You are here: HomeSports2015 08 14Article 375047

Tony Baffoe rates Abedi as the greatest ever

Read Comments Comments (66)

• agya kramo 8 years ago

Greatest player indeed. What did he achieve for Ghana? . he didn't play in a world cup. his sons are better off than him. he divided the black stars

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

WHY AT ALL IS GHANA ALLOWING THE DIASPORAS TO ENJOY OUR TOIL N SWEAT? TONY BAFFOE WAS GIVEN THE CAPTAINSHIP IN THE FINAL AGAINST COTE D VIORE BY HEIR OTTO PFIESTER JUST BECAUSE HE WAS A GERMAN CITIZEN. AFTER OTTO STRIPPED KWE ...

• John Barnes Rush 8 years ago

Know your facts.
    It was C.K. Gyamfi who made Abedi captain. Otto Pfiester was nowhere near the Black Stars at that time.

• jjjj 8 years ago

even if u had brought someone from the foreign planet to watch the stars play
    those days and to choose the one that befits the captain,the person will choose abedi.He was the one killing himself for the team.

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

WHERE WERE YOU WHEN BURKHAD ZIESE WAS SACKED AFTER QUALIFYING GHANA TO THE 1992 AFRICA NATIONS CUP ONLY TO BE REPLACED BY OTTO PFIESTA?

• timbuk 8 years ago

tony was born in germany but refuse the german passport.i like and respect tony becos is honest.Dr truth u were simply at that time not good enough 4 the captainship.Dont be jealious. All of u are dead in the system but Abedi ...

• Diallo 8 years ago

eeyy dont try abedi,this guy made all footbalers fear ghana.My country Guinea if u talk bad about Abedi some people will kill u.That guy made me enjoy football.His children are good but they have not yet riched Abedis in half ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Oh so now you can't read? What did the article said he did achieved? Been in the world cup doesn't make you the best among the best, even to this date his name is been mentioned in U.S. Media when it comes to football. Get it ...

• tracy 8 years ago

No one in the history of African football ever did it the Abedi.Abedis generation is a blessing to mother Ghana.All his children and grand children will be great footballers n will bring glory to our country.God bless Abedi

• zahra 8 years ago

Abedi forever the best.We are proud of you

• ko,no problem,a 8 years ago

Agya kramo you are right

• frank 8 years ago

Tanx mass say that again

• koffi parker 8 years ago

they better keep quiet rather to open old wounds, fuck the greatest ever shit.

• Abbey 8 years ago

If he achieved nothing,he was 1000 times better than 100 Kwesi Appiahs put together.

• joe 8 years ago

his achievements:He was the first player to win the African footballer of the year on three continuous occasions,
    Pele won the AFCON as a teenager in 1982 and 1992 he went 2 finals.Yeboah was the one dividing the team.Abedi ...

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

Abedi was the greatest. Tony Yeboah was not as dedicated and the coach had the right to decide the captain.

I am a Kotoko fan. End of story.

• True talk. 8 years ago

Here you see the kookoase people coming out so quick to debunk your claim.Challenge him with someone in mind than talking trash here.Abedi will forever remain the best.Go global and sample opinions and see if someone knows ev ...

• Question 8 years ago

masa did Kwasi Appiah play in any of the 92 Afcon?

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

YES KWESI APPIAH STARTED AGAINST ZAMBIA N EGYPT IN THE GROUP MATCHES. IN THE QUARTER FINALS AGAINST CONGO BRAZIVILLE HE STARTED TOO N EXCELLED. BUT AGAINST NIGERIA IN THE SEMIS OTTO PFISTER CLAIMED NIGERIA WILL DEPLOY FRIDAY ...

• salinsa 8 years ago

senegal 92 i was doing national service @ place where there was no electricity & no tv coverage so had very scanty information on. thanks for this very accurate information delivered here.

• Ogyam. 8 years ago

Egya Kramo George Weah never played in a world cup but he still stands as the best African player ever in the game.Be wise and stop hatting for he is still the best.Abedi is Ghana's best.

• Jerry John Mahama 8 years ago

Because he is your friend . What abt Samuel Eto who won the African player title
    5 times and played in abt 3 world cups, winning 2 cup of nations. May be Aneth is all time Gh.

