You are here: HomeSports2017 06 23Article 551844

US Embassy denies journalists visas to cover Stars-US friendly

Read Comments Comments (109)

• Mr.N 6 years ago

40 sports journals and administrators this sound fish. The question is how many journals will accompany the Black Stars to Ethiopia on the Afcon?

• ADRO-CHOPPERS 6 years ago

The ADRO-CHOPPING nature of Ghanaians is TOO-OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 6 years ago

This is the reason why l always say that we must build our country well. Stop taking bribes from politicians don't allow them to spoil you with V8 vehicles tell our politicians to build Ghana for us. That is all that we need. ...

• THE WISE MAN IS BACK 6 years ago

Too funny ???? what are they coming to cover twiaaaaaaa, they should stay there with their foolishness sheegu banza

• francis kwarteng 6 years ago

US Embassy denying Ghanaian journalists visas to the States is a very good and welcomed decision because when in the States they will not go back to Ghana, we currently have a lot of those crooks who entered the States with v ...

• D DAY 6 years ago

MAHAMA SOLD GHANA'S PRIDE FOR $50M TO FEED ONLY TWO. YOU STILL HAVE SEVERAL WHO BELIEVE IN MAHAMA IN GHANA

• P Djamgbe 6 years ago

This serves them right - when Trump was banning Muslims some Ghanaians were jubilating, little did they realize that Trump was referring to all foreigners. In fact Arabs have much, much more respect in Trump's eyes than us ( ...

• Akwasi 6 years ago

Most Ghanaians here in the USA supported Trump over H. Clinton and their reasons: Trump was against "LGBT", and would deport undocumented immigrants. Food for thought.

• Dico 6 years ago

@Akwasi: "most of us ...." really, in which State do u live, bro? I suggest you check your facts and don't lump most of us into whatever your contribution is.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 6 years ago

They were definitely not coming back. Many of them were not real journalist and have little qualification or profession. Trump will surely not let you in. The CIA knows all the tricks we use to get there.

• Dan: New York 6 years ago

Is pure they're not comming back period, 40 journalist lairs.

• NAT 6 years ago

Massa.cheap talk. Some of us don't want their leaders in our country again.Clinton, Bush and Obama to Ghana immediately they became presidents.

• isaidit 6 years ago

Trump visiting Ghana or Africa will not do anything for us.Remember when Ambassador Jon Benjamin sanctioned some ex politicians who were involved in visa fraud? What happened? Many idiots jumped on him because they felt he wa ...

• D DAY 6 years ago

WHY NOT HAVE NO RESPECT FOR GHANA WHEN OUR PRESIDENT IS ABLE TO SELL OUR PRIDE AND DIGNITY FOR GITMO 2

• D DAY 6 years ago

FACT IS MAHAMA HAS DRAGGED ALL THE FORMER PRESIDENTS IN TO TRUMP'S CUE FOR VISAS.

• Emperor Rasheed 6 years ago

I was also denied a visa to travel and watch the match,so do not tease us.It was a connection by Saanie Diarra.I was included as a journalist, although I pound fufu at a chop bar.

• Teye Agbale 6 years ago

Emperor Rasheed the Chinese Lapoor. Thanks for the filla. Now is time to let the embassy know about Sani

• Hohoho, montreal 6 years ago

Emperor, you made my day. I can't stop laughing.

• Dan: New York 6 years ago

Nonsense watch it on tv

• Sakawa Churches 6 years ago

Hahahaha. :)

• NAT 6 years ago

Thus the problem. Do what us right so that the enemy don't get you.why should you pay bribe or govt.fly people to go and watch tournament while Ghanaians are everywhere on the Globe.

• Whoo Daat ! 6 years ago

Lets first talk about how many of them covered the first game, in their own backyard, of Kumasi.
    Some of us Ghanaians always think we are such "wise guys."

• ST. GHFUO, is this the best you can d 6 years ago

POINT OF NO RETURN...SOME PPL WERE ALSO EVEN LIED TO THRU THE HELP OF GHPPL WHO HAD TRVAELLED OVERSEAS AND RETURNED THAT ABROAD WAS WAAAYYY BETTER THAN BEING IN GH. THEY ALLOWED THEMSELVES TO BE CHAINED N SENT OVERSEAS. WHEN ...

