Good, payment must match current international prices.
Wonua 12 hours ago
Nobody is chasing you pathological liars but you are running away! Naniama! Where is the Ghs6000 you promised to the farmers? You can’t even pay the 3600 and now 2500 far below 3100 Nana Addo paid. Nana Addo would have used the windfall of gold prices to cushion the farmers but they chose these heartless thieves!
Mike 12 hours ago
THE 6000 IS IN YOUR STINKING MOUTH
Kay 12 hours ago
U can continue to insult but time will expose you..Just 13mths in office but look at the disgrace. We told you Cassiel Ato Forson is a Liar with a Fake PhD, his Disgrace has just started.A Liar & a Scammer President.
MAHAMA THE SANITARY PAY PRESIDENT 12 hours ago
I knew this foolish and stupid NDC government would let cocoa farmers down. NDC is a curse to Ghana.
Jeremy 11 hours ago
NDC has disappointed us. At least maintain the price, why reduce it. What should we do with 2580 cedis.
It's a curse to be a cocoa farmer in Ghana! 9 hours ago
@ Mike. December 2028 is not that far away......if we farmers are still alive by then with our stinking mouths!
Emma 8 hours ago
Stop fooling, my friend.
Nana Abrokwah SA 8 hours ago
What was the world market price that time?
And what was the NPP government paying to the farmers
As compared to the current world market price, what is the average percentage of the world price that NDC government is paying for the farmers?
Please don't be hypocrite and face the fact
Mahama 24 Hour Economy is Real & West Togoland independence 12 hours ago
Why Ghanaians are fools:
1. We are easily deceived and we do not do analysis
2 We want immediate solutions that are populism
On this occasion, I will say that Nana Addo was a good president.
He had social interventions ... read full comment
Why Ghanaians are fools:
He had social interventions that helped poor and rich and no matter the crisis that he faced namely, Covid 19, Ukraine war, high oil prices and low gold prices.
He preserved Ghana .
My party must be careful because we are deceiving Ghanaians
Bole 11 hours ago
by far nana Addo
Cocoa farmers
Nurses
teachears
Nana Addo is real and spectacular!
by far nana Addo
Cocoa farmers
Nurses
teachears
Abusa president! 9 hours ago
It's now official. We have an abusa president. It used to be one third of the cocoa yield to the labourer or share cropper, and two thirds to the farm owner (who uses half of the two thirds to cover fertiliser, weedicide ahd other farming inputs).
Now, with Mahamah reducing the price by a third, he has become the ABUSA PRESIDENT. One third for the labourer, one third for the farm owner and one third for the ABUSA president.
ROTTEN KINGDOM OF DONKEYS 12 hours ago
I personally have the least pity for Ghanaian cocoa farmers when they bought into the NDC lies of buying a bag of cocoa at GHS6,000, where there was no basis other than a political gimmick and lies.
What is the difference ... read full comment
I personally have the least pity for Ghanaian cocoa farmers when they bought into the NDC lies of buying a bag of cocoa at GHS6,000, where there was no basis other than a political gimmick and lies.
What is the difference between these farmers, who based on these lies, voted for JDM and his NDC and those fools who went to Agradaa for sika gari? Politicians aren't magicians; they have told us time and time again, but we still trust them on their unattainable promises.
Rotten Kingdom of Donkey Cocoa Farmers.
Atta 11 hours ago
Cocoa Farmers have been shortchanged by GHC1,038 by President John Mahama/ NDC govt. It serves them right next time they see NDC flags in their villages they will think twice. True Mahama and Agradaa are the same.
Bole 11 hours ago
The farmers are also to blame.
In life decisions have consequences
Padi 10 hours ago
The Cedi rose against the dollar, but due to high taxes, it did not gain purchasing power proportionally.
Bfoh 12 hours ago
Ato Forson and prez Mahama, have you your deception? Settings government indeed. Nothing new to offer. Azaantana government. Fire burn you.
John,Tema 12 hours ago
Was it not this same Cassiel Ato Forson who imported home used 207 MB Vans as Ambulances for Ghana?Our Cocoa farmers shd blame themselves, this crook was also questioned about his Certificates during is vetting.
