You are here: HomeBusiness2013 10 26Article 289965

Ghana, others embark on $58b ECOWAS rail project

Read Comments Comments (31)

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Hahahaha, Concert nkoaaa !!!!

• BIG NAME 10 years ago

These corrupt leaders want to embark upon such a project? Our leaders are too corrupt to embark upon this project.

• AFRICA'S CORRUPT LEADERS 10 years ago

By the time this is over, the cost will move from $60 billion to $600 billion, with only $1 billion spent on a shoddy, uncompleted, environment-degradation project.

THE FOOLS, THE THIEVES, THE HEADLESS CRIMINALS!
    THEY SHO ...

• bossman k 10 years ago

settle down and just give us 24/7 full electricity first.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

It is long overdue, build a real high speed railroad the 300ml/hr type where Lagos to Accra will be covered in less than an hour and a half. China already have the technology. Thank you.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

How much will our country contribute to this project?

That is the first question that should be asked for?

The second question is what goods are we expecting to export or import that are so important to spend our mone ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

When did your monkey tribe originate anything, you stupid tree dweller? Buzz off with your village backsliding buffoonery, kwasea.

"Based on such idiocy, I did oppose the free SHS, not because it could not be done, but ra ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Your whorish mother who opened her stinky and sticky nyas for your unknown apio drunkard father is to be blamed here. What an idiot. Don't even bring your stupid tribalism here because I will put you in your stinky and dirty ...

• kojo nkansaw 8 years ago

You stupid fucking idiot, are you jimmy? I live in Europe and they have intercontinental freight and rail networks. Ecowas are doing the same thing jesus christ.

• FOYOOSIS 10 years ago

Do you know the distance btn Lagos and Accra so as to be covered in less than an hour and half? You don't mean it or do you want to see/hear daily accidents on the rail tracks?

I don't think you're being relevant on this, ...

• jimy somer 10 years ago

because they are going to loose money .

• DEAL 10 years ago

NDC BUNCH OF THIEVES, SONG AND DANCE IN CIRCLES. PROMISES AFTER PROMISES, CANNOT FINISH ANY PROJECT EITHER ONGOING AND STARTING NEWS ONES JUST TO POCKET THE MONEY WITH THEIR CROONIES.

• Koforidua Tankas. 10 years ago

Even before the start of the project, laudable though, I can foresee danger. One.... Our Nigerian brothers do not have regular supply of electricity thanks to NEVER EXPECT POWER ALWAYS (NEPA). Two: Ghana is no better under du ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

Serious development in the sub-region will only start when/if this dream is realised. I pray that it happens. Just consider the labour force that would be required!

• DEAL 10 years ago

SHAME TO THESE ACTORS AND LEADERS OF THESE NATIONS AS THE WESTERN WORLD KEEP LAUGHING AT GHANA AND THE REST OF AFRICA. FULL OF RESOURCES BUT POVERTY RAVAGE. CANNOT EVEN PROVIDE BASICS TO THEIR PEOPLE UNLESS DEPENDING ON DONOR ...

• kojo nkansaw 8 years ago

Shut up you fucking white monkey i will kill you mum and eat your children.

You fucking azonka bastard nigger fucking idiot.

• OH YEAH? 10 years ago

“The countries are Ghana, Cote D’ Ivoire, Nigeria, Togo and Benin”
    “will link Nigeria, Benin, Togo and Ghana to Cote’ D’ Ivoire”, to facilitate the movement of people, goods and services within the sub-region ...

• folish 10 years ago

we need the rail which will benefit us. That is why we should get the one to the land lockers countries like Burkina Faso and Mali. SO that they can easily our port.

• folish 10 years ago

we need the rail which will benefit us. That is why we should get the one to the land lockers countries like Burkina Faso and Mali. SO that they can easily use our port

• KWASI 10 years ago

charity begins at home . WE CANT EVEN BUILT THE GHANA RAIL NET WORK.WHAT HAPPENS TO THE WEST AFRICA GAS PIPE LINE ?

• VKOffei bronx NY. 10 years ago

AWESOME that is development in the right direction. i pat the shoulders of our leaders that this project would come to fruition.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Having intentions to do something good is commendable but what it is needed is getting it done, making it affordable and accessible. Do that and I will hail you

• Egbanegba 10 years ago

$13BN just for feasibility studies??? That is about twice the size Togo's 2012 GDP.
    Africa money.....oga dey chop am nyafu nyafu

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

Guys better is the end of everything not the beginning .The are very corrupt we all know that but lets support them and bring these talks into reality .Lets not continue to be negative even when there is positive news because ...

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

I meant to say THROW sorry guys

• GAO 10 years ago

I CAN PROVIDE 1500KM WITH 30 BILLION
    ALL AFRICAN HEADS ARE CORRUPT WHY?
    WE ARE ALREADY SEEKING LAND TO LAY TRAM AND METRO LINES IN ACCRA. THIS IS PRIVATE VENTURE BUT NOT GOV.GOD BLESS GHANA

• Kaku 10 years ago

When the railway within Ghana is almost dead and no clue as to how to revive it the minister is rather talking about cross border railways.God save Ghana.When the Ghana Railway Co. is still operating with machines and equipme ...

• Estate 10 years ago

A good intention but hope the Africa nature allow it to fly. God help us in Africa with our black thought

• Sankofa 10 years ago

This is a laudable and most welcome project.

If implemented, it would facilitate regional integration and transportation in West Africa, and transform the regional economy.

No effort should be spared to get it off the ...

• Kwaw - Australia 10 years ago

I'm glad to see African leaders are waking up to search important project like the railway. Please just get the Japanese and the Germans to build it now. It'ls long overdue

• Joe Black 10 years ago

What about our neighbors up north, like Burkina, Mali and Niger,