You are here: HomeSports2016 09 10Article 468900

Richard Commey lose to Robert Easter Jr in unanimous decision

Read Comments Comments (54)

• YAW 7 years ago

With his rich ring record should have been given the title.He deserves a rematch.Is the guy too strong or maybe Commey has lost some of his power in his PUNCH ?Is the guy on drugs ? If not then credit.This guy is not a light ...

• Big Man 7 years ago

The other boxer won only the last 2 rounds out of 12 rounds. Commey was the aggressor throughout the fight and even knocked down the other boxer.

• Bingo 7 years ago

I think the American referees cheated Commey and gave the fight to Easter. What a cheap way to win a championship !

• Somewhere In The USA 7 years ago

Report correctly please .......

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

IN BOXING, if u want to win titles. U must DOMINATE or show you are DOMINATING a fight. Easter was more aggressive. Easter used his reach to land more jabs. Easter clearly won the 12th rd and dats why the refs ruled in his fa ...

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

You are welcome.
    Richard WON, not ONE.

Or is your "ONE" social-media English that I need to catch up with?

Or you truly just do not know the difference between WON and ONE?

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

COMMEY 5.5 VS EASTER 6.5
    RD 1: EASTER WINS RD 1. NO HE WAS THE BUSIER FIGHTER. COMMEY WAS TOLD TO ATTACK THE BODY N JAB. WHERE IS IT? COMMEY HAD LIKE 1 BODY SHOT IN RD 1...RD 2: COMMMEY WINS. HE LANDED THE BEST SHOTS N MOST ...

• YAW 7 years ago

This is why you always have to get into the ring with your own judges.Congrats though Richard.Knockout or more knockdowns is the KEY the CROWN.

There has to be a rematch. The right was too close and rather painful to call any of them the outright winner. Although, easter was clearly a lil busier as he fought on the outside, neutralized could.meus right overhand and c ...

• Jojo Miles 7 years ago

Commey was clearly robbed. The next fight should be in Ghana.

• May weather 7 years ago

As they say in America u don't know shit about boxing

• Dzata 7 years ago

Since the American officials are so corrupt. a rematch should be arranged and it should be in Ghana.This is not fair at all.

• kusasi 7 years ago

to round 4 was easter from then it was commey even down went easter in round 8.I watched the fight

• Kwesi Sam 7 years ago

The rematch should be in Ghana.

• David Manu 7 years ago

Congrat's. That is human judgement. Don't be discouraged keep it up.

• Akwasi amofa 7 years ago

Americans and their cheat without knockout its impossible to win in American soil better luck next time commey.

• Bobby 7 years ago

Richard Commey won the fight. Those judges gave the fight to Eastern because he is an American boxer. T5his is not fair at all.

• Paa 7 years ago

Ghanaweb, get your facts straight. It was a split decision as one of the judges scored the fight for Commey. He was robbed by the other two judges.

• the lone Prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

Broad day light robbery on American soil hmmmmmmmmmm

• Africa 7 years ago

Fair judgment although i wanted the Ghanaian to win. He has a heart and power but need a work done on his boxing skills and adaptability to opponent.he surely deserves a rematch

It will be Commeys interest to relocate to Bronx 6mths of the year to train and spar with more technical, killer instinct fighters. He won't get thattype of competition in ghana and that's a fact. Tyson always watched ali vs. ...

• Thruth Teller 7 years ago

Commey won at least 9 rounds.The black American guy probably won 3 rounds. This is pure bullshit. Commey was the winner last night.

• Joe Tee 7 years ago

Isn't that a majority decision then?

• Panyin Kofi 7 years ago

Commey should have been declared winner. He won the fight.

• Joe Tee 7 years ago

Isn't that a majority decision then?

• JAY 7 years ago

STUPID headline,Commey lost by a SPLIT DECISION and not unanimous decision

• kk 7 years ago

evening my American manager told me the match was draw ,wat a fight good job commey

Commey should go and watch the fight 2wice everyday and he should point out what he did wrong. I blame his coaches for his loss.
    1. He fought from the outside. I initially pointed out that if he wants to beat easter he has f ...

