You are here: HomeSports2015 05 20Article 358970

Adebayor: I've considered suicide over bitter family disputes

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Napoleon,USA 8 years ago

Only Jesus Christ can set you free, for the Bible says, if the son sets you free, you are free indeed.

• Mr.N 8 years ago

One thing that is clear to everyone in Black Africa is, money and family do not mix have money and your family will be at your throat. Help them and nothing is enough for them. So the question is this staying away from the so ...

• Rasheed 8 years ago

I now see why POW has ran away from ghweb.It is because you have refused to help half brother.

• Yaw Kyere 8 years ago

YOUR FAMILY WILL NOT KILL THEMSELVES FOR YOU. TAKE CARE OF YOUR CHILDREN AND FORGET ABOUT FAMILY.

IF UR FAMILY LOVES YOU, GIVE THEM LOVE. BUT THEY CAUSE U SO MUCH PAIN U WANT TO KILL URSELF, FORGET ABOUT THEM, LIVE UR LIFE ...

• bhono holland 8 years ago

hmmmm please if you really believe your family is the problem wich maybe true, why cant you forget them,simple as abc

• tunde 8 years ago

You didnot get ur money on a silver platt.Ur brother is not ur son.Move to ghana and leave them alone there.Dont even pick their calls.U can do ur brother a favour but its not ur responsibility

• kwami 8 years ago

its not his responsibility.his brother is not his son.his brother shd try to make his live too.some brothers dont make efforts if even u try ur best to make their lives .i am talking on expierence from my own brother too.He r ...

• HANS 8 years ago

OUR EXTERNAL FAMILY SYSTEM IS BETTER THAN THE NUCLEAR SYSTEM BASED ON "SELFISH INDIVIDUALISM" BECAUSE WHEN YOU ARE IN TROUBLE, YOU GET HELP FROM MEMBERS OF THE EXTENDED FAMILY.WHEN ADEBAYOR WAS A CHILD HE MIGHT HAVE BEEN HELP ...

• Sam Bern 8 years ago

U have no idea of what u are saying. If the are a problem, u treat them as a problem. Even God does not force us to obey him.
    At a point in the Bible He ''God regretted that he created man''. Think about that. If God even r ...

• alhaj injector 8 years ago

im a ghanian leaving in israel also a fan of adebayor but ghanain media im pleading u to advice him the way he talk about his family public especial about his mother if he did not apologise to her hmmm

• Remy 8 years ago

You are a Ghanaian 'leaving' in Israel? So what has Israel got to do with 'ghanain' media advising Adebayor? LOL!!!

• Old Soldier 8 years ago

I perfectly understand Adebayor's problems. Some families can be very ungrateful. They don't want to work, they feel it is the breadwinner's responsibility to take care of them. Those of us who live outside our home countr ...

• Remy 8 years ago

You are right, Old Soldier.

• Mee 8 years ago

The funny aspect i that, families who are irresponsible or contribute nothing to upbringing demands much. They are also very ungrateful because they don't know the investment that goes into developing a carrier

• shirley 8 years ago

My brother dont commit suicide.There millions out there who likes u.If u have good friends they are like family.Many of us have similiar brothers and sisters so we know what u are going thru,but hey just live ur life and forg ...

• TKG 8 years ago

Yaw, It is useless to think of suicide. It solves nothing. It is like a drunkard who says because of his troubles he must take 3 shots to forget about his troubles only to find that after the alcohol wares away the problem re ...

• Ama 8 years ago

My dear brother, like this writer said, just look to Christ and know that God is in control. Family can make you or kill you, but if you have Christ He will make your life anew.

• Yaw Kyere 8 years ago

IF YOUR FAMILY IS A TORN IN YOUR FLESH, JUST FORGET ABOUT THEM AND LIVE YOUR LIFE. CHANGE YOUR PHONE NUMBER AND FORGET ABOUT THEM. WHY KILL YOURSELF BECAUSE OF YOUR FAMILY? THEY WILL NOT KILL THEMSELVES FOR YOU.

