No worries bro. Just go ahead with your job, you will acquire the language unconsciously since the environment is all 'English" After being able to speak appreciably, you may start reading as well. As soon as you are able to read and understand, you may be able to write too. Good luck.
John,Tema 9 years ago
Good advice,football itself has a different language & he is already good at that.
DR TRUTH 9 years ago
AT AGE 12 AMARTEY HAD TO DROP OUT OF SCHOOL COURTESY OF MAHAMA NDC INDUCED HARDSHIP. VOTE NANA ADDO BAWUMIA NPP FOR FREE EDUCTION
asty 9 years ago
NPP NKWASEAFO PARTY.NPP AGYIMIFO PARTY.NPP ACIDFO PARTY ,ALL DIE BE DIE
Smart Frempah, UK 9 years ago
There is one glaring question that comes to mind. Did Amartey grow up in Ghana? If the answer is yes then it's rather unfortunate. Growing up in Ghana and being at 21 and not able to speak good English is hard to belief.
O ... read full comment
There is one glaring question that comes to mind. Did Amartey grow up in Ghana? If the answer is yes then it's rather unfortunate. Growing up in Ghana and being at 21 and not able to speak good English is hard to belief.
Our education has gone to the dogs. Anyway even with the youth of today, some of them are holding smartphones and can't realise when they have even messages. That is Ghana education for you. It's a big shame to our country.
Kofi Zagbede 9 years ago
Blame it on Nana Addict and some of his shallow minded friends. Majority of our politicians, sportsmen, musicians, journalists, actors etc....cannot speak English. This is a disgraceful phenomenon. Instead of focusing on the study of English language, these Akans continue to disturb us with the cacophony of the useless Twi.
Pelicles 9 years ago
Is Amartey a twi speaking guy? Some of you cannot live a day without venting your anger against twi speaking Ghanaians. If you come to this site, write ewe or hausa and feel good about it. Do you think twi will cease to exist without you? Twakai.
Code 2 9 years ago
Zagwede get some sense in you head, China, Japan and Germany didn't get to where they are today without english language. We both know that Amartey is now rich without english language. Finally Amartey is not an akan so don't bring Twi in this issue, thank you. Kofi
POW@Watch Phobia 2016 9 years ago
Get a private teacher to help you. You can arrange to have lessons after practice some number of days in a week. You'll be amazed how good you'll fare in a short while with just 3 times a week of 30 minutes per lesson.
$aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 9 years ago
SHY AT THIS AGE? I WILL SEND SOME GIRLS OVER TO U TO SUCK U DRY....
Neequaye 9 years ago
He didn't say he's shy. He says he shy to speak English meating he knows his english is nit good. U are too funny haha
$aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 9 years ago
UNTIL UR COMMAND IS BETTER. LEARN FROM AZUMAH
Felibaby 9 years ago
Don't be shy bruv....and go for it,more over English is not your first language.......
Samuel 9 years ago
Why many ghanians youth still could not speak english at this modern world ? who is to be blame?
Nkun 9 years ago
The ashantis to be blamed when they forcing everyone to speak twi when we already know it
John,Tema 9 years ago
Very stupid comment
kola 9 years ago
German players go to England not being able to speak English. .but are not shy....IT Not a must to be able to speak English. .it only a freaking language....When David Beckam went to Spain. .could he speak Spanish.? What has language to do with football? Mtcheew...Now this dude has complex issues cos of stupid African mentality. ..
kofi gordor 9 years ago
Well said.........real complex issues....
Kofi Zagbede 9 years ago
It is true. These stupid Ashantis keep on forcing this stupid Twi language into our throats. That is why Ghana develop.
Rastafara"I" 9 years ago
I once entered an office in Accra and started my inquiry in English...the guy just responded in Twi..."Massa, wnnte Twi ? "
Drogba 9 years ago
Haaahaaahaa.
I laugh enter my car.
Haaahaaahaa.
I laugh enter my car.
Raila Odinga 9 years ago
You should have told that fool that Twi is a jungle language and he can't force it on you.
I was at a bank one time and the clerk tried to do same to me. I told her she better speak English or I will report her. She quickl ... read full comment
You should have told that fool that Twi is a jungle language and he can't force it on you.
I was at a bank one time and the clerk tried to do same to me. I told her she better speak English or I will report her. She quickly started to speak English.
Last don 9 years ago
What u said don't make sense u stupid ewe man. Fuck u n ur fucking mama bitch
Asiedu Nkatia 9 years ago
You have a big problem. Seek for help who force who shame on you
You wish you Nkun will be an Ashanti guy but you will never be the one on you days ahead never.
