You are here: HomeBusiness2024 04 10Article 1925465

John Mahama expresses shock at over 20 taxes and levies on vehicle imports

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Vinnie 1 month ago

This Mahama hmmm

• MR.FREE 1 month ago

WAS IT DIFFERENT IN YOUR ERA? YOU EVEN APPOINTED CARL WILSON AS PORT MANAGER,WHO WAS SNATCHING VEHICLES FROM SHIPPERS FOR HIS PERSONAL USE IN THE NAME OF TAX EVASION.BOOZE MAN MAHAMA, EVEN YOUR CAMPAIGN STRATEGY IS INCOMPETE ...

• Victor Yeboah 1 month ago

His time had issues that was why we visited for people who we thought would do better but they've rather worsen it,trust me,I'm a shipper and I'm speaking from experience.

• Concerned Ghanaian 1 month ago

Mahama should then lay out what his administration will commit to doing on import duties for vehicles for both professional importers like car dealers and the man in the street. Tell us what you commit to removing of these t ...

• boom 1 month ago

mahamas time was far better, i deal in cars and i knw what am talking about so shut the f up and sti on ur dirty ass

• jerry 1 month ago

lol liar n thief

• KK Boston 1 month ago

I paid 194,000.00 new Ghana cedis for my 2021 Ford F-150 truck and that’s absolutely ridiculous and wickedness to the fourth power. Akuffo Addo is the most wicked president ever come to Ghana.

• jerry 1 month ago

foolish bitch. you are ugly n disgusting whale

• jerry 1 month ago

@mr free...stupid comment from an ugly whale free willy

• Kojo 1 month ago

What is your problem Jerry? looks like your an errand NPP boy who is trying to blind us where as the case is clearly visible. Mahama's time was far better than this incompetent nana Addo and nothing you say can change that so ...

• Mr Bones 1 month ago

I see JM have become even better, a man that marks a line can only see how crooked the line after standing aside . JM was not perfect but by Allah he 1 million times better than Nana addo! I will vote for NDC

• Jon 1 month ago

Why is it cheaper to clear cars in Nigeria, Togo, Benin and other neighboring countries than Ghana? Crooks use these taxes for their personal budget. Will MAHAMA have the capacity to tackle this anomaly

• iDISCOVERD 1 month ago

Mahama’s 4 years was far better than the 16 years of Kuffuor, Akuffo Addo and Bawumia put together. God bless jdm and the ndc

• Vinnie 1 month ago

It was better when he left debts all over to be paid right? If you don't stop that Mahama nonsense.. Even Satan himself is shy to bless him.. God can only bless Mahama if he starts speaking truth and stop lying..

• ghboy 1 month ago

mahama is not a liar like bawuliar. you just search bawuliar on Google and see the results.

• Elliot 1 month ago

heartless dead goat CANNOT be shocked.

• Who killed Mills 1 month ago

Mamutma forgot to take his mad people medicine. Either that or he cut apio half.

• kwabena 1 month ago

You are seriously sick in the head to even feign love for this current government. The comparison between these two governments, the gap is huge, JDM, apart from Nkrumah, no other president is even close!

• Pelicles 1 month ago

Mahama is the best by giving the Tema port to his friend for 35years. Those charges at the port have nothing to do with the government.

kwabena, where are the ambulances your Mahama bought for Ghanaians?

• nana1 1 month ago

You were young at Kuffour Regime and you don't travel this Akuffo Addo government.

• Jack Sparrow 1 month ago

The fuuuuuuls will insult him

• Biili 1 month ago

Mahama is ungrateful to this current government. He will lose this upcoming elections again

• Joe 1 month ago

Tell this to the Marines! It's only mad people who would vote for npp to extend corruption, thievery, tribalism, mismanagement, thievery and nepotism. Npp is done, finite! We will chase you for all the monies you've stollen f ...

• Johnny 1 month ago

I think this Mahatma man believes truly that Ghanaians have truncated memories. He was superintendent over 17 vehicle ymtaxes, and now wants to follow us!

