You are here: HomeSports2016 06 24Article 450373

Ghana handed tough draw in 2018 World Cup qualifiers

Read Comments Comments (148)

• Yellow man 7 years ago

Stop the nonsense and thank God for this group.Check group B and then you will understand how lucky we are to be playing against Uganda , Congo and Egypt.

• Sammy the Sheriff 7 years ago

Ghana should not complain, the only tough match in that group is against Egypt.

As a matter of fact, looking at the groups, Ghana group is the second easiest one after group A

The toughest group is Group B: Zambia, Came ...

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

Football is not played on paper. You will see everything live. We even struggle against Uganda and you are here boasting. Past results don't mean anything. We used to beat Senegal, but what is happening of late? South Afri ...

• PASTOR !!!OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 7 years ago

WE SHOULD BE AFRAID OF ANY TEAM,,I DON'T GIVE A FUCK,,AFTERALL ,WHO MAKES THE MONEYS,,

• Saint Ghfuo: MEDIOCRITY STINKS! 7 years ago

EGYPSIES, YOU GANDER, AND KONKO WILL ALL CLAIM 3 GOALS EACH HOME AND AWAY....SEND THEM THE MEMO...

I can't stopped laughing, Emperor Rasheed.No, I was a ball boy for Neoplan Stars but I can dribble circles around you even when I am in deep slumber.

Would you be rather playing Zambia and Nigeria instead of Congo and Ugan ...

• Slimzay ***The Unshakable Shaker*** 7 years ago

Sammy Young, say it again! If this author thinks our group is tough, then we shouldn't even bother to step a foot in the WC tournament. How in the world Cameroon is going to make it in this group of theirs? Nigeria, oh my goo ...

• Benito 7 years ago

Yes,but my bro let's not be too harsh on the reporters. There's always an element of sensationalism in journalism.

Slimzay, three of those countries were at the last world cup and Zambia missed qualifying by a whisker. None of those countries in Ghana group qualified for the last world cup and they think that is a tough group?

Ghana sh ...

• Jeopardy 7 years ago

my friend, no group is easy like that. Hard work pays a lot thus Ghana must hard. Gone are the days one could firmly fancy for a go through for.. ....

Then don't tell me Ghana is in a tough group

Will you rather be playing Nigeria, Cameroon and Zambia?

• Asempa 7 years ago

Grant can't stand WC heat so he's bailing out. That's why he hasn't tried enough to upgrade the team he inherited. Grant has no balls people.

• Once Govina KojoLee 7 years ago

I don't think he will bail out so easily because he would have to face Uganda on October 10th 2016 and Egypt November 15th 2016 at Cairo UNDER his mandate.

I think Ghana vs Egypt will be his real justification test.

Haa ...

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

Whether Ghana will qualify or not will come in the second match against Egypt in Cairo. If we lose, then we kiss goodbye to Russia.

• Benito 7 years ago

No need to scream bro,our is the easiest. Truth be told,not underrating any of the team in our group. Underrating any team will be disaster for us.

• Action 7 years ago

In fact, you can be a sports analysist. I second you. Group B is indeed a very though group.

• Akwasi J 7 years ago

I feel sorry for the fans of the nations in group B. This is indeed the group of death.

• Kojo 7 years ago

Apart from maybe group D, which group is easy compared to Ghana's group D. If you want to be the best, you have to beat the best.

• Dzifa 7 years ago

So, which group is the easiest? I don't understand what this writer is talking about?

• DR. BAWUMIA IS A GENIUS! 7 years ago

WE SERIOUSLY NEED SULEY ALI MUNTARI NOW!!

• kk 7 years ago

POOR GROUPINGSespecially group B

• DR. BAWUMIA IS A GENIUS! 7 years ago

WE SERIOUSLY NEED SULEY ALI MUNTARI NOW!! !!!

• The Stallion 7 years ago

Is this what you call a tough group?
    It is time for me to go back to my V-Power, Ojarray.
    Since last year, I no buzz yet; my throat don dry.

It is going to be very tough for us. We seem to struggle against Uganda and Congo is unpredictable. As for Egypt, hmm, na wao.

... As for Egypt we may need Akwasi Appiah back because by the time the going gets tough, Grant may be gone.

