This is serious. We need an Agriculture revolution to revive our cocoa farms and get production level up. Everything is failing in Ghana and the cocoa should not fail
£EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 1 year ago
Cocoa country import cocoa? If I no recommend this resource wey go change your life wetin I gain? Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now. Being intentional is important for achieving personal success & skilling up is a big part of INTENTIONALITY. This day, unleash your potential this new year! Tired of unemployment, cashlessness? Take control of your life with our smartphone repair course(the first and best worldwide). In just three weeks, gain valuable skills to start earning on your terms. Join Russell Friedman, Patrick & thousands around the world(check reviews) who changed their lives after JUST three weeks training with our books. Invest in yourself today with Chukky Oparandu's guide-book on Amazon(Search Chukky Oparandu on Amazon website). Act fast, before the current price ends in April. Break free from unemployment – start your journey to self-sufficiency now! #SmartphoneRepair #SkillsForSuccess #FinancialIndependence
King USA. 1 year ago
Under this useless govt nothing is working, I mean why should Ghana import cocoa? Nana is useless!
Kajo Wusu 1 year ago
Useless as your father and mother who didn't train you well.
ADWOA Clitoris 1 year ago
GHANA'S IRRESPONSIBLE FRAUDULENT PRESIDENTS WITHOUT SCRUPLES ARE ABUSING A LOT OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL ARTICLES TO ENRICH THEMSELVES AND THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS TO THE DETRIMENT OF GHANAIANS AND THE ENTIRE GHANA.
EXPUNGE THAT F ... read full comment
GHANA'S IRRESPONSIBLE FRAUDULENT PRESIDENTS WITHOUT SCRUPLES ARE ABUSING A LOT OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL ARTICLES TO ENRICH THEMSELVES AND THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS TO THE DETRIMENT OF GHANAIANS AND THE ENTIRE GHANA.
EXPUNGE THAT FRAUDULENT INDEMNITY CLAUSE FROM GHANA'S CONSTITUTION IF CORRUPTION MUST BE KILLED IN GHANA PLC.
THAT MUST BE THE NO. 1 STARTING POINT IN ROOTING OUT CORRUPTION FROM GHANA PLC.
NO.2 IS REMOVE THE APPOINTING POWERS OF GHANA'S PRESIDENTS FROM THE FUCKING CONSTITUTION.
GHANA'S LEADERS ARE ALL CRIMINALS AND THE CONSTITUTION IS NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE.
ANYBODY WHO IS SERIOUS ABOUT FIGHTING CORRUPTION IN GHANA PLC MUST START WITH THE TOTAL REMOVAL OF THAT FRAUDULENT INDEMNITY CLAUSE FROM BANKRUPT GHANA'S CONSTITUTION.
Joseph Boateng 1 year ago
Lift your knowledge about this issue
Cocoa Country Ghana??? 1 year ago
This is serious. Why and what happened. The farmers are not always paid on time and face lots of logistics problem. The Government does not give a damn. We need an Agriculture revolution to revive our cocoa farms and get production level up. Everything is failing in Ghana and the cocoa should not fail
Xo Xo 1 year ago
Boahene Aidoo his CFO and other Gov appointees at COCOBOD are just thieves. Akuffo has no quality control and supervision standards over the country. In fact , once he appoints you , you have the right to do what you want . He sat down for the MoF to use ₵25b to collapse banks that needed ₵9b to survive. Common sense should inform Ofori Atta that he should follow the money lost at the banks , this would have revealed to him that GoG was responsible for significant part of the losses in the Banks, due to unpaid GoG contracts that were prefinanced by a lot of the financial institutions. Nduom alone had prefinanced contractors who had unpaid certified claims of ₵2.2b, according to court judgement. On the fight against Galamsey, crooks have been appointed as MMDCEs and Ministers and Galamsey is openly ongoin in rivers and cocoa farms across the country under supervision of Party and GoG officials. He as a President has no intelligence to know what is happening and even when Journalist like Erastus Asare Donkor exposes the rot, Akuffo would defend his appointees, instead of sacking them for non performance. In Rwanda Paul Kegame will jail such appointees.
John 1 year ago
This is the management that is pursuing Opuni and Co for fraud. If for nothing at all, cocoa board was better than this under so called corrupt Opuni administration
Moi 1 year ago
Mr Kwakye a lot of water has passed under the bridge since you opened your mouth on this issue.
Please do the needful and come again. Fallacy of hasty conclusions
Mr Kwakye a lot of water has passed under the bridge since you opened your mouth on this issue.
Kofi Agyeman 1 year ago
And he calls himself Director of Research. He should rather step down.
