Exporters incurring losses due to cedi appreciation - Canada-Ghana Chamber

Read Comments Comments (56)

• TEACH IN CANADA 6 months ago

TEACH IN CANADA

An International NGOs based CANADA need both qualified and unqualified teachers who can teach orphans and disabled children basic ( English, Maths, Science & IT)
    The NGOs are paying for the expenses inclu ...

• .mr amin 6 months ago

We don't care the country and Ghanaians matters, when the exporters were not incurring loses did petrol prices reduced? Did lorry fares reduced? The citizens need to be freed from economic bandage, those talking about exports ...

• Sammy kojo 6 months ago

Don't speak out of ignorance. We need the forex from the exports too to stabilize the cedis. They are also important. What is happening is just a bye product from Trump it's artificial.

• Benji 6 months ago

Clown. Since when did you care for some exporters? When cedi depreciate the average Ghanaian suffers. Just because your party is now in power, you talk nonsense. Gyimii.

• Benji 6 months ago

*Just because your party is NOT in power...

• Star from the North 6 months ago

Her wish will not be granted because we rather encourage the cedi to appreciate and stabilize at 5 cedi to a dollar. Because of the few tons of export to Canada she wants the cedi to depreciate against the dollar? She is not ...

• Maame 6 months ago

The earlier we begin patronizing locally made alternatives the better. Let's begin raising our chickens - where is Darko Farm? The farm fed us. Let's start the rice farm in the volta region. Goats and cows from the northern ...

• Kofi Sromani 6 months ago

You appear to be stuck to the stale NPP argument of Trump polices, but you forget that the cedi is performing far better than all other currencies against tbe dollar; some currencies have stagnated whike other have seen only ...

• .mr amin 6 months ago

Sammy kojo you are the one speaking ignorantly if Trump trade war is the problem what about the other currencies the British pound the Euro etc the cedi is appreciating against it so you are very ignorant, when the exports we ...

• Deleon 6 months ago

Wicked people you guys don't want better for Ghana. Because of your own interest you are not thinking about poor person in the village

• Juvenal Urbino 6 months ago

Nothing to do with wickedness, please. You’re only exposing your ignorance of the effects of currency exchange on import and export trade. Exporters gain and importers lose when the exchange rate is high. On the other hand, ...

• Benji 6 months ago

You are wicked. What is the effect of the cedi appreciation on the average Ghanaian? Since when did you start caring about exporters?

• Fireman 6 months ago

Why is this causing losses. You need less cedis to buy goods in Ghana to export

• Abudu 6 months ago

She is an NPP supporter. Wants one dollar to be ghc 25. Don't mind her

• Kofi 6 months ago

Dude go look into basic economics. When your currency appreciates it cost people from outside the country who want to buy your goods more. They need more of their currency to buy the cedis so their costs go up. If it is too e ...

• TRUTH 6 months ago

CEDI WILL NOT STOP APPRECIATING TODAY OR TOMORROW. THE DOLLARS YOU HAVE HOARDED WILL SOON LOSE IT VALUE.

• Kofi 6 months ago

Look at this one too. Go learn some sense kwasia.

• .mr amin 6 months ago

Kifi what is wrong with that if they need more of their money to buy goods in Ghana, why do want to sell your labour cheap, salaries can't take workers home due to the lost of value of the cedi, we should allow the cedi to ap ...

• Kobina Sey 6 months ago

@Fireman. Bro you dont understand.Most of these exporters used local materials to produce for exports. So the appreciation of tye cedi which makes imports cheapet does not benefit them. Unless you tell me that Ekumfi juice wi ...

• Only if prices of goods reduce to match the ghc value 6 months ago

If traders are selling at prices when the cedi was 15ghc to the dollar you don't realize this causes artificial high prices of goods?

• Kwami 6 months ago

Let the cedi find a good level of exchange for the ordinary Ghanaian. God have mercy on us. Exporters, please adjust and keep quiet.

• TRUTH 6 months ago

Hahaha!!! People are crying and pleading with the government to stabilize the Cedi because the Cedi is appreciating TOO FAST.....and as exporters they are incurring significant LOSSES. Their profit margins has reduced SIGNIFI ...

• .mr amin 6 months ago

My question is when they were not incurring loses what was the state of goods and services was being reduced ? What about as we change more cedis to buy from other countries is that right for you so now the table has turned w ...

• Sammy Gyamfi 6 months ago

I concur, it's about the economics of numbers. Whiles exporters might see a significant reduction in their revenue, the parity is that we are more of an import driven economy. We lack the technology and investment to produce ...

• Kofi 6 months ago

And you think being an import driven economy is wise ? In this current geopolitical climate you think focusing your economy on imports makes sense ?

• Nii addo 6 months ago

ISN'T THE GOVERNMENT OF GHANA THE BIGGEST EXPORTER?

• Kyeiwaa Vida 6 months ago

Let it appreciate to 1 USD = GHS 1. Wicked sellers won't reduce prices still. Sustaining the increase is what is needed though.

