You are here: HomeSportsAthletics2013 06 15Article 276942

Ghana’s Fastest Human Launched in Accra

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Allotey 10 years ago

we must do all we can to unearth all the talent..we are naturally sprinters even more than we are "naturally predisposed" with football. we are better sprinters than footballers. its time we start dominating in that sport

• the truth 10 years ago

Another sexist project doomed to fail:

"He expressed that the event will be staged for seven years, from 2013 to 2020 and the male winner goes home with 40,000 ghana cedis, whilst the female winner gets 20,000 ghana cedis. ...

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

IM NOT AN EXPERT IN ATHLETICS, BUT I WANT TO MAKE A FEW SUGGESTIONS.

1. WE NEED REGIONAL TRACK FACILITIES IN EACH REGION
    2. WE MUST EXTEND SHS TO 4 YRS
    3. WE MUST GET THESE PAST ATHELETS TO COME BACK N START THEIR OWN C ...

• OSEI KOFI FR 10 years ago

Mr.GHFUO I support you and I personaly want to be one of the sponsors and my e-mail is jomensah@msn.com Please captain and Mr Brobby contact me as I cant contact you for no adress posted

• Zongomann 10 years ago

That's right. Great move .its about time we have to invest in track and field. This will give a chance for the youth with talent in sports igeneral and not only soccer .we are all not born to be footballers , all the youth ne ...

• kantamanto 10 years ago

(The best performers are mostly blacks and majority live in Africa, so why are we unable to compete with the few Blacks in the diaspora?} I'm proud with the performance of our sports men because they are always clean and do n ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

This is not going to work since our local athletes are poor and don't have the means and equipment to be fast. What are you guys hyping about? Funds in your pockets? Who are you guys fooling? Reks you and your cronies Rex Dan ...

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

where are the veterans who were sponsored with the poor tax payers money? these guys are in the states (USA) doing their own things. Almost all of them have naturalized as americans. However for this to work, there should be ...

• John Estel 10 years ago

Who exactly has the "poor tax payers" sponsored?
    Also if you don't have anything concrete to add to this laudable initiative, then shut up. Ahhhhh ba!!! what is "measures to streamline idea"?

• the truth 10 years ago

why should he shut up?

why are you trying to shut him down?

• Yaw 10 years ago

This is a great idea and needs to be supported, negative comments are unwarranted and unhelpful. There is a wealth of hidden talent in Ghana which will be discovered through this endeavor. The fastest woman should receive the ...

• the truth 10 years ago

maybe you think some comments are negative but you need to look at them again...this is how progress happens - - all ideas are considered......not poo-pooed because it doesnt fit what you are thinking.

• Nii 10 years ago

In its one year of operation Glo Ghana has done much more to ordinary Ghanians musicians and singers and footballers than what MTN had done in last ten years of operation. Glo Ghana has sent ordinary Ghanians to Lagos and Dub ...

• Koohia 10 years ago

How can you in this day and age discriminate against one sex. Unearthing a fastest female should being taken as fastest male and the rewards should be equal not half.

• Afrowa 10 years ago

I agree with you. Both male and female winner are likely to put in their best and therefore deserve equal pay. I hope there is no gender inequality in Ghana when it comes to salaries/wages and remuneration.

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

My brothers don't forget that the women have already got half of the men's, living the men's share at 50%. Now if you go by Bawumia's analysis, that will put the women's share at Ghc40,000.00 and the men's at Ghc20,000.00 Acc ...

• pk 10 years ago

Well done. Use similar strategy for the other sports.

• O D B 10 years ago

good initiative but where r the playing grounds n even the football fields or parks?hmm,its going to be difficult but its a good start so tell your colleges to stop selling all the playing fields/parks n even creat more to ma ...

• Di Carlo 10 years ago

Good initiave,I believe we have abundant talent in Ghana,naturally sprinters.The search for talents and the readiness of facilities and equipment for further nurturing of the talents are both and equally important to make thi ...

• Ayeri 10 years ago

i am happy to see that we are trying to develop human resources in this our beloved country. But as usual, we ve degraded women to the background. Giving women half of the men price. we should strive to help women more. the p ...

• michael 10 years ago

why the difference in winning prize?.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Seek help from past national atheletes like Dr Ohene Frimpong, Dr Tommy de Laurence (Paa Tommy), Dr Bugri, Mr J C Amui, Mr J Addy, Mr Boamah (Sahara), E R Arko, Dr S K Allotey and some bulwarks of the Inter Collegiate era to ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Must read ; They made Nkrumah and Ohene Djan proud.

• Great 10 years ago

We have them, they don't have the courage to come out. Some of them are fishermen, farmers trotro mates etc. they are poor and can't even speak English.

• bernard 10 years ago

please how do one join this please,i just head about it and will like to run for the nation.

• T HAYES USA 10 years ago

I HOPE NPP WOULD HAVE TO TELL THE NATION WHY THE TOOK AWAY THE TRACKS IN ACCRA.

• Joseph Mitusah 10 years ago

This is like a dream come through for me. What i have started will now get its relivance.
    Thanks to the initiators of this welcome news, the world should watch out

• Adu Nyarko 10 years ago

That is a good idea our leaders,but we hope and pray that the executives that will be enployed to be the main to give things out will not seat on it or do it according to who you know.

• richard 10 years ago

Why discriminate between men and women. The winners of both sexes should be paid the same.

• natty 10 years ago

This is actually a great idea but in my opinion athletics and the other sports must not begin its development from the educational sector alone. There are people who will never get the opportunity to go to school but have an ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST THEN GO TO www greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot com

• Ice 10 years ago

Why are both men and women not getting the same amount?

• jojo 10 years ago

Since the Tracks were removed from the Accra Sports stadium a death blow was struck at Athletics of which it has not recovered.I remember a former Chairman of the Ghana Athletics Assocation ,Mr George Lutterodt warning The t ...

• Onua 10 years ago

To start, id rather be screamed at for doing SOMETHING than screamed at for doing NOTHING..

The reporter got it wrong as it was and IS VERY important to us that both genders get equal money so the correct quote is that BOT ...

• EMMANUEL OWUSU ANSAH 10 years ago

AM THE FASTEST MAN IN GHANA I BELIEVE.I JUST REGISTERED AND PAYED FOR FORM AT FIDELITY BANK LAPAZ-NYAMEKYE.SO BE IT.

• Eric Annobil 10 years ago

Please i am in support of this and i want to join this athletics team but how possible or in what way do i become a member of this team and it is always my dream to be an athlete for our Motherland GHANA please help.

• MR.WAGES 10 years ago

This is a great idea and needs to be supported.Let us not forget the rural children, most of them have the talent but you mo know.
    ------------

• patrick bonney 10 years ago

Wat a great event.details tins to me b'cos i want to be part of the athlet b'cos i have the talent.

• Grant 10 years ago

I'm very much interested. How do I get informations. Pls email me, mercydelali@gmail.com

• Stephen 10 years ago

at what age can one register for this program?

• dada 10 years ago

i need a running machine to train myself please call me 0271122667

• henry 10 years ago

when and where will the event take place

• freduah jantuah 10 years ago

I want to be part,so what should i do.my email address ismaelfreduah@yahoo.com

• freduah jantuah 10 years ago

Does gud it will hlp we de youth

• enoch kwame jackson 10 years ago

how can i join this stuff

• Eric Anim 10 years ago

I will become big like Reks Brobby. Am a student at La - bone senior high! My num 0266105679

• We The People 9 years ago

What about Peter Amarteifio and Daniel Osafo, and Lomotey?