Kojois 1 year ago
Stupid comments. Dump people. Everybody need to fire. Is that what we build a country. Instead of looking for root cause and find long term solution no. How you build a country with this mind set. Always looking for problems no solutions.
NANADDO: ME Y3 KROMFUOR No.1 1 year ago
@Kojois, go and tell your stupid mother that I said she should train you well. If an animal running an institution like Cocobod can mess up so much as to be importing cocoa beans, then we have to beat up that animal before we even sack him. Now I know why you are still keeping that fake and criminal Osofo Kusi Boateng and Cecilia Dapaah. God will continue to expose and disgrace you idiots beyond belief.
Stupid and fake researched, John Kwakye 1 year ago
This writer is very stupid and uneducated. It is true NDC does not read. I also pity all those lambasting COCOBOD. The stupid and fake researched, John Kwakye must come again to apologise for deceiving the general public with this fake news.
Kk 1 year ago
How this man has been able to mismanage cocobod for the last nearly 8 years is mind blowing, the appointing authority has done more harm to gh cocobod..cocoa beans in Central and Ashanti are coming in everyday so why import cocoa beans meanwhile farmers are not getting money after weighing their cocoa beans, what a shame
Ko 1 year ago
Are you sure you are a reseacher ? Jonh kwakye and didn't know that this is an industry practice spanning over 20 years. Please go back to records from 2005 and you will know that you are as ignorant as a street hawker.
Moro 1 year ago
Director of Research who don't know anything is talking. This has being the practice for over 20 years now. Do research small Mr. Research Director.
Man 1 year ago
Kwakye, IEA should fire you. You are an embarrassment. From Lithium to COCONOD. You are simply not a good researcher. At 73+ you are a total spent economist.
Seth 1 year ago
I am sorry for Dr. Kwakye. He should take his time and examine topical issues like this before coming out with any comment. This is a normal practice done by all the cocoa milling companies. There is mixture proportions for the Ghana's premium cocoa and the non premium because some of the non premium cocoa have unpleasant odour and so they have always to be mixed with the pleasant odour from the premium cocoa for an acceptable balance.
Kajo Wusu 1 year ago
Is that Jon Kwakye a PhD holder? What? The university should withdraw his certificate immediately.
Those who are behaving like typical NDC foolsoldiers should also bow down their heads in shame cuz their problem is reading.
Is that Jon Kwakye a PhD holder? What? The university should withdraw his certificate immediately.
Those who are behaving like typical NDC foolsoldiers should also bow down their heads in shame cuz their problem is reading.
Buertey 1 year ago
They have to sack most of the leaders in COCOBOD and put few competent and visionary thinkers.
Let's remove politics and nepotism from key sectors in the country.
If possible cut down their huge salary, and reinvest i ... read full comment
They have to sack most of the leaders in COCOBOD and put few competent and visionary thinkers.
If possible cut down their huge salary, and reinvest it in ordering fertilizers and sponsoring farmers to grow more with the aid of modern agriculture equipment managed by the council of each area with stationed engineers for maintenance.
Those Coat guys are not doing much for that big salary ( only book applications/suggestions and bribes).
Wofa Manu 1 year ago
DR KWAKYE YOU ARE ABOVE THIS KIND OF COMMENTS.
THE PRACTICE PRIVATE COMPANIES PROCESSING COCOA BEANS SEEKING APPROVAL TO IMPORT COCOA BEANS TO ADD TO WHAT THEY PURCHASE IN GHANA HAS BEEN IN EXISTENCE FOR SOME TIME NOW.
... read full comment
THE PRACTICE PRIVATE COMPANIES PROCESSING COCOA BEANS SEEKING APPROVAL TO IMPORT COCOA BEANS TO ADD TO WHAT THEY PURCHASE IN GHANA HAS BEEN IN EXISTENCE FOR SOME TIME NOW.
I AM SURPRISE YOU DID NOT KNOW THIS.
Vasco 1 year ago
Just listen to someone who says he's Director of Research. You have no credibility.
Paul 1 year ago
Mr. Kwakye should be fired if he didn't know COCOBOD has been approving importation of cocoa beans by local manufacturers. Sometimes, no matter how much we think we know, we should give the "small" ones assigned to do a job some respect. By opening his mouth too wide, big man has exposed his ignorance, big time. "S3 asa"
Paul 1 year ago
And Dafeamekpor too, typical NDC loud mouth. Please, it's about time you stopped visiting your ignorance on us.
Ghanaba 1 year ago
Dr. Kwakye just go learn and stop talking about something you have no knowledge about. It is a normal practice for cocoa processing companies to import cocoa beans for processing since it is inline with their operation strategy to control cost, get different varieties of cocoa beans to argument the taste and preferences of their consumers.