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

Nyantakyi would maame tw3. Ghana soccer under a dead abedi or baffoe will shine and be a success than with a living nyantakyi in charge. As for that kwasia nyantakyi. Wey gyimi ooo

• Agyaaku 8 years ago

Abedi could be one of the greats but surely not the greatest. I may not wish to name any names, but it seems Tony Baffoe know little about the greats of old. Ask the old men and women still alive and they will tell you.

Abide is always number 1 you like it or not.You can kill yourself, he is the best.He won trophy for Ghana 1982 once he was among of the team. All is part of Ghana record in soccer. All so great achievement, for 3 times Afric ...

• Jacob Allen 8 years ago

Abedi bullshit the referee at afcon 92 and he got a yellow card that disqualify him to play in the finals and we lost on penalties to the ivorians so as far as ethics counts he's not the best.

• suma 8 years ago

Regardless of whatever hate some people have for him (Abedi Ayew) he's simply the greatest ever. All the time talking abt shit Akwesi Appiah's captainship and all that, does makes no sense when it comes to Abedi's greatness, ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Anybody who have seen Abedi played will tell you he is the best. I have the privilege to see Abedi played for both Ghana Secondary school and RTU when I was in my teens, and also watched him played in New York with the world ...

• gaba 8 years ago

Abedi Pele is someone I love so much as he's the master in football. During his days in RTU, I never missed training sessions just to see him use the ball like tossing up his baby child.

He understands the ball, he can dic ...

• gaba 8 years ago

Wow Abedi Pele, the emeritus prof in soccer, dribbling machine , the dribbling wizard, the maestro, the guru, master tactician, the Creator, the Jack- of- all trail,

• salinsa 8 years ago

yes in terms of skills, yes he may have a point but in terms of team work attitude he will score very low marks. if you ever saw rabah madjier, bellome, kalusha, adolf armah,emmanuel yartey play combining skills & team work, ...

• Sodayi 8 years ago

You are just sick in the head. A bed's skills n performance are divine. You are only being ethnocentric. Anything achieved by a northerner is not worth its value. You cannot discount the Ayew family. It is a tornado.

• sam 8 years ago

I do support Tony Baffour 100% but they issue in Ghana is tribalism.if Abedi has come from certain part of the Ghana, people will not even let him walk on the street ,he would have been carried on people's shoulders. I have ...

• sam 8 years ago

I do support Tony Baffour 100% but they issue in Ghana is tribalism.if Abedi has come from certain part of the Ghana, people will not even let him walk on the street ,he would have been carried on people's shoulders. I have a ...

• Nana(RSA) 8 years ago

Go to Nigeria and ask Stephen Keshi the same question and he will tell you what Abedi Pele did to him during that semi-finals, they Had no idea how Abedi Pele scored his goal.
    Who saw the goal Abedi scored against Zaire, he ...

• Zuri 8 years ago

You're right bros! .It's just pure envy & hatred for Abedi! .

• A concerned citizen 8 years ago

Your title, stupid ass!

• Kluvi 8 years ago

This' a Godly fact

• ko,no problem,a 8 years ago

This is not true.

• JMA 8 years ago

He has won one afcon, First African to have won Africa best player three times on a trot, he has won the champions league, as a mid fielder he until recently the all time goal scorer of the BS, he owns a football team in Ghan ...

• Richmondo 8 years ago

I support you 100%,if Abedi were to come from Ashanti region,a?l those haters would lay on the floor for him like they do to otumfour.

• jeff 8 years ago

That's 100% true.most of us who had the chance of seeing him play will not dispute this fact

• George Ato Essien 8 years ago

Mohammed Polo was better than Abedi. There was nothing like Footballer of the year award when players like Aggrey Fynn, Edward Acquah, Osei Kofi, Ofei Dodoo, Jones Atukwei Fio, Amusah Gbadamoshie, Mama Aquah, Robeth Hammond, ...

• Pierre 8 years ago

Pele was my school mate. From the word go be played football with his mouth, eyes, soup and everything. Let's give praise where it's due.

But praise be to his mentors like Armed Duada, Mohammed Choo, Clifford Adai, karimu ...

