You are here: HomeSports2017 03 20Article 520509

FIFA bans Ghanaian referee Joseph Lamptey for life

Read Comments Comments (102)

• KD 7 years ago

That's Ghana refree for u.

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

FOR YRS, REF LAMPTEY HAS BEEN DOING THE SAME THINGS IN GH IF NOT WORSE, WITHOUT PUNISHMENT. HE HAS TAKEN HIS ILLICIT BUSINESS OUTSIDE AND IT HAS NOW CAUGHT UP WITH HIM. SHAME ON YOU AND NYANTAKYI...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

I remember when this man used to diss out penalties against Kotoko like there was no tomorrow.He thought he could take that stupid behaviour out there and not get caught.Shame on you Referee Lamptey for bringing disgrace to t ...

• Isaidit 7 years ago

Until very recently almost all Ghana Premier league referees were either Ewes,Ga or Northerners.They did everything to exclude anybody with an Akan name.After so many complaints and threats to go public only cosmetic changes ...

• Adom 7 years ago

My friend, don't be tribalistic. Referees are chosen based on their competence and that is the reason why they are disciplined when they don't perform as expected.

EVEN PUBLIC TOILET ASSOCIATION IS IN ACCRA? WTF IS THIS. MOVE THE HEADQUARTERS OF SOME OF THESE INSTITUTIONS OUTSIDE GREATER ACCRA. WE HAVE 10 REGIONS IN GHANA FOR A REASON...MOVE SOME HEADQUARTERS TO KOFORIDUA, TAMALE, TAKOR ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Public toilets also have an association? Hahahahahahaha. Ghana is just funny.

ALSO BASED IN ACCRA...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

THE WHITE REFEREE WHO OFFICIATED THE MATCH BETWEEN PSG AND BACELONA,DID WORSTTHAN LAMPTEY,WHY WAS HE NOT SUSPENDED FOR LIFE.
    REFREE LAMPTEY CAN APPEAL THIS CASE ON DISCRIMINATION.

• Kanawu 7 years ago

They think they will work against us and then we will turn around and support them when theyare sinking.Let him sink in his humiliation.

• Ekumfi Akyen- Obamaland 7 years ago

Say it again!!!An Association for Public toilets? Haba!! Very soon there will be a Council for Urinals and this will be in Accra, also .
    Ebeii! Ghana my motherland.Enough of the these foolishness

• huja 7 years ago

The typical Ghanaian is a liar. The typical Ghanaian has no sense of shame. The typical Ghanaian is rotten to the core. This referee is a typical Ghanaian. John Rawlings, John Kuffour, and John Mahama are all typical Ghanaian ...

Thank you, Adom.

For the past three years they have been sued 7 times because of attempts to exclude certain names.Check the records.8 years ago 90% of referees were from Accra and only 5% were Akans.Are you saying only nonAkan applicants bas ...

• Alos Nay 7 years ago

Ghanaians are cheats wherever they go. The age cheating and now taking bribes to influence games. Shame on all of us

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Corruption galore everywhere in Ghana. Shame on him.

FOR WHICH IM THE PRESIDENT AND CEO IS BASED IN BUKOM, ACCRA. NANA ADDO DO SMTHING ABOUT THESE MUSHROOM HEADQUARTERS BCOS WE ARE TIRED OF THIS FOOLISHNESS...EBEI!...EVEN NTINSHINU ASSOCIATION IS IN ACCRA. GFA HEADQUARTERS MUST ...

• Kofi Nti 7 years ago

According to FIFA, Mr. Lamptey helped fixed that match in favor of south Africa. he's been found guilty of match fixing, hence the life ban. its so pathetic and shameful. nokofioo....look at where it has landed you? I hope we ...

HE LAMPTEY TOOK MONEY FROM SOUTH AFRICA TO RIG THE GAME FOR THEM. IM SURE THE SOUTH AFRICANS EVEN FINGERED HIM AND THATS WHY FIFA HAS NOW IMPOSED A LIFETIME BAN, ASIDE FROM THE INITIAL SUSPENSION THAT WAS GIVEN HIM. SHAME ON ...

