You are here: HomeSports2017 05 30Article 542605

Starlets lost out on gold due to lack of funds – GFA Veep

Read Comments Comments (55)

• Steve 6 years ago

How could a country like Mali be well preapared for a tournament like this than Ghana

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER,,,, 6 years ago

YOU JUST WANT CHOP MONEY.WHEN THEY WERE WINNING ,THERE WAS NO PROBLEM.WE WERE BEATEN BY A BETTER STRONGER TEAM.

• Emperor Rasheed 6 years ago

You will go to heaven.

• DR TRTH 6 years ago

IT LIKE SUGGESTING GERMANY SHOULD ANALYSE VIDEO WHEN PLAYING AUSTRIA

• DR TRTH 6 years ago

WE TOOK VIDEO ANALYST TO AFRICAN CUP FOR BLACK STARS YET PERFORMED MISERABLY.

• Banana 6 years ago

This is a very poor excuse..if Niger team travelled by bus to come to Ghana to play friendly, why did Ghana not do the same by travelling by bus to Ivory Coast, Togo or Nigeria to play friendlies...Ghana beat Cameroon 5-0 and ...

• CHARLIE 6 years ago

The truth is that the Starlets lacked physical fitness.

• george 6 years ago

where from funds matter in this. we all saw the match. the Malians were better. everyday funds funds funds so that you can chop

• Omilo 6 years ago

Hmmmm!!! No comments!

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 6 years ago

WHERE WERE U WHEN I ADVISED THE COACH TO PLAY COUNTER AGAINST MALI N MAKE USE OF THE GH SPEED? WAT VIDEO ANALYST DO U NEED? THIS IS COMMON SENSE. THE COACH IS NOT GOOD. HE USES THE SAME CLOTHES FOR EVERYDAY WEAR. SO THE COACH ...

• JJ 6 years ago

The manager was tactically clueless. The midfield was gone and weak. The players lacked strength. Goalkepper panicking and making unnecessary mistakes when under no pressure.The manager is too heavy to even motivate the playe ...

• Emperor Rasheed 6 years ago

Our coach is just clueless.

SO WHY SHOULD HE WIN TROPHY TO MAKE NYANTAKYI LOOK GOOD? NO...THEY WILL USE TOURNAMNTS TO SHOWCASE N SELL PLAYERS BUT NEVER TO WIN TROPHIES TO MAKE GFA TAKE THE BENEFIT

• maree stopes 6 years ago

if you stop co-efficient, then you will get the funds.

I STILL THINK HE SHOULD HVE WON THE TROPHY TO BOOST THEIR RESUME. GFA WAT IS GOING ON?

• omanbapa 6 years ago

All you know is money money money why? Anyway that's how you have been trained by your boss Kwasi Nyantekyi. Sika die basa basa basa...

• Kutsii 6 years ago

Go way u over there with your COEFFICIENT NONSENSE. You like money more than Ghana abi? Come and carry more money on your ugly bald head. Fool

• Kwame K 6 years ago

Always giving excuses. When will we actually accept that the next guy was better this time around. Do we always have to win. Have we forgotten that other nations are growing up as well. Look at the sprint races, now Jamaica h ...

• Mallam Tulla 6 years ago

It is because of people like George Afriyie that Ghana football is suffering. What is he talking about? The Starlets went all the way to Tanzania to play in friendlies, so what is this joker talking about? Our team was formed ...

• kwame 6 years ago

Idiot

• Mikkkkythe most useless paper in this 6 years ago

Pls. Stop that. The boys didn't do well after their first two Marches. The only person who deserves an award. The rest bogus

• Kwame 6 years ago

So according to Afriyie, Mali had more funds, followed by Ghana, Niger or Guinea etc.
    These thieves survive from government to government and keep blackmailing Ghanaians.

• CHARLIE 6 years ago

THE STARLETS LACKED PHYSICAL FITNESS.

• Solomon. 6 years ago

Stupid man useless talk the Boy's are just not good enough

• kofi mossi 6 years ago

it is interesting that this gfa or football people will want to use every and any opportunity to ask for money. we lost the final match because our technical bench was not good enough. simple. the teams found an antidote to o ...

• B-minus 6 years ago

Tell this man to spare us the hypocrisy and blatant incompetence. So every team in the tournament had a video analyst? You want a video analyst for U17? What did video analysis do for us at the 2014 World Cup?If you can not d ...

• kofi 6 years ago

What is the GFA VEEP saying about the Starlets? When the team trashed Cameroun and Gabon, of a total of 9 goals, did he tell the world that the team could not undertake training tours?

