New 'Dumsor Levy' to pay for liquid fuel, not settle debts - John Jinapor

Read Comments Comments (23)

• Lizzy 6 months ago

Both. Or at least reduce the debts

• JD 6 months ago

These Jinapor boys of political prostitutes should be removed from our political space. They're foreigners stealing from each side. Ghetto financial experts and Stupid Burkinabe of a president. Useless ndc party. A party foun ...

• Big joe 6 months ago

Is this man making sense?create and loot government how how and how your explanation doesn't hold water,how can this taxe be better than e levy,?you only came to finish us koraa-koraa , you only came to add another injury int ...

• Godfred 6 months ago

You see, your math is bad. E-levy was on every transaction. Percentage of every transaction done. This is only on fuel consumption. The difference if spread out, you won’t feel it in your pocket. This also helps pays for ou ...

• Kwabena 6 months ago

By current figures this is about 8% increase in the price of fuel.
    Who says it will not affect us?
    The cost will be passed on to the consumers.

• OBK 6 months ago

Isn't the levy on every transaction anytime petroleum products are purchased?

• THE ENDEMIC FRAUDULENT FLEECING OF GHANA'S ECONOMY BY GHANA'S SUCCESSIVE THIEVING LEADERS IS A CLEAR INDICATION THAT OUR SO-CALLED LEADERS REALLY MISS ANOTHER DEADLY JUNE 4 REVOLUTION IN GHANA. THAT DAY WILL CERTAINLY COME. IT'S JUST A MATTER OF TIME. 6 months ago

A MORE DEADLY AND BLOODIER JUNE 4 UPRISING IS STARING AT GHANA RIGHT IN THE FACE.

GRASSROOT GHANAIANS WILL SURELY WELCOME ANOTHER JUNE 4 UPRISING WHOLEHEARTEDLY WITH JOY.

THE ENDEMIC FRAUDULENT FLEECING OF GHANA'S ECONO ...

• Mr. Smith 6 months ago

I fully agree with you. Unfortunately you didn't state your name. Another June 4 is really staring at us. Not the useless one Rawlings planned which didn't yield anything. We vote for thieves every four years. Why tax us whil ...

• Korvi 6 months ago

Judicious use of our taxes is the key to development. NOT Akufo Addo & family sakawa group type. They take loans & taxes just to syphon them into family pockets.

• Jay in London 6 months ago

Akuffo Avvo and NPP have no love for Ghana EXCEPT POLITICAL POWER.

The moment they heard 24-hour Economy they decided to make it virtually impracticable when Mahama comes.

They saddled the Energy sector with some INSAN ...

• OBK 6 months ago

How does Akuffo Addo come into this?

• Korvi 6 months ago

Akufo Addo has everything to do with the current state of affairs. DDEP & DEP will end in 2028 knowing very well they will not be paying their loot.

• Abugre 6 months ago

What does John take us for? Fools? How can you look us in th face and say the cost fuel has not been part of the cost of electricity.
    So has been the noise of under recovery all these years.
    In any case John and Ato are not ...

• FTT 6 months ago

Ghanaians are worried about this new tax, rubbing peter to pay paul

• Enock 6 months ago

@ FTT, it's not a new tax or levy, it had been there already, only it had been increased.

• Enock 6 months ago

Personally I feel the increment is too high, but looking at what some trotro drivers are doing by refusing to reduce fares in face of falling fuel prices etc, let them pay the 1 gh levy

• Traore 2.0 6 months ago

My Questions to any government past and present. How hard is it to reclaim Ghana refinery that was built by our first president and made better by General Acheampong to reduce oil prices locally. What percentage do we get fro ...

• Hannan 6 months ago

;) A lot of hot girls waiting for you --> Hot4.eu

• All supplied by same company 6 months ago

These greedy NDC politicians have single sourced this so called emergency cargo from the same criminal (Fuelteade/Gaso) used by NPP to do their dirty work. Ghanaian taxpayers will need to cough up millions again in a few year ...

• Bro kwesi 6 months ago

This is where we can make money.Please give the supply contract ooo.Gas is cheap but you want to buy HFO,RFO and Diesel.I never heard NPP complaining about fuel. Asem oooo

• Nana Bobie 6 months ago

The president says he new tax will be used to pay dumsor,Jinapor says will be used to buy liquid fuel? which is which? Are Ghanaians being deceived.

• Illunga 6 months ago

While using the Dumsor levy to buy fuel to avoid dumsor, remember to invest next funding such as MCC's Ghana Power Compact to improve affordability of electricity in Ghana by investing such funds in more wind power at areas w ...

• Nana 6 months ago

Something doesn't make sense. You tout a reduction in fuel prices as a result of your managing the exchange rate, and yet you can't afford to buy crude ( which is now cheaper ) to keep the lights on? Unless you put a tax on f ...