You are here: HomeBusiness2024 02 16Article 1917280

Ken Ofori-Atta cannot be blamed for Ghana's economic woes - UG economist

Read Comments Comments (128)

• FRANKIE 3 months ago

Next certified idiot please!

• Kramai 3 months ago

How many countries globally can’t pay their bonds just a handful and that includes ghana shame !!

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 3 months ago

This idiotic lecturer Domfeh is always talking nonsense. He always appears on television with his voodoo economics. I wonder what he is teaching his students. If we should not blame Ken Ofori Atta aka Picadilly Armed robber, ...

• Monty 3 months ago

I don't why it's only Ghana that has these lame excuses. The world in January report that Uganda is having economic surge despite sanctions placed it by US. Uganda too experienced those things that our government is blaming i ...

• Kofi USA 3 months ago

@FRANKIE ... Ghanaians truly do have short memory because, after everything the government did in 2020 during Covid-19, they have so quickly forgotten. They now blame thew government for a global crisis. We will sorrowfully r ...

• KN 3 months ago

The supposed free water which the government ended double charging people for? The supposed free electricity which people got double charges for after? Or the inflated covid vaccines and expenditure. What exactly did the gove ...

• Gaani 3 months ago

And the 2 cedis Kenkey and fish they shared to people. Thieves in government

• Clifford 3 months ago

Vote NDC

• CECILLIA DAPPAAH 3 months ago

He's just a stupid oaf with academic qualifications.

• Ojah 3 months ago

Please Dr Domfe, what about if the finance minister mortgages the present and future earnings of the country for loans that are shared among cronies. Huge debts with nothing to show for them except big V8s and HUGE FUNERALS. ...

• Kramai 3 months ago

Ken ofori attah now a billionaire whiles many Ghanaians suffer

• FISHERMAN Kolonkala 3 months ago

Dumb economist like the economic wiz kid. Russia never sold oil at 121 dollars per barrel. Russia instead appealed to her friendly nations to take advantage of their offer and buy from them. China, India ,South Africa, Brazi ...

• Keda 3 months ago

Do you want to tell me the senseless borrowing is also not a factor? Why were our neighboring countries not affected much by COVID and the war?

• Ekow Jones 3 months ago

The previous government borrowed money than present and yet had us through dumsor. Because most Ghanaians are not well informed so they believe and useless tales. Little minds do not think outside the box

• DP 3 months ago

It is untrue that NDC borrowed more than NPP. Don't peddle falsehood.

People just write loads of rubbish without proof. Is there any proof that the finance minister is a billionaire because he's stolen our money. This is absolute nonsense. Is it envy or witchcraft spirit. The same thing happene ...

• Lyn 3 months ago

Unfortunately the nonsense written Is far less than the absolute stupidity you type here.

• Vanessa 3 months ago

I laughed too hard..no wonder akuffo won in 2016.

• KN 3 months ago

The war is being fought in Ghana naw!!!

• Nitwit, useless and fake Economist 3 months ago

The less said about this imbecile, the better for everyone.

• Swine 3 months ago

At least someone agrees with me... hahaha

• Akoto 3 months ago

Incompetent man . And political bigot... Tweakaiii.. wei nos y3 lecturer

• KK 3 months ago

Bogus economist

• Man 3 months ago

Education cannot take away the foley of man , ampa...

• CECILLIA DAPPAAH 3 months ago

I wonder if this fool is lecturing students in economics, then the future of this country is in shambles.

• Bili 3 months ago

Mr economist please let me schooled you a bit. lets assume that you used all your salary and your affordability for a loan in which you spend the money recklessly, chopping girls and eating expensive meals. what will be the f ...

• Papa 3 months ago

The guy has been paid.

• Ben 3 months ago

So we should blame your mother and your wife right. Such a hypocrite and a foolish talk

• Alfred Pappoe 3 months ago

Mr so called lecturer we have heard you but sorry to say nothing makes sense in your analysis. Why are you not seeing this simply reason that we overborrowed that's why we are suffering today? Countries around us all faced co ...

• Abizibay 3 months ago

If the countries around us were not affected by the Covid and Russia-Ukraine war, how come their citizens running to Ghana for greener pastures, Ghanaians should be very very careful with this DEVIL PARTY called NDC they have ...

• Turning the Corner 3 months ago

The father and mother should be blamed, Kwaseato, Aboa, tootooni ba!

• Say the TRUTH 3 months ago

Is it NOT a FACT that all the Advance Economies & other Weak Economies Globally are BLEEDING to the Global Economic Meltdown?????? Let us be HONEST TO THE SITUATION

• Koooo 3 months ago

When we have fools like this how will we develop.

