You are here: HomeBusiness2024 04 03Article 1924329

Akufo-Addo orders suspension of electricity export amidst 'dumsor' – Atta Akyea reveals

Read Comments Comments (33)

• FAS 1 month ago

Politics over economics. Kicking the can down the road. Real issue is the non-payment for domestic supply. Note export contracts will be breached leading to termination costs. Besides you dim confidence and these buyers will ...

• Jesse 1 month ago

@ FAS, you are absolutely right, did the President check with the AG whether there will be any breach of contract fees, suits for failure to meet contractual obligations? VRA will be tagged as unreliable and lose external cus ...

• Hmmm 1 month ago

May be they have some clauses in there that can help ghana to terminate the contract in situations like this...they will certainly look at all that before termination. Ghana must be first before anything

• Yaw Amankwaah 1 month ago

Thank you John Dramani Mahama for having the foresight to give Ghana excess power to be able to export some to neighbouring countries. You are indeed, a Nation Builder. These idiots came and met it but couldn't even maintain ...

• £EARN, TRAIN, START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 month ago

Knee-jerk solutions don't last...This business opportunity for you or a relative, friend or as charitable gift to anyone, is a great service-provider business with low capital (as skill is your main capital) to startup. ACT N ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 1 month ago

Spot on FAS, this is one of the only means we can earn dollars as a country, if the countries we supply decide to terminate watch how our dumsor wil degenerate, this president is beyond stupid, suffering dementia….

• ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 1 month ago

THE NEW GH: KWAME NKRUMAH BOOKS ARENT READ IN ANY JHS OR SHS SCHOOLS IN GHANA. WHY? NO FINANCIAL LITERACY COURSES IN THE CURRICULUM IN THE VARIOUS PRIMARY, JHS AND SHS SCHOOLS. WHY? EVERY SHS SHOULD BE TEACHING TRADES. VOCATI ...

• KGB 1 month ago

Kwasea Akufoadoa they will sue the electricity supplier to the neighboring country's.
    You damage the country talking shit.
    Your hopeless minister says over supply by NDC, here we are now........

• Togbe Legba 1 month ago

What sort of democracy do we have ? One-man show?
    Why should the president be dictating to ALL SECTIONS of our society? Why not ALLOW instutional bodies to FUNCTION WITHOUT the "dictatorship"??

• Godwin k 1 month ago

You have introduced cashless system. Hence the problem people are not paying like before.

• Akwesi NyameAdom 1 month ago

Winner takes all dictatorial administration of both NPP&NDC must cease. Ghanaian politicians are all wicked. FEDERAL GOVERNMENT NOW .

• Okponglo Guy 1 month ago

Pay your bills then. ECG owes too much. And the government owes ECG.

• Che Andrew 1 month ago

ECG and the government owe too much because they are spending the money on non-productive ventures like fat salaries, dubious purchases, cruel per diem, expensive lodging in hotels, expensive parties instead of on maintenance ...

• Neenyi Obo 1 month ago

Nonsense, go to Prestea, (western region) Ghana is still exporting power.

• Steves 1 month ago

A possible source of judgement debt. The contracts signed between Ghana and the neibouring countries could ditch us if the President's are carried through. Do not use political solutions for economic problems.

• Mr Smith 1 month ago

IF we truly have an opposition, their leadership will quickly come out and reveal to Ghns how the agreements were signed. John Mahama should be the best person to expose this lie.

• Stupid Ewe Boy 1 month ago

just now
    Stupid boy, Ewes are thieves in every government department. Your entrepreneur ls like Woyomi too is a thieve. Ewes can never be president, only Yoko gari Rawlings tried and make you people to go to stupid schools. ...

• Wow 1 month ago

@ Stupid Ewe Boy. The stupid Ewe's do not eat shit but the highly intelligent Akym's and Ashanti's eat shit and continue to eat rat shit till this modern age. Even their chief, the fool the call king, eats shit and they say i ...

• Tanya 1 month ago

J O K E R S!

• Karikari 1 month ago

But we were told that there weren't any problems about power supply

• Master Peterson 1 month ago

Does the president now admit there is dumsor in Ghana? I don't think he will even admit there is power supply problem, just reducing exports for covid-19 sake.

• Such a bunch of liars 1 month ago

What happened to the excess power we keep on crying about. This government built on lies deception and corruption at all levels. Ahh why

• Teacher 1 month ago

Napo's nose is like an oven

• When Dump people manage 1 month ago

how can you export what you don't have enough. The Kindergarten knows they can't give you his/her pesewa because if she/he does then the search for replacement will begin hence you don't stupidly sell out what you don't have ...

• BKG 1 month ago

Even if the brain of Einstein is transplanted into his head he will never make a single sensible judgement. If you suspend the power export will that give you the money to pay off your indebtedness to solve the problem of the ...

• Enoch 1 month ago

Npp is full of shoeshine, dog chain sellers and galamsey fools. Akufo Addo is so empty headed not knowing Bawuliar is even worse.

• Bartholomew KK Chirapanga 1 month ago

Excuse my language. But the President and his cabals are the worst leaders this country has ever had. Akufo Addo just wanted to be president and make money for himself and his cohorts.
    I thought we had excess power supply ca ...

• Joy 1 month ago

Nana addo and mahama are all thieves

• EWES ARE THIEVES 1 month ago

Akuffo Addo is a good man, God bless you sir. Weed the Ewes our from government institutions before you leave office . They are every where destroying your legacy. Look sharp wai

• Game Changer 1 month ago

Stop eating rat toilet and ur brains will function well. Gbemela
    Between akans and Ewes, who are known for stealing and everything evil? the answer is so obvious.

• KK 1 month ago

That's the excess capacity mahama left for you. Now you see your level. Shame and disgrace is the product of arrogance and ingratitude.

• Kutsii 1 month ago

Shame oooo Shame. What about the excess generation capacity that the ignorant NPP communicators, Liar Bawumia and the mother SERPENT of corruption were criticising President Mahama about ?????? God don expose Akufo Addo and ...

• Kwam 1 month ago

We hope this directive will not not result in judgement debt. Why can't he rather restore the ESLA monies he use as a collateral???