You are here: HomeSports2017 07 19Article 560717

Kotoko driver breaks silence on what happened before fatal accident

Read Comments Comments (84)

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

If the high beams of another vehicle impeded your vision, all you should do was slow down totally to avoid accidents like what you have caused right now killing team member of the club. Stop making these baseless excuses beca ...

• Wonua 6 years ago

Did you read well? The high beam affected his vision and the truck in front also suddenly stopped possibly due to the same reason . It could happen to anyone so stop your criticism and accept his account .

• John Dean 6 years ago

Wonua,

The principles of defensive driving has to apply here:

If you allow enough distance between your car and the car ahead, you will NOT run into them even if they make a sudden stop. That is what defensive driving m ...

• JJ 6 years ago

Wonua, did you read well? And does his explanation make sense to you? A car overtook his bus, so how did the headlight of that car, moving in the same direction, affect the vision of the bus driver? Also, according to him, th ...

• Joe 6 years ago

WHY ARE ASHANTES SO DARK, UGLY WITH TED SHINY RYES?

• Kkk 6 years ago

I was thinking the same. I think the driver was drunk. He should be questioned properly. His statement is baseless. He should be jailed for taking someone life.

• Nancy 6 years ago

Safe driving is to slow down when your are being overtaken. If he has done that, he would have had enough time to stop or reduce impact.

• boi 6 years ago

massa I was thinking the same way..how come two cars moving in the same direction light affect the car in front
    ..I also learnt Dat the man who died was not having seat with seat belt but those small space near the door whic ...

• dddddddd 6 years ago

u u what is your problem. Are u now defending the driver or what

• Exposure 6 years ago

Yes I am on your side for I wanted to ask similar questions.

• Luca Brasi, Woodbridge VA. 6 years ago

I was given a ticket for reckless driving one snowy morning. The winding brake marks of my Ford Explorer on the slippery snow said it all: blame the snow! "Reckless driving, Sir?" I asked. Calmly, he gave me the real definiti ...

• Luca Brasi, Woodbridge VA. 6 years ago

Let the law run its course, Nana. Life was lost, injuries were sustained as a result of recklessness. Let this driver face it without an arm-twisting

• Kkk 6 years ago

Ghana has driving schools..? Do police in Ghana issue tickets to drivers or driving privileges get suspension?

• guit 6 years ago

the kotoko mgt did not do due diligence by employing a visibly a drunk as a driver the whole fault from the employers

• the One 6 years ago

Please a car overtaking you will have it's beam moving away from you not towards you.

• africaNyame 6 years ago

What is Overtaking. Can highlights of vehicles on same direction effectively disrupt vision of any of the drivers? I may consider this if its Oncoming vehicle.something is missing somewhere

• Kortsma,USA 6 years ago

He could be at fault alright but he still has let the world know what he did wrong or right

• Sammy the Sheriff 6 years ago

You are wrong. What is the meaning of an accidents? In your view, all accidents can be avoided. Accidents happen because drivers make mistakes or the car you are driving can fail.

The driver is telling you what happened. W ...

• CK 6 years ago

The police were right. The truck in front was moving

• Old kweku 6 years ago

Driving with high lights on normally affects the on coming vehicle and not the vehicle on side by side THe Kotoko driver is just trying to make excuses

• Abanga, Bole 6 years ago

The old man is simply making a bad situation worse. My understanding is that all three cars were heading towards the same direction.....how did the light of the overtaking car affect his vision.?... Is Kotoko so poor that the ...

• ST. GHFUO, is this the best you can d 6 years ago

ALCOHOL

• BA 6 years ago

If you are overtaken by a car how does its high light affects your vision? If you are facing that car then the light will affect you

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

There is Kwaku Anase story in the driver's account. How can the beams of a car overtaking you (NOT FACING YOU) blind your vision. It would rather throw more light on what is infront of you! Haba!! Or is the reporter twisting ...

• Kofi Emma (USA). 6 years ago

I believe it is time for everyone to learn how to get a big picture and leave 4 seconds following distance ahead of you by projecting your eyes on the road and also slow down to avoid any type of accident by driving defensive ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 6 years ago

Are you really a driver? Are you telling me high beam or high light behind you cannot impair your vision? If a high beam behind you can impair your driving, then a high beam of a car overtaking you can reflect in the mirrors ...

• Umknown 6 years ago

Most Ghanaians do not like science. Is very distasteful to them. They rely om WAEC for academic assessment /achievement at this day in age hence, the buffoonery displayed here.

• Calculus 6 years ago

EXACTLY! that was what i was going to write as a comment. It's possible the beam was reflected in the Driver's mirror and that affected his vision.

• King 6 years ago

Thanx bro, u just said it all. Some of the guys on this platform are tooknown but I dont think they ve handled a real car before, they think driving on the highway is like that on a computer keyboard or game pad.