It was obviously that the Malians wer ...

• Gabriel 6 years ago

He should give us a break! How many GOLD has the black stars won forSS Ghana in recent times after pumping millions of dorlars to the GFA? How much was spent on the Starlets when they were winning gold at world cup? All they ...

• Obi 6 years ago

GFA use your own money to do that. Don't always be relying on Government money. What happens to all the money fifa sent to you guys. Every FA in the world get their own sponsorships except ghana who always want to rely on the ...

• Bediako-Poku 6 years ago

Listen to the chief thief how could you say this. Why do you think only money dose everything.

• Clifford 6 years ago

You all want to have your shares of funds. Nation wreckers.

• Binanyim Basit 6 years ago

May Almighty Allah bless my dear brothers n give them more knowledge

• tiago 6 years ago

Very foolish talk. This is what happens when we have lunatics in charge of sports in Ghana

• BLACK MOSES. U.S.A 6 years ago

MR. VICE PRESIDENT GFA IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT, YOU BETTER SHUT UP. NEVER SAY THAT AGAIN. THAT LACK OF MONEY IS THE REASON THE STARLETS FAILED TO WIN GOLD. YOU ARGUE WITH EVEN THE NAIVE PERSON IN GHANA MA ...

WAT WILL U DO?

• kakraba 6 years ago

Were you not told this was the best team ever? They burnt out because the technical arm lacked the necessary skilss to change our tactics. Not about lack of funds!!

• ohrrrrr 6 years ago

rubbish

• ohrrrrr 6 years ago

this is rubbish

• Abass Tema site 2 6 years ago

George Afriyie,u wanna enriched ur pocket ,so u want the government to release money for u,to tear ur chobo,chobo,not ur fault greedy bastard

• Adika 6 years ago

Ghanaians and their funny excuse. They will never own up but give excuses.Rethink and ask the palyers where they felt went wrong and do not jump into conclusion that due to lack of funds.

• kweku trouble 6 years ago

"Infact I am told by BBC from the coach of Mali that they brought a video analyst from France to study Ghana and to advice the coach on how to beat Ghana".

• kuku 6 years ago

typical

• P.O. Addai 6 years ago

You have made a solid case but your Nigeria example doesn't fly. How far did Nigeria go in thr tournament after "walking to Accra"

• Issah 6 years ago

so why going to the world cup at all.Always lack of funds.How can they play against other countries if lack of funds is the is your jargon

• IRAY 6 years ago

Start a go fund me so that people can donate money

• Peter Mettle 6 years ago

yes any team playing Ghana whether in Africa or outside of Africa always try to find ways to beat Ghana because beating Ghana is not a walk in the park I have confidence that my boys will win the world cup go twinkle twinkle ...

• Mr Bond 6 years ago

Their lost is lack of patriotism due to some greedy bastards stealing their bounces and money due to them.

• kwam 6 years ago

Tweaaa, Ghanaians like giving flimsy excuses, when they scored the first two matches convincingly , this GFA official found nothing wrong, but when you lost the cup to a better side you are saying it due to finance. The Malia ...

• kenichi 6 years ago

. . .eeii, why . . . .no money to bribe referee abi ? Or worse still. . .no money to influence caf officials to allow age-cheating. . . .anyway, better luck @ de world cup

• CHOUAIBOU ABDOULAYE NOMBRE. Torino It 6 years ago

Nawao. That's not excuse. The Malians out played the Starlets. They were by far better than the Starlets. Just be frank.

• kempis. 6 years ago

Master,just admit you lost to a better side and stop talking about funds.How could they get to the final stage where there is much money at stake and be thinking of a training Tour they couldn't go?

• Robinho 6 years ago

nkwasias3m Nkwaan . funds for what. do these GFA guys think we stupid. what kind of excuse is this

• Koulibaly amadoue 6 years ago

Steve is this the first time Mali has taken tittle from Ghana?Did forget Afcon third positions Mali has taken from Ghana.Is Mali Bush?

• Marcelino 6 years ago

It's sad to hear these lame excuses. The team just didn't cut it, besides premature praises compounded the problem, thus complacency. Is guy suggesting setting up a committee to investigate why the Starlets didn't get game an ...

• Yawpobg 6 years ago

Ghana lost out of complacency. We live on outdated past glories and always underrate teams. How could we beat a team by 5 goals to nil and complain about money. Be honest, administrator. Meanwhile, congrats boys. Next time ...