• TIME WILL TELL 6 years ago

LOVE THEMSELVES ABD LOVE THEUR COUNTRY, STOP LOOTING AND BUILD YOUR COUNTRY

THEIR COUNTRIES BUT RATHER STOLEN MONIES AND PUTTING IT INSIDE THEIR ACCOUNTS IN FOREIGN COUNTRIES AND THAT SERVES THEM RIGHT PERIOD

• KOFI - USA 6 years ago

THIS WILL TEACH THEM A LESSON. WHY SO MANY JUORNALISTS FOR A FRIENDLY MATCH? YOU MUST BE KIDDING ME. THE MPS SHOULD FOLLO WITH ABLAKWA MAKING ALL THAT NOISE. THEY STEAL OUR MONIES AND STASH THEM OVERSEAS

• Agyaaku 6 years ago

40 journalists from how many institutions?. You guys have to be circumspect in your dealings with the USA especially in this era of President Trump. 40 is too much

• foreign mp 6 years ago

DAMN SWINE!!! Do You think US embassy is established to issue only visas. What Is wrong with us Ghanaman. 40+ for simple friendly match coverage.waaaat, what do You take Americans for? Be reasonable enough hence, our oldmen ...

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER,,,, 6 years ago

ALL THE KOOBIS GRASSCUTTER,
    APRAWA ET ALL THE OGOGLO MUST RETURN TO THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS..

• Issa 6 years ago

The nigerian billionaire kidnapper who was arrested has a Ghanaian passport. It means the Americans can no longer trust the Ghanaian passport. Period

• +233506182344 6 years ago

TAKE WATER TO WHERE YOU LIVE. DRILL A BOREHOLE AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE TODAY...www.pristinewaterconsult.webs.com

• THE TRUTH WORKSHOP 6 years ago

Land of opportunity? Trump country?

• P Djamgbe 6 years ago

You forgot the third one: "the most powerful country in the world". These are the kind of idiots who let the U.S. look down upon us all the time. Kokoase journalist - kurasini!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 6 years ago

Thank you. I thought they say change has come. So, why are they running away from the change they passionately craved for? Fake journalists indeed.

EVERYTHING THEY DO IS MIRRED IN CORRUPTION N FAKERY....THEY ORGANIZED THIS FRIENDLY PURPOSELY TO GET PPL TO AMERICA THRU THE BACKDOOR. SANI IS THE ONE GOING TO US EMBASSY TO LEAK ALL THE INSIDE INFORMATION...THIS TOOGBEERR MO ...

• Seth 6 years ago

Sia.
    Who is talking about change here

ARE CRYING FOR QUEUING FOR AMERICA VISA WOOOOOOOW NKWASEAFUO THIEVES AND YHAT SERVES THEM RIGHT MBOAFOO

• NAT 6 years ago

Massa which opportunity, are you really a Christian and studied your path and life in America very well.If is a land of opportunity then God has really bless you because to some dream turn into nightmere.

• Btz 6 years ago

The most powerful country in the world,a foolish journalist like your kind

• kwame 6 years ago

good most of them are fake jounalist once given the visa they wont come back and they probably had a tip off that most of them have been charged by connection men so good one american embassty

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 6 years ago

I know there are a lot of radio stations in Ghana. But we don't get many of them covering football matches. I think it's only Asempa Radio which stands out and those of us in the Diaspora depend on for match commentaries. ...

• Emperor Rasheed 6 years ago

I work with Prof Kenneth Radio as a journalist, and my boss is in the US,so why did they deny me?

• The Stallion 6 years ago

You bi journalist, you dey pound fufu, you be Emperor for your palace. Ebei, Massa! You alone?

• Whoo Daat ! 6 years ago

Emperor bi Kokontey journalist. He will be educating Ghanaians in the diaspora about the importance of Kokontey in their diet after the games. Please allow!

• lord viktor 6 years ago

U are billed to play Mexico on 28-06-17, when they are in Russia playing FIFA Confederations Cup?
    Are u playing Mexico Team B or what? This is a waste of resources....

• Truth Hurts 6 years ago

I was thinking about the same thing....

• NAT 6 years ago

Hehehe,have you forgotten the Mexicans also want to come want to come to USA like the Ghana 40,They are advertising the match on Mexican TV.

• JSS 6 years ago

Thank you, lord vitkor. You got the correct word. The illiterate author of this article wrote 'Ghana is build' instead of 'Ghana is billed' as you rightly wrote. Such a journalist cannot correctly fill a US visa form. No wond ...

• Kojo Ekwam USA 6 years ago

Your bad grammar alone attest to the fact that you are not qualified to call yourselves journalists let alone being given the recognition to cover matches in the USA. I know kwasia nyantakyi is charging $5000 for introductory ...

• P Djamgbe 6 years ago

"Your bad grammar alone attest"... is that good grammar, Mr grammar?