• Tuutugborvi 6 years ago

Its very true. A high light behind u will splash into the rear mirror via the back windscreen. Those who do not have this prac tical experience will counter argue over kotoko driver's claim. Kotoko drive shd have slowed down ...

• CK 6 years ago

It's possible. The lights will be reflected by your mirrors towards you. It really be worrying

• Kobby 6 years ago

Shut up if u know nuin abt driving. Do u know wat dazzling frm behind is. Dnt just make baseless nd stupid submissions. I pray u go tru same wen driving at night, dats wen u will understand him.

• zizou 6 years ago

correct

• zizou 6 years ago

Baseless. Where is the logic here

• CK 6 years ago

It's possible. The lights will be reflected by your mirrors towards you. It really be worrying

• NaSo 6 years ago

Was the car on coming or by passing , his use of overtaken can be a misuse , whether he has a poor grasp of the language or not I doubt he is stupid and will certainly know the implications of what he said.

• ERIC 6 years ago

YOU NEED TO GIVE ENOUGH SPACE ,SO U DONT TAILGATE....ITS UR FAULT.U CAN NEVER HIT ANOTHER CAR.
    GO BACK TO DRIVING SCHOOL

• Murtala. 6 years ago

Poor jounalism, I believe what the driver said was a car pass by with high beam,but the writer translated it directly from a local language and said a car over took him, how possible.

• W'liata 6 years ago

Murtala, that's how I also thought of the narrative. It is sad how journalist would translate the Twi to English as if both languages follow the same 'syntax'. Both languages are spoken and written differently. Overtaking ca ...

• Asie 6 years ago

Why are Ashantes so ugly? dark skin, red shiny eyes

• Umknown 6 years ago

The same reason your white masters are ugly. Because they are better than you.

• the One 6 years ago

Really silly submission. Where from this? Stoking tribal sentiments to achieve what? Demon possessed human.

• Kwadwo Kyei 6 years ago

Just ignore him. He is a smelly pig who sleeps on the streets.

• Charles from U S 6 years ago

This guy was sleeping I think so

• OHENEBA KWADWO OWUSU-BEMPAH 6 years ago

FROM THE CONVERSION, I CAN OBSERVE THAT EYE IMPAIRMENT HAS A ROLL TO PLAY IN THIS FATAL ACCIDENT.
    SOLUTION: GHANA DVLA MUST INTRODUCE REGULAR EYE TEXT/CHECK FOR DRIVERS SERIOUS. THEY ALSO HAVE TO MAKE IT A CONDITION FOR NEW ...

• Eagle 6 years ago

If another vehicle overtakes you and is using the high lights it aids your vision but it doesn't blocks your vision because its not coming from the OPPOSITE direction. Man, it seems you were over speeding unnecessarily, sorry ...

• Umknown 6 years ago

"If another vehicle overtakes you and is using the high lights it aids your vision but it doesn't blocks your vision because its not coming from the OPPOSITE direction".
    Apply some basic physics principle here and you will f ...

• Gen. Ballson 6 years ago

behind a vehicle so why beam light blurring the driver's vision? Something doesn't add up.

• Phil 6 years ago

The driver definitely has some sort of vision problem. It's very awkward for a driver to run into a parked vehicle when another vehicle overtakes with high beam lights. If his vision was blinded from an oncoming vehicle with ...

• Kwasi kwasi 6 years ago

Looking at the man's face:All his salary goes into "Akpeteshie".

• Asemoo 6 years ago

The right thing to do is to quickly adjust your side mirrors when the light behind is troubling you. This is poor driving let us be truthful

• Kantamanto 6 years ago

Clear human error but has bn labelled as (something behind) by no other than a white man kotoko coach.

• kkbk 6 years ago

keep quite u this ogoglo man u were over speeding and moreover u have already loose your job so it's better u tell us wht exactly happened and stop telling lies

• Kofi mintah.Wso. 6 years ago

Careless driver used your ABS when u can't see afar.

• the One 6 years ago

Utter nonsense. How can a car that overtake you shine it's light into your eyes? I don't blame you for this accident though. The people who leave broken down trucks with no warning triangle should be prosecuted. This is murde ...

• pocket lawyer 6 years ago

Drive and apply common sense because common sense if not applied then one becomes very stupid.

• Dickson 6 years ago

We all drive. I not convinced of this ananse story. If anot her car is overtaking you in front how can you lost your vision. I am sure a vision can be strongly lost when an incoming car is on high beam.Anyway, anything is pos ...

• TAMBRO 6 years ago

I CAN'T UNDERSTAND THIS DRIVER IF WHAT HE IS SAYING IS TRUE.A CAR OVERTAKES YOU FROM BEHIND AND YOU CAN ONLY SEE THE TALE LIGHTS OF THAT CAR WHICH IS NOT HIGH ENOUGH LIKE THE HEAD LIGHTS TO OBTRUCT SOMEONE'S VIEW TO HAVE CAUS ...