• STONE 7 years ago

SOME OF U GUYS ARE FUCKING MAD PEOPLE. U HAVE READ THE STORY AND THE STORY HASN'T SAID HE HAS TAKEN ANY MONEY OR WHATEVER. WHEN WE SAY " INFLUENCING MATCH RESULTS" IT DOESN'T MEAN TAKING BRIBE ALONE, IT CAN BE AN ERROR , SO W ...

• Tony 7 years ago

This gentleman has always had this issue. Why the noise from you? Check your facts before insulting people. If you don't know he's been like this for over ten years. Stop the reckless defense.

• Tweaaa 7 years ago

You can't tell this belly-thinker is going by the song "Sika ye mogya"!

Buuulubi nyo!

WANT TO MAKE $$$$ WITHOUT WORKING. GO TO 360EQUITYINVESTMENTS.COM AND CONTACT US TODAY!

• SALUFU MAASE AKA MUGABE 7 years ago

GOD PUNISH AM WELL WELL! SUCKER OR SUKAH WILL BE THE NEXT.THANK YOU FIFA.

• STONE 7 years ago

As for u this Mugabe judge rapist u don't deserve to talk about this issue at all. Getaway. We are even looking for u to deal with u so shut up.

• Kwaa 7 years ago

This is the reflection of the Ghanaian society.It is so rotten,that almost everybody is corrupt.
    We need an attitude cleansing.

• Nti 7 years ago

These street sleeper and shiit on the sea side people has took over Ghana referee at hostage now see humiliation on mother Ghana

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

That ugly and corrupt boy is the bane of our soccer.

• Isaidit 7 years ago

How do you blame Nyantakyi for the corrupt Lamptey who has been in a cold war with Nyantakyi for years?

• If ur child was a victim 7 years ago

Because he gets away with it Ghana.

• Freddy Amankwa 7 years ago

Nyantakyi is more handsome and intelligent than all your family put together. Nonsense!

• Otom 7 years ago

Serves him right. We are too corrupt in this country. In our football and public life corruption is normal and hailed Shame to all Ghanaians

• Lixo 7 years ago

Atom, I agree with you.

• Joseph 7 years ago

He should carry the shame for the rest of his life. Ghana referees are fund of committing blunders, whether for personal gains or pure incompetence.

• Paa 7 years ago

This falls squarely with the people who have kept the Referee program secluded to certain tribes in Accra.

• STONE 7 years ago

Damn tribalist what shows refereeing in Ghana has been centered around a particular tribe? Some of u a staunch tribalist and you link everything to tribal sentiments.

What is wrong with u. The Referee Association is lookin ...

• Odongo 7 years ago

Corrupted Gas! that is why they have hiijack Ghana referees association.God is punshing them one by one. Sack all Gas from refereing

AS THEY SAY..CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME...NO ZERO TOLERANCE IN GH. LOOK AT THE FOOLISH CALL BY THE REF FOR THE KOTOKO V HEARTS MATCH. WHEN U HAVE THAT USELESS GFA THAT DONT CARE ABOUT PUNISHING UNSCRUPULOUS REFS. SUCH REFS WILL T ...

• Kobi 7 years ago

Unfortunate this should happen to arguably one of our top referees. A warning to other referees to tread cautiously.

• Yaw Frempong 7 years ago

Why unfortunate? We are rather fortunate have him out as he has been doing this in our local league for years. One bad apple is gone. Others are panicking. GOOD FOR US

• KG 7 years ago

You call this biased referee top. He has been cheating all his life and has gotten away with it in Ghana. He deserves every bit of this punishment. However I must admit some referees have committed worse blunders than this on ...

• KK 7 years ago

even sepp blatter was banned for 5 yrs.

• Paa 7 years ago

When was this decision made? Referee Lamptey was the 4th official in the game between Hearts and Kotoko yesterday!

• YAANAA 7 years ago

This shows how incompetent Ghanaian referees are. Just imagine what happened at the Accra Sports stadium - Hearts VS Kotoko - that dubious penalty awarded to Hearts of Oak. This country does not produce quality any more-- Too ...

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Very Good.

• Tee 7 years ago

Hearts of oak should come out to condemn this dubious penalty if only if they believe in fairness to grow our game.
    Am saying this because it will cause the club's to loose spectators during matches. This will therefore hav ...

• ellis 7 years ago

skin pain... it was a CLEAR penalty...watch a better angle before you conclude.. sore loser

• ABRANKS 7 years ago

Do not blame Hearts Of Oak, blame the Referee.