• David 8 years ago

Great advice for Adebayor and All.

SUICIDE IS NOT THE SOLUTION. BE STRONG AND BUILD A GOOD RELATION WITH GOD.

• Uncle Sam,U.S.A 8 years ago

Only Jah can solved it.Efo,think about yur family -WIFE & CHILEDREN how MUCH U LOVED THEM & keep 4ward with yur PRAYERS.Jah Bless.

• Sam Bern 8 years ago

Come and let me coach you. You have a woman's heart.
    Just leave them alone and let them go burn the sea. Your Mum from some pictures I saw, will even like you dead. You either enjoy your life or follow them till the kill yo ...

• justice 8 years ago

There is Problem everywhere so better to stop your childness. Why?

• kill me 8 years ago

My friend get married and have children all your problems will be solve , your wife will not allow them to do this kind of shit to you,but if you choose to be single just because you want to be fucking with young young girls ...

• Nitwit 8 years ago

Good comment about getting married.

• Brofo 8 years ago

When you are ready to commit suicide, you dont call, you just do it. My friend stop your nonsense and focus on your career.

• AFua 8 years ago

Adebayor should. learn to keep his family issues from public. for there are family issues every where.

• adegbite 8 years ago

HE SHOULD GROW THE FUCK UP!!!! DITCH YOUR FAMILY IF THEY ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH. STUPID FOOL

• Peter 8 years ago

Adebayor is simply losing it. Seriously the chap is developing a mental and needs help. His family might have given him problems but the ranting is abnormal and and indication of someone losing its gradually. Time will tell.

• nicman@atl 8 years ago

you are not GOD period

• james 8 years ago

Only u,ur close freinds,and ur family can solve dis but not social media we know how u feel but social media can never solve dis

• kojo 8 years ago

Ade needs a psychologist

• Shirley 8 years ago

Master we cnt do anytin jxt to tel u luk up 2 God and He wil do it

• young yoZy 8 years ago

the best thing is to pray hard to god

Suicide is not meant for people of dignity. Adebayor must come again and tell the world he was just kidding.

• Adjua 8 years ago

Just grow back the dreads

• alex 8 years ago

Adeee get married and all this problems will solved
    Your family always depends on you my man so please just get married thats all

• Esi 8 years ago

Why don't you publish Adebayor's entire post so the reader can read and understand why he made the statement about suicide?

• habib 8 years ago

Don't worry have faith in God.ok

U guys don't know what u talking about. Do you know how it feels when u work your ass off and make money. After helping your family they don't appreciate nothing u go for them . Let him say his Pease . Shu Africans are alw ...

Who else do u wa t him to go talk to when the whole family is talking bad of him. Plese let him feel free so he don't go kill him self

• Kweku Canada 8 years ago

I have read much of Adebayo's story and it disgusts me to read some of the bad comments on here. His situation is not new and i must say many Africans are going through similar situation.

As a young child, i was told i wou ...

• MUSA SHANGO 8 years ago

Hi Mr Kweku,i'm Musa from Ghana and i do agree with you on your speech i want to be friend let me know if you are interested

• BOAFO YENA 8 years ago

Hang in there Kweku. Take on-line classes & stay busy and enjoy life my friend.

• Kweku Canada 8 years ago

It is hard to sit here in this cold, work so hard, family members only text you when they want money but never call to find out how you are doing. It is hard to be seen like an outcast in your own family because you decide to ...

• KM 8 years ago

Hi Kweku,

Just like Adebayor's situation I empathize with you on what you have gone through. Even though we identify ourselves through our family, we cannot allow them to drag us down the pit of shame and agony. Throughou ...

• KwakU Agyei..USA. 8 years ago

Please adebayor go ahead and sell your property on accra and use that money too invest in Europe or American and stoping helping your family period....give them money and stop sponsor them....and stay away from them...thanks

• Andrew Whitehead 8 years ago

Brother Adebayor, I think a lot of people are facing the same problem and let me tell you that, you are a full of life and plus don't do anything ungodly and tell all of your family to go fuck, themselves one by one, why it ...

