You are here: HomeBusiness2024 02 22Article 1918144

Ofori-Atta's record for management of the cedi under NPP’s first term best since 1992 – Economist

Read Comments Comments (74)

• Kwaku 3 months ago

Look at this mumu too ooooo.......

• £EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 3 months ago

For real? Ok o...Looking for the best business to do - or sponsor a relative, friend or charitable gifting? Do this and earn dollars for solving the smallest issues. ACT NOW so you don't become a spectator this year. Last ye ...

• Blue Pen 3 months ago

This strange so-called economist again? Akufo Addo, pls give a little consultancy for the NPP manifesto committee (not Ghana national business). He needs a little something.

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 3 months ago

Ghanaweb, please stop projecting this clueless NPP surrogate as a senior lecturer in economics at Legon. Ken Ofori Atta aka Picadilly armed robber has managed the cedi best in the fourth Republic? Like seriously? This guy nee ...

• Bad economist 3 months ago

When you borrow dollars for consumption, like Ken did in the first term, it shores up your reserves artificially. When you suddenly begin to benefit from 3 oil wells, instead of the previous 1, your foreign exchange position ...

• Kofi USA 3 months ago

These are statistical facts that are verifiable so why do you call him a "Bad economist"? We should learn to speak our minds without insults.

• Blue Pen 3 months ago

@Kofi USA. Any analyst worth his goes behind the raw numbers and looks at the underpinning factors. But why do you add USA to your name? By the way, how is Kukuruantumi this morning?

• Mr Ibu 3 months ago

When NPP came in Jan 2017 what did they do that ensured the cedi was stable? In fact, the performance of the cedi and even the larger economy in the first 6 months of the NPP administration in 2017 was due to the policies of ...

• Kwasi 3 months ago

@Kofi USA:Implemented economic policies do not translate into results immediately. Clearly, the good work done by Mahama government prior to NADAA/Bawumia started to yield good results.

Which facts are you talking about. Go and take your medicine.

• Kwesi Nyantekyi's Last Born 3 months ago

Lol.
    @ kofi, USA you seriously needs to be insulted too.
    Stop defending boldshit.

• Apraku 3 months ago

Your analogy doesn't make any sense.This Prof backed his claim with facts and data. And it's true. Check the first term of Akufo government and get your facts and you will see this Prof is right. Had it not been Covid and Rus ...

• Adu 3 months ago

The man's fact are false. How can he compare indices of 2013-2017 to 2017-2021 and name them us first term?

• Kwaa Ananse 3 months ago

Which mesurement excludes exogenous factors in determining performance? Thus, it is nonsense to vindicate Ken Ofori Atta by claiming that 'but for Covid or Ukraine, he would have been the best performing Finance Minister!

• Kwasi 3 months ago

You are on point.

• BB 3 months ago

Concert Party. No nonfat analysis will sway us again. Not even toddlers will listen to this gutter analysis tweaaaaaa

• Miss Mae 3 months ago

Hear this Rodent looking Prof talking rubbish

• Ben 3 months ago

Gyimeee saa this idiot kwasiaaa paaa oo, so what happened next

• Abedru 3 months ago

These are some of the reasons Ghana is not progressing. Dishonesty and hypocrisy. He is an academic and look at his analysis of a situation. God have mercy

• Mr Smith 3 months ago

A Ghanaian university professor lectured a group of students in an university in New York. He goofed by stating that in his hometown in Ghana, alcohol is produced under unhygienic conditions. After his lecture, he had to make ...

• Hyiaman 3 months ago

What about the second term?

• Okponglo Guy 3 months ago

Thank you for doing the job that Oppong Nkrumah was supposed to do.

• Bili 3 months ago

Please sir I sincerely respect you base on your age but i wonder whether you are from a different universe, the man you talking about is the first finance minister to take the country out of an IMF Program and back to IMF, It ...

• KK 3 months ago

Kwaseato mu kwaseato!

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 3 months ago

Whatever you say will not whitewash and exonerate that ugly, senseless and clueless man. In fact, he is as ugly, senseless and clueless as you. No wonder you are singing his praises. Kwasiaa buuluubuuluuu!!!

• Resi 3 months ago

Voodoo economist

• Mr Ibu 3 months ago

Mankola economist or? Where did he get his degrees from? In 2016 we bought one dollar less than 4 cedis today it is 13 at the time he is being sacked so what is this fake guy probably looking for appointment at the ministry.

• KOKO 3 months ago

IS REALLY TRUE THE CERTIFICATE DOES NOT SPEAK FOR ITSELF.PHD IN ECONOMICS Eiii AND YOU CAN SAY THIS , GO HOME AND EAT, LOOK AT YOU WIFE AND CHILDREN BY THEIR FACES.

• Donatus 3 months ago

Keep quiet.

• Wisefolk 3 months ago

I pity his students, what's he teaching at the university? Does he understand the the word manage?

• ObuasiMan 3 months ago

Please George Domfeh are you normal? Stop wasting your energy on bogus analysis without merits and return your PhD.

• kay b 3 months ago

oh garout for der....such tribal bigot always spew stupidity...and whats the dollar now if i may ask...

• Malcom X 3 months ago

Anybody else can be paid to act like a jhs economist

• VILLAGE HEADMASTER 3 months ago

this contri really has many ECO-NO-MISS. dis one na real ogbenge economiss.Sabi dis man 4get say the so called achievements of the first term of dis gofment has the support of de I.M.F program wey Mahama put in place? Mr Ogbe ...

• Musa 3 months ago

This is a real kindergarten PHD man. Or is he saying that because of his stomach?