• Linda 6 months ago

I didn't hear all these when the cedi started depreciating sharply in 2022. You all kept quiet cause it was for your good. Tables have turned now so keep quiet. It's business, sometimes you gain sometimes you lose. Stop bein ...

• Gringo 6 months ago

Hahahah!!!!
    This is the comment I have been looking for.
    A lot of people were pretending to be losing money when the credit was depreciating.
    Everybody should adjust

• Gringo 6 months ago

Cedi***

• Abdul 6 months ago

So just imagine the "burden" we (those who believe in God), when others are moving left, some are pulling to the right. The exporters should also adjust. We have suffered far too long.

• Major 1 6 months ago

Interesting. What exactly do we want? A strong cedis or a weak one. A bag of rice I bought few weeks ago for 1,050 cedis, now sells at 900 cedis.
    This is what we want. How much salary do they pay to their employees? They sh ...

• Kofi 6 months ago

Yes because the economy is more sophisticated than the bag of rice you just bought. What about goods Ghana has to go sell on the international market which now all of sudden are more expensive ? What about tourists who now fi ...

• .mr amin 6 months ago

@Kofi my question to you is that when the condition favoured what you are talking about was petrol prices reduced?, was the cedi appreciating or depreciating? Its nonsense to sell your labour or goods cheap and suffer, we we ...

• Ghanaman 6 months ago

Foolish journalist reporting this stupid Indian businessman
    Jakpa chase this fool to provide his tax returns and let he refund all tax holidays if any was granted
    Wat Nkwaseasem is he talking
    Send him back to his country o ...

• Justice 6 months ago

This is having an adverse effect on the economic.What kind of economy model is this.

• Knowledge 6 months ago

These people think only about themselves and not the country. Sacrifice a bit of the high profit you made during the fast depreciation of the cedi for the betterment of Ghana’s future. Why should the cedi appreciation be a ...

• Aku 6 months ago

Mo yale...cedi appreciate more jare

• Kobina Sey 6 months ago

@Kofi. Thks bro for educating him on the broader perspectives of the economy. Much as consumers will benefit, govt and exporters are losing big. So the lady is uring for a fair balabce. Yet ignoramusese are heaping insults on ...

• Kofi 6 months ago

Thanks. There is a need to do a full picture analysis but most Ghanaians can’t seem to see the whole picture.

• KC 6 months ago

The pendulum is swinging in the other direction. Let the people enjoy the appreciation while it last!

• Po 6 months ago

Boi

• Hannan 6 months ago

;)))))) Hot girls are waiting for you on -->> Hot4.eu

• Truth 6 months ago

But gold and cocoa are reaping... Le s keep exporting more...we will also reap. Now the who Ghanaian populace is benefitting. We win some we lose some....8 years you have benefitted and the entire population was weeping

• SAKU 6 months ago

So does it mean when the cedi was depreciating Nana Addo and Dr. Bawumia were doing well? Then how come the term "when fundamentals are weak the exchange rate will......." Story of The Spider, wife and 3 children.

• Pkay 6 months ago

Locally, transport and wages impact on exports both to government and the business owners. The good news is that while the cedi is appreciating, transport rates are also significantly falling. Even though there may be a gener ...

• .mr amin 6 months ago

Our export base is small so we don't need to have a weak currency, over the years what was the impact of exports to Ghanaians did it reduced patrol prices? Did it improve our purchasing power? Infact some of you just don't ma ...

• Pogas 6 months ago

Ah, I don't understand this !! . ....the economists must come to explain why appreciation of the cedi affects the Exporters and depreciation effects the Importer

• Kofi 6 months ago

Exporters - when the currency appreciates, customers outside who want to buy something in Ghana will find that their foreign money buys less in Ghana. This may lead to a decrease in exports as they decide to buy elsewhere.

• Juvenal Urbino 6 months ago

Market forces would typically not result in the precipitous appreciation of any currency, which leads one to wonder how the Cedi was able to do so. Funny thing is that the gains stopped only when people began to ask questions ...

• Po 6 months ago

You can't always win.......

• Lion 6 months ago

I'm not surprised because even president mahama doesn't want the cedi to flourish. Mahama made a very silly statement about stopping the cedi from going down y1 cedi for 1 dollar00 we need a hardcore military leader like Ibr ...

• Truth 6 months ago

Foreign buyer:
    Feb: $1000 buys GHS16,000 worth of goods.
    June: Same $1000 only buys GHS10,000 worth of goods.

Keep budget the same and purchase less goods. Looks globally for an alternate seller.

Seller:

• Yaw Yeboah 6 months ago

We live in a country where our currency declined from 6 to 17 cedis to the dollar in a short period. Personally, I hope the cedi appreciates to single digits against the dollar. Our main exports for many decades has been Gold ...

• Sammy 6 months ago

Please you people want to make profit and use it with your families how many people in Ghana doing export please did they want to tell us that the time formar president introduced new Ghana cedis 1dollar to 1ghc the ex ...

• Peazo 6 months ago

Enemy of progress. They should adjust it quickly. Africa has suffered for far to long
    Our people need a break. How do you expect citizens earnings minimum wages like 500 ghc to buy your foreign goods and survive .