You are here: HomeBusiness2013 05 03Article 272839

Visa, hotel costs sinking tourism

Read Comments Comments (62)

• papillon 11 years ago

Ghana Tourist Board hope you are listening.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

The NDC thinks that they can tax their way out of the mess they have created. They have raised the visa fees and it has impacted tourism. They are hounding the hotels and trying to look for every way to tax them extra. We ar ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

Sorry, you point of view here and that of the writer of this article is very wrong. Do you know how much one pays for VISA application for the UK, BELGIUM, SWITZERLAND, CANADA, USA and the rest of the western countries?
    Stop ...

• Debbie 11 years ago

Stop pricing hotels in USD and the problem will be solved. I was in Ghana 2 weeks ago and I couldn't believe the outrageous hotel prices.

• OZA 11 years ago

Tourists travel to relax and enjoy after months of hard work in their countries. Our "Dumso" habits, lack of water and armed robberies especially targeted at foreigners will not help Ghana in anyway. Let's fix the problem, an ...

• ELINAM 11 years ago

We love money but hate creativity.
    For example,the children park built for children in Lome,Togo truly looks like any in developed cities anywhere, but come to Ghana and see the Esi Sutherland children park and you cry and a ...

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

Silly Ubanization & lack of smart governance to project sustainable communities.......

• OSLO 11 years ago

No wonder the tourists are going away slowly. If nothing is done the tourism industry will come into shambles. For example the so called hotels which in Europe or any developed country can be classified 4 or 5 star costs say, ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

Please, tell us something better than the children park in Lome-Togo. How big is the place and how many children use that park. Speak about Ghana and not Togo.

• ELINAM 11 years ago

This country and that country is small or poor so nothing good is worth copying. That has been the way we've been thinkin', meanwhile others in the region has been leaving us behind with little innovations here and there.
    In ...

• nanapee. Germany 11 years ago

yeah, all is right. I normally use to visit Ghana once a year, every year, but now I´ve decided not to come there anymore. Where are all the friendly Ghanaians I met in the early years (1985 to 1995)? Since my last visit, la ...

• kabokabo 11 years ago

who cares whether you come or not? Its for your own enjoyment you come for so stay at Munchen and give us a break.No body can be discouraged by your comment.

• Kwesi 11 years ago

Your ghana is on it way to collapsing, if you don't know. Ghana is liken to a lazy person who is hungry and has food but refusing to cook them to eat. That person will eventually die with hunger. If you are afraid to critism, ...

• kabokabo 11 years ago

Am a proud Ghanaian though I have Dutch nationality. It is our responsibily to make our country attractive to investers and tourist. Tourism is a whole range of things including filthy Odaw river.Filt over our best cities if ...

• RASTEE 11 years ago

Please they do something about the hotel. I happened to be in Accra and the modest and little decent hotel was $250-$350 per night.

• DAN 11 years ago

modest or cheap...Avenida or Niagra in Adabraka where only ( depending if no air/fridge $30 or $50 with ac/tv/fridge/ Royal in Osu was only $70 last year i think..Search hotels and guest houses in ghanaweb directory

• Kofi 11 years ago

Many of the people listed as tourists to Ghana are Ghanaian citizens who have acquired foreign citizenship and are coming home for visit.

• JD 11 years ago

The local rates are also comparatively higher than popular four- and five-star hotels in the US of A as well.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

“In Togo, they protect their tourism industry and invest in the sector. Ghana has the potential -- with very nice beaches -- but it is not developing and using it.”
    Hotel rates in Ghana also tend to be more expensive th ...

• Concern, New York, USA 11 years ago

Good article. For instance, Gambia charges about $20 for visa in USA while Ghana charges range from $60.

• Taharka 11 years ago

If your from the UK or EU zone you pay no Visa fee to enter Gambia the visa fee is included in the flight ticket price. Gambia is also up to 40% cheaper than Ghana in some place away from the main tourist areas. Many Ghanaian ...

• Joe Turkey 11 years ago

High airfares come long before hotel rates and visa fees. While I DO agree with Joao Ingles on visa fees and hotel rates, airlines should also stop milking travelers to Ghana and Africa a a whole. Someone explain to me why a ...

