ago

Great insight!

• Wisdom Akpeloowu 10 years ago

Who should be a president ? Is it the academia or business men like Aluworks Boss. Let look at China they are govern by business men so they export from bentua to air craft. We like the professors, tutors and next time it wil ...