THE BALL HIT THE KOTOKO DEFENDER'S HIM/BODY. THE BALL DIDNT TOUCH THE HAND AT ALL N THE REF WAS RIGHT THERE...DAYLIGHT ROBBERY

• Jejetii 7 years ago

Using making this case personal,go and watch all kotoko games again

• Charles Amankwah-Tarkwa 7 years ago

You are right,the referee must be blamed (Sukah the vampire)

• Collinson Moses- Mr Logic 7 years ago

I expect FIFA to take the same action against the center referee of PSG-BARCA game. Pure discrimination at its PEAK

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

I remember Kenneth making this suggestion when the story first broke and people attacked him for being too harsh. Ken where you? We miss your contribution.

• Ato 7 years ago

GFA must also sanction Joseph Lamptey to protect the integrity of Ghana.

• Efo 7 years ago

These Gas can be bribed with anything.,,.. even with SHIT.

• Ross 7 years ago

u fooolish monkey looking man kese avu

• Francis Duah -Boateng 7 years ago

I support Fifa 100% I watch the said match n it was a day light robbery against the Senegalese

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Well done FIFA! But please add referees Deniz Aytekan who officiated Barcelona vs PSG and Samuel Sucker Hearts of Oak vs Asante Kotoko. I will doubt your integrity with these two still officiating

• ok 7 years ago

i serve him better

• The great 7 years ago

I never my life see referee like this man soo shmmmmmmmmm...

• JaYee 7 years ago

that should be a lesson to referee Samuel sucker.

• Tomatoes Dansoman 7 years ago

This has come as a big disgrace to ghana. Charity begins at home. It serves him right.

• Dumebi 7 years ago

South Africa must speak out. Was the match fixed or not. Damn ediots at fifa.

• Cowboy 7 years ago

The host nation should determine this before a FIFA action. Listen to the Pot calling the Kettle black. Was it not the same FIFA who could not arrest its officials including previous FIFA Presidents and other top officials fo ...

• CASCARA 7 years ago

They take their kleptocratic behaviour international and are being exposed for what they are -- CORRUPT!

Bloody greedy bastards!

• Kutsii 7 years ago

I have always maintained that THIEF Kwesi Nyantakyi doesn't care disgracing Ghana if it will lead to the filling of his pocket..

Look at how in his era Ghanaian Referees are like toilet paper on the continent and beyond. W ...

• andy 7 years ago

Well done fifa. A big lesson.

• Salifu 7 years ago

Please let us put Tribalism aside.It is the character of an individual.Unfortunately Ghanians have become morally corrupt including our numerous Men of God that who use all means to cheat,steal and loot.

• francis 7 years ago

All corrupt people in Ghana were trained by ex President Mahama.

• Yaa 7 years ago

Good news.our Ghanaian referees are corrupt like the F.A boss Akwasi Nyantakyi.

• Concern Citizen in Namibia 7 years ago

Shame on Him!! How Much Was He Paid As Bribe?? He Must Return That Money Immediately! zero-tolerance policy on match manipulation and zero-tolerance policy on corruption in GHANA!!

• Kafui 7 years ago

How l wish he will be ban even in the cemetery. Aboa you think you can influence games and go Scot free.This same referee Lamptey robed Tema youth in their final game against Olympics in their final game to seek qualification ...

MUAHAHAHAHAAHAAAAAAAAA....MUAHAHAHAHAAAAEEEEII, SEE WHERE UR GROSS TOTAL OF RIGGING HAS AMOUNTED TO, COMPOUNDED INTEREST PLUS INTEREST -INFLATION = LIFETIME BAN!? HMM, SO HOW WILL U GET UR DAILY BREAD? U ARE A FOOL..

• ras 7 years ago

kwasia FIFA, is it because we're Africans? Why can't the association also ban the referee who officiated the match between Barcelona and PSG at camp nou. Kwasiafo

BY THE SOUTH AFRICANS...HE REF LAMPTEY TOOK THE BRIBE BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. THE LINESMAN FLAG WAS DOWN BUT REF LAMPTEY KNEW WHAT HE WAS DOING N GAVE SOUTH AFRICA A FREE PENALTY...IM SURE SOUTH AFRICAN FA FINGERED HIM FOR ACCEP ...