• Little 6 years ago

We need to bring on TV and air some of the foreign forensic detectives. Let the police lawyers view to add into their knowledge. This will inform them in judging fairly so many cases.

• Jeff, UK 6 years ago

How does a vehicle that overtook blinded him. Was he blinded by the tail lights? This is an old and worn out man in custody of young lives

• Owuo 6 years ago

Eeeeiiiii ghanaians ve diferences faces.

• Nii Osunyobi 1 6 years ago

But, but, but....... hmmmm!
    Honestly you guys should leave the driver alone. Are you forgetting the fact that one Osofo called the team at 4:00pm thereabout to inform them not to come back to Kumasi that same after the match ...

• Dave 6 years ago

nice info

• dddddddd 6 years ago

Every Ghanaian is an expert in giving excuses please how can the the the lights of collinear vehicles affect each other. apuuu next time take caution

• Abuaku 6 years ago

THE DRIVER SHOULD BE ARRESTED,AND PROSECUTED,TO DETER OTHERS DOING THE SAME MISTAKES AGAIN.AM NOT SURE THERE IS LAW IN GHANA,AND IF THE LAWS DOESNT WORK HOW CAN A COUNTRY,BE SAFE.NO DRIVER HAS BEEN JAILED IN GHANA,FOR THE STU ...

• Tt 6 years ago

So the tail lights of the vehicle that overtook u was on high beam??? Sir , tell that to the marines!!

• Emperor 6 years ago

Porcupine story ; just like Ananse story. Highlight from your back?

• Papa G. 6 years ago

Most drivers need training in driving especially taxi drivers. Many drivers don't know when to dim your headlights, when to stop and where, when to overtake and even the distance between their vehicles and the one ahead of th ...

• TIME WILL TELL 6 years ago

PERIOD. HE WON'T ACCEPT HIS FAULT

• nii ga 6 years ago

U lost the match so in your anger, you waged war on the accelerator

• Akwasi Frimpong 6 years ago

The driver's excuse doesn't make sense. Personally, I think he is a reckless driver. I think he needs to shut up and hire an attorney.

• Koo 6 years ago

The question is did the police check his alcohol level ? the excuse the old man is given,doesn't much up.how can a car over taking you light affect your vision ?old man come again.

• bb 6 years ago

most of u who a saying de beam çant not affect ur vision à fouls or a not drivers de side mirrors can affect ur vision ok expercaily bus n truck

• Smith 6 years ago

BB OR WHAT YOU CALL YOURSELF,YOU ARE THE MOST STUPID ANIMAL.IF A CAR BEAM DISTRACT YOUR ATTENTION DOESNT MEAN YOU SHOULD DRIVE STRAIGHT TO A SLOW DRIVING TRUCK.EITHER YOU SLOW DOWN OR STOP YOUR CAR.GET A DRIVING LESSONS IDIO ...

• Citizen 6 years ago

Sammy The Sheriff,you are a GOOD driver.

• motsamai 6 years ago

he fails to maintain safe distance bt the truck. 2. headlights from overtaking car blurring his eyes is nonsense,

• Nana Da Ghavna...frm tema 6 years ago

Aahhh this man paaaa, how can a car overtaking u have his high light affect u? If u had said the car was coming opposite then it cud be true..I think the driver had it wrong..

• Billa Muhammad 6 years ago

Liar,if you are driving and a car overtakes you is it the tail lights of the car you see or the headlight?and how can the tail light of car affect ur vision when driving ..again don't forget ur assistant captain Eric Donkor ...

• Kwame Togbei 6 years ago

We must not discount the driver's version. It is possible the driver was dazzled by the high beam of the overtaking car reflecting from the side and rear view mirrors.
    But he needs to explain why he didn't slow down conside ...

• tom 6 years ago

What he is saying is not making any sense.

• tom 6 years ago

Foolish excuse

• Tom (USA). 6 years ago

Is sad but to all drivers ,stop using highbeam when meet another car.
    Secondly , if you can see property because of someone's highbeam, slow down or if safe stop to avoid such kind of accident.

• ASEM 6 years ago

PEOPLE HAVE A HABIT OF DRIVING TOO CLOSE TO THE VEHICLE IN FRONT.

ON A FAST ROAD LIKE THE KUMASI ROAD, ONE MUST KEEP AT LEAST 15 CARS LENGTH DISTANCE BEHIND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT. YOU ONLY MOVE CLOSE WHEN YOU NEED AND IT IS ...

• Shaftesbury 6 years ago

You get the reflection of the high been from your wing mirror and in most cases it can blind the driver of the vehicle ahead it's so common in Ghana for drivers to use high beam which is very wrong