Honson 9 years ago
Mahama
Mahama
faroo 9 years ago
Samuel shut up messi and others use to speak their own language
Samyong 9 years ago
Asking why Ghanaian youth are not able to speak English well. Read your post again and answer the question. The post is full of mistakes.
May weather 9 years ago
Did u proof read your 'english' before posting it? I guess you fall on the same category as the Ghanaian youths you talking about...so you are the best one to answer your own question 'who is to be blamed?'.
May weather 9 years ago
Fall in*
Fall in*
TT 9 years ago
"Ghanaians youth"-WRONG
"still could not speak"- WRONG
"who is to be blame"- WRONG
EMPTY BARREL
"Ghanaians youth"-WRONG
EMPTY BARREL
Keen Observer 9 years ago
Don't be shy. There are many other players in England facing a similar challenge. This Ghanaweb article itself is even written in very bad English.
Focus on your success on the field. Once you've established yourself, the ... read full comment
Don't be shy. There are many other players in England facing a similar challenge. This Ghanaweb article itself is even written in very bad English.
Focus on your success on the field. Once you've established yourself, the fans will respect you, regardless of your level of fluency in English.
Bernard 9 years ago
LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL IN
Do you want to lose weight faster?
Do you want to flush out and eliminate toxins?0572174551
Do you want to have a nice shape?
Do you want to do more physical exercise without fatigue?
Wondering h ... read full comment
LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL IN
Wondering how to loose stomach fat?
Searching for tummy sharper?0572174551
The Unique thing about our products is that, It has adaptogenic properties that allows it concentrate at areas where there is high fat concentration in your system and fights it out, so if you have more belly fat or arm, etc it gets rid of it.It helps to control your appetite by Acting as an appetite suppressant, it helps you to inhibit the production and storage of excess fat in your system, it also helps you to Block carbohydrates and fat absorption in your system and aid excess fat burns.
Mensa 9 years ago
They're not like the stupid ones here who will laugh at you for not speaking English correctly. They know that if you can't speak their language, it means you can speak another language and they respect that. English is not even our president
Abeiku SW2 London 9 years ago
Nothing to worry about bruv there are so many not just Ghanaians other nationalities as well u will get there eventually ... just focus and keep going don't let it be an issue .. nothing to be shy of
Jonas Savymbi 9 years ago
Why shd u feel shy to speak fluently in a foreign language?.My bro.just move on and speak the little u can.Ghana is behind and we pray for your success @ Leicester
Nkun 9 years ago
This is the reason why everyone needs to learn English in case of something like this but the Asantefuo where tormenting people to speak twi when we already know it, that's why 70%of Ghanaians can't express themselves in English when they travel abroad
Point 9 years ago
Your hate for the Asantes will make you hang yourself.
Rocky3! 9 years ago
Yes truth be said , they do it me even here when the Fante I speak is clearly understood. You know what the more the insist the more I speak the beautiful Fante.
Tell him again. I don't get it.
kola 9 years ago
So if he get a team in Germany..then what? Not everybody cares about english like some of u stupid Africans do..English is only a language...
Eagle's Eyes 9 years ago
If players of Amartey's calibre can take Leicester City by storm at age 21, then it is imperative for the GFA to really up their game to improve our local league to unearth more such talents, not only for the BS, but for the world stage.
Villager 9 years ago
GFA is not responsibile for what they kids learn at school. English as the official labguage is taught from primary school BUT the quality of teaching is the problem. It is GES that must up their game
DI ASEM PA 9 years ago
Stupid Ghanaians who sees English language as something they should die for. It's good to understand different languages but, why should you feel shy about someone's language? You will only hear this from a stupid Ghanaian. Thank God, I have met different kinds of people from all over the world, China, Korea, India, Mexico, France, Russia, and more but, nobody from these countries will say this. These countries do everything in their own language. For them, English language is like any other language. You can choose to learn no one cares. But in Ghana, they will call you illiterate because, you don't know how to speak English. The meaning of illiterate doesn't mean someone who can not speak English. Can I write and speak my own language? If YES then, I'm not illiterate. Im not ashame of who i am and will never be shy because of someone's language. Blacks will be in slaves forever.
kola 9 years ago
Spot on...IT isn't only Ghanaians..Nigerians are even worse...Some Africans are so stupid...When David Beckham went to Spain. .could he speak Spanish. ..No?...Was He shy? No..like why should he? English is only a freaking language and not education. ...I live in Germany now, and nobody gives an F if I can speak English or not. If I want a good job..I need to learn German. ..
BUSUMRU 9 years ago
Africa and for that matter Ghana will never be great or truly independent as long as we are operating with someone else language we are struggling to grasp and be fluent in. how difficult is it to develop a language? When you come to London, your perceived good english will be met with 'pardon me' several times which means they dont understand you.