• kwame T 11 years ago

Blame the government. Airline/Airport taxes for flights to Ghana imposed by the government for flights are the highest in the world. Airlines have to pay the KIA $600 in airport taxes just for a single economy flight from Lon ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

I believe passengers from JFC TO LONDON,might be more than to GHANA,I should think.TELEPHONE CALLS CHARGES ARE BY THE SAME REASON.
    THAT MIGHT BE THE SOLE REASON WHY JFK TO GHANA IS TOO HIGH.MILEAGE COULD ALSO PLAY A PART.

• niiganyobi 11 years ago

Joe I agree with you. In general the poor pay more for everything. If you live in in an inner city with no grocery store, you have to walk to corner store for milk and pay twice as as much.
    I paid $2500 for a BA flight to Gh ...

• Nii Joromi 11 years ago

We don't have strong leaders who are ready to make pragmatic changes to the status quo. Its a country where every Tom, Dick and Harry wants to be rich overnight without breaking a sweat...especially people in leadership posit ...

• Onipa 11 years ago

The tourists back. Hotels are charging through the earth for a lIttle where to sleep.It is better to charge moderately to lure touitist back into coming to Ghana. The airfares too are high over £850 in the high season plus h ...

• DAN 11 years ago

how can you charge the same price as in usa..But usa employees make $7.25 per hour, work 30-40 hours and have health,dental & life insurance at big hotel companys like hilton & holiday inn...while ghana employees might make $ ...

• DAN 11 years ago

it was announced on tv in usa that a black american woman died in GHANA!...Maybe she had malaria, who knows,,maybe she waited to long to seek help or maybe they was no doctor or fake(419) drugs..But Ghana made the tv news for ...

• DATSI 11 years ago

MINISTRY OF TOURISM AND GHANA TOURISM AUTHORITY ARE THE MAJOR IMPEDIMENT TO DEVELOPING TOURISM IN GHANA. ITS AN OPEN SECRET IN THE INDUSTRY. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR AGES. THE TWO INSTITUTIONS ARE OFTEN AT WAR WITH EACH OTH ...

• Mediocrity Is-A-Sin. 11 years ago

Thank you DATS for speaking the plain truth some of us have sadly witnessed after putting our money in that hopeless brain-dead country with stupid politicians and policymakers.

• BB Quaye 11 years ago

They dont treat customers with respect.
    Its a disgrace for A south African to come and sit at the Min to help us develop a website. Shame on you Minister of Tourism

• KOFI 11 years ago

CAN YOU IMAGINE THAT THE AMOUNT OF MONEY IN $$$$$$$ GTA SPENDS ON THE KWAHU PARAGLIDING FESTIVAL IN HOTEL ACCOMMODATION AND FLIGHT FOR THE FOREIGNERS PILOT WHO COME TO GHANA COULD TRAIN LOCAL GHANA PARAGLIDING PILOTS!!? THEY ...

• Mediocrity Is-A-Sin. 11 years ago

The observation is very true because the blame goes squarely to our govt and policy makers who seems not to understand business, its creation, development and profitability.

Having connection to the hotel business I can te ...

• Bürger 11 years ago

Our government should be wise and tap into the tourist industry. Germans and Scandinavians are known to travel alot, but because of the high visa fees charged by the Ghana missions they end up going to other places in Africa. ...

• Rosemary Phorson 11 years ago

This craziness of charging more than one would pay in the developed world is due to a lack business acumen and greed.It's not only hotel fees. Take a look at the baffling real estate prices in Ghana and you sense something is ...

• niiganyobi 11 years ago

Same-most aspects of the economy. Look at the outrageous import duty on cars, and cost of registration. Import duty on a 2001 bmw 330 was GH 100,000 old cedis( $5000) and registration almost 20oo. Compare to a personalized l ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

They need to get away from the visa as a way of collecting revnue. They just need to charge an exit tax at the airport. They used to do this before.

• KWAME 11 years ago

The article is good but the writer is not correct with high visa fees. It cost about 1000 Euros to fly to Ghana which is about 5,000-6,000 KM from Brussels but it cost about 450 Euros to fly from Brussels to New York. The cos ...

• frankie 11 years ago

THE PRICES OF VEHICLE RENTALS IS ALSO GOING OF THE ROOF. HOW CAN YOU RENT A COMPACT OR SEDAN FOR TEN DAYS AND PAY OVER $2000.00 MINUS FUEL AND SO CALL CHAUFFEUR FEES.TOURISM WITHOUT EASY MOVEMENT FROM POINT A TO B WITHOUT EMP ...