• Garuss bugbay 3 months ago

from 4 cedis to one to 13= cedis

• Azemalta 3 months ago

See his ugly hungry looking face spewing rubbish.

• Kimi 3 months ago

Because the country was under a IMF programme, which ended in 2019. He didn't manage anything biaa...

• James 3 months ago

Armed robbers dressed in white. God will deal with you and your family. The most useless fraudster ever to hold that position.

• Ked 3 months ago

Another brainless idiot calling himself economist.

• Doug 3 months ago

NB... We were under IMF during that time. Our conditions began to deteriorate after we ended the program. We are back again!

• Buga buga 3 months ago

Is this guy OK i

• Ghana baa 3 months ago

Mr prof you just off the bar trying to wash ken Offori Atta is like you prof.trying so hard to clean a pig but eventually it will be dirty

• Only fool can say this 3 months ago

What's he achievement? You people are liars.

• Osei-Bonsu 3 months ago

Stup1d economist. When he was concealing arrears and loans as batter trading in the first four years, how was the actual balance of sheet going to reflect the fibdamentals of the economy?
    When cocoa Road contractors were not ...

• PADG 3 months ago

The GHANA CEDIS FROM 4.2 2017 TO 15 IN 2022 IS WORSE YOU CAN EVER CALCULATE WHY DID HE END AT 2021 BECAUSE RUSSIA UKRAINE STARTED 25TH FEBRUARY 2022 AND COVID19 STARTED QUARTER 4 OF 2019 BIASED CALCULATION THE FINANCE WAS RE ...

• Fathia Fata Nkrumah 3 months ago

• Addo 3 months ago

Dzimifuor you think we are fools errrh....you wicked stomach politician. Fire will burn you for spouting lies.

• ISSAH ALI 3 months ago

TRUTHFUL ECONOMICS IN GHANA

• ISSAH ALI 3 months ago

ECONOMIST

• Kofi 3 months ago

Another idiot is here to disturb our ears. Was mahatma s finance minister,?

• Frank 3 months ago

Gyimii economist
    How does it matter now?
    What is the essence of what he did then and how it ended ?
    NPP , KWASIAS3M NKOAA NA AKA MO

• TALLERSTER NICHOLAS 3 months ago

There is too much intellectual dishonesty in Ghana. This so called Economist is only trying to whitewash the worst Finance Minister in the political history of Ghana, Ofori Atta.
    Ofori Atta met a relatively better economy du ...

George Domfeh must be looking for a job in Timothy Bawumia government. He should read the Bawumia Economic theory first."if your economic fundamentals are weak, the dollar will expose you" The dollar is exposing these liars b ...

• Kwesi 3 months ago

Dr..Economist..do a little research and deep thinking before you come up with this kind of kangaroo analysis...during the first term of the NPP there was covid and businesses were not importing left right and centre ...there ...

• Kofi 3 months ago

But what happened?.You hypocrites,sycophants nation wreckers

• Skido 3 months ago

What sort of a bollar economist? No doubt Ghana has been barred from mingling with the world economy. Economics lecturer in only in Ghana

• Duke 3 months ago

This man is Sick....pls spare us this your bogus and Borla textbook economics wai. 'Noko fioo' Economist

• TonyB 3 months ago

When he was borrowing to support the cedi which has landed in a bankrupt situation. Enough of the bogus theories

• Kojois 3 months ago

Tell her and the rest. They don't read so know nothing people. Mahama no more.

• Kwesi Nyantekyi's Last Born 3 months ago

Lol.
    I think this dr domfe is an asshole.
    He is making those comments just to piss people off.

• Can you Imagine 3 months ago

You don't look like a human with Brian. What empirical evidence does nana aba need to conclude that Ofori atta is a failure. The former Minister did agreed that they have over borrowed and this economic failures is self infli ...

• Ofori Dankwa 3 months ago

And who said if you are a PhD holder or Professor so you know everything. The majority of Ghanaian PhD holders and Professors are just good at chew and pour. Only book knowledge they have. No practical skills and experience i ...

• Kofi Asabre 3 months ago

Very foolish talk from a gutter economist. Very best indeed.how much would they pay you for telling a cheap lie?

• Kofi 3 months ago

Drunk economist. Where from analysis.

• Kwaku 3 months ago

OFORI ATTA WON THE FIRST 50 YDS OF THE 100 YDS RACE. THIS ECONOMIST IS A JOKER.

• Chuchu 3 months ago

Ignorant talk.
    The npp only presentrd its budget and economic policy in March.
    The policies if the ndc budget by Terkper was used to run the country,the policies of the npp didn't kick in till end if 2017.The imf,worldbank ...

• Sir-Riscky 3 months ago

This economist seem to be clueless since he failed to discuss those of Atta Mills and how resilient the currency was from 2009 to 2012. These supposed economist mostly use percentages and forget about absolute values. He's ju ...

• You don't need a PHD to be wise 3 months ago

Without a PHD you can tell that this so-called lecturer is nothing but an idiot.

• Password 3 months ago

Nonsense. We are awakened

• GhanaBa 3 months ago

How much did they pay this old full too. Very senseless professor. That is why the graduate they produce are not good enough to ensure the progress of the country

• GhanaBa 3 months ago

That is all they know, how to cook lies and rubbish

• Eben 3 months ago

I think that was not his doing. It was the yields from the previous administration's work done. The first 2 years, they did not do anything. only enjoyed the friut of the previous administration. We can measure him from 2019. ...

• Yoshima 3 months ago

When you take over a country under IMF is different from when you start managing the country alone without IMF assistance. The reason why the so-called economists said so is that IMF will always send some one to come and sit ...