• Happiness Mawulitegbe 7 years ago

Please, was it a unanimous orsplit decision? Haba! Journalists, nawaoh! No wonder our children perform "fantastically" in English language during the wasc exams. Ministers of Communication and Education don't you think the Ak ...

• K.K. 7 years ago

Another ethnocentric bigot, can you anything without playing the tribal card?it doesn't wash these days!

• K.K. 7 years ago

Another ethnocentric bigot, cant you do anything without playing the tribal card?it doesn't wash these days!

• Emmanuel...U.S.A 7 years ago

It's not unanimous decision..heiii ghana..it was a split decisionand thus fight suppose to go in favour of commey...commey fought to his last breath..they rob him.

Listen to these gh radio/sports stations and none of them are discussing or analyzing the fight. None of these media outlets are using their platforms to educate and shed light on this fight to educate Ghanaians on tje sport. ...

• Ernest 7 years ago

Wrong, listen to Joy fm sports now. America, there're only two results when one fights there; knockout or lose, no draw or win by points

How many fights have u watched. There are many draws all the time. Also, how many radio stations are there in gh that discuss soccer on a daily basis? From asempa to fox, to happy fm, to nhyira, to bohye fm etc. What fucking ...

• nii george 7 years ago

Please don't be the typical Ghanaian who never accepts defeat or loss. Work hard and come back a better fighter. All is not lost. Well done son.

• Ike 7 years ago

The bout was a split decision and not a unanimous decision. Get your facts right pls

• Cool Edem 7 years ago

Ghanaian guy won the fight fair and square.I think the Ghana Boxing Authority should send a co0mpalint to the IBF people. Commey was robbed.

• Oburmankoma 7 years ago

The Ministry of Sports and Ghana Boxing Association(if it is still there) must arrange a re-match at Accra Sports stadium or Wembley Stadium for the re-match.
    The verdict shows that we have very weak officials all over the ...

• Raila Odinga 7 years ago

After the fight and before the announcement of the winner, the American boxer knew he lost and he had his head down. I think he was surprised that the corrupt American officials gave the fight to him.

A rematch is done when there is a clause in the contract for that. From the look of things there was a no rematch clause and secondly Easter don't want anything to do with commey anymore

• pilolo 7 years ago

After 12 rounds of fears action

• JAY 7 years ago

The referee robbed Commey in round 8,the referee gave Easter a standing count and this allowed Easter to recover

Do they have a standing count and a sitting count ? Lol

• Biggie 7 years ago

The American referees gave the fight to that nigger. Commey won the fight.

• steven manu 7 years ago

Whoever posted this crap must go back to school.since wn did fears replace fierce. Madafucker.

• Paul siaw 7 years ago

SPLIT DECISION!!! NOT UNANIMOUS.

• Asiko 7 years ago

Commey should have won.I watched the fight!But hey it is difficult einning in the usa as an African

• Yahya Abu 7 years ago

Do u really understand the meaning of UNANIMOUS?
    How can a 2-1 decision be called UNANIMOUS? It's a SPLIT MAJORITY decision.
    UNANIMOUS is when ALL 3 JUDGES score in favour of one boxer.
    This is what RESPECTED JOURNALIST Os ...

• John 7 years ago

Brother don't lose hope this is time to trend hard and show them you are real champion

• Tsalekpor 7 years ago

I watched the fight through the 12 rounds. Richard lost on split decision. The fight was lost in the 12th round and this was due to lack of concentration from Richard's corner.

• MudMade 7 years ago

Richard Commey is a terrific fighter take nothing from him . But Robert Easter Jr was boxing him. Round 1 went to Easter , 2 and 3 went to Commey, 4-7 went to Easter, A controversial knockdown was given to Conmey in the 9t ...

• Yeaman 7 years ago

Unanimous decision? Y'all need to go back to school.
    And what did i read again? Fears action...
    Eeii mini sane poo n??

• Yeaman 7 years ago

Oh no! Some characters got lost.