Ulysess, USA 9 years ago
Growing up in the 60s in the North, most Ghanaian Primary School kids spoke better English then, than today's High Shooters.
KOFI YESU 9 years ago
K3 nna ganyobi ni eny33 ewie blofo,3doormi waa dientse shi anyemi Amartey kaa worry onu ..theres an adult FUNCTIONAL LITERACY run by the government they teach maths and english so you can do simple additions and be able to read and write simple english and its all free..Amartey you dont need to shell out any of your fortune ..just register and attend the 45minute class in your borough,you can chose anytime from morning all the way to late nights.
Pascal 9 years ago
foolish nkun or whatever he called himself.why always Ashanti's? anyway we,re de most respected ethnic group in Ghana. God bless all Ashanti's
Rev. Bongo 9 years ago
I wish many Ghanaians who travel abroad will realize that english is not everything. English like many other language, it can be learned once that fear of "I do not speak good English" is eliminated. We used to have a house help, a maid servant many years ago who came to live with us, and she started mimicking the english we spoke at home. She had no education, never been in a classroom before, and we used to tease her a lot at first, but she would laugh at herself and still learn the language, after 3 years she became very fluent to our surprise, the laugh was on us, because now when she would speak English and there was nothing to laugh or tease her about. Her name is Dalega. I wonder where she is today.
NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 9 years ago
It is ok. No one should hold that against you. Just play your game and remain respectful to all. Be blessed.
sam 9 years ago
Blame yourself if you cant express yourself in english
asty 9 years ago
wagyimiiiiiiii paaaaa wate love you local language and respect it,the white man will respect you too.taaboo9
SIMPLY GEORGE. 9 years ago
Hi dude, don't you know that we now have the BUKOM DICTIONARY ? Kindly see professor Bukom Banku for the new edition of the ADVANCED BUKOM LEARNER'S DICTIONARY. Professor Bukom Banku is the vice chancellor of the university of chorkor who is highly respected for his english language skills. In fact, he is tipped to win this year's nobel peace prize.
Fi 9 years ago
Thanks for being honest. Get some help
Freeman Logosu 9 years ago
It shall be well.
Tony Addo 9 years ago
Hi, you are footballer for Christ sake and not a professor. Just express yourself by using your feet and footballing brain. English is just a language. In any case the only important thing is whether your mates appreciate your talents.
respect 9 years ago
Foolish people ...... mine ur language.we are Ghanaian and we need to respect our own language........useless people
Nyorkopio 9 years ago
Dan, English is not your first language. You can always get a translator to translate from original Teshie Ga to English. You are a Teshie man, and we are so proud of you!!! Keep it up, son of Agbawe!
Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah 9 years ago
...generally trains young men to be wimps.
Shyness and English are not the issue; the issue is a culture where manliness is suspect. Manliness in Ghana is seen as being too bold or even arrogant.
Sincerely,
Apostle ... read full comment
Shyness and English are not the issue; the issue is a culture where manliness is suspect. Manliness in Ghana is seen as being too bold or even arrogant.
Sincerely,
Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah
Man for be bold den righteous (man should be bold and righteous).
ISAAC CAM MERNI AKWETEY 9 years ago
I can't really understand what Amartey is trying to say here at all. Is it the case that he can't express himself at all in the Queen's language or merely shying to engage in conversation with colleagues? Or simply not fluent in the language, then in which language was he taught in at school?
Happiness Mawulitegbe 9 years ago
This is a big shame to all Ghanaians. At 22 a Ghanaian is shy to communicate in English, the National language. All the electronic stations whose presenters can't communicate in English must be made to go back to school to learn English. Haba! Akan is not the National language of Ghana and it will never be. Big big shame.
mimi 9 years ago
How is it a big shame? Hos first language is his dialect..and was supposed to speak that for somebody to translate for him..English is only a language....smfh
Osman 9 years ago
Never loose hope since u are with them the vocabulary will come by itself
Abigail 9 years ago
Man don't worry,even there are some people in some high society who doesn't know who to speak English properly.
so cheer up and focus on reading and it shall be well.
Man don't worry,even there are some people in some high society who doesn't know who to speak English properly.
change is coming 9 years ago
my brother; what should Laryea Kingston also say? he may drop dead after speaking the language
Florzy 9 years ago
Don't worry.
yormob 9 years ago
am nt sure these things happen in Nigeria where a Yoruba and an Ibo man wud battle over which language to use as an official language instead of English
Is high time Ghanains especially the educated youths learn and stop be ... read full comment
am nt sure these things happen in Nigeria where a Yoruba and an Ibo man wud battle over which language to use as an official language instead of English
Is high time Ghanains especially the educated youths learn and stop behaving as this way.
