You are here: HomeBusiness2013 11 18Article 292404

SSNIT defends Fortiz acquisition of Merchant

Read Comments Comments (19)

• poor ghana 10 years ago

LIARS!!! THEY WANT TO SHARE GHANA"S MONEY> HOW CAN A 4 MONTH OLD COMPANY, THAT HAS NEVER CONDUCTED ANY TRANSACTION BEFORE BUY MERCHANT BANK?? AND TONY LITHUR IS THE LAWYER FOR MERCHANT BANK AND FOR IBRAHIM MAHAMA AND FOR EVER ...

• Glover 10 years ago

This sounds like the SSNIT defender is using VOODO Economics how can you defend this plain daylight robbery ? Just tell us you are going to get something out of it and we will just blame you later but dont defend this deal it ...

can you read? I am not for this fraudulent Fortiz deal.

• Glover 10 years ago

Poor Ghana the response was in support of your comments it was not against what you said The words (you)was referring to the SSNIT person that is defending the decision . Please do not take it as a bad response against your c ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

SSNIT IS LYING. WHERE R THE BIDDING INFORMATION. WHY DIDNT U SELL IT TO A GH/LOCAL BUYER? GYIMIFUO...
    It said the deal was reported to be the best ever made for Merchant Bank but the offer was mysteriously rejected in favour ...

• kwame 10 years ago

Ei Ghana paa nie hmmmmmmmmm

• Paa shamo 10 years ago

Shame onto SSNIT. This is a stinking deal. Ghanaians are watching

• Kintampo 10 years ago

just want to know. was the current attorney general working in tony lithur's chambers? were they the law firm that handled the numerous judgement debts that are in contention now? and then she was made the AG. and Ghanaians t ...

yes. she is still with his chambers1

• yaw, USA 10 years ago

SO JOHN MAHAMA IS QUITE ABOUT THIS DAYLIGHT ROBBERY? HIS BROTHER IS KEEPING ALL THIS MONEY, FLYING IN PRIVATE JET, AND YET THIS AMOUNT IS CONSIDERED A BAD DEBT? HOW CAN SUCH AN AMOUNT BE A BAD DEBT IF THE LOANEE IS ALIVE AND ...

• IDE BE CRAAZY 10 years ago

WHERE FROM THE 90MILLION. IF FORTIZ HAS CAPITAL OF ONLY 5M THEY MUST SHOW AND THE SHAREHOLDERS MUST PROVE THAT IT IS NOT 90M COMING FROM BACK DOOR OF GOVERNMENT WITH SOME ANOTHER BOGUS DEAL OR GOVERNMENT CONTRACT LIKE SUBAH T ...

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

THE PRESIDENT HAS TASKED THE AG AND DR TONY AIDOO IN PARICULAR TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT CORRUPTION. In the background is the Chief of Staff who ought also to take an interest in it for the purpose of protecting the integrity o ...

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

corruption in churches every where . this country is sold off. looting using banks started with NPP memeber during rawlings time , then NDc stopped it and also learnt it, then NPP perfected it kuffour time and NDC advanced it ...

• asem se be 10 years ago

How I wish anyone arguing against this deal will do so purely on the issues put forth by the SSNIT and not some other factors.

For those arguing about how old FORTIZ is, Have they ever heard of a "Special Purpose Vehicle" ...

shut up YOU THIEF. WHO IS BEHIND THE SO CALLED SPECIAL PURPOSE VEHICLE? WHAT CRITERIA DID BOG USE TO APPROVE THIS FRAUDULENT DEAL?

• Kwaame 10 years ago

Another nincompoop trying to act intelligent. What do you know about finance? Private Equity folks are know what they do. A special purpose vehicle is different, and Fortiz is not an SPV. Just look at the background of people ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

True

• Kofi K New Jersey 10 years ago

Bad debt? when those who borrowed are the same people buying the bank! Where tony lithur is involved, can't you smell the Mahama's, woyome n Ed. Annan with A-G as gatekeeper for stealing. Loot n share, God is watching!

• Otsibu Darko 10 years ago

The best scenario is for SSNIT to publish the three prospective bids by the banks for us to see and judge by ourselves if Fortiz deal was the best among the three; the fact is you're singing to your master's voice and lying u ...