You are here: HomeBusiness2024 03 23Article 1922818

Power outages: VRA exporting excessive electricity to neighboring countries - IPGG claims

Read Comments Comments (22)

• Me 2 months ago

If this is actually true, then I reserve my comments
    Oh Ghana

• ????? 2 months ago

Me too

• Kojo Ghana 2 months ago

My comment will always be “useless country”

• Farmer 2 months ago

200 MW power exported is 200 MW less load shedding. WTF

Currently with power off for hours on a Saturday afternoon in Tema.

Who is chopping the money VRA is making from those power exports?

• Ali Mahama 2 months ago

When they arrived in 2017, they trashed Mahama for providing excess power. Instead of protecting it for future use, they toyed with it and mismanaged. They also left the huge Atuabo Gas Plant built by Mahama into the hands of ...

• Snyder 2 months ago

Atoabo gas was started by President Atta Mills! Please kindly give some credit to the ex president Atta Mills instead of crediting Mahama with all the projects professor Atta Mills started

• Kobina Boafo 2 months ago

What kind of morons inhabit Ghana's corridors of power. Exporting power at the expense of your own population.
    Indeed these people need to be euthanized.

• Kojo Black 2 months ago

Let’s not be lied to by these so called IPGG CEO or whatever he calls himself.
    We’re all in the energy market and know exactly that VRA has been exporting power even before the first IPP came into operation in Ghana and ...

• Samuel Aidoo 2 months ago

Super! Very insightful

• June - July 2 months ago

Wow…thanks for the deep insight.

• Mr. Smith 2 months ago

Fellow Ghanaians please please wake up oooo!! Both NPP and NDC are criminals. Our politicians are connected to those generator companies that import those huge generators. If not for dumsor how on earth can they sell those ma ...

• DAUDA 2 months ago

NAME THOSE COUNTRIES. LIARS LIKE AKUFFO ADDO AND BAWUMIA..

• Fiifi 2 months ago

The export of power has always been there. We are shedding 650MW so if u don't export koraa u will shed load

• Abusua 2 months ago

What kind of nonsense is this? What are they doing with the money?

• KC 2 months ago

Make it Make sense!! WAKE UP GHANA!!!!!!!

• Peace 2 months ago

Let's understand how the energy market works and the laws governing it before we even listen to what this guy is saying. Thank you. VRA will not do anything contrary to law and financial stability.

• Olu 2 months ago

Same with Nigeria, we don't have enough for ourselves electricity is exported.

• JACK TORONTO 2 months ago

Yesterday, they blamed MAHAMA for waisting money on excess power supply. If you couldn't managed power excessive, how can you manage a lower power supply? Every good thing Nana Addo inherited has become a CURSE.

• ????? 2 months ago

Fmr.President Mahama was watching same

• Akwesi 2 months ago

Both ECG and VRA motwasidi,all those in realm of affairs moy3 mmoa.You can't provide the Ghanaian citizens who buy prepaid without owing ECG with light but provide other African countries with our light let it make sense.I ti ...

• C'tus 2 months ago

Many people are allowing emotions to cloud their judgment. This is stemming from a lack of appreciation of the electricity market.
    The market consists of regulated and deregulated. The regulated market is mostly dominate ...

• Kobby11_11 2 months ago

How convenient it is for the CEO to lay blame on VRA. The IPP's think they are smart. They should now give GH all the extra capacity they have been charging that we don't use. That's a smart move by government and VRA. No fre ...