You are here: HomeSports2015 01 29Article 344526

AFCON: Ghana to play Guinea in quarter finals

Read Comments Comments (116)

• viv 9 years ago

Bring it on. We are ready for any country!

• Saint Anthony 9 years ago

Guinea will beat Ghana.It is destined to happen.

• Naa 9 years ago

Really! Consider Ghana the winners of Afcon

• Promise Son 9 years ago

Naa you are right...this is Ghana's cup I promise

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

The players must ride exercise bike 30 min before and after practice.
    Complacent Ghana will succumb to Guinea, you'll see. Ghana beat them in the qualifiers but we all know how overly complacent ghana can be in soccer. So I ...

• obiba 9 years ago

Tweaa, Guinea to beat ghana my foot, ghana will send them to ibola country mark my word !

• Oman ba kojo 9 years ago

Obiba there is no need to talk like that. No abusive language pls. Just Support ur team.

• JK 9 years ago

That's an unfortunate statement. I also believe Ghana will win (easier if Appiah pairs with Gyan upfront), but why bring up the ibola issue? That's a low blow.

What did you say when gh met.zambia at the afcon semi final when plavi was coach. Same shit and it seems you haven't learnt anything

• bogass 9 years ago

I agree, Ghana should play with determination. Do not forget what happened against Zambia.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Of the three teams in group D, this is the team Ghana could have prayed for. Guinea is not an easy team but the team Ghana can handle.

Ghana will beat Guinea, though it will not be easy.

• AFEVIA 9 years ago

No team is easy but Ghana will manage to put away Guinea.

• GEORGE 9 years ago

They will lose to Ghana, they just advanced on lottery and can not beat Ghana

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

I know football has a lot to do with gmblling but I have not heard of this before. Hayatou you are wonderful

• Rabon Zee 9 years ago

During the 1968 African Club Championship between Fabulous Asante Kotoko and Congo Englebert, the stupid officiating by Ethiopian referee Ayele Tesema contributed in part to the deadlock. Kotoko had good goalkeeping from Anu ...

• T'pau 9 years ago

Interesting!

• JAY 9 years ago

When and at what time is the game?

• OBSERVER 9 years ago

PEOPLE LIKE YOUR SILLY TYPE WISHED THE BLACK STARS CRASHED OUT OF AFCON2015 EARLY BUT IT DID NOT HAPPEN SO YOU ARE NOW MAD. WE ARE NOT AFRAID OF GUINEA, IN FACT BLACK STARS ARE NOT AFRAID OF ANY FOOTBALL TEAM IN THE WORLD INC ...

• accam 9 years ago

I can agree with u

• accam 9 years ago

I can agree with u

• SARPONG 9 years ago

This is not fair to Mali at all but my suggestion will still have eliminated Mali.

The team that scores first in such situations should be declared winners if at the end of 90 minutes and two 15 minutes extra time ends in ...

• AFEVIA 9 years ago

That would have made things easier.

• NO! 9 years ago

NO, AFEVIA, EXTRA TIME AND PENALTIES ARE BETTER.

FIRST GOAL AS THE DECIDER IS NOT FAIR ENOUGH.

• 123 9 years ago

Have you forgotten Mali wasted a penalty kick?

• Agyanim 9 years ago

They should have used either penalty kicks or played several overtime till one team scored a goal.This drawing of straws is really backwards.

• The Stallion 9 years ago

I agreed with you but at the end, no. There were suggestions of penalty shoot out, but that will not work either. Why?
    In the event more than 2 teams find themselves in this case, what happens? So "the team that scores first ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

There should be extra time with golden goal. However, I will say that Guinea did in fact deserve to move forward because they showed strength and determination in a tough group. I would venture to say that they actually pla ...

Guinea will beat Ghana on Sunday.It is destined to happen.

• Amoako 9 years ago

I have watched the Guineans play.They are young, energetic and unrelenting.If Ghana plays their game we will be in trouble but if we use experience and tactics to weartthem down and deflate their enthusiasm we could harvest m ...

It will happen live.

• Agyanim 9 years ago

I think we are going to put as many as three goals in their net. It will take patience and experience to break them down but after we score the first goal they will wither.

• Inusah 9 years ago

God will make them happy after suffering from Ebola.God will surely give them glory,because they have never won the cup before.Amen.

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 9 years ago

I solemnly beg you Mr Grant to give Kwasi Appiah more chances. He looked extremely sharp when he came on last time.
    I think he can form a deadly partnership witjh his captain.

• David Ansah 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah is not an intelligent player,but a raw player.You cannot pair that dumb player with Gyan.

• Nana Equity 9 years ago

Hi Brother Dave, why using dumb for Kwasi Appiah? Just come up with your nice contribution/s and I hope God would really bless u for that. No more abusive words, Sir Dave. God bless

• KK US 9 years ago

Humble and respectful speech I will learn from you henceforth you seems to be a guy if you are a lady you deserve a First Lady and I may love you too God bless you and fellow Ghanaians speak this way

When they say a player is dumb that is no insult please.

• Watchdog 9 years ago

Nana you have shown this guy David Ansah good manners and good behaviour. I think he is more dumb than anybody. He is attacking Appiah because he appears to be Jordan admirer and he is scared his darling boy's position is und ...

No wonder you are watching dogs. You are an animal like the dogs. You son of a whore

• Watchdog 9 years ago

It looks like your mom gave birth to you through her STINKING ARSE. So you were born with SHIT all over you. Make sure you take a bath at least 6 times a day to clear the shit that you were born with. For it appears the sh ...

Who do you want appiah to replace in the starting line up? Jordan? Jordan was playing the 8spot becos of his dribbling and passing skills. Can appiah dribble and release balls into the 18 for gyan and dede? Appiah is a strike ...

• Watchdog 9 years ago

Are you just coming back from A MENTAL HEALTH INSTITUTION or what? What are you trying to say? Even a 4 year old can write sensibly than you. You are one of the LOST SOULS looking for doom for Ghana. Yet you seems to be total ...

• ANGEL 9 years ago

OH, Ghfuo, so you're now a Jordan believer? Woabodam anaa?

Yes, he proved he deserves to.go to this afcon based on what he did with his club thus far.unlike others like otoo,.appiah, acquah,.atsu. However, I think jordan needs to be played on the right wingand he must also play with ...

• ANGEL 9 years ago

Ghfuo abodam gyimi!
    Nantwi bonsam!

• JK 9 years ago

No more 'give him more time' This is a KO stage. Appiah must start. Guinea must be discouraged by early goals by Ghana.

• CK 9 years ago

Exactly what i was wishing for. Go Go Black Stars of Africa.

• david 9 years ago

ghana will score guinea 2:0

It is destined to happen.Ghana will never progress,and will never win the cup.It is a spiritual problem for Ghana.Those who are responsible for this, know themselves,and they are Ghanaians.

• Nmabia 9 years ago

In your dreams

• Madafo