You are here: HomeBusiness2013 07 11Article 279241

NRSC to ban used tyres in September

Read Comments Comments (31)

• ANOTHER AFRICAN PATRIOT 10 years ago

I think this is a brilliant idea because it is proven that tyre burst account for majority of accidents on the highways.

• Effia-Asou 10 years ago

Yes like Dr Bawumia's accident on his way from Bole or so, abi?

• DAN 10 years ago

i work for one of the largest trucking/logistic company in world..and when tire get a nail or other small hole in tread..The leak is repaired by goodyear and placed in inventory for re-use..only place used tires are not used ...

• tinkalo 10 years ago

Kwasea, Ghana is not in the USA,They {USA} have developed their own systems over the years. Ours is to ban second tyres in september to stop a dangerous trend,

• charles kele 10 years ago

yes because , the roads are good thats why they can use them , but here ghana do we have good roads?

yes its a brilliant ideas but i think that the shape of our roads must be first prioty
    in abrokye i can register an old vehicle
    and drive without any problem
    so our roads must come first

• KWAME 10 years ago

NRSC always talk but cannot move their words to the next level. It is the same unit which said the accelerator pedal of vehicles will have a lever put under it to control the speed at which vehicles travel in the wake of ramp ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

MASSA, NO ONE NEEDS TO TELL U NOT TO WEAR USED PANTIES OR STEP TOO HARD ON THE SPEED PEDAL. IF YOU WANT TO INCUR DISEASES OR FASTTRACK UR DEATH. HEY, THE BALL IS IN UR COURT....

• Mansa Musa 10 years ago

For Ghana to be a 'fit' nation, our enforcement agencies need to sit up and enforce the existing laws. Having the companies responsible for the food we eat, ie restaurants, hotels, chop bars and the manufacturing companies, o ...

• Mosihene 10 years ago

AA STEP

A step in the right direction but something has to be done to help these onwers to be able to purchase them through weekly installment payments that will I think will lift the heavy burden on them a bit becos the ...

• Anthony 10 years ago

What rubbish, car Tyre is measured by erosion of threads and not date of manufacture. Ghana representative should be sent back to school and to stop dectating to the drivers

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

ARE U GOING TO INVEST IN NEW ROADS TO OFFSET THE RAPID DESTRUCTION OF NEW TIRES? BUILD A FACTORY TO MANUFACTURE CAR TIRES....
    GARBAGE IN. ENERGY OUT
    REMAIN CONTINUOSLY VIGILANT.
    TURNING WASTE INTO A VALUABLE RESOURCE.
    REC ...

• THE GERMAN FACT 10 years ago

THE ACCIDENT WANT CHANGE IN GHANA IF THE DRIVERS EVEN BUY A NEW TYRES WITHOUT CHANGING THEM WHEN IT USED, THE POLICE SHOULD STOP TAKING 1CEDIS FROM THE DRIVERS AND CONTROLL THEM WELL, AND ALSO BAD ROADS TOO CAN ALSO CREATE TH ...

yes if our people abroad will stop bringing snow tyres into the country tis will help,

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

There WAS a time TYRES were manufactured in Ghana. What happened to that factory??? Blackman as usual ...TWO steps FORWARD and THREE BACKWARDS!! Of course,WE are moving...but in WHICH DIRECTION???

• Concerned 10 years ago

Question: You have your car, and your tires are getting old - you say, well it's time to go get some new "used tires". Then you're told you can only buy new IMPORTED tires in Ghana, so you keep your old worn out one... are Gh ...

• DAN 10 years ago

even tho Ghana just got shafted in immigration problems..Most import tires will be from CHINA! Ban sale of China's products

• KDE DRIVER-SUPPORT 10 years ago

THE DAMAGE YOUR ROADS DO TO TYRES,
    NO ONE CAN BUY NEW TYRES THAT TURNS 10 YEARS OLD IN 1 MONTH.
    YOU NEED TO EDUCATE YOURSELF ABOUT SAFETY FIRST.

• KOJO U.K 10 years ago

HELLO DVLA (GHANA),WELL DONE AND MAY THE LORD GUIDE FOR SUCH A SENSIBLE DECISION.
    GOD BLESS OUR HOME LAND GHANA.

• Santino 10 years ago

If we are all compelled to buy brand new tyres, won't they also wear out at a point in time to the levels that the second hand tyres were when they were brought to the country? Or don't brand new tyres also burst almost immed ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

1. Regulate used tire sellers so they only sell tires fit for the road - ones less likely to fail catastrophically

2. Put new road worthiness requirements for vehicles and tires - the level of tread, the lifetime of a tire ...

• Nicholas Adjei 10 years ago

A very good idea.The BAN should be extended also to the sale of SECONDHAND clothes and shoes.

• PRINCE ARMAH 10 years ago

The solution is not the ban, but education and good roads.How many of our drivers understand the road signs?The NRSC should do their homework well.

• MAMI 10 years ago

IT TOOK GHANA THIS LONG TO FIND OUT THAT USED TYPES ARE DANGROUS DO NOT GET ME WRONG SOME ARE NOT BAD JUST INSPECT THEM

• Tete 10 years ago

Much as I agree with the suggestion, I think that, it is very important that the prices of new tyres are equally the same as the used ones; it is then that interest of the buyers will turn to buying new ones. Of course some ...

• ebo smithe 10 years ago

the govt should from effect fix the Bonsa tyre factory to solve the isssue of the used tyres.i think the Minister know the cost of the new tyres for trucks and the pothoes

Finally ,the coffin is nailed thank you NRSC,but my question is what are your alternative solutions?
    These are mine
    1 THE GPRTU should have competent team of auto expert at evey major lorry park to check every commercial ...

• yaa 10 years ago

she shd also ban second hand car and accident cars import and right hand cars changed to left hand.have they been able to band okada.all taxes and levies shd be removed on new tyres.no more convertion of sprinter vans into pa ...

• Honestman 10 years ago

80% of private car owners cannot afford new set of tyres almost every year or 2 years. Though the idea looks good, it will create severe hardship for especially private car owners.

• Concerned 10 years ago

SSS Economics says for certain things, when the price goes up, demand goes down. Ban sale of used tires and the price of tires(in general) goes up since only new ones are available and they are more expensive. If people don't ...

• M. LIMADO 10 years ago

i work for a big tyre export company here in the Netherlands.
    What we notice is that when this bann will be in place the tyres will just be send to surrounding countries around Ghana and then from those countries they will i ...