You are here: HomeSports2017 01 12Article 500519

Christian Atsu fears for his Newcastle place after AFCON

Read Comments Comments (37)

• ME - LONDON 7 years ago

If you feel that the AFCON can negatively affect your future, why don't u leave? Life will go on without u.

• wormah Bismark 7 years ago

Atsu u re right but u re a good player keep up

• kwaku Stuttgart 7 years ago

black star is nothing madamfo. staying there is very stupid of you. Your playing days a numbered. You have had a lot of enjuries but still national team . wo nim nyansa ,masa

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

I PROLLY WONT HIRE AFRICAN PLAYERS. AND IF I DO I WILL PAY THEM LESS THAN OTHERS PLAYERS WHO WILL BE AROUND FOR THE FULL SEASON.

Scouts all over the world will be watching the AFCON. Atsu, please concentrate to offer an excellent performance to get a better team, New Castle is way beneath you.

• Paa 7 years ago

Atsu was one of the best players at the last AFCON and where did it land him?

• kooko aduro 7 years ago

He was even voted the player of the tournament.

• Jk 7 years ago

Yeah you need to think about where you eat from daily and 4get about Kwasi Nyantakyi and his crooked people ,spending 6 million while the winner of the tournament take home 4 million.

• Kb 7 years ago

If we think like this, how can Ghana move forward, where is patriotism. Only in Ghana will u see players opt out of national call. An England player will dare not.

• Ernest De love 7 years ago

I wonder self is it not d performance of the Afcon dat end him where he is now? what is he talking about if u do well u will be praise and dat means u will even be promoted at ur club level just do well period and stop dat lo ...

ABI U WANT TO COME N CHP BONUS? U SHOULD HAVE STAYED AWAY LIKE KASA DID. U KNOW WHY U CAME. U WANT TO USE THIS AFCON TO SEEK A BETTER CLUB. IN DAYS GONE BSTAR USED TO BE A TEAM FOR GHANA STARS ONLY. MEANING THOSE PLAYING THEI ...

• Asempa 7 years ago

Are you saying there are some Ghana stars somewhere besides these players? You throw in things like top leagues, premier leagues and confuse readers. I tell you it's often hard to fully follow your point of view. Your passion ...

YES, THERE ARE GH STARS ELSEWHERE BESIDES THESE PLAYERS DONT U KNOW? U WANT ME TO SPELL THEM OUT TO U? THESE PLAYERS ARE PLAYING IN QUALITY, PREMIER LGS THAN THOSE ASSEMBLED HERE. THEY ALSO HAVE TROPHY WINNING EXPERIENCE OR L ...

• Asempa 7 years ago

The best soccer leagues are EPL, La Liga, Serie A, League 1, Bundesliga. What other quality leagues are you referring to? Do you mean Ghana Premier League? And what are these Ghana stars that nobody but only you know about? I ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 7 years ago

He has mental problems. He makes sense only to himself. To him, if a Player's team has not won a cup, he should not be in Blackstars and this illiterate moron has the audacity to insult people for no reason.

Illiterate fool, the is plying and not playing. Plying their trade not playing their trade.

The word is plying.

• KB 7 years ago

This Atsu and Baba Rahman are always looking to be in the news. Kwadjo Asamoah is a better player than, he chose not to go to AFCON 2017. He has been taken to court. So he you think your place in Newcastle is on the line, you ...

• Asempa 7 years ago

This is the chance for a lot of our players to get playing time, something they don't get in their clubs where they sit on benches. They should thank AFCON.

• YAANAA 7 years ago

If you fear, then you have to work hard to convince your club not to fire you. This is your chance to shine.

• wormah Bismark 7 years ago

Pls Atsu is right but u re a good player

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Work harder when u return to win your place back ... that's what a lot of players do ... be positive bruh ...

• aloys 7 years ago

No problem Atsu, if Ronaldo go and play for his country and comes back into the team he will still play, so if you a good then you don't have to worry sir

• Kk 7 years ago

It is interesting no one can see something good about his suggestions on the timing of the afcon tournament.

• normal 7 years ago

I shock sef bro.
    typical african mentality.
    I blame God for making us like dis.

• kooko aduro 7 years ago

You blame who????
    You need to see the psychiatric doctor.

• aloys 7 years ago

Just work hard, and play for Ghana your mother land, and you will be okay, my brod

• jt 7 years ago

i 100 percent agree with Atsu,playing afcon during time is always difficult for foreign base players,caf shld really think and consider this,playing this time,you loss most players and lose sponsership and even scourts,on my ...

• kasapreko 7 years ago

Mikel Obi left the Chelsea camp at the end of last season to play the Olympics game for Nigeria and lost his place in the Chelsea team.This was all because he was not part of the pre-season training under the new coach.He is ...

• Akora 7 years ago

ok

• Ben jj 7 years ago

You are Hebrews man so whatever comes to your way face it,bcos all the time your God knows what he is doing

• Akwasi 7 years ago

Atsu is right. I can't fathom any reasons why AFCON don't want to do anything about this issue. For years players have been complaining about this but it seemed to fall on deaf ears. This depicts our insensitivity, selfishnes ...

• jigi 7 years ago

Meanwhile other countries have used that opportunity to win trophies whiles the Ghana Black Stars are trophiless for the past thirty somthing years.This is pathetic.

• Osono 7 years ago

Kojo Asamoah opted to stay at Juve.You could have turned down the invitation to play for Stars.If you're good, you'll get your position back.You play for a second division club and you're thinking about losing your position . ...

• Yoku 7 years ago

As a bench warmer you should have nothing fear when you return

• The truth 7 years ago

Grow up young man what you fear comes on you. Don't know why Atsu fears is he a baby. If he excels at afcon all remains well. We back blackstars to excel and also pray none of the players gets injured during the tournament. G ...

• William 7 years ago

Atsu your are Chelsea player so work hard so that u will be recall.See Moses from Nigeria,and stop taking.