Good news 12 hours ago
Which business person in his right mind will buy a product for 100gh and sell it at 60gh,npp footsoldiers always walk with their heads down and legs up,very abnormal,better comment like normal human being
Alex 12 hours ago
It is a business man who appreciates his currency against a currency he/she sells his products for. Now the Ghanaian farmer is the one facing the consequences of sudden appreciation of the Cedi against the dollar. Ato Forson and Asiamah Ghanaian cocoa farmers will never forget you reckless handling of the cedi appreciation against the dollar
Pelicles. 12 hours ago
John Mahama and NDC act before thinking, and this is the end result. When they were touring the farming areas and making promises from nowhere, did it occur to them that some wind can blow and force change of direction on the international market?
How old are you, and when was the last time you heard a government reducing the price of cocoa that had been offered to our hardworking farmers other than NDC, and why are you venting your frustration on NPP?
Where were you when Ato Forson, during the campaign told farmers that NDC would pay them 6,000 cedis per bad, and now, who is swallowing his vomits?
This moves by NDC will go a long way to haunt them because since the days of Nkrumah through military regimes, no government had reduced the price of cocoa being paid to our farmers than NDC and you don't see anything wrong with it, right? You are a typical NDC fool who view our farmers as illiterate and they should be toyed with. You will see the result in the future.
Mike 12 hours ago
I laugh saaaaaa aban papa aba indeed
Sethoo 11 hours ago
Huuuraaaaaaay NDC. aban papaaaa aba. Dem go talk true. JDM has done it again This man swerved late Prof Atta Mills & Airbus, who are Cocoa farmers to Mahama?
Pelicles. 12 hours ago
Ghana Cocoa Akuafuo, are you happy for voting for NDC? Cocoa farmers should remember what Ato Forson said in front of them, and why NPP could not pay them 6,000 cedis.
Now, what NPP paid them has been reduced right, reduc ... read full comment
Ghana Cocoa Akuafuo, are you happy for voting for NDC? Cocoa farmers should remember what Ato Forson said in front of them, and why NPP could not pay them 6,000 cedis.
Now, what NPP paid them has been reduced right, reducing the purchasing power of our hardworking cocoa farmers.
Ghanaians, when going to polls, next time, please think before putting your thumb for who is the right person to lead you because John Mahama and NDC are just a curse on us.
Kwesi 12 hours ago
First time ever. Setting cocoa price lower than what exists. Failed government economic management. Did they know the implications of artificially bringing dollar to cedi down on cocoa pricing? Infact, as for flactuatios of cocoa prices on the world market, managing to avoid this situation affecting farmers negatively is exactly why cocobod is in existence. When world prices are high maintain at least reasonable price for farmers and when world prices go down subsidise to maintain price stability. COCOBOD has failed and its CEO and team must all be sacked.
Dr Sam 12 hours ago
Good to hear that, ndc foo nyina y3 nmoaaa.
Sense 12 hours ago
Before any idiot in NPP will comment give Bawuliar NPP solution to this mess NPP created first
Poku 12 hours ago
The Lord sleepeth not.
Kakey 12 hours ago
God had punished you cocoa Farmers, that is good paaaa. Ungratefull human beings.
Nat 11 hours ago
This is not first time reduction in world market prices drop. From Rawlings time to Nana ado time, but they cushion the farmers from other sources because every government has cheated farmers before. When cocoa price increased from 7000 dollar to 7200 dollars the Mahama government was still paying 7000 dollars as FOB to farmers. Shame on you people. Reduce your salaries as cocoa board workers
James Bedu 11 hours ago
Fundamentals of world economy will expose you when you make unrealistic promises .
NDC deal with mess
Taking advantage of farmers
Fundamentals of world economy will expose you when you make unrealistic promises .
NDC deal with mess
Kennedy Agyepong 11 hours ago
Bawumia will run away naked from Adenta to Walewale in the middle of the night on 8th December 2028. Who will vote for that kwasea fool? Wontumi?
obi 11 hours ago
By their lies, you should know them. But many Ghanaians have short memories. My fear is that Galamseyers will take advantage and demolish a few cocoa farms left in the mining communities
Ekow Mark 11 hours ago
Ato Forson so do you go down on your knees to pray to God. ? So Nana Addo and Mahama has shortchanged the cocoa farmers in the country ?' Please, ask for forgiveness from God if you have conscience.