• Papa 3 months ago

https://ghanaguardian.com/audio-npp-better-managers-of-the-economy-than-ndc-dr-george-domfe

Read for yourself and make your own judgement

• Fada 3 months ago

People like this so called doctor is the reason Ghana is not developing. Who should we blame then for our economic woes? Ok we will blame your wife for our economic woes.

• Donatus 3 months ago

Another quadruple whammy whining.

• BUSY RUNNING TO PARLIAMENT 3 months ago

Haaa! a very useless lecturer.

Legon must be quickly named after J B Danquah just for having useless lecturers.

The world will continue to have sadden crisis.

In fact, we may wake up tomorrow with a new one.

It ...

• BUSY RUNNING TO PARLIAMENT 3 months ago

The English says, a bad workman quarrels with his tools. The Polish says, a bad dancer blames the hem of her skirt. The Dutch says, a drowning man blames the water because he cannot swim. The Indonesian says , the ugly person ...

• Ga Nyobi 3 months ago

What A load of crap from a party loyalist, thats the problem with Ghanians , he knows the truth but has to say something else because he has to be loyal.

• kk 3 months ago

Let forget about dis tribal fool.... He has been doing dis since Mahama's time especially on Tv3. No reputation...

• Peter 3 months ago

An educated fool, idiot.

• Wisdom 3 months ago

Dr Domfe please spares us some kind respect even though we are an economics expect but we are rational people and what happened in this country
    The finance minister got about 6$ billion what's has he done with money,are you ...

• King 3 months ago

Sensible man talking. Thanks Dr. Domfe

• Adondon 3 months ago

Herh. How did you become Senior Research Fellow? Seriously!

• Akonkon 3 months ago

Senior Research Fellow? Are you sure? How many research publications do you have on this topic and in total? Senior Research fellow will not speak like this. Aaaah. Google scholar, where are you? Lets check.

• Kwame 3 months ago

Na so ???
    Thooooorrrrr

• Kofi 3 months ago

Another idiot defending the evil in society. How how did convict give Ghana as a revenue

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 3 months ago

Ugly, useless, senseless, shameless, gormless, corrupt, foolish, deceitful, ignorant, arrogant and primitive fool. Kwasiaa buuluubuuluuu!!!

• Can you Imagine 3 months ago

Kwasia the finance minister has personally admitted that they over borrowed and are responsible for the current mess we find ourselves. Why are you hear to tell us this shit. Kwasia. Foolish Dr.you are.

• Koliko 3 months ago

What kind of chopbar analysis is this? Oh why Ghana!

• Kwesi 3 months ago

So why was he placed in the finance ministry, when you borrow like there is no tomorrow, you end up in economic mess. This behaviour is even ,present in the personal life's of Ghanaian home and abroad. They live above their m ...

• AFrotropic 3 months ago

Dr Donde, what of the monies spent on Chopping Kenkeyat the finance ministry after securing the loans, wasteful expenditures

• Ghanaboy 3 months ago

Crap! And you call yourself a Senior Research Fellow. On Tuesday 29th November 2022, this is what you said about Gold for Oil. "Gold for oil is an excellent decision - Economist lauds government". Just over a year, this same ...

• Agyei Agyeman 3 months ago

Another useless man calling himself economist
    This are the problems of Ghana very uneducated phd holder

• Asato Ben 3 months ago

Nonsense economist

• Okatakyie 3 months ago

Seriously ??? And this man is an economist at UG…???? to say that the economy of Ghana is not integrated with the global economy shows his lack of understanding of what actually transpires in the global economy… Does he k ...

• Senga 3 months ago

PEOPLE KNOW HOW TO LOBBY FOR POLITICAL APPOINTMENTS ESPECIALLY WHEN THEIR TRIBAL PARTY IS IN POWER! Aba!!!!

• Me - Me 3 months ago

These are people paid to create non-existent excuses. Shame of a research fellow. Even markola market women know better.

• Abdul 3 months ago

The NPP loyalist has spoken. Dr of nonsense

• Kojois 3 months ago

Tell then. Those empty heads who do not want to read. Mahama is nor the answer they have see him before and what he can do.

• Wobrofo 3 months ago

Wobrofo koraa nso ny3 but you are calling people empty heads

• Reality 3 months ago

See this caricature booklong economist. Does he live in Ghana ?

• Stephen Terku Kwame 3 months ago

Such analysis from an economist. So the close to Gh 400m cedis buried under the Cathedral Pit is also as a result of the bombs droping in Ukraine. Shame on you!!.

• Swine 3 months ago

Say again oooo
    A nincompoop of an economist....

• Seth from mamprobi 3 months ago

When u have a doctor speak like this then Ghana will be where we are.useless fool

• Osama 3 months ago

Mr lecturer, how many countries did debt exchange to innocent Ghanaians and pensioners who did not contribute to the over borrowing the country into such mess, for the ecommy to be down graded to gunk.
    Please us your thesis ...

• Kay 3 months ago

So this FOOOL is being PAID to TEACH?