Dr kwakye simply go and read and learn before commenting on something you know nothing about.
Kwame 1 year ago
Akufo Addo has destroyed all sectors of the country. I think he is cursed.
Konrad Nettey 1 year ago
How can people still be in CEO positions when there is no progress or profitability? Are we sick that our leaders cannot see this and sack non -performing executives. This nation needs a paradigm shift from the current situation. Leadership is incompetent.
Kwame 1 year ago
Those telling us it is industry practice are aware of Nigeria and Ivory Coast cocoa processing companies importing same from Ghana ?
PREPS FIADZIGBE 1 year ago
IF GHANA HAS FULLY SOLD ITS COCOA PRODUCTION AT AN ACCEPTED PRICE, THEN WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE COMPANY PURCHASING FROM NEIGHBORING COUNTRIES? IS THAT NOT WHAT AFRICAN FREE TRADE AGREEMENT IS ABOUT? CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN THE LOGIC TO ME?
Kweku 1 year ago
Why do we just speak on just headlines? This is one reason why we 're not developing. Those reporting are doing us good and people that should know better are also problematic. This things are such that they gave a reason so why are we not speaking holistically to get solutions to the main cause but on just headlines. Oh Ghana.
V. Adjei 1 year ago
Granted that it's been the practice in the cocoa processing industry in Ghana to import lower grade beans from outside to cut cost, but do we see what is happening to the Cocoa industry in Ghana?
According to the article b ... read full comment
Granted that it's been the practice in the cocoa processing industry in Ghana to import lower grade beans from outside to cut cost, but do we see what is happening to the Cocoa industry in Ghana?
According to the article by Bright Simons quoted in the story, Cocobod sent home one-third of its staff. It's also common knowledge that it can't honour the bonds it issued and PBC is bankrupt, and creditors are selling off its assets, etc.
Meanwhile, Dr. Opuni who as CEO tried to increase output before the current one took over is being tried with others on charges the prosecution is finding it extremely difficult to prove. We read stories of happenings in court that should send chills down our spines as a nation if we cherished our national motto: Freedom and Justice.
Today, it's they who are at the receiving end, and some of us are happy. Under President Kufour, it was Mr.Tsatsu Tsikata who was persecuted and jailed under a law that I understand wasn't on the statute books when GNPC guaranteed the loan for Valley Farms, yet a court of 'competent' jurisdiction presided over the case and deprived him of his freedom, breaching a cardinal principle in justice delivery that laws DO NOT take retrospective effect.
Compatriots, in these high profile cases, we are making nonsense of our motto Freedom and Justice, and only the Almighty knows what happens in the small matters that don't grab national attention. Is it any wonder that our homeland is sinking when we can't hold true to what we have set forth as guiding principles for ourselves?
What is happening in the Cocoa industry is symptomatic of the general malaise plaguing Ghana. Every sector is under extreme stress, but for the overwhelming majority, including those who have had the good fortune of going through higher levels of schooling, and vain-gloriously refer to themselves as 'intellectuals', tribe or party affiliation take precedence over the forward march of our country that will inure to our collective good. Shouldn't we be able to commend good and condemn bad irrespective of which party is in power?
This reminds me of a piece a classmate shared with me sometime ago.
"Nigerian Statesman, Dr. Chuba Okadigbo (1941 - 2003) was reported to have said at one time that:
'If you are emotionally attached to your tribe, religion or political leaning to the point that truth and justice become secondary considerations, your education is useless. Your exposure is useless. If you cannot reason beyond petty sentiments, you are a liability to mankind.' "
Benin, Côté d'Ivoire, Burkina Faso, East African countries are making progress, and we are here tearing each other apart. Are we suffering under a national curse?
Maybe, just maybe, what we need is to declare a period of of soul-searching, confession and making restitution for our egregious abuse of power, and resolving to chart a new course with love for one another, irrespective of where we hail from in this beautiful country, for the Eternal to have mercy on our nation.
But who will take the lead?
Sunday+and+religious+gatherings+dress 1 year ago
Ghanians journalist's are unpatriotic or they are corrupt and bias.
If sports journalist's can do what they have done and doing to our black stars officials and players why can't they expose all the rotten in Ghana?
Kwaku Mensah 1 year ago
Stop making noise because you don’t understand the system.
I don’t think this is the first of it kind to happen in cocobod.
Go down investigate and understand the policies in the
cocoa industry before using the economi ... read full comment
cocoa industry before using the economic jargons.
It doesn’t work everywhere.Mr John Kwakye there are
a lot to talk about at your watch than this.
EDWARD BRENYA 1 year ago
JOHN KWAKYE, ARE YOU A COCOA FARMER. PLEASE YOU NOW KNOW THERE'S A DEFICIT IN THE COCOA PRODUCTION.