ASIEDU NKWASIA 11 hours ago
NDC CONCERT PARTY INDEED
YOU HAVENT PAY THESE FARMERS SINCE NOVEMBER LETTING THEM GO THROUGH DRY CHRISTMAS, INSTEAD OF PAYING THEM, YOU THINK YOU WANT TO COOL THEM DOWN WITH PRICE INCREASE. FARMERS WATCH!!!!
NDC CONCERT PARTY INDEED
YOU HAVENT PAY THESE FARMERS SINCE NOVEMBER LETTING THEM GO THROUGH DRY CHRISTMAS, INSTEAD OF PAYING THEM, YOU THINK YOU WANT TO COOL THEM DOWN WITH PRICE INCREASE. FARMERS WATCH!!!!
Kwame Nyanteh 10 hours ago
...when you spend time chasing the wind,and forget to do forward/futures sales,this is where you will.send all of us.....sacking experience staff/directors of the marketing department....saaaaaa!!!!!!
Major 10 hours ago
We must braze ourselves to active smuggling of cocoa to Ivory Coast . Instead of reducing the lavish living of the executives at the COCOBOD, you chose to punish the hard working cocoa farmers who are the backbone of the country . How is Ivory Coast able to pay competitive market price to their farmers?
It's a curse to be a cocoa farmer in Ghana! 9 hours ago
Unfortunately, my farm is far away from the border. And I don't want to give my grandchildren's inheritance to the galamseyers.......but I'm thinking about it!
Bfds 9 hours ago
There has not been any sustainable reduce of prices of cocoa is the same dollar price, speciallynot 30% that thay is the amount reduced per bag...just the rate game
ABUSA PRESIDENT! 8 hours ago
@Bfds, this is not the place for keen idiots like you fool. I bet you were educated at our expense too!
As a farmer, I would have been better off if the dollar had stayed at ghc17. Only unproductive nations like Ghana ... read full comment
@Bfds, this is not the place for keen idiots like you fool. I bet you were educated at our expense too!
As a farmer, I would have been better off if the dollar had stayed at ghc17. Only unproductive nations like Ghana (which imports everything from orange juice to tooth picks ) complain about a weak currency. Australians rejoice in a weak Australian dollar because it enables their farmers, manufacturers and miners to sell agricultural products in foreign currency and get a lot more auzzie dollars back home. The USA has been pressuring China to raise the value of its currency, but China chooses to have a weak currency becausetheir exports are everywher.
Since Maamah manipulated the cedi to an artificially high exchange rate, only cocoa farmers have been made to suffer. Apart from rice and oil, prices continue to rise. Imported chicken and fish have gone up by at least 10% since Maamah came to power. And transportation hasn't come down.
As a farmer, l can say on authority that by day farm workers now charge ghc100. In December 2024, the rate was ghc70. Try buying fish or tomatoes.
This is not the first time that cocoa prices have fallen on the world market. But this is the first time any government has reduced the cocoa price. But trust the NDC to now sing a different tune from what sang in 2024. Where is the ghc7000 which we were promised?
2028 isn't that far off. This time, it's not going to be a matter of short memory. Because for the first time ever, THIS ABUSA PRESIDENT is taking money directly from our pockets. There is a common saying among farmers that if you cant do anything for your parent-in-law, you dont steal from them! We shall chew twigs, leaves and roots of "tweapea, twantin, kwartemaa, ogyama, sonsromansa" etc to give us retentive memory at the 2028 polls.
The NDC has just proven that it's just a national menace led by thugs!
And now, it's official. We have an ABUSA PRESIDENT WHO WANTS TO SWINDLE A WHOLE THIRD OF THE COCOA PRICE FOM US POOR FARMERS!
Yaw Sango 8 hours ago
Gradually white people are eating less chocolate forcing cocoa price to drop so low .
Student 8 hours ago
Oh saa? Really? Come again abeg because this statement won't wash. C'mon. Smh.