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

WE SHOULD RATHER SEEK A VISA TO ENTER HEAVEN, BUT NOT AMERICA. AND AS LONG AS AMERICA IS NOT HEAVEN, THOSE AFFECTED SHOULD WORRY LESS BECAUSE HEAVEN IS THE MOST PRESTIGEOUS AND ULTIMATE DESTINATION FOR MANKIND, NOT AMERICA. A ...

• OSABERIMA 6 years ago

Have you visit Heaven before? Where is their Embassy?

• The Stallion 6 years ago

People are developing everywhere in the world, but not the Ghanaian.
    We think of only imaginary things.
    Religion has inflicted serious life-threatening injuries on the Ghanaian in such a way that he cannot even wipe away a ...

• ANDY USA 6 years ago

Osaberima and The Station the answer to your question is: The Embassy of HEAVEN Is JESUS CHRIST (John 14:6)

• ANDY USA 6 years ago

I MEAN THE EMBASSY HEAVEN

DONT U KNOW UR HISTORY. WHERE THERE IS BREAD N HONEY. WHITEMAN WILL TELL YOU THAT ITS ONLY DEMONS AND CURSES THAT DWELL THERE...

• Esi 6 years ago

Time to rely on ghanaian journalists in the US to help you guys out. No need to send 40 journalists there.

• Yaw 6 years ago

Class 1 journalist

• Ab 6 years ago

Disappeared in the US. This is why however with good reasons maybe they would allowed in.

• Richard 6 years ago

I AM SO GLAD. GOOD ONE THERE USA EMBASSY

NEITHER FOR THEIR COUNTRIES PERIOD

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 6 years ago

US Embassy you are right

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 6 years ago

FOOLSSSSSSSS

• SAQ 6 years ago

We support the USA decision.

I THOUGHT IT WAS 100....US EMBASSY THIS SMALL NUMBER TO U FEAR THEY WILL GO N STAY IN US N NEVER COME BACK? LET THEM GO. IT WILL GIVE IMMIGRATION A JOB TO DO TO FISH THEM OUT N RETURN THEM BACK TO GH IN CHAINS...

• francis 6 years ago

Ghanaweb, what's the meaning of the last but on paragraph of this story ? Is the word "build" or billed

• Sakawa Churches 6 years ago

Don't worry Francis, rotten English was used to write the article. There are many more errors in it.

TO SUPPORT THE GHANA BLACK STAR, SO NO EXCUSES PERIOD.

THEIR CITIZENS BUT THE AMERICANS DO, THAT MAKES THE DIFFERENCE PERIOD.

• Koo 6 years ago

Good one there ,fake journalist 40 ? for what's, is it a tournament?

• Baasit 6 years ago

Look stupid description of that vampire country, most powerful country, no wonder they refuse to give you visa

• GHANA FORAY 6 years ago

Can't Gtv go and cover it and give the feed to others? Why must we waste so much money to cover friendly match?

• anokwale 6 years ago

There are plenty of Ghanaian immigrants and Americans with Ghanaian parentage that are in the journalism business in the USA. However, there is no real network. If there was, then there would be a legitimate organization in ...

AFRICAN NEEDS A NEWS NETWOR, PERIOD. THESE GH JOURNALISTS WHO HAVE BEEN EDUCATED OVERSEAS MUST COME TO GETHER LIKE VOLTRON N FORM AFRICAN NEWS NETWORK...LIKE BBC OR CNN N COVER NEWS EVENTS IN AFRICA N REPORT IT FROM AN AFRICA ...

• America is full of shit 6 years ago

I don't think the US embassy have got better things to do or say as the might be bored and come out and speak nonsense in the ears of Ghanaians. Shame unto America for selling their integrity to satanic deeds

THEY OWE CHINA TRILLIONS AND THEY HAVE BORROWED AGAINST SOCIAL SECURITY...SO EVEN THE ELDERLY AND PENSIONERS ARE CRYING FOR THEIR OLD AGE SECURITY CHECKS..SOON, MOST FACTORY JOBS WILL BE EXTINCT. PPL WILL RELY ON LOANS TO GO ...

• Kwami 6 years ago

Yes don't issue them the visas. Most of them wouldn't come bk for sure

• king 6 years ago

Well done trump, 40 journalist to cover a friendly match, they should be checked for mental disorder.

• Luze 6 years ago

Very good, well done America Embassy. I thought npp says they are Americas best friend. Now what is happening? You know Americans don't like people who deals in cocaine, so hmmmmm oyiwa.