YOU ARE LEARNED PLEASE USE YOUR KNOWLEDGE TO FIX THIS DEFICIT. INSTEAD OF THE NOISE. AT LEAST YOU READ THE LETTER FOR APPRO ... read full comment
JOHN KWAKYE, ARE YOU A COCOA FARMER. PLEASE YOU NOW KNOW THERE'S A DEFICIT IN THE COCOA PRODUCTION.
YOU ARE LEARNED PLEASE USE YOUR KNOWLEDGE TO FIX THIS DEFICIT. INSTEAD OF THE NOISE. AT LEAST YOU READ THE LETTER FOR APPROVAL AND THE EXPLANATION FROM THE COCOBOD SO THEY CAN REGULATE SMUGGLING AND OTHER PRACTICE.
Joseph Boateng 1 year ago
A Researcher of your type is not wanted in Ghana. On what basis are you making this factually incorrect statement?
It is expected that as a Researcher you rise above serial callers type of unverified outburst.
It is a shame
A Researcher of your type is not wanted in Ghana. On what basis are you making this factually incorrect statement?
It is expected that as a Researcher you rise above serial callers type of unverified outburst.
It is a shame
Yaw 1 year ago
We hear this is a practice that is allowed and other CEs have done the same. Let us not be in a hurry to tarnish the image of others. Companies are allowed to import since 2001. Our beans are good and have premium price, so companies bring in others to blend. Most of the processing companies receive license to import all the time. Ghana provides them with only light crop at a discount of 20 to 25%.
Cocoa country import cocoa? If I no recommend this resource wey go change your life wetin I gain? Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now. Being intentional is important for achieving personal success & skilling u ...
EXPUNGE THAT F ...
This is serious. Why and what happened. The farmers are not always paid on time and face lots of logistics problem. The Government does not give a damn. We need an Agriculture revolution to revive our cocoa farms and get prod ...
Boahene Aidoo his CFO and other Gov appointees at COCOBOD are just thieves. Akuffo has no quality control and supervision standards over the country. In fact , once he appoints you , you have the right to do what you want . ...
Stupid comments. Dump people. Everybody need to fire. Is that what we build a country. Instead of looking for root cause and find long term solution no. How you build a country with this mind set. Always looking for problems ...
@Kojois, go and tell your stupid mother that I said she should train you well. If an animal running an institution like Cocobod can mess up so much as to be importing cocoa beans, then we have to beat up that animal before we ...
This writer is very stupid and uneducated. It is true NDC does not read. I also pity all those lambasting COCOBOD. The stupid and fake researched, John Kwakye must come again to apologise for deceiving the general public with ...
How this man has been able to mismanage cocobod for the last nearly 8 years is mind blowing, the appointing authority has done more harm to gh cocobod..cocoa beans in Central and Ashanti are coming in everyday so why import c ...
I am sorry for Dr. Kwakye. He should take his time and examine topical issues like this before coming out with any comment. This is a normal practice done by all the cocoa milling companies. There is mixture proportions for t ...
If possible cut down their huge salary, and reinvest i ...
Mr. Kwakye should be fired if he didn't know COCOBOD has been approving importation of cocoa beans by local manufacturers. Sometimes, no matter how much we think we know, we should give the "small" ones assigned to do a job s ...
Dr. Kwakye just go learn and stop talking about something you have no knowledge about. It is a normal practice for cocoa processing companies to import cocoa beans for processing since it is inline with their operation strate ...
How can people still be in CEO positions when there is no progress or profitability? Are we sick that our leaders cannot see this and sack non -performing executives. This nation needs a paradigm shift from the current situat ...
IF GHANA HAS FULLY SOLD ITS COCOA PRODUCTION AT AN ACCEPTED PRICE, THEN WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE COMPANY PURCHASING FROM NEIGHBORING COUNTRIES? IS THAT NOT WHAT AFRICAN FREE TRADE AGREEMENT IS ABOUT? CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN THE LOG ...
Why do we just speak on just headlines? This is one reason why we 're not developing. Those reporting are doing us good and people that should know better are also problematic. This things are such that they gave a reason so ...
According to the article b ...
cocoa industry before using the economi ...
YOU ARE LEARNED PLEASE USE YOUR KNOWLEDGE TO FIX THIS DEFICIT. INSTEAD OF THE NOISE. AT LEAST YOU READ THE LETTER FOR APPRO ...
It is a shame
We hear this is a practice that is allowed and other CEs have done the same. Let us not be in a hurry to tarnish the image of others. Companies are allowed to import since 2001. Our beans are good and have premium price, so c ...