Ghanaian banks introduce 5% fee on forex withdrawals

Read Comments Comments (58)

• A Ghanaian. 2 months ago

MAHAMA AND BOG THIVES

• God bless NPP government Akuffo Addo.. 2 months ago

It pleases me to know that all ghanains who refused to votes for the NPP and the fools persuaded to votes for this extremely incompetent man will also fall victim to their own intellect, from the inevitable,inescapable Realit ...

• PMK 2 months ago

Kwasia like you. A terribly corrupt party like Npp would have destroyed the country by now. Eight years and all the economic indicators turned RED. By the way why is that corrupt/thief Ofori Atah still hiding in the US if he ...

• Alidu 2 months ago

PMK don't be stupid and stop following political part blindly without aim, Ghana economic was one of fast growing economy in the world before coroner, you and l all witnessed the devastation caused by Corona hence stop being ...

• ll 2 months ago

it was the so called fastest because it had borrowed more than all governments put together without matching investments,so when it was time to pay we couldnt

• Ghanaman 2 months ago

When the government begins this king of unlawful institutional robbery, there are consequences. People will stop keeping foreign currency in the banks, and many who have some sense of patriotism and honesty in declaring the r ...

• saga 2 months ago

masa leave npp out of this they are worse do you people have brains at all

• 50,000 ? 2 months ago

Are you sure ?

• Dunny 2 months ago

What impudence

• fg 2 months ago

BOG is confused.
    How can you take people to take away more of the thing that you do not have by allowing those travelling out to take 50,000 USD but restrict those bring in to just 10,000 USD?

• Obaa Sima 2 months ago

I didn’t quite understand what you said so just making assumptions here. If you’re referring to the maximum 10,000 cash then note that it isn’t a GoG policy, but a IS one to fight money laundering. You can have more t ...

• AB 2 months ago

Is it only money brought in that can be used to finance terrorist activities?

So people can buy $ and travel out with $50,000 at a time! Hmmmmmmmm!

• DEEVINITY 2 months ago

$50,000 may refer to importers and businesses (especially Ghanaian traders).

• DEEVINITY 2 months ago

But the law must be specific and make the distinction between who can carry how much and why. An individual going on holiday cannot justify the repatriation of US$50K nor does it make logical sense to allow that kind of leewa ...

• Obaa Sima 2 months ago

Hopefully we are talking abijt the same thing, otherwise I apologize.

• fg 2 months ago

Aaa Obaa Sima, you are the politest person I have encountered on this platform. God Bless you.
    The story itself was not as clear as you have mentioned, but the confusing part is about saying you can only bring in 10,000USD ...

• Kwame 2 months ago

This is misguided, an egregious idiocy. It will completely dry up the inflows of remittances into the country and make the black market to flourish. Who will work hard here and send money only to be charged a whopping 5% for ...

• COD 2 months ago

@ Kwame; This is one of the most stupid and incompetent moves of this Mahama`s NDC gov`t.
    One can leave Ghana holding $50, 000.00 in hand, but can enter Ghana only with $10, 000.00?
    Is this not promoting and encouraging som ...

• AB 2 months ago

This was started by the previous government and the charge was 3%. This was punitive enough and am not sure why the increase to 5%.

I need some one to explain the economic reasoning behind it.

• Madam dog 2 months ago

Mahama is just not a smart man

• fg 2 months ago

This is pure daylight robbery.
    So, I work had to earn or undertake a business to earn 100,000USD, the BOG is saying that for no reason apart from robbery, they will take a whooping 5000USD (60,000 cedis) from my 100,000USD ...

• kusie 2 months ago

yes exactly the case

• AB 2 months ago

This was started by NPP at 3% and we said nothing. Now it's 5%. Is that the cost of importing Forex?

• Eliana 2 months ago

Why don’t you sell your dollars to the bank and take cedis , than to withdraw in dollars to be charged.

• ERICUS 2 months ago

Ohh dear you are thinking deep into this and is good of you. They mentioned some exemption in the statement and I think that's what the BOG want us to do. You just look at the demands given to the Banks.

• Nii 2 months ago

Absolute Ludacris. Will weaken the cedi further.

• kusie 2 months ago

will strengthen the cedi rather,read the headline well

• T.T 2 months ago

Hahaha,Ato Forson is working! Ghanaians deserve what is happening.

• CEDI NÒ APIKI 2 months ago

By Ato Forson

• JD 2 months ago

knee-jerk reaction on the part of BOG and Ato Forson

• Kofi 2 months ago

This is highway robbery

• Odinga 2 months ago

This is insane...how do you safe guard your foreign currency by allowing 10 in and 50 out.
    Think about it!