• :KWASI IN EUROPE 8 years ago

Kweku, now think only about yourself. Those in Africa take those abroad as fools with a lot of money. You also thought that way when you were in Ghana. You can never satisfy all of them. Now think about yourself.

• peter 8 years ago

Emmanuel,I am happy because you have said what you considered doing. Once you ve said it's not going to happen in Jesus'name! I pray that you experience a total liberation from The Holy Spirit. May the grace and glory of The ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

IF YOU DO NOT FORGET ABOUT THIS FAMILY OF YOURS, YOU WILL SINK AND YOU KNOW WHAT? THE WORLD DOES NOT REMEMBER A GOAT FOR BEING A COW! YOU WILL BE REMEMBERED AS AN UNSTABLE SON OF A BITCH!
    GO AND FIND KIND PEOPLE WHO CAN L ...

• Tweeea 8 years ago

No matter now you lost form because you dont think straight, how on earth do you fight your family online?
    I dare you to commit the suicide you talked about if you a real man with ball in between your legs.
    There is no fami ...

• General Mosquito 8 years ago

ah u sef wettiin? only u get problem? massa suck it in a be a man. everyone get in own problem. .And please... people who actually commit suicide do not announce it. they just do it? so do it

• Mykyei 8 years ago

Commit ur ways into the hands of God

• oseikrom 8 years ago

Masa keep quiet u chop d money finish with girls n cars n now you wanna blame your mom n family.k u were making millions in weeks how much were u gvn your mom.

• Damba 8 years ago

This guy hmm, no more respect for this guy. Selling your family to the rest of the world for cheap. The same family you were talking about brought you to Ghana to start your colt football, remember this, calling your mum name ...

My brother be at peace. In every family there is a Moses. God has reason for putting you in that family. Remember the story of Esther. You just do your best and pray to God to give you strength and direction. It is well.

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

ADEBAYOR, REMEMBER YOU'RE NOT ALONE.

COUNTLESS OTHER AFRICANS HAVE EXPERIENCED FAMILY SITUATIONS FAR WORSE THAN YOUR'S SO WHY WOULD YOU EVEN CONTEMPLATE SUICIDE?

DON'T BE SILLY, ADEBAYOR!!!

YOU MADE THE RIGHT MOVE B ...

• GAMATO 8 years ago

Why should you commit suicide by the way! You said it, if your brothers are stealing from you, why don't you change your ways to protect your assets?
    Look Adebayor your are above this shameful pronouncement. You have futur ...

• Ganny Boblino 8 years ago

Adebayor, please do your home work well. See where you started from and where yu are now. If you have got money and you ignore your brothers and sisters they will definitely not be happy with you.

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

hi ade, forget about this family affair. My six younger sisters have got 15 children in total. I have looked after these sisters, some to attend secondary school, some of their children to also go to secondary school and movi ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

My brother just stop worrying about ungrateful people, family or otherwise! You're just one person and can only help people who can be helped and also are grateful for what you give even if a widows mite!! In the end what are ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Ha, ha, ha, Mr Hans calm down because you have no responsibility whatsoever to any external family which is definitely outside the "extended" family and does not exist as a family concept!

• MOSACH 8 years ago

THEY WILL BE PUSHING YOU TO COMMIT SUICIDE. KNOW THAT GOD LOVES NO SUICIDE COMMITTERS. BE STRONG AND DEFEAT THEM WITH THE ALMIGHTY GOD. TOGO FULL OF WITCHES AND WIZARDS.

• Eno 8 years ago

It's sad to hear what your family is putting you through. I can relate to this. When relatives you have helped, turn their backs at you or not satisfied with what you have done for them but want yours. Ade please note we have ...

• BOAFO YENA 8 years ago

Believe in yourself , Ade, you are one of the best soccer players in the world. Towards the end of you career, go play for D.C. United. You are that good, my brother.