You are here: HomeSports2017 07 18Article 560337

FIFA President Infantino wants CAF to change AFCON date

Read Comments Comments (29)

• Asempa 6 years ago

It's about time. To hell with raining season in Africa being the reason June is the wrong time to play AFCON.

• kojo 6 years ago

Absolute NONSENSE!! WE Africans has to do what suits US!!!
    TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT!!!

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

Both sides benefit:The Europeans have their players when they need them, and the African players are not conflicted between club and country.

The African players themselves - well, in the main - have been calling for this ...

• TECH TRENDS 6 years ago

Trends predict a future of constantly-connected devices, business; smart homes, smart cities, networked ecosystems and all will be integrated into & controlled by our smartphones. High-value smartphones will require smart te ...

• William Ofori-Attah, U.S of A. 6 years ago

My friend, those days are over. Ok? Stop dictating for the Africans. A word to the wise is enough. Thanks.

• ASIEDU NKETIA 6 years ago

HE IS NOT DICTATING FOR AFRICANS BUT AFRICANS REFUSE TO THINK.THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE FOR A LONG TIME BUT NO AFRICAN OR A GHANAIAN DELEGATE HAS EVER POINTED OUT.THEY TAKE HUGE ALLOWANCES ONLY TO GO EAT AND DRINK.

• kojo 6 years ago

IT IS DICTATORSHIP. THEY ALWAYS WANT TO DO WHAT SUITS THEM. MASSA YOU RATHER SHOULD THINK!!!
    THIS IS WHY WE ARE ALWAYS NOT RESPECTED!! The know our football calendar before they sign the players.

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

CAF to change AFCON to suit the European league, abi?............

So, tell me something.....are we ever capable of thinking for ourselves???? After all these years of so-called educating ourselves in somebody else's lingos ...

• JJ 6 years ago

The European clubs are paying the Africans. Do you know that? There is no dictating here; what Infantino is suggesting makes sense because the top African players are themselves choosing club over country.

• Brian Williams 6 years ago

They should go ahead and choose their European clubs over country. We need to rely more on local players and not those who have sworn loyalty to the Europeans. This will in fact strengthen our local leagues.

• Kwame Sekyere 6 years ago

Some people simply either don't or don't want to understand. The AFCON is held at a time when there is oversupply on football (European leagues, Champions League, European Cup, Southamerica, Asia, even African domestic league ...

• anokwale 6 years ago

It is tough but the reality of the matter is that for the TV deals to continue and benefit CAF and the national federations the tournament has to move to the June/July window.

JJ, the Europeans are paying Africans for WORKING.........it's not for free! Got it?

FIFA makes the rules and can stop any player, whether AFRICAN or European to choose club over country.......after all, the best exposure ...

• ST. GHFUO, is this the best you can d 6 years ago

@non aligned...its not about balls. its about business. take ur emotional foolishness elsehwere. kwasia. u think gold cup was re scheduled bcos north americ ahas no balls? or do u think copa america was rescheduled for that s ...

No wonder we are where we are with likes of you in our midst. Please, you seem to have forgotten you were created by GOD with brains..........

If everything was about money, GHANA will NOT be sitting on gold and yet so POO ...

• Anokwale 6 years ago

I am realistic. Clubs pay the bills and some players cannot take career risks. They have families to take care of. The main thing is changing the tournament to a joint hosted tournament. Top seeds host their group. Quartfina ...

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

I don't think the issue is about FORMAT; it's about TIMING.

• Nana 6 years ago

Where do they get paid best. U guys forget they are also working for their respective families. This foolish African pride won't take us anywhere. Even the phone u r using to type is not manufactured in Africa.

• Chu 6 years ago

But the material used to make it come from Africa...looks like a 50- 50 scenario to me.

• lone prophet of Jehovah 6 years ago

Third face of slavery why African? Don't accept it,they have their weather and we have our own,all was created by God, so they can't change what God has made.The white man always profit from Africans why.African have only 5 n ...

• Dan 6 years ago

Nonsense

@chu...who told u its 50/50..they come n buy the raw materials for cheap. then use it to manufacture cellphones, tablets, computers and other electronic gadgets anss jack up the price time 100 and sell it back to the world . ...

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

"caf should schedule afcon immediately before august, before the start of the 2nd half of the euro season or right after the end of the euro season in may..."

Good idea.
    Afcon is a 3-week event.
    I prefer mid-June to ear ...

• Kwame Sekyere 6 years ago

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

• Elyot 6 years ago

I think he is right let's forget abt the european league and also think abt our african players
    Some players find it difficult choosing between club and country and most african players loss their positions to the euroean wh ...

• Kantamanto 6 years ago

Fany indeed. When we need money we run to them to borrow. We chased them away by claiming we can do it on our on only to follow them to go n clean their gardens n wash their dogs for a living. If our player is even sitting on ...

s america has changed, gold cup in north america and central america have also changed to suit european calenda but africa dont want to change? okay...more africa players will be playing for mediocre clubs and u still wont un ...

• Kojo 6 years ago

NONSENSE ABSOLUTELY NONSENSE!! Dy know d prevailing African calender in Africa BEFORE THEY SIGN THE PLAYERS!! Nonsense!! Ds WHY WE ARE ALWAYS DISRESPECTED!!!

• Randy 6 years ago

Thanks Mr Infantino.....bcos it's every 2 yrs, it's so poorly organized. There's no proper organization of these AFCON tournaments. The quality is sooo low. Why ? Every year, rushing rushing rushing to play qualifying. What a ...