• Chris 11 years ago

Its easier to go to China, Brazil or Kenya then Ghana. Most countries gives you VISA on arrival but in Ghana, you need an invitation letter and so much more. Not to mention the 150$ in VISA fee... Other countries charge 20$ o ...

• andre 11 years ago

first you hear an article on this site saying: ghana with accra number one destination to visit of the whole world. then this site is saying ghana tourism is growing hard. and now it is: we are chasing the tourist slowly to o ...

• Nii Okai 11 years ago

It is a good one, these words said really need to be understood by all Ghanaians who want to see Ghana make great strides very well in tourism which in real sense brings money and development to a nation. It is well said with ...

• K Man 11 years ago

The issue is not, for me, the visa fees because in the UK you pay from £50 for a 3 month visa so not sure where the reference to costing from $150 comes from.

The pricing of local rates in USD and lack of COORDINATED eff ...

• cas 11 years ago

tHotel price is too exorbitant.WE schould clean our enviroments.Go to
    Labeach Faeces all around.no toillets
    if there is any dirty,dirty,dirty.

• Max Carter 11 years ago

Hotels are even cheaper in Miami, Florida.. you can easily get a room on Miami Beach with a very attractive view and pool for under $35. Go to the Web and check it out yourself.

• Naijaman 11 years ago

Instead of charging a reasonable price for your poorly equiped hotels to attract more visitors, you charge in dollars the result is few tourist come and your hotels stay empty.

• Kobs 11 years ago

Stop trying to make snide comments, idiot. We could start to make comments about how useless your country is when it comes to even the basic issue of law and order and respecting human life. Kwasia.

• Pastor Osofu 11 years ago

Why are hotels so expensive in Ghana??

I still cannot understand that hotels like Golden Tulip, La Palm, Labadi Beach, Fiesta Royal, etc, charge so much for just a single night.

When you travel outside Ghana, you'll rea ...

• Kwame-Dublin 11 years ago

I am not surprised cos anytime I visit Ghana I do complain about their hotel charges- I say is far too expensive --even more that the advanced country that I live in they should bring hotel charges down and also bring food pr ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

The sad point is that our Ministers have NO VISION as to how and WHAT to engage in for this sector to be VIABLE.
    It is ONLY THE USUAL OLD PHRASES....when asked about their ministries! We get MOSTLY ONE-TIME VISITORS because ...

• SON OF GHANA 11 years ago

GHANAIANS TALK BIG BUT HAVE NO CREATIVE IDEAS. THEY WILL TELL YOU LONG STORIES WITH ICING SUGAR BUT SERIOUSLY, IT'S ALL BITTER. THEIR BEST IS LIES AND STEALING. GHANA UNDER THIS NDC IS FUCKED FOR GOOD

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

WE CONTINUE TO SINK BECAUSE OF GREED AT EVERY SECTOR OF THE ECONOMY.

• A Richard 11 years ago

Where do we go from here Ghannians?

• Obibini 11 years ago

Every country has something to show the world therefore if you want people to come to your country to see what your got you must be very creative. Yes visa and hotels are expensive, lower the price and the volume of visitor ...

• Yes I said it 11 years ago

Ghanaians lanlords want to sell houses like one is buying them in the middle-upper class neighborhoods of the US!
    Ghanaians travel outside and Africa then return to change Real Estate prices like they only want to sell to fo ...

• messa 11 years ago

gharging hotel rate more even then the usa what ajoke

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

This is a country where everyone thinks is smart.Even those in the remotest village quote their price in dollars.I understand the government itself calculate customs duties in

Contd. in dollars.We read from the bible that there were three wise men.Not so in Ghana.Over there, everybody is wise.
    To eradicate the phenomena, govt should as a first step,stop cheating the citizenry who live outside G ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

Man, you don't mean it! You mean there are foreign currency shops IN Ghana ??
    What do our NUMEROUS Economic PhDs and MBAs say to A WAY forward ??? Even the COMMON PERSON knows the EFFECT of having a National Currency but quo ...

Contd. in dollars.We read from the bible that there were three wise men.Not so in Ghana.Over there, everybody is wise.
    To eradicate the phenomena, govt should as a first step,stop cheating the citizenry who live outside G ...

• efua 11 years ago

Ghana is way too expensive and there is no value for money! Rubbish rates and rubbish food at exhorbitant prices. Our people need to visit the Gambia - they seem to have nailed it on the head!