Haaa easy but not easy.

The only way we can qualify is for, Nyantakyi to return the coefficient money. Congo will beat us in their country. Mark my words.

• muntari 7 years ago

You must be Nigerian

Stop crying. Muntari.

• muntari 7 years ago

Can we bet for now, lol?

I will give you 20 hot slaps if we don't qualify.

dr congo sef we dont fear how much more regular congo?....each team will claim 3 goals...home and away

How can Congo beat us? You sef.
    My vod no go change to water, lai lai.

• PASTOR !!!OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 7 years ago

MAN DEY PROPER BUT THE POCKET WEY DRY,,,

• Iman! 7 years ago

if Ghana's group is tough, then what do we say about group B.. #stopcreatingfearandpanic

• owuo 7 years ago

Look at this foolish man is saying tough group. You are comic .

EGYPT SHOULD FORGET ABOUT GOING TO THE WCUP AT OUR EXPENSE. EGYPSIES ARE NOT READY. THEY MAY PULL A SURPRISE AT AFCON, BUT WCUP PAA DIE33, LA LIE....OUR ONLY MAJOR CHALLENEGE IS EGYPT AND ALL WE NEED TO DO IS BEAT ALL THE TEA ...

All the 3 teams are capable of beating us. After all, we seem to struggle against Uganda, and Egypt can easily beat us if we underrate them.

over my dead body. none of these 3 countries can beat gh in soccer...apuu! do u know the talent gh has? we even have 2 prolific gh strikers in egypt..antwi duku and banahene. go to Egypt n ask about these 2 strikers...dem dey ...

You will see it live. Nyantakyi has to leave before we can qualify.

ARE U A HUMAN BEING R A DWARF? OR A FEMALE? I THINK U ARE A FEMALE. EMAIL ME...TUXMAN06@YAHOO.CA

• Jorotara 7 years ago

How can this squad defeat Egypt???
    Excellent Argentine Coach with very brilliant players.
    Disaster for the Black Stars

• Jeopardy 7 years ago

Pessimists soon fade away because their inferior mentality. Shut up! Agentina trainer no get good cv pass Avram Grant

• Ernesto 7 years ago

In fact we are really poised for world cup then we should beat these counties to proud of our qualification

• anokwale 7 years ago

This is a challenging group but certainly one that we should be capable of getting through. This is a group where you can get through with 3 wins and 3 draws. The issue is that we will need Uganda or Congo to pull an upset ...

It is sad but that is the truth. Once , Nyantakyi is still in charge we will not smell Russsia. Mark my words

What is wrong with you?
    Even if Nyantekyi is doubled, we will qualify.

• anokwale 7 years ago

Egypt is just as worried about Ghana as we are worried about them. It is even quite possible that our two games will be draws. The issue is really going to be what does Ghana and Egypt do against Congo and Uganda. The key ...

• Benito 7 years ago

Hahahaha, anokwale.you have started the math already????

• gifted media consult 7 years ago

dis writer is either emotional,bias or lacks credibility

I personally think coach Grant will leave after Afcon and when it comes to Ghana vs Egypt, only coach Akwasi Appiah have the antidote for that soccer fever. Muntari's experience is a must this time.

Hmmmm daffing has elude ...

Nyantakyi will not let us to qualify this time. The only way we can qualify is for Nyantakyi to return the coefficient money to the state.

• Africanus 7 years ago

Kwasi Appiah's record against Egypt is one win and one loss, so what are you talking about?

• theo 7 years ago

why should some people always want easy things. dat group is ok

• foster treviso italy 7 years ago

Facing Egypt congo and uganda is tough group then which group is cheap

• Cudjoe 7 years ago

There's no black stars doing anything of mention in football nowadays, we're no longer feared psychologically no fighting spirit, above all no magician to command goals, how are we going to win this group?

• Isaac 7 years ago

This is the time that Ghana must train hard to battle to win.

• cool it 7 years ago

this kind of nonsense must stop, we are in the cheapest group so far if we didn't qualified in this group no pay, already they are using it finance politicians nonsense

• owuo 7 years ago

Group B is realy a dead group.

• Prince-Goswen 7 years ago

You're claiming that Ghana is in a tough group, what of group B which is comprised of previous winners of afcon? We should be much thankful to God and forget of this hypocrisy. Are you saying that Ghana should have been given ...