• Boss 6 years ago

40 journalist to go and cover a friendly match. I would also have denied them the visa? Serves them right

• Frank, NYCity, NY. 6 years ago

Who wrote this article? Didn't the one read over and over to correct errors. Does he want us to believe, all these ' wrongs' are typographic?. Disgusting indeed!!

• John Akim Oda 6 years ago

What 40 journalists going to do ? She on you .

• Mineladder 6 years ago

Don't give them visa ,what 40 journalist and administrator going to do in the states ...mass tell them to go and sit by the sea the see states

LIVING IN FEAR IN PANIC. THEY ARE SCAED TO EVEN DRIVE OR GO OUT BCOS IF U ARE STOPPED FOR DRIVING INFRACTION OR ISSUED A TICKET. U COULD POTENTIALLY BE DEPORTED...THERE ARE NO JOBS IN AMERICA. MOST FACTORIES ARE LAYING OFF N ...

• samuel azumah 6 years ago

why not cancell the us friendly

• duodu ln Düsseldorf 6 years ago

Simply cancel the match.

• Fuck al ya!!! 6 years ago

Fuck America , it's not land of opportunity but it's land of death if you people don't know .when you have not travel before you think its land of opportunity but if you as travelled before then you will understand what I'm s ...

• Daddy tee 6 years ago

Hahabahahahahahahahahaha sssuuuussssskkkkkkkkeeeeeetttttt. Stay home and farm

• KRS 6 years ago

Why wouldn't you be denied visas when you post such bad English as journalists??? 'The US embassy Mr.... Jackson' . The Black Stars were 'Build' to play...... Nonsense !!! They were 'Constructed' not 'Built'. Nmoas3m!!! You ...

• ACCRAMAN 6 years ago

I laugh enter my kitchen with the Ghanaian journalist English. Na waaooo.

• Nana 6 years ago

Edit.....
    The US Embassy have tightened security in the country which has largely affected several nations including Ghana.
    What the hell do you mean?

• ACCRAMAN 6 years ago

Which schools in Ghana are producing these journalists? No wonder they have been denied visas.

GES get your act together.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 6 years ago

Don't blame GES for poor standard of English language and the whole educational system. Blame Papa J who messed our educational system with his introduction of JHS and SHS but sent his kids to school in Britain.

• Nana 6 years ago

Edit this piece of shit as well...
    The US Embassy to Ghana Robert Jackson...
    Who????

• RICHMOND, MARYLAND 6 years ago

SHITTY JOURNALISM!

• Sense 6 years ago

Writer pls where are their faces? I mean pictures of that 40. If you can't provide then you are not qualified journalist.

Make sure you update us during the Uganda match: hoping will b more than 40 journalist.

• Sense 6 years ago

3kikime!!!
    Hahaaha !! good one there.
    Am waiting for other developed countries to take the same action.
    You won go! Who shud stay here? Bobocrate !!

• AGATAPORE (SANDEMA) 6 years ago

Thank you Ambassador (Born in USA)you know what you are doing.
    A whole Ghanaian Passport director signed a passport for a NIGERIAN Kidnaper and still at post.
    The USA Ambassador in Ghana is American made, born and bread i ...

• NAT 6 years ago

The fourty journalist is too much,why should the media commission allow this number.Apart from the state owned media, the media houses should be grouped to cover matches in foreign countries. However who made them the most po ...

• Ben 6 years ago

40 journalists for a friendly match? Not with Trump's administration.

• Kofi K 6 years ago

Ghana's journalists have disgraced themselves. Shame.

• daddy Rudy 6 years ago

ghanaian journalists are shit. including the one who wrote this error laden article. shame.... brofo bone nkoaaaaa "... the black stars are build.... " hahahahaha ampa

• Bombaata 6 years ago

hahahaha,I laugh enter my some woman in pussy..lol.brofo.

• Daddy JOE. 6 years ago

Our people are so funny ooo,why worry about travel to the states to cover friendly match,,my questions to the journalists are as follows,how many covers the African cup of nation in Addis Ababa?,We as a people must be very ca ...

• apuuuu 6 years ago

Visa fraud is the reason the American Ambassador said ExPresidents and
    MPS should come in for their visa why so many journalists just like world cup in Brazil you get visa to go to Brazil how in the h ...

• Quame 6 years ago

Ah Ghanawen, brofo ben nono? Build paa

• cool 6 years ago

so he said this and our big men are happy and they not saying anything about this, who is that man

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

Donald Trump is a crazy man! He doesn't think of any other country except the U.S. He's not fit to be a world leader. Can the new American Ambassador make reference to the number of Ghanaian journalists who've refused to retu ...

• GPS 6 years ago

Africa leaders must learn to build Africa and stop corruptions