Oh Charley! I thought there are sins in Ghana? I thought all Ghanaians will make heaven, when pointing fingers to other nations, remember we have our own bad sides. Ref Lamptey! you no force kruaaaaa!

• nass 7 years ago

because of how they show in ghana and people support such action i thinlk you will continue to desgraces yourself

REFREE FOR PSG AND BACELONA GAME DID WORSE THAN THE GHANA REFEREE.ITS DOUBLE STANDARD IN THIS CASE.

• ISIAH OPOKU 7 years ago

Imagine if this creature is the Electoral Commisional Chairman..A disgrace!!

• Natural Mystic 7 years ago

Serves him right. I was in the stadium that day and even a Steve Wonder could see clearly the manipulation in favour of Bafana.

• Joseph Mukasa 7 years ago

Hahahaha

• Triple XXX 7 years ago

We want the truth
    How much money he receive from whom
    The Senegalese need badly those 3 points
    The Senegalese team dominated this game from top to bottom only Lamptey could win that game for the South African..please La ...

• Austin 7 years ago

Good riddance !

• kyla 7 years ago

j o God will vindicate u it is not e end of life fifa i can see some bias judgement there

• Odk 7 years ago

What about the referee who handled Barcelona vrs PSG game. FIFA should follow the same route.

So an African will easily be banned. What about the referee who officiated the Barcelona vs PSG return league.

• Joseph Mukasa 7 years ago

Was that a proper penalty?What nonsense was that?He and his entire generation should be banned from football related activities.Period.How can Ghana soccer grow with these type of characters?This goes to tell how our game is ...

• south 7 years ago

Others must learn lessons

• adomakoh froboo 7 years ago

Media here has a field day, pontificating how corrupt West Africans are,even though Lamptey,s actions benefited their team. Evidence is emerging that he took 5000$ to sell his soul.

• Ross 7 years ago

this is not fair fifa at least a different purnishment woukd have been good why ban him fie life j.o God will vendicate u

• ABENA 7 years ago

IS IT BECAUSE HIS AN AFRICAN OR WHAT?DONT WE SEE MISTAKES MADE REFEREES EVERYDAY?WHEN HAS THE FIFA EVER TAKEN SUCH A HASH DECISION ON EUROPEAN REFEREE WHO AT TIMES MAKES EVEN WORSE DECISION LIKE THIS ONE.WHAT A SHAME.

• Umknown 7 years ago

Mistake of taking bribes is the reason why he's banned for life. He's dubious and so are most officials in Ghana.

• truth 7 years ago

in their ORGANIZATIONS. Watch world cup ,European leaques & you can see their ugliness.

• songo 7 years ago

THE LAW OF KARMA sure PALMER said it and it has come to pass yh ay KUMASI stadium after Tema Youth game against Olympic

• nii 7 years ago

GLAD THE WORSE REFEREE ON EARTH HAS BEEN BAN.

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

yes he deserves it for soiling Ghana's name but what about south african FA which was his partner in crime?

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

Just watching BBC sports news and what they are saying is that he awarded a penalty instead of a corner even to the surprise of the beneficiaries.How on earth can you do that.Assistant referee objected but won't listen. You w ...

• Kwame Ayittey 7 years ago

I prophesize that Referee Samuel Suker will be the next Ghanaian referee to be banned by FIFA... # April, 2029

• okuseku 7 years ago

You guys have little midget brains who is FIFA to ban Ghanaian/African referee of corruption, they are taking a soft touch bcos they know very well that we are own enemies we love foreigners and hate our own anywhere we go. L ...

• Kampsdy 7 years ago

Badara Diata of senegal should be closely watched too. He cancelled a legitimate goal scored by Uganda against Nigeria in Abeokuta during an AFCON qualifier. Uganda failed to qualify by 1 point and Nigeria progressed.This is ...

• Kampsdy 7 years ago

Badara Diata of senegal should be closely watched too. On 1St july 2007 He cancelled a legitimate goal scored by Uganda against Nigeria in Abeokuta during an AFCON qualifier. Uganda failed to qualify by 1 point and Nigeria p ...

• Kampsdy 7 years ago

Diatta badara of senegal was banned for 1 year only by caf after cancelling uganda equaliser against Nigeria in AFCON 2008 qualifier to assist Nigeria to qualify on March 22nd 2007.He is still officiating guys.I thank new FIF ...