• Isaac 7 years ago

We need experienced players with goal scoring abilities as well as defending tactics to get to the top.
    Long live Ghana, long live Black stars.

• Anelka 7 years ago

Ghana group is the cheapest

• Boakye Reindorf 7 years ago

Bias draw

• Mog 7 years ago

Last time the Egyptian players were politically divided over the ouster of former president Morsi and some were angry over the killing of hundereds of Morsi's supporters in Rabaa square, Abu Terika was a big supporter of Mors ...

• obenfo 7 years ago

How did they manage to get group B. It is the toughest and to an extend not fair to those countries. Saying Ghanahas been handed a tough group is overstating the fact s on the ground.

• T. T 7 years ago

I personally think this is the best group as compared to group B.

• steele 7 years ago

This is the best we could have had.
    Group B will be deadly

• Cudjoe 7 years ago

No place for kwesi Appeah in this dispensation, Essien, Muntari, KV Boateng elected upon themselves to deal with Egypt and secure qualification. Experience and physically fit players are needed, the Pharaohs have already dump ...

• Tex 7 years ago

Lets not forget, it's good to play in challenging groups. You need to have played difficult opponents before playing in the World Cup. I really think Ghana has the talent to make a semi-final run in Russia 2018 with the curre ...

• muntari 7 years ago

Cowards, Pharaohs are no match for Ghana Blackstars.

• AAA 7 years ago

GHANA SHOULD THANK GOD FOR OUR GROUP.

• A Coleman 7 years ago

I said it earlier and will keep on saying itttttttttt...... always GROUP of Death, never group of life. Fed up with cheap journalism. All teams ve qualified to get this dar. U want Ghana to b paired with a 3rd division club ...

• Jo 7 years ago

Check group b,c,d that is the groups of death. We have to work hard and we can qualify.

• Tex 7 years ago

Group B is clearly the group of death, and thank God Ghana is not in that group. We cannot take our group lightly. Everyone will be gunning to take down the Blackstars, especially Egypt. Thankfully, Ghana is hosting the retur ...

• Osono 7 years ago

Groups B and C are the toughest.

• Olonso 7 years ago

aaaawwwww Ghana, dis de cheapest among all group.... we tnk God

• General 7 years ago

Is this the group you called tough. After all, what are we going to do at Russia 2018, just to go waste our tax payers money on useless officials and volunteers.

• Apraku 7 years ago

I can say, group B is rather most difficult group. Ghanaians have never got cheap group, when would u say, its easy group?

• General 7 years ago

I can see Ghanaian journalists have nothing good to reports than useless things. What shows this group is tough. Always group of death but never group of life. It is time for you journalists to grow up, analyzed things out an ...

• Michael 7 years ago

In fact it is not well with group B at all Cameroon should hv been in group A and Guinea in group A should be in group B. Also Nigeria from group B also have be in Ghana's group (group E) then Egypt join group B.

• kato cephas 7 years ago

i'm excited that uganda has been put in this group with ghana,last time when uganda was playing with ghana in ACRRA,they were awarded a penalty that was fake,this time our boys are coming to ghana knowing that you guyz u are ...

• KJ 7 years ago

on paper. Group B is ridiculous; glad we're not in that lot. C, D and E are equally tough in my opinion.

• Alex zz 7 years ago

Ghana in group of death , we need Kwarasey, Muntari n KPB. Egypt, Congo n Uganda Cranes is scary.

• anokwale 7 years ago

I can see DR Congo qualifying or even Guinea. On paper it is supposed to be an easy ride for Tunisia but I have a feeling that we will see a surprise.

• SAMOA ORIGINAL 7 years ago

Ghana is in the easiest group......common sense will make us qualify..........
    Search for the common sense............team unity and respect for authority.
    SAMOA SAY SO.

• Emma 7 years ago

Apuuuuuuu kuuuuul one

• Bachelor 7 years ago

This group is not tough at all,instead of being happy u are here saying tough group.waaa see apuuuuuuu,tough group my foot, look at GROUP B WAI.

• Westside 7 years ago

For your infomations,Egypt does not regarded as a tough team anymore. They have a name on paper thats true facts.Black Stars are so lazy when playing against tough teams. Believed me Ghana shall qualify. In Egypt Ghana shall ...