• Kwasi 3 months ago

Another useless idiot

• Okponglo Guy 3 months ago

We know it is NDC propaganda but the NPP has not been able to put up any defense because Ken doesn’t release money to the MPs regardless of party.

There is also because of his influence over the president.

• Kovac 3 months ago

BOGUS Economist
    INVESTIGATE his PhD. Could be fake!!

• Bad Economist 3 months ago

It's scary this lecturer is still at post as a lecturer. His economics is so bad. Covid exposed our structural weaknesses which were already battered by Ken's overborrowing!

The reserves he was talking about came mostly fr ...

• Zy 3 months ago

I get sick in the stomach when I hear the so called learned people try to defend the indefensible. You're conveniently talking about war in Ukraine and COVID-19 but have chosen not to address the over bloated government budge ...

• Koffie 3 months ago

There they go again, stupid man didn’t they increase petrol and diesel prices? Foolish man

• Yooo 3 months ago

But my mother is to be blame anaaa

• be wise 3 months ago

There are still fools holding PhDs in Ghana. No wonder we are doomed...

• Ekow B 3 months ago

Dumb economist ! Covid and Ukraine war raked in over 6 billion dollars into the economy. What did ofori Atta do with that money. We are net beneficiary of the covid .

• Antrowhie 3 months ago

Dr Domfe, who implement economic policies to grow GDP, which Drives Inflation Low ? Who has His hands on the disbursment of Public funds to improve living Standards, creat a vibrant middle class, an Environment for the Public ...

• Kwesi Nyantekyi's Last Born 3 months ago

Lol.
    No one should pay attention to this idiot. Both economies of Russia and Ukraine are doing great even though the war hasn't ended.
    He is incompetent and should be fired.
    I can imagine the crappy boldshit he teaches his ...

• Sampson kwesi Vormawor 3 months ago

I wonder why people see wrong and then defend it...please please do not think Ghanaians are stupid...

• Miagy Soft 3 months ago

Prof commot for der, rats like your type .all add up to the countries problems ...

• Kwasi Ansah Sasraku 3 months ago

The part of the hardship that is attributed to the government has to do with the depreciation of the local currency against the dollar and that is linked to the country's high indebtedness.

Because the international capit ...

• Joseph S Agyapong the Con-Man 3 months ago

Useless excuses by an arm-chair researcher. Another Liar.
    Was it only Ghana that suffered from Covid-19 and Ukraine war?
    Even Russia and Ukraine are doing better than Ghana.
    Even China, where Covid-19 came from, is doing ...

• Kwasi Ansah Sasraku 3 months ago

This is the part that the lecturer missed.
    The part of the hardship that is attributed to the government has to do with the depreciation of the local currency against the dollar and that is linked to the country's high indeb ...

• Maxima 3 months ago

Bawumia should not be blamed!
    Ken Ofori should not be blamed!
    Nana Addo should not be blamed!
    Your father should be blamed I guess?

• Ewvevi 3 months ago

Domfe, yua ugly face like a bat meat eater. Infact, you resemble a bat. Yua face like ampai.

• Tantalising2 3 months ago

This economist is dumb. There is a component of our budget that feeds into the cost of oil.An increase in the cost of oil beyond the government's budgeted amount for that year means the government gets extra money from the sa ...

• OBRONI 3 months ago

Then we can blame your mother. Foolish man with no manners and dignity of a fake doctor

• Ghana 3 months ago

Such nansis lectures should pray some of us don't become president..like straight to the farm.. this one is tomatoes farmer

I didn't believe we have such honest and sensible people in Ghana. Thank you Prof for educating the weak minds most especially some of your fellow Prof colleagues who are dumb. Posterity will judge us all. If this had happene ...

I am really sorry for Ghana after going through the comments. Indeed, majority of the writers are really uninformed. So sad. We don't read and listen to current affairs therefore we are intellectually bankrupt.

• Obi 3 months ago

Please Dr. Domfe, who is responsible for where we are, Putin?

This is disgraceful to say the least. Certainly don’t deserve the PHD.

• Kay 3 months ago

Waa look!!

• Jah bless 3 months ago

One of the fools talking pls safe this useless explanation cos ur the most stupid citizen ever to live on this land. Pls Doc ur not well so seek Mental health care.

• Godfrey Sam 3 months ago

Birds of same feathers flock together

• william Ejisu 3 months ago

Bullshit, where has this dickhead come from..Affori Atta is the finance Minister.....HIS JOB IS TO STEER THE ECONOMY THRU GOOD AND BAD TIMES,THATS HIS JOB.SO SOME FOOL IS SAYING HE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE.... THEN WHO IS???
    FRO ...

• Treasure 3 months ago

Would he take the credit if the economy was good?

This is the problem with idiots who don't believe in CAUSE AND EFFECT but call themselves scientists and economist.

