90% of importers fake invoices - CEPS

Read Comments Comments (25)

• messa 10 years ago

ease the burden on ghana busnisses

• Nii 10 years ago

Reduce taxes and importers would pay without any difficulty,

• ALABAMA 10 years ago

Mr Jacob Agyeman should stop making statements like the problem at the ports are getting worse and the cost of doing business has increased. Give concreate areas and ask his workers to stop wasting time giving bribes, looking ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

SPARE THE ROD N SPOIL THE EMPLOYEE. EVER HEARD F CHARGES, BAIL, CONVICTION, JAIL TERM ETC...START DOING THIS N THE RUTHLESS EMPLOYEES WILL WISEN UP. START PAYING POLICE OFFICERS, WITNESSES/CHOOKERS/UNDERCOVER MORE MONEY, RAI ...

• KANAWU 10 years ago

SIMPLY THAT: 90% OF YOUR GUYS TAKE BRIBES AT THE PORTS

• Living in Kumasi 10 years ago

If they did not MAKE you give bribes then I am sure that the invoitces would not be fake. In fact, it is probably the employee themselves that are faking the invoices.

Too much corruption...but where to start to make it s ...

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

There is a sure way to stop this ongoing mess and the government won't do it because it suits our bribery prone system just fine the way things are.
    There is no law, international or local, that will prohibit Ghana's Port au ...

• MANTSE 10 years ago

Abeeku,You seem to know what you are talking about.

It is sad that during such difficult moments of our Contry's Finances, we continue to do things the same way and expect that, by some magic, outcomes will be different.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WHOEVER DOES THAT IS A CRIMINAL AND SHOULD MEET THE FULL WEIGHT OF THE LAWS IN THE COUNTRY.

OUR ONLY TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION, MANIPULATION AND FRAUD.

• no mercy 10 years ago

So Many Fake things going on in Ghana
    ,because our leader Fake,Thief,NDC
    MAHAMA, go,go to Zongo,

• mimi 10 years ago

Did these fake things start today. Pl. reason in what you say.

• Yag 10 years ago

CEPS officials should declear their assets and publish them and let see who are duping the nation.leave the importers alone and check your staffs and stop this blame game.

• SAM TEMA 10 years ago

WHO DECLEARS ASSETS IN GHANA A CUSTOM OFFICER IN TEMA PORT CAN BUY MANSION OF 1 MILLON US DOLLARS FOR JUST 1 MONTH

• messa 10 years ago

you cant import anything to ghana without paying bribes so rather then pay the right amount and inabillity to pay bribes the ghana brothers must due what they got to do to survive

• asanyka 10 years ago

90% present fake docs and never have we heard someone prosecuted for forgery in this regard.give us a break and look for solutions for the deep-seated problems of corruption and bribery prevailing on our seaports.let me offer ...

• Ghanabiya 10 years ago

The credibility problems the people are having with the 3 branches of the government are the same thing the institutions are having with organizations they are set up to serve.

All these goes to show the extent of the prob ...

• Sigmma4 10 years ago

The root cause of all these are the unreasonably high customs duties that Ghana charges on imported goods and so long as it remains that way, invoices will always be under stated. Also, the process of clearing goods at our po ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

this is nonsense. customs have access to every price around the globe, just appply int. standards. monkey ghs monkey excuses. one day i may ban ananse story in our culture. we grow with ananse stories.

• GHANANI 10 years ago

Under-invoicing,under-valuation,multiple exportation/importation with one licence and outright non-payment of duty are the factors militating against revenue collection at the ports and borders.Most of these crimes are commit ...

• obroni 10 years ago

Indeed many of them do, but I remember I bought 2 containers of paint of a bankrupt company in Holland at 1 Euro a kg can. Send it to Ghana with the original invoice of the auctioneer, who is in Holland a Notary Public, and C ...

• Living in Kumasi 10 years ago

And that is really ridiculous. Hence the reason why Ghana receives such low quality products...

It can't work both ways.

• Moses 10 years ago

The duties levied on imported items are not often higher than the purchase prices; rather they are higher than the purchase prices 100% of the time. The Government itself is involved in criminality by in effect overinvoicing ...

• Speedy Gonzalez. 10 years ago

You are all the same,corrupt.The CEPS officers are corrupt,the importers are corrupt and the clearing agents are as well corrupt.

• Asea Ho 10 years ago

Insist on the original invoice. Have you penalized, or prosecuted an importer or clearing agent for this felony act? YOU connive with importers (indirectly through clearing agents and your custom officers), and try to shift b ...

• Moses 10 years ago

do you have any proof of your stupid statement?