AK 8 hours ago
Pathological liars. One would have thought the cabinet Ministers would also reduce their salaries
Insensitive people in government. Farmers will pay you back. Watch
Pathological liars. One would have thought the cabinet Ministers would also reduce their salaries
Kwame Peter 7 hours ago
$10billion was used to buy steroids for wobbling cedi to keep standing, now cocoa farmers have suffered a haircut on industrial scale,GHC1,038 per bag,for every 10bags the farmer is losing GhC10,038.00,this is DDEP on industrial scale.John Mahama good evening to you and your brother Ibrahim.
Concern Citizen 7 hours ago
Talking is cheap. The finance minister should have been resign first by now before Randy Abbey. How much did you promised to pay farmers Ato when campaigning in 2024? Randy Abbey talked a lot when he sat on Metro for good morning. Now reality has catch up with him. Empty barrel make the most noise.
Koo 5 hours ago
I thought we had a robust economy?
I thought everything was well and that reduction in international prices wouldn’t have any effect.
Any no wonder we continue to attribute the turn around of our economy to God. Becau ... read full comment
I thought everything was well and that reduction in international prices wouldn’t have any effect.
Any no wonder we continue to attribute the turn around of our economy to God. Because we are oblivious of what is going on or what we are supposed to do as a nation.
Just a decline in cocoa prices and cocobod has been exposed.
So what we will do if gold prices decline?
Hmmmmmmm
Let’s stop NPP NDC and find an everlasting solution to our economic problems.
Nyansapo 3 hours ago
Every sector of the economy will get its broken heart from NDC government.... Ofui next time. Very soon you will be selling a bag for 20ghc. Naniama!!!!
Agbeli Kumordziì 2 hours ago
Build more silos to hoods the cocoa beans
If the price goes up then the farmer can bring out their cocoa beans for sale for good money
Reset in motion. Aban papa aba!
Nobody is chasing you pathological liars but you are running away! Naniama! Where is the Ghs6000 you promised to the farmers? You can’t even pay the 3600 and now 2500 far below 3100 Nana Addo paid. Nana Addo would have used ...
Stop fooling, my friend.
As compared to the current world market price, what is the average percentage of the world price that NDC government is payin ...
Why Ghanaians are fools:
He had social interventions ...
by far nana Addo
Cocoa farmers
Nurses
teachears
It's now official. We have an abusa president. It used to be one third of the cocoa yield to the labourer or share cropper, and two thirds to the farm owner (who uses half of the two thirds to cover fertiliser, weedicide ...
What is the difference ...
It is a business man who appreciates his currency against a currency he/she sells his products for. Now the Ghanaian farmer is the one facing the consequences of sudden appreciation of the Cedi against the dollar. Ato Forson ...
John Mahama and NDC act before thinking, and this is the end result. When they were touring the farming areas and making promises from nowhere, did it occur to them that some wind can blow and force change of direction on the ...
Now, what NPP paid them has been reduced right, reduc ...
First time ever. Setting cocoa price lower than what exists. Failed government economic management. Did they know the implications of artificially bringing dollar to cedi down on cocoa pricing? Infact, as for flactuatios of c ...
The Lord sleepeth not.
This is not first time reduction in world market prices drop. From Rawlings time to Nana ado time, but they cushion the farmers from other sources because every government has cheated farmers before. When cocoa price increase ...
NDC deal with mess
NDC CONCERT PARTY INDEED
We must braze ourselves to active smuggling of cocoa to Ivory Coast . Instead of reducing the lavish living of the executives at the COCOBOD, you chose to punish the hard working cocoa farmers who are the backbone of the cou ...
As a farmer, I would have been better off if the dollar had stayed at ghc17. Only unproductive nations like Ghana ...
$10billion was used to buy steroids for wobbling cedi to keep standing, now cocoa farmers have suffered a haircut on industrial scale,GHC1,038 per bag,for every 10bags the farmer is losing GhC10,038.00,this is DDEP on industr ...
Talking is cheap. The finance minister should have been resign first by now before Randy Abbey. How much did you promised to pay farmers Ato when campaigning in 2024? Randy Abbey talked a lot when he sat on Metro for good mor ...
Any no wonder we continue to attribute the turn around of our economy to God. Becau ...