• Gonga from Chereponi 7 years ago

Ghana will insha allah qualify. We would be there.

• Sameto kumasi. 7 years ago

What is tough about this group? This group is the most easiest for Ghana.

• Oforipee 7 years ago

We have a rather easy group if only we can work hard. We are fortunate not to be in group B . We will certainly qualify. Sure.

• fancy 7 years ago

If this group is tough, then there is no need to go to world cup, lets us be serious, how can congo n co be tough teams, tweeeeaaah

• SAEEDY OMAR STERLING 7 years ago

We are just praying so that Ghana will occupy the the first position in group E, this is because football is a game and anything can happen.

• Senyo. 7 years ago

In fact group E is the best of all for GHANA.

• Ojuku 7 years ago

We have good players but whether we will qualify or not, will depend on the attitude the players put up. As far as I am concerned, if our players are ambitious and focussed about going to Russia 2018, no team in our group can ...

• Mostafa 7 years ago

Egypt squad is now totally different plus our small players who faced Ghana last time now gained experience and are playing in a well known eurepean clubs

• Bossman Suglo 7 years ago

We are going to qualify

• KWAME George 7 years ago

We should thank God for being in group E . To me we can qualify if we work hard .

• Kwaku-Yesu 7 years ago

Ghana can easily qualify from this group. Group B is the group of death.

• nyantsu/pimpose 7 years ago

ghanas group is the esiest

• Chicago Guy 7 years ago

Nigerians group are to tough

• nanakay 7 years ago

I think we are in the coolest group,which would we have prefered?thank God.

• Kwabana manu 7 years ago

Wht kind of writer is this u just write anyhow check group B because u ghanaian any group gh gose is hard but kn ur work is to tell the true always nd kn ur work ok?

• audit agona swedru well for they are 7 years ago

What is the meaning of the word TOUGH. Can you wear spectacles and analyse group B. Who allowed you to publish the article.

• Gyebi Eric- Bosome Freho district , A 7 years ago

Ghana's group is the easiers as compare to Nigéria group.
    if we work hard we can qualify .
    Congo , Uganda are no team for Ghana .
    We only to beat Egypt at home n draw or win away n qualify .

• Chris red 7 years ago

Ghana's group is the easiest among the group. i don't know what this writer is saying, but black stars need to work hard in order to qualify for Russian 2018.it's a must.

• Lazarus dinghana 7 years ago

ghanaians should stop the complains and focused on the preparations towards moving to a good place in the world cap since we will meet countries tougher than these countries we are facing in the qualifiers.

• ScHoly 7 years ago

Our group is koko. Group B is the group of death

• Retired Pharaoh 7 years ago

The writer is right.

Group A: Tunisia (47), DR Congo (52), Guinea (55), Libya (122)
    [Average ranking 69].

Group B: Algeria (32), Nigeria (61), Cameroon (58), Zambia (79)
    [Average ranking 57].

Group C: Ivory Cost (3 ...

• Dr. Appocco 7 years ago

Is this really a good way to choose the best teams in Africa for to world cup? I'd prefer winners and runner-ups from each group to play another round of away-home to determine the eventual 5 countries.

• anokwale 7 years ago

This forces teams to show a body of work. The reality is that teams can get lucky in those playoffs. If you play in a group you see the best over time.

• Sankofa 7 years ago

Our group is reasonable.

Egypt are the only team who have played in the world cup before.

The toughest group is B, with Cameroon, Algeria, Nigeria all vying for one qualifying place having played in the world cup before ...

• max 7 years ago

When will Ghana ever be in a weak group. Look at group B and compare

• member 7 years ago

Why do we always complain. If we are not ready we should redraw asap

• Abdulai Adams 7 years ago

Lets pray and hope for de best.

• Kofi Wakiki 7 years ago

How I wish Ghana plays in group b, so that we will see our foolishness. After all when we qualify without money, the players will not play.

• BIBINI 7 years ago

AS FOR YEN DIE, DRAW BIARA YE TOUGH: ADEN?

