That is pure psychic escapism. Of course everybody can daydream and make long wish list. Let me help him along. By 2058, all things being equal, Ghana would be flying men to the moon. You better believe it. Of course that is the premise of everything Nii Moi says. He is an economist, an they only make sense by holding all variables constant and manipulating the one they want. Wake up Charlie 2058 is just 43 years away. Some of the people in this forum will still be around so they shall bear witness. If wishes were horses.......
DIAMOND 10 years ago
The plan does not presuppose that everyone will be around, but that posterity will be here.
Kennedy, in 1961?, wanted his people to touch the moon before "the decade is out". Was he here?
Leadership by future generation ... read full comment
The plan does not presuppose that everyone will be around, but that posterity will be here.
Kennedy, in 1961?, wanted his people to touch the moon before "the decade is out". Was he here?
Leadership by future generations, not necessarily by those alive today, is what carries plans through.
Anyway, by 2058, the rot and the stench and the crime and the corruption and the free-for-all deviance in Ghana will be so overwhelming that it will not even register on anybody's toilet as a potential host of the WC.
This is just fantasy, but we all have the right to dream.
And if you dream, but then steal all the funds for the plan, then there'll be no World Cup in Ghana.
Amanaman 10 years ago
I must be content watching the World Cup in other countries. Because forty years is quite long. Our survival as individuals alive today, especially those of us above forty years will not be good enough to enjoy it. It's useless keeping any hope on watching a World Cup forty years from now when a country like Brazil hosted it and got beaten 7 - 1. What is the use? This piece of news is a useless one. It's not a project worth thinking about. As for such a venture, giving yourself about five to ears would have made sense.
Free Voter 10 years ago
As for this kind of planning I can also do. Let those who will be alive start planning in 2048.
We cannot watch our league matches in our tvs screens, the local league cannot start and we are talking about world cup. Wake t ... read full comment
As for this kind of planning I can also do. Let those who will be alive start planning in 2048.
We cannot watch our league matches in our tvs screens, the local league cannot start and we are talking about world cup. Wake the fellow dreaming up.
Anas is unstoppable 10 years ago
Where will Kwesi Nyantakyi be by then? Maybe, he will watch it live in his grave
Nana Akufo Addo 10 years ago
why don't you Ghanaians stop fooling your selves? 50years after independence the best you could do as a nation is to develop and build KVIPs and now you are dreaming of hosting football world cup. TWEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
kik 10 years ago
By that time we all die
JOSEPH GANYOBI 10 years ago
BY THEN I BELIEVED ALL KUMASI BUSH PEOPLE HAVE BEEN SENT BACK TO THE BUSH KUMASI. ..UNCIVILIZED SMELLY PEOPLE
KUMASI NII BA KWAME 10 years ago
WOKWASEA SE ODWAN. FOOL,IF DONT HAVE ANY SENSIBLE THING TO SHARE,JUST SHUT YOUR MOTHER FUCKER.YOU AND YOUR ENTIRE FAMILY,FROM MOTHER TO FATHER SIDE ,FROM NOW ON YOU ARE GOING TO DIE LIKE RATS AND I GRANT YOU MADNESS.
afrikanblak 10 years ago
hahahahahahahahahahaha.... why not 3058?
mumuni 10 years ago
Almost 60 yrs of independence. You are still sleeping in darkness, using atonko. You pup at the beach, and you want to hosst the world. Nkwaseafuo ghana
Pooh 10 years ago
what nonsense is that, who is kidding who.
goodman 10 years ago
Then ghana has to be develope with high class. The environment is too bad.
Wuofei 10 years ago
Dumsor world cup? Tweaa dreamers!
black man 10 years ago
This is joke, this monkeys thinks they can fools. why they don't plan feeding or create jobs for their population 2058? who are they kidding ? fools, bunch of useless
black man 10 years ago
This is joke right?, this monkeys thinks they can fools us. why they don't plan feeding or create jobs for their population 2058? who are they kidding ? fools, bunch of useless
Jonas 10 years ago
Dude said from 2018 till then we should be able ,,,kwaasiafuor jack arrrses
ADEPA K 10 years ago
This is absolute rubbish.
Paa Pee 10 years ago
These people are Jaguar Jokers
king 10 years ago
Who is.going to be president by then and majority of our generation will be wiped out by then.what about if christ come,40years vision is to long.maybe Ghana can be among G8 at that time
Adimah A. N.(Virgin-brother) 10 years ago
I think Ghana to bid for World Cup 2058 would have been an appropriate heading.
Nii Moi Thompson 10 years ago
Our "journalists" never cease to amaze me with their relentless ability to stand the truth on its head. I never said in parliament or at today's press briefing that Ghana should host the WC in "2058". In response to a question from an MP in payment 2 weeks ago, I said we intended proposing a hosting by Ghana of the WC half-way through a 30-year infrastructure plan, a major plank of the 40-year long-term plan.
At today's press briefing, along with a PowerPoint presentation listing WC dates from 2018 to 2058 I said 2034 and 2038 looked looked feasible, even though we may go for 2030, depending on how fast we implement the plan. An artist's impression of a Black Star stadium was included and I spoke extensively about role of legacy projects like stadiums bad their associated infrastructure in overall national infrastructure development. I cited Japan, South Africa and the UK as examples, and copies of the presentation were given to the reporters present.
I am therefore surprised to see a WC hosting date a full year after the plan period. That's not what I said.
I want Ghanaians to dream big, but we should also be factual in those dreams.
I call on the editors to correct this misrepresentation as a matter of record.
But we will all be dead by then.
That is pure psychic escapism. Of course everybody can daydream and make long wish list. Let me help him along. By 2058, all things being equal, Ghana would be flying men to the moon. You better believe it. Of course that is ...
Leadership by future generation ...
I must be content watching the World Cup in other countries. Because forty years is quite long. Our survival as individuals alive today, especially those of us above forty years will not be good enough to enjoy it. It's usele ...
We cannot watch our league matches in our tvs screens, the local league cannot start and we are talking about world cup. Wake t ...
By that time we all die
Our "journalists" never cease to amaze me with their relentless ability to stand the truth on its head. I never said in parliament or at today's press briefing that Ghana should host the WC in "2058". In response to a questi ...