Apparently dose who involve themselves in these things are the ones I normally consider as educated illiterates
asty 9 years ago
at Samuel . ur father is to be blame
kwame ben 9 years ago
speak the broken one or get a teacher.When you are on holidays you can get a teacher at no cost
Code 2 9 years ago
Holding on to your God giving talent is all you need. Ghana has a whole lot of graduates looking and begging for jobs, for some they have to offer their bodies in other to aquire jobs and they can't compare themselves to you my brother nothing beats talent in this world. those who can express well in english are the arw the very ones we see in the street on stricks for salary increament. focus on your talent period !
No worries bro. Just go ahead with your job, you will acquire the language unconsciously since the environment is all 'English" After being able to speak appreciably, you may start reading as well. As soon as you are able to ...
O ...
Blame it on Nana Addict and some of his shallow minded friends. Majority of our politicians, sportsmen, musicians, journalists, actors etc....cannot speak English. This is a disgraceful phenomenon. Instead of focusing on the ...
Is Amartey a twi speaking guy? Some of you cannot live a day without venting your anger against twi speaking Ghanaians. If you come to this site, write ewe or hausa and feel good about it. Do you think twi will cease to exis ...
Zagwede get some sense in you head, China, Japan and Germany didn't get to where they are today without english language. We both know that Amartey is now rich without english language. Finally Amartey is not an akan so don't ...
Very stupid comment
German players go to England not being able to speak English. .but are not shy....IT Not a must to be able to speak English. .it only a freaking language....When David Beckam went to Spain. .could he speak Spanish.? What has ...
Haaahaaahaa.
I laugh enter my car.
I was at a bank one time and the clerk tried to do same to me. I told her she better speak English or I will report her. She quickl ...
Mahama
Fall in*
"Ghanaians youth"-WRONG
EMPTY BARREL
Focus on your success on the field. Once you've established yourself, the ...
LOOSE WEIGHT NATURAL IN
Wondering h ...
They're not like the stupid ones here who will laugh at you for not speaking English correctly. They know that if you can't speak their language, it means you can speak another language and they respect that. English is not e ...
This is the reason why everyone needs to learn English in case of something like this but the Asantefuo where tormenting people to speak twi when we already know it, that's why 70%of Ghanaians can't express themselves in Engl ...
If players of Amartey's calibre can take Leicester City by storm at age 21, then it is imperative for the GFA to really up their game to improve our local league to unearth more such talents, not only for the BS, but for the ...
Stupid Ghanaians who sees English language as something they should die for. It's good to understand different languages but, why should you feel shy about someone's language? You will only hear this from a stupid Ghanaian. ...
Spot on...IT isn't only Ghanaians..Nigerians are even worse...Some Africans are so stupid...When David Beckham went to Spain. .could he speak Spanish. ..No?...Was He shy? No..like why should he? English is only a freaking l ...
Africa and for that matter Ghana will never be great or truly independent as long as we are operating with someone else language we are struggling to grasp and be fluent in. how difficult is it to develop a language? When you ...
K3 nna ganyobi ni eny33 ewie blofo,3doormi waa dientse shi anyemi Amartey kaa worry onu ..theres an adult FUNCTIONAL LITERACY run by the government they teach maths and english so you can do simple additions and be able to ...
I wish many Ghanaians who travel abroad will realize that english is not everything. English like many other language, it can be learned once that fear of "I do not speak good English" is eliminated. We used to have a house h ...
Hi dude, don't you know that we now have the BUKOM DICTIONARY ? Kindly see professor Bukom Banku for the new edition of the ADVANCED BUKOM LEARNER'S DICTIONARY. Professor Bukom Banku is the vice chancellor of the universit ...
It shall be well.
Hi, you are footballer for Christ sake and not a professor. Just express yourself by using your feet and footballing brain. English is just a language. In any case the only important thing is whether your mates appreciate you ...
Sincerely,
Apostle ...
I can't really understand what Amartey is trying to say here at all. Is it the case that he can't express himself at all in the Queen's language or merely shying to engage in conversation with colleagues? Or simply not fluent ...
This is a big shame to all Ghanaians. At 22 a Ghanaian is shy to communicate in English, the National language. All the electronic stations whose presenters can't communicate in English must be made to go back to school to le ...
Don't worry.
Is high time Ghanains especially the educated youths learn and stop be ...
Holding on to your God giving talent is all you need. Ghana has a whole lot of graduates looking and begging for jobs, for some they have to offer their bodies in other to aquire jobs and they can't compare themselves to you ...