• Johnny 1 month ago

... Fool us...

• Joe 1 month ago

@jonny, looks like you are suffering from dementia! Vehicle import tax at 20% is insane! No serious country would do that!

• CAR/MOTOR TRACKING. HS24G 1 month ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route (all by your phone) etc. PRICE: GHS750. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com F5H ...

• Kwabena 1 month ago

Hope these politicians are not creating the impression that they will run this country without taxes.

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 month ago

There are legitimate taxes, and there are also extortionate taxes, which JDM is talking about, examples covid-19,E-levy etc etc.

Say cheese!

• Who killed Mills 1 month ago

London Boy. Think say you dey heaven

• Kweku 1 month ago

Eiiiiiiiiii saint dead goat Mahama.

• Kobby 1 month ago

Who sold tema port to the French national

• Joe 1 month ago

Whats his name? Who approved thatcsalebevaise its a state asset! Liar!

• Ten ten 1 month ago

Were you not the same person who gave the port to your friend for 30+ years so what do you expect the government to do

• Joe 1 month ago

Lexus is a luxury car so you example is flawed.

• Capt. Adabuga 1 month ago

Can't anyone bring copies of duties and taxes and levies paid in 2016 for comparison sake?

• It was worst during mahama's time 1 month ago

It was worst during mahama's time and this npp government did not make it better.
    Shame on them

• Hagoa, Kumasi. 1 month ago

Tell us what you will do differently from the current taxes. Tell us which ones you will remove and why not just criticism.

• Kolo 1 month ago

No point being shocked....we are dealing with the NPP who care-less about the Ghanaian.

Ghanaians should vote JM to change this situation.

• Dr Likee 1 month ago

Only the locals are made to pay these taxes. The foreigners are either exempted from taxes or evade taxes and bribe GRA officials when caught. Too many leakages in GRA. The Ewes are overly corrupt than the other tribes in GRA ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

hypocrisy.
    You don't have to join NDC to voice out general concerns. Mahama should have told the number and types of taxes levied on vehicles during his presidency. Such cheap propaganda does not suffice.

• Kofi 1 month ago

NDC never again. You told the nation we were broke so the allowances of training teachers and nurses must be cancelled. Now that the nation has been mismanaged by this government where will you find money to govern. Be seriou ...

• Elephant Farmer 1 month ago

What is the whole percentage of this Lexus car? What was it in 2016 for comparison. Journalist hmmm. EXPORT is also a problem. Club, Gulder and Star were GHS 6 in 2021, and now GHS 13. After the prices doubled, the EXPORT was ...

• Kweku 1 month ago

This clearly shows the incompetence of the Ghanaian politicians. Ghanaian politicians have destroyed the economy of Ghana with their mismanagement and bad economic policies

• Pepenyi Mfantse 1 month ago

Your 17 taxes plus the Npp’s 4 taxes makes it 21

• Me - Me 1 month ago

You mean you didn't know this? Or in your time there only 10 taxes? Be fair and honest, import duties have been high since PNDC and so there is no way you will not know this since your days in parliament to when you were pres ...

• Cc 1 month ago

Politicians take us for fools. When they need power they behave as if they were humans.

• TRACK YOUR CAR/MOTORBIKE. DKJ8TT56 1 month ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route (all by your phone) etc. PRICE: GHS750. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com KMJ ...

• Jon J 1 month ago

fo u to sel an imported vehicle n make a reasonable profit in this country it must be smuggled or stolen from abroad When ya genuinely buy n ship a car into gh its difficult to sel after payin da duties cos da same car smuggl ...

• apuuuu 1 month ago

We don't have short memories Mahama sold the port for cool 35 years what do he expect the government to do

• WEBSITE DESIGN. SBG3W6 1 month ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com for more info. G ...

• Keep 1 month ago

Is this your first time of hearing this?

• Ghanaman 1 month ago

John Mahama is only making politics