• Nana Esi 8 years ago

I was in college, Archibishop Porter Girls, at Elmina that time when they played that game between Ghana and Ivory Coast in Ziginshore that time, infact it was heart breaking. Abedi couldn't play the finals because he was is ...

• salinsa 8 years ago

haruna seaman, kwame danger, mr adomako of super scientific farms, abu moro

• AKUSABIIGA 8 years ago

You just kwame danger and i feel tears in my eyes. Great talents who were never recognised, gone are the days.

• kofi 8 years ago

You are right Tony. Those who think otherwise shd look for the clips of his football career and stop arguing. Some of u were kids at that time so help ur selves with the clips.

• KOOBOY 8 years ago

MY BEST PLAYER OF ALL TIME IN GHANA FOOTBALL IS OSEI KOFI (DUBBED THE GEORGE BEST OF GHANA BY SROKE CITY COACH)HE WAS UNSELFISH AMD MADE PEOPLE AROUND HIM BETTER

• salinsa 8 years ago

he was 2nd to BABY PELE. he himself has admitted that. in fact when they went to the 1968 olympics and the white coach said baby pele was ghana's best player osei kofi, and the other kotoko players rioted after returning. aga ...

• YOOMOBEBEA 8 years ago

Abedi Pele must think about running for the President of Ghana. I will certainly vote for him.

• Oheneba Kwaku Amponsah 8 years ago

Please Tony,I beg to differ from you in this your assertion. are you saying this because it was the two of you (Abedi and Baffoe) who denied us(Ghana) the Nation's trophy in Senegal in 1992? Abedi was impatient and earned a r ...

• kosoko 8 years ago

Why, haven't you people heard of Akwasi Wusu- Goal King?

• Benneygoodman 8 years ago

Tony Baffoe made a point but certainly Abedi was and is not the best footballrt of all time in Ghana and in Africa. I would name Reverent Osei Kofi to be thew most talented and greatest footballer of all tima followed by Sund ...

• Bassaou 8 years ago

Muhammed Polo is the greatest of all times but for his knee injury!

• MIZZY 8 years ago

ABEDI WAS AFRCAN BEST FOOTBALLER ONLY TWICE .RASHEDI YEKINI WAS AFRICAN BEST FOOTBALLER THE SAME YEAR WHEN ABEDI WAS SUPPOSE TO BE AFRICAN BEST FOOTBALLER.THE FRENCH GAVE ABEDI THE BEST AFRICAN PLAYER IN FRANCE NOT CAF.CHECK ...

• KOOBOY 8 years ago

TONY HAVE YOU EVER SEEN ANY CLIPS OF REV. OSEI KOFI, POLO OR IBRAHIM SUNDAY IN ACTION? DO A LITTLE RESEARCH BEFORE YOU MAKE A STATEMENT. ABEDI WAS GOOD BUT CANNOT BE COMPARED TO THE ABOVE. LET'S NOT FORGET BABA YARA. THESE GU ...

• Gaza 8 years ago

George Oppong Weah never qualified his country to the African Cup of nation nor the World Cup at the time he won the World and European best player.So those of you accusing Abedi of not qualifying Ghana to the World cup need ...

• Clark 8 years ago

Somebody like Abedi should have coached the Black Stars,not Kwesi Appiah who never had a single international play!.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 8 years ago

I agreed with Tony Baffoe comments about Abedi Pele.I watched Abedi Played colts football,i also watched him played for his School at Osu.I also watched him Played Munchandi at Bukom in Accra.By God Abedi Pele can dribble Fiv ...

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

Why not, is he not your friend? Osei Kofi is the best we have ever seen. Yes! he did not play in the world cup and he did not play professional football abroad, but I can say that he is the most skillful player Ghana has ever ...

• SIN OF FATHERS 8 years ago

Abedi never paid back money GFA loaned him to clear his vehicle from the Port.His indiscipline led to our loss to Ivory coast in Dakar.We also lost to Algeria in the world cup final qualifier when he dictated that his friend ...

• Joyce Baffoe 8 years ago

TONY BAFFOE NOT BAFFOUR

• Kwabena Bosompem Agona Swedru 8 years ago

Abedi the best? Sure no doubt about that. You can't put any names against him unless you hate him personally.

• Adomako Frobour 8 years ago

Rev. Osei Kofi, CK. Yara

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

Nice player was he.