• Concerned citizen 2 months ago

They're not safeguarding any foreign currency. But rather strengthening the Cedi. Having too much foreign devalue the local currency. Less in and more out reduces the amount of foreign currency in the country.

• Wagyimi paa 2 months ago

Do you know what banking is. If people save foreign currency in banks in Ghana, does the government not have access to it? Tell me how banks make their money

• DEEVINITY 2 months ago

@Concerned Citizen. You should study the data on the sheer volumes of £$ repatriation by both investors and local businesses/importers.

• Kwesi 2 months ago

It means push your foreign money through BOG to your bank account so that they gain remittance tax and when you want to withdraw also. It will attract the 5% withdrawal tax. NDC Double taxation resetting Ghana policy. Go ...

• Agbalagba 2 months ago

Buului.

• Patriot 2 months ago

Totally brain dead and irrational regulation!!!

• BOG WRONG, this will hurt the Cedi! 2 months ago

What is going on at the Bank of Ghana? Is the BOG suggesting that limiting cash dollar inflows into Ghana (only $10,000) versus encouraging higher cash dollar outflows ($50,000) will support the cedi? What financial or econom ...

• Yew 2 months ago

STUPID MAHAMA WHAT THE IS HE DOING ? MANY FAMILIES IN GHANA DEPEND ON FUNDS FROM OVERSEA TO EAT AND HE WANTS THEM TO PAY 5% OF WHATEVER THEY GET ??? WHAT A BULL SHIT WHY ARE GHANIANS DONT TAKE TO THE STREETS AND PROTEST ...

• Edi 2 months ago

NDC govt lost it boycott all forex in ghana make them go out of business what a disgrace thiefs

• Kofi Adu 2 months ago

Ghanaians entering the country can carry only five thousand dollars. But those in Ghana leaving the country are allowed to carry fifty thousand dollars. Is this policy going to help the economy?

• Alidu 2 months ago

Ojam, it's 10,000 not 5,000

• Wake up Ghanaians 2 months ago

This policy will only allow political criminals to loot the country and move it abroad.

• Boat 2 months ago

At this point, it’s lucid to say: maybe we should encourage galamsey so the government can mine more gold, sell it, and pump the proceeds into the economy to stabilise the cedi.

For those remitting money through traditio ...

• Thieves 2 months ago

What is the Bank of Ghana and Finance Minister doing about it. They charge you ridiculous account maintenance fees and they want to charge withdrawal fees? How is Ghana going to be competitive in attracting foreign investors?

• DEEVINITY 2 months ago

You should be worried about local businesses and investors. Ghana has always retained and sustained the colonial philosophy of punitive business legislation which are diametrically opposed to the state rhetoric of making the ...

• By their fruits 2 months ago

Now i must decide whether to continue doing exports.

It makes no sense to give away 5% of export earnings to my Bank that refuses to finance my exports.

• kusie 2 months ago

you can transfer it directly rather than withdrawing it and putting pressure on our small dollar reserves

• Kanawu, USA 2 months ago

STEALING FROM YOUR OWN CITIZENS

• Atiah 2 months ago

People will just keep foreign currencies at home and this policy will just aid the black market.

• kusie 2 months ago

if you deposited physical dollars that law doesnt apply,learn to read about rules completely if you want to criticize it

• RASTA BANGI 2 months ago

BOG SHOULD REVERSE THIS POLICY BACK TO THE 3% TO AVOID THE INFORMAL REMITTANCE SYSTEM FROM FLOURISHING UNLESS SOMEONE HAS INTEREST IN THE INFORMAL SECTOR.
    THIS POLICY WILL STARVE THE COUNTRY OF THE NEEDED FOREX AND RATHER BO ...

• Yew 2 months ago

NDC AND BANK OF GHANA ARE LAWLESS CRIMINALS HAVE NO SHAME STEALING FOR THE GHANAIANS PUBLIC

• Osofo 2 months ago

Hey Hey Hey. I am happy been smart to stop what was going on. Most people transfer money from their cedi account into their dollar account at BOG exchange rate and then withdraws the dollar in cash from the bank and then go ...

• Kojois 2 months ago

Poor people

• ABC KingHorns 2 months ago

Good evening to you all! Please cease and desist from all insults! I am an expect in monitoring and evaluation
    and have read all the 55 comments and only Kusie( comment no.51) and Osofo( comment 54).have passed! Osofo has ...

• Enzosunny 2 months ago

How can I get started and withdraw the money