• PITO 7 years ago

IF WE WANT TO BEAT EGYPT AGAIN TO QUALIFY, WE NEED BIG AND EXPERIENCED PLAYERS WITH THE CONFIDENCE. New were players cannot do it! This is the time to reintroduce fit again KWADWO ASAMOAH and also Make big frame players like ...

• mpanimfuo USA 7 years ago

If u can't qualify from this group then u don't deserve to go to world cup!

• Sylvanus Deguenon 7 years ago

No easy team in the whole world.
    Ghana has to work hard and take every team serously and take every game like final.
    Best game black stars has to do is away game. He has to win away game or make draw.
    I'm black stars suppo ...

• Kenneth Anaafi 7 years ago

With Sully,Essien, Kwadwo Asamoah, and Kevin Boateng being the most experienced prayers only if the GFA can come out with fairness plus the others we all know, I see no reason Ghana can't come our of the group to represent ou ...

• Mona 7 years ago

well..u said prayers, but we need players, and not prayers....These guys left. .can we move on?

I really think we are lucky to be in the group we are in on paper. The games still have to be played though and anything could happen on the field. What the guys need is hard work, dedication and luck. The qualifiers may be m ...

• macforestt 7 years ago

ghana is in a group where she doesnt have to work too hard
    good luck mon paye

• Big WASTY 7 years ago

Ghana top de group E by all mis.

• Big WASTY 7 years ago

Ghana will top de group E

• ForDLuvofFootie 7 years ago

I will admit I was fooled by the headline. After reading the article, it's my opinion the writer wanted to get the attention of his audience. Ghana is very lucky to be in group E, this group is no where a tough Group. Let go ...

• Danny(Deaf) 7 years ago

the group E are lucky easiest thanks God u must look at group B if you think Ghana in tough draw group?
    Ghana must not start boast against good team like Egypt

• Moses 7 years ago

Good luck GHANA

• kojo 7 years ago

group A and E are the lukiest. Group B is going be sensational

• Jt 7 years ago

Good luck,Ghana has already book the ticket to Russia,with hard work and determination we shall,we got the players,all they need is psychic

• J. Y. Amenyo 7 years ago

Ghana is never in the group of death. Look at group B. We should get ready as early as possible and stop the noise.

• Gen 7 years ago

Look at group c before you complain about Ghana's group

• magabush 7 years ago

Stop the nonsense Ghana group is the easiest.chech group B

• bill Cosby 7 years ago

Very lucky group for Ghana!! Go guys!!

• Hamidu 7 years ago

So which group were we supposed to be in? i dont understand Ghanaians look at group B group of death Ghanaians are lucky to ne playing with congo uganda and egipt as well

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Please stop complaining and work hard

• bobj 7 years ago

Group B is also tough. we are lucky. its gud for our group E

• KYFF 7 years ago

How could u say Ghana has been handed a tough group? What about group B?

• Steve 7 years ago

Learn to be content

• king 7 years ago

consider group B n D I don't see why you hv to cry d@ gh is in though group.
    But de most easiers group will be group A

• Abubakar Ismaila 7 years ago

This is the time that when we are sleeping, it's tell us to wake up because the journey to success is not easy.

• Isaac Agyei Kwakye 7 years ago

I think groub B is the toughest and not Ghana 's group

• king kabbah 7 years ago

Infact this is the easiest group and we thank God we have avoid the likes of nigeria,cameoun and algeria who are in the same group of death

• Emma 7 years ago

My prediction is that Ghana will not make it 2018 World Cup

• JOHN KWAME DUODU 7 years ago

Because of the GFA and MINISTRY OF SPORT corrupt officials. I wish Ghana Blackstar will not qualify.

• THE SENTINEL 7 years ago

GHANA IS A FULL OF TALENTED FOOTBALLERS YET TO BE TAPPED, GROOMED AND PUT TO PLAY. AT THE WORLD CUP SERIES GHANA WAS ONCE PLACED IN THE DEADLY GROUP COMPRISING ITALY, UNITED STATES AND CZECH REPUBLIC, THE BEST THREE NATIONAL ...

• Kwaku Sarpong from u s a Houston 7 years ago

Ghana we win group e go ghana

• ASSAN STEPHEN 7 years ago

The Black Stars of Ghana can qualifie to the world cup if they determined to play good football and to work had for our beloved Country .