BUT WHERE ARE THE ROLE MODELS TO INSPIRE AND ENCOURAGE THE YOUTH OSOFO? 5 days ago
Where are the role models for the younger generation to model their own behaviour on?
Can we blame them for being ostentatious and trying to impress their peers, friends and acquaintances?
All around them they see people i ... read full comment
Where are the role models for the younger generation to model their own behaviour on?
Can we blame them for being ostentatious and trying to impress their peers, friends and acquaintances?
All around them they see people in positions of influence or authority flaunting their wealth. These bad role models include many politicians, big names in the entertainment and sports industry and even religious leaders. These youngsters grow up seeing these prominent personalities and influencers wearing expensive designer clothing, living in plush mansions, eating at exclusive restaurants, being chauffeur driven or driving very high-end cars etc etc . What is more many of these so-called successful personalities transitioned from rags to riches at warp speed so that the young ones looking on have come to believe that you can become very rich, very successful or very famous overnight by taking various often illegal or criminal shortcuts.
Very few of the younger generation ever get to learn that the only tried and tested way to meaningful and enduring success is through HARD WORK, DISCIPLINE, CAREFUL PLANNING, BEING RESILIENT, BEING PATIENT, BEING TENACIOUS, LEARNING TO BE FRUGAL BY CAREFUL BUDGETING, SAVING AND INVESTING THESE SAVINGS EVENTUALLY IN WORTHWHILE VENTURES OR ASSETS.
HOW OFTEN DO WE HEAR GHANAIAN “MEN OF GOD” EMPHASIZE THE IMPORTANCE OF THE ABOVE TRAITS WHICH LEAD TO SUCCESS OR FINANCIAL SECURITY OF WHICH THE BIBLE SPEAKS OF VERY FREQUENTLY IN THE VARIOUS BOOKS THEREIN? WE ARE NOT TRYING TO DISCREDIT OUR PASTORAL LEADERS OR HAVE A GO AT TOUR MEN OF GOD BUT WE HAVE TO ASK THESE QUESTION DURING THESE CHALLENGING TIMES WHETHER THEY HAVE PLAYED A POSITIVE ROLE AT ALL IN ENCOURAGING OR INSPIRING THE YOUNGER GENERATIONS TO APPRECIATE THE IMPORTANCE OF THE PRINCIPLE OF “DELAYED GRATIFICATION”.
Focus on reducing petrol cost not cedi dollar 4 days ago
Focus on reducing petrol cost it's why things are so expensive. It's how China's economy grew.
Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down prices and encourage alot and alot job creation for you to make your ... read full comment
Focus on reducing petrol cost it's why things are so expensive. It's how China's economy grew.
Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down prices and encourage alot and alot job creation for you to make your money back through taxation.
It also strengthens the cedi against the dollar, inflation...so you don't need to artificially pump billions of dollars to create artificial strong cedi. Instead use it to subsidise petrol. Cedi will stabilise naturally.
They focused on dollar and not petrol and wonder why economy never worked.
You get 2 for 1 bargain..Ghana what are we doing struggling? lack of knowledge
Only the wise can comprehend.
Vornyovie Victory 4 days ago
Should a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ do that lavish wedding just because he has the funds. The meaningless show of opulence displayed at weddings should be discouraged whether the individual can finance it or not.
MZBEL IS WAITING FOR HER 100,000gh WEDDING 4 days ago
Paa Willie, did you not hear what Mzbel said last week? You dumped her for an American Woman.
Chief Okonkwo 4 days ago
You use Ghc100,000.00 taken from the church tithes to shop for your weekly groceries, so it is chicken change to you. I pity those fools.........
Modibo 4 days ago
You these bloody thieves wearing cassocks are living in your own world, so you don't know the current realities of life. Keep fooling yourselves
Blue Pen 4 days ago
Read the report before making wrong comments based on a misleading headline.
Eddy Bow 4 days ago
Where in the Bible does God says this, or its your own doctrine that people who dont have money should not marry or no one should marry them
MUMU DID YOU HAVE SUCH AN AMOUNT BEFORE YOU FIRST MARRIED? 5 days ago
YOU GOT THE COLLECTION AND TITHES TO DEPEND ON SO YOU CAN SAY ANYTHING
Maecenas 4 days ago
Some of you write before you think, couldn't you at least read first, always in a haste to insult, may God forgive you
Blue Pen 4 days ago
It's obvious he/she/it wrote that silly comment based on the misleading headline and his/her/its predetermined biases and not on the report itself.
Kojo 4 days ago
Let him tell us his savings before getting married!!! Most of his money was from church offerings ad members!!!
Blema Duade 4 days ago
So what's ur point? He had lots of money in d bank b4 he got married or he exploited his members n used d money to have his wedding? Ur comments are irrelevant, u lack education.
TAKE OR PAY DEMON 4 days ago
This directive by Duncan Williams is antiChristian and unBiblical. Duncan Williams is an opporunist and I strongly believe he has been bribed by oil rich Islamic Nations to help reduce Christian population to help Muslims take over Ghana. It is important to note that Duncan Williams" church has no branch in the north. Why is it so? There are only two criteria that qualify Christians to marry, thus: a) the man must have a room and a bed, and b) at leat, any one of the would be couple must have a job.
Maecenas 4 days ago
Did you even have time to read
SD.com 4 days ago
Do you know the bible? Check or find out those or how many that did wedding in the bible as against those who didn't. Did Mary and Joseph wedding?
NONSENSE!!! BOOT LICKER, WHERE IS THE WISDOM IN THIS? 4 days ago
This criminal should rather advise couples to be modest with their wedding ceremonies and live within their means instead of borrowing money for weddings
Ooops 4 days ago
Did you read the article at all.
POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI-CORRUPTION 4 days ago
This is the first time Archbishop Duncan Williams has spoken sense! I agree 1000000% with him
cvvv 4 days ago
instead of telling them not to do any wedding but just come and sign whatever docs and go in peace or marry under the customary law for a start this buffoon is asking people to have 100K in their bank accounts for wedding .
I LOVE MY NDC 4 days ago
Honestly sometimes l don't understand people parading themselves as the authentic men of God, truth must be said, before the advent of these on-man churches were there these kinds of glamours weddings, aren't these same kind of preachers who trumpeted that men should take bould moves into such adventures with some quotes "The violent takes it by force". Even they went ahead that if parents wouldn't agree or approve of the marriage they the so called men of God will parade themselves as parents to contract the marriage, this has led to the dissolution of many marriages in our times ( l am a witness to some of such marriages). Lavish weddings were really introduced by same people because they could get the church contributing to support the marriage of young pastors because their marriage bans were announced with some kind of grammartic(if correct) English, every youth wanted to belong to such charismatic churches. Today are they trying to reverse the declaration?
Well l defeat the wisdom of this respected man of God in the eyes of men (with caution since l am not the eye of God Almighty who called him). From 1Cor 7, Matt 19 (for time and space) and even John 4 the Bible did not advise one should have even one pesewa before contracting marriage, in John 4 the groom's marriage was so pleasing to God that Jesus performed His first miracle, 1Cor 7 why we should marry as recorded in Genesis 2:24. I don't advise one should borrow to get married, no, never, but when God approves of the marriage irrespective of rich or poor God sees to the success of the marriage. Per the counseling, l think the man of God is teaching the youth to be greedy for money and the ladies will also raise the bar, fornication galore. More to say
Prudhomme - Ghanaians are unintelligent 5 days ago
This is pure nonsense. This crook of a man is otherwise telling Ghanaians to steal.
In reality, considering the rate of salaries in Ghana, it is highly impossible for a truthful/honest person to save GHC 100K in the bank, ... read full comment
This is pure nonsense. This crook of a man is otherwise telling Ghanaians to steal.
In reality, considering the rate of salaries in Ghana, it is highly impossible for a truthful/honest person to save GHC 100K in the bank, regardless of the number of years worked.
In effect the Duncan fool is advocating for Ghanaians to go the Cecilia Dapaah way - steal till you are cuaght!
Chairman 5 days ago
You are a fool paaa. You are the thief. Sia
Prudhomme - Ghanaians are unintelligent 5 days ago
Your whole family are a bunch of folls, I believe.
Mt Everest 5 days ago
You clearly didn't read the article because what the man of God said is praiseworthy and does not at all deserve insults. Moreover, the writer of the article is just mischievous. Because the article's title is completely different from the content.
Think well 5 days ago
This is wisdom well spoken man of God.
Ras Mc Cainzy 5 days ago
Some people don't read and understand before making statement. They just read the heading and starting insulting. May God forgive them. The man of God has spoken well that's wisdom.
Wise Man. 5 days ago
He is absolutely right so the Men who intend to marry has to follow what he said and they will be free.
EMP 5 days ago
What!! Any biblical evidence??
Cooli0 5 days ago
For the first time u are speaking sense
Why marriage 5 days ago
Why should you marry in the first place?
Blema Duade 4 days ago
Oh, never get married.
dog meat 5 days ago
everything is about money to freemason preachers. archbishop you lost it and followed money Genesis 2:24, the definition marriage not the freemason one called wedding
Website developer 5 days ago
Kindly Whatsapp or call me for all your Professional Website Designs, Website Redesigns, Website Upgrades, Social Media advertising, expert digital marketing services , Graphic design services and all other IT related services. I am very reliable and efficient.www.webgateconsult.com or Contact: 0244289681
Michael 5 days ago
Very good counsel. The heading doesn't match the write up.
Ofori 5 days ago
Nice advice. I think women are the ones pushing men to do these lavish style weddings because probably their peers did it so they have to copy blindly.
Ay3 Ka 5 days ago
Africa,Africa,Africa how many times did I mention the name?
The continent is SICK & comments like this give no hope nor future.
Who brought this lavish stuff upon the youth?
Is you pastor politicians & the political figure ... read full comment
Is you pastor politicians & the political figures.
Don’t forget it is only in Africa life begins at 40 but else where in the America/Europe it begins at 16.
Lance 5 days ago
I will start going to your church
Abrefa 5 days ago
It doesn't cost much to have an ordinance marriage in Ghana. Just go to the Registrar General's Department and sign. The focus on elaborate, expensive weddings so you can get social media blowout but begin your marriage in debt is total nonsense. If your parents can bankroll your wedding, fine. Otherwise it's the epitome of stupidity to borrow money for an elaborate wedding ceremony.
Xxx 4 days ago
Natural Truth
Daniel 4 days ago
He couldn't have said it better.
We must always live below our means.
There is no sense borrowing to have a wedding
Wise words 4 days ago
Am glad that I watched the video before commenting. Wise words Bishop. Hope they will listen. God bless you. The journalist who made the caption,was misleading the readers.
Kanawu 4 days ago
Can someone point me to a Bible verse which says 100K is needed before marriage?
Maecenas 4 days ago
Please read or listen to the audio first, and pls Ghanaweb employ proper editors, this mischief is getting out of hand
Blema Duade 4 days ago
Indirectly he's saying lavish weddings are not necessary.
Kofi Ga1 4 days ago
This advise from this crooked pastor is good but its too late, after brain-washing his church members to spend on the church and unnecessary expensive weddings ,now he realise the memebers are totally broke and dried out of cash therefore spending lavishly on weddings are not good, tell me mr.pastor Duncan williams ,how about the expensive offerings you encourage your church members to offer on every church services ,why dont you talk about that too, i saw people in your church giving offerings in a tune of Ghc1,000 at a go, i think you should clean the junk advises you have planted in their brains once you have realise how deep your church has ruin the lives for them to believe that given to the church is the way to prosperity and paradise ,,,,,,,thieves in gosple cassocks !!!!!.........
GENERAL BUTT NAKED 4 days ago
I don't understand this one again, are you telling us average Ghanaians can not marry again or what??? This your speech is disgusting ahhh and you call yourself a man of God!!! Shoo!!! Nawaooo!!! Which part of the Bible have you been reading????? What at all are you teaching your members, when Abrahams servant finally find Rebecca for Issac as his wife how much did the Bible stated that he was having in his account, hmmmm the Bible said it, beware of ..........!! You supposed to be preaching about Daniel 12, Daniel 7, Ezekiel 37, Ezekiel 38, Ezekiel 39 and Matthew 24, Matthew 25 by now, that the WW3, WW111, 3RD WORLD WAR, AND NEW WORLD ORTHE is rare in our time like this, you are there talking about young guys having 100k in account before marrying God is watching oooo
Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 4 days ago
I personally don’t see how poor people could be entitled to marriage. Just like everything else, marriage subsists on money which poor people don’t have. They must therefore completely exclude themselves in order to save themselves from unnecessary harm.
JULOR CAESAR 4 days ago
Idiot. Your poor brain has failed you miserably.
Bazz 4 days ago
Absolute truth
Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 4 days ago
Chase wasap him 00491608343763
Bank fl ... read full comment
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00491608343763 Bank wire transfer to all countries
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Mt103 mt1
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00491608343763 hamzaben
Kk 4 days ago
Pepa respectfully on this one I disagree. A man can have zero and still marry. We should rather be advising our ladies to go into marriage with the intention of helping the man to make it. Indeed there is no bible verse to support your assertion great man of God.
Duncan Williams is demonised 4 days ago
Odwan, stop dupping people, satan worshipping man impersonating to be fir Christ. Freemasonry man with filthy workd fir the devil in the name of the church. Stop preying on the poor and the vulnerable who cannot think that you are fake.
Me mfa Borg3 3ny3 swine 4 days ago
This man is a freemason man and so don't go to his church, he will lead you to hell.
Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 4 days ago
Just do traditional marriage. Who cares about the white man’s wedding. Ffs.
AKONTA MINING 4 days ago
ARCHBISHOP, SINCE WHEN HAVE YOU KNOWN THIS?
I AGREE WITH YOU, 100 PERCENT ARCHBISHOP, BUT SERIOUSLY ..... marriage has always been very expensive especially in Christian Action Faith Chapel. I pray and hope this message is applied with immediate effect. Having personally married a lady from Action, the hell I went through in the hands of my counsellor Mrs. Anum because I lived in a compound house, needed blood test and all those requirements were just too much. Me and my fiancée then had to go back and work on our financial situation for 2 years, even that we still couldn't meet some of the demands. We married anyway and though it was blessed by Bishops Nyarko and James Saah, our married counsellor refused to attend our wedding because some of the demands were not met. Fast forward in 2026, this is our 30th year since that wedding, we're blessed with kids, houses, cars and doing well in life. You guys should sit up and fix this mess that has seriously eaten the mindset of many a Christians.
Kutungi 4 days ago
Our traditional marriage is the best. The couple should insist on preparing their WILL together to protect their children after death
CHURCH WEDDINGS ARE COLONIAL RELICS-Kwabena ohemeng,london 4 days ago
Did God advise the Jews to have their marriages blessed by the levites in synagogues? Did Jesus advise his followers to have their marriages blessed in churches? Weddings in churches in Africa are relics
of colonialism. A. ... read full comment
Did God advise the Jews to have their marriages blessed by the levites in synagogues? Did Jesus advise his followers to have their marriages blessed in churches? Weddings in churches in Africa are relics
of colonialism. A. copycat culture which even whites frown upon. In the UK full recognition is given to our traditional marriages.We should
get rid of the slavish mentality that church weddings are more superior than our traditional marriages.
Sir K 4 days ago
Any man that borrow money to marry is a fool, plain and simple.
JULOR CAESAR 4 days ago
Nonsense. Prove to whom? Who makes you or any one else the wedding patrol? No one needs to prove to any person how much they have to their name before they can have a wedding.
Konfo 4 days ago
Thank you Duncan-Williams. Black man copies blindly
Peter 4 days ago
I do have my own issues with this man. But what he is saying, on the balance, makes a lot of sense. Individuals who have money just throw money away. Traditional marriage, followed by an elaborate wedding, reception and the Sunday lunch, all for what. To celebrate the marriage or to impress people.
Martin Kreisler 4 days ago
I think GhanaWebs reporting on the sermon is inaccurate at some point.
The Archbishop did not preach that couples who are not financially endowed should not get married, but that, they should stay away from elaborate/extravagant wedding ceremonies which will land them into depts. He advocated that such couples should opt for 'dept free', church organised 'mass weddings'.
What the Archbishop has said makes a lot of practical and spiritual common sense.
Scripture does not promote extavagance in marriage ceremonies, and such ceremonies were not the practice in the early church.
Ojatanaa 4 days ago
Where have you been hiding Abronye is waiting for you at circle
Kofi Ga 4 days ago
You will never marry if that your bench mark.
Exposer 4 days ago
YOU ARE IN OCULT ONE DAY YOU WILL BE EXPOSED BIG TIME ! YOUR SHORD ,YOUR HAIRCUT AND HOW YOU GO ABOUT IN WOLF IN SHEEP SKIN ,ALL ARE AWARE JUST THAT AT THE RIGHT TIME YOU WILL CONFESS YOUSELF IN SHAME BIG SHAME ! DONT BE THERE AND THINK YOU ARE FREE YOU WILL SURLY ANSWER FOR THE OCULT WORSHIPING,SCAM ,INITIATION,AND BLASPHAMING
Exposer 4 days ago
INFACT YOU ARE FAKE AND STILL A CRIMINAL ,WHAT DOES THAT CONCERN YOU ?IS IT RELIVANT TO EVEN COMMENT ON THAT?NO WONDER YOU ARE ALL IN THE SAME OCULT SOCIETY
Anna 3 days ago
Is this fake pastor calling himself archbishop sick? Does he mean the poor who have not stole cannot wed?. Toonoo
KN 3 days ago
DO YOU SEE HOW THESE SO CALLED PASTORS ARE FAITHLESS. WHAT DOES THE WORD OF GOD SAY, WE ,WALK BY FAITH NOT BY SIGHT. I KNOW DUNCAN YOUR MOST OF YOUR MEMBERS CANT UNDERSTAND THIS. YOU LACK REVELATION IN THE NEW COVENANT ESPECIALLY THE PAULINE EPISTLES. MOST OF YOUR MEMBERS LIVE IN THE SENSUAL REALM. ONCE THEY CANT SEE, FEEL, TASTE ,TOUCH, SMELL, ITS NOT REAL. A PERSON MUST BE WORKING AND HAVE A REASONABLE REGULAR SOURCE OF INCOME , TO SAY A HUNDRED THOUSAND, EVEN YOU BEING A MAN, YOUR CHILDREN TRUST YOU TO PROVIDE FOR THEM. DO YOU SEE HOW YOUR UNBELIEF LIMITS GOD. WHO ARE THOSE THAT ATTEND THE CHURCHES OF THESE FAITHLESS PASTORS. THATS WHY IN GHANA, MOST PREACHERS SAY THEY ARE PROPHETS AND YET EVEN H3ADACHE THEY CANT EVEN BELIEVE GOD FOR THEMSELVES. YOU DONT STUDY THE WORD OF GOD FOR YOURSELF ESPECIALLY WHO WE ARE IN CHRIST, ,WHAT WE ARE IN CHRIST, WHAT WE HAVE IN CHRIST, AND WHAT WE CAN DO IN CHRIST. READ THE PAULINE GOSPEL. APOATLE PAUL SAID ACCORDING TO HIS GOSPEL. WAIT UNTIL THE DOCTORS SAYS THERE IS NO CURE AND THATS IS WHEN YOU WILL KNOW THIS MAN THAT YOU HAVE YOUR FAITH IN IS SO CANAL AND FAITHLESS. MOST GHANAIAN PASTORS ARE FAITHLESS AND CARNAL. DONT FOLLOW THEM TOO CLOSELY. THE GOSPEL HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THEM. ITS ABOUT OUR LORD JESUS CHRIST. GOD IS ONLY LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO HAS FAITH IN HIS PROMISES THROUGH OUR LORD JESUS CHRIST.
Wisdom
Will they listen
All around them they see people i ...
Subsidise petrol to make it cost less, this will drive down prices and encourage alot and alot job creation for you to make your ...
This directive by Duncan Williams is antiChristian and unBiblical. Duncan Williams is an opporunist and I strongly believe he has been bribed by oil rich Islamic Nations to help reduce Christian population to help Muslims tak ...
Honestly sometimes l don't understand people parading themselves as the authentic men of God, truth must be said, before the advent of these on-man churches were there these kinds of glamours weddings, aren't these same kind ...
In reality, considering the rate of salaries in Ghana, it is highly impossible for a truthful/honest person to save GHC 100K in the bank, ...
You clearly didn't read the article because what the man of God said is praiseworthy and does not at all deserve insults. Moreover, the writer of the article is just mischievous. Because the article's title is completely diff ...
Oh, never get married.
Kindly Whatsapp or call me for all your Professional Website Designs, Website Redesigns, Website Upgrades, Social Media advertising, expert digital marketing services , Graphic design services and all other IT related service ...
Is you pastor politicians & the political figure ...
It doesn't cost much to have an ordinance marriage in Ghana. Just go to the Registrar General's Department and sign. The focus on elaborate, expensive weddings so you can get social media blowout but begin your marriage in de ...
Natural Truth
This advise from this crooked pastor is good but its too late, after brain-washing his church members to spend on the church and unnecessary expensive weddings ,now he realise the memebers are totally broke and dried out of c ...
I don't understand this one again, are you telling us average Ghanaians can not marry again or what??? This your speech is disgusting ahhh and you call yourself a man of God!!! Shoo!!! Nawaooo!!! Which part of the Bible have ...
I personally don’t see how poor people could be entitled to marriage. Just like everything else, marriage subsists on money which poor people don’t have. They must therefore completely exclude themselves in order to save ...
Absolute truth
Bank fl ...
Pepa respectfully on this one I disagree. A man can have zero and still marry. We should rather be advising our ladies to go into marriage with the intention of helping the man to make it. Indeed there is no bible verse to s ...
Odwan, stop dupping people, satan worshipping man impersonating to be fir Christ. Freemasonry man with filthy workd fir the devil in the name of the church. Stop preying on the poor and the vulnerable who cannot think that ...
I AGREE WITH YOU, 100 PERCENT ARCHBISHOP, BUT SERIOUSLY ..... marriage has always been very expensive especially in Christian Action Faith Chapel. I pray and hope this message is ...
of colonialism. A. ...
I do have my own issues with this man. But what he is saying, on the balance, makes a lot of sense. Individuals who have money just throw money away. Traditional marriage, followed by an elaborate wedding, reception and the S ...
The Archbishop did not preach that couples who are not financially endowed should not get married, but that, they should stay away from elaborate/extrava ...
YOU ARE IN OCULT ONE DAY YOU WILL BE EXPOSED BIG TIME ! YOUR SHORD ,YOUR HAIRCUT AND HOW YOU GO ABOUT IN WOLF IN SHEEP SKIN ,ALL ARE AWARE JUST THAT AT THE RIGHT TIME YOU WILL CONFESS YOUSELF IN SHAME BIG SHAME ! DONT BE THER ...
DO YOU SEE HOW THESE SO CALLED PASTORS ARE FAITHLESS. WHAT DOES THE WORD OF GOD SAY, WE ,WALK BY FAITH NOT BY SIGHT. I KNOW DUNCAN YOUR MOST OF YOUR MEMBERS CANT UNDERSTAND THIS. YOU LACK REVELATION IN THE NEW COVENANT ESPECI ...
This fool should shut up.