What do Economists and Accounts do? Simple question? ...

• Treasure 3 months ago

You only take CREDIT IN GHANA BUT NOT LOSS. OR BLAME
    WHAT A BUNCH OF WANKERS

• Kay 3 months ago

Palmwine analysis

• Eap 3 months ago

School fees nu ashie

• Economy 3 months ago

The lone voice of truth

• Sammy 3 months ago

But they should blame my father for it right,this reason why they always said young fool can also grow old ampa ,and school ampip3 Gyimie

• Chief Vandal 3 months ago

please joker COVID was in 2019,2020

• Azemalta 3 months ago

What a dishonest intellectual. Your poor argument is nothing but instead making mockery of yourself. What about the covid funds that the government got from the IMF and the world bank? You're a disgrace to your students.

• KN 3 months ago

So if Ghana's economy isn't so tied in the global economy, how then does global issues affect our economy? Stomach analysis. Where people get their PhDs these days?

• Kwasea bi Nti 3 months ago

The wife man without hatred and political economist has spoken and nothing can change the most bitter truth that has said. God bless you unlike those kwasia bi nti by-force so called economist la.

• Hafiz 3 months ago

You guys have started again, right?

• Prince Martin 3 months ago

Dr. "Externalist" George Domfe, was it only Ghana that was confronted with those external factors? Blame Putin for his external aggression policy and ignore your internal mismanagement.

• Nii Amarteifio 3 months ago

Dr Domfe, l don't agree with you. During the COVID season countries looked within themselves. Ghana had external support, extended tax base but never looked at how to invest within its main sector to sustain its economy. Ghan ...

• As3m b3ba dabi.... 3 months ago

How much money was this buffoon paid to come out here and spew this garbage? That's the problem we have with our so called intelligentsia. Making useless speeches or statements just to confuse a very uninformed voting publi ...

• Kojo 3 months ago

So this man also lectures atUG hmmm how can we develop with such people. Upon borrowing so much and mismanagement. You are here to praise the minister please be careful you are not beaten because boys aye wild

• ATAKPA 3 months ago

I wish he reads the ensuing comments.. Why ll you redicule your good self.. Nothing can white wash this failed government... If I may ask, who shld we blame? Give us a break pls

• David 3 months ago

If you don't want us to blame the finance minister whom do you want us to blame please mention one person in the Government that we should blame or we blame the opposition party again. Whom were they blaming when they were in ...

• Fos 3 months ago

Just agree with you sir. Even almighty uk is in recession since last year. What are we talking about

• Kramai 3 months ago

Haha the uk you are talking about some people in ghana are willing to spend their life savings to go there

• Gyata 3 months ago

I thought Ghana exports oil and therefore the hike in oil price is rather beneficial. How about over borrowing and overspending on ministers and hiring of private jets for president and delegates on a regular basis sometimes ...

• Tito 3 months ago

Doctor, my name is tito, come and blame me for ghana's economic woes. you hear.

• Apuuh 3 months ago

If price increases ie inflation emanated from the supply side as Dr alluded to, why was the bank of Ghana increasing the Policy rate to reduce inflation. This policy is deployed when there is more money in the system causin ...

• Sandy SEIDU 3 months ago

We all.agree that massive production for export as import substitution and a policy of grow Ghana, Eat Ghana and Wear Ghana hence Domestication is the answer

A JSS pupil.can tell us that the role of the Finance Minister ...

• Vanessa 3 months ago

I dont blame....these days any moron can hold an economic phd.

• Nana Afrifa 3 months ago

Lazy lecturer, may God forgive you

• Nana Saffro 3 months ago

This man is idiot and crazy holding PhD in Ghana. We need to examine his brains as Ghanaians can not blame any one for their problems except themselves.

• Frank 3 months ago

Then who should we blame

• .com 3 months ago

Mr Ken Ofori Atta's failure on vat on electricity bill was because it was not linked to any project like rural and urban electrification .

• Amogsone moses 3 months ago

Some people speak like they are not reasoning at all why do you speak like you are not in the country

• Kwabena Edusie 3 months ago

Domfe, We have to blame your mother ryt? Stupid beneficiial wait til military takes over you mafias will spend the rest of your life in Nsawam, Dog eaters.

• Congoman 3 months ago

We should come and blame you for borrowing 13 billion and printed 60 billion Ghana cedis still not solve the problem. Please be quiet and support any incompetent financial minister. In her story of Ghana which finance ministe ...

• KA NA WU. 3 months ago

Nokware no no. Don't allow any power-hungry and stomach politician throw dust into your eyes.

• Abdallah Abu halid 2 months ago

Another idiot,so who are we to blame where they not all over appointing unnecessarily and charting flights roaming the world?
    And do you think other countries were doing same? Now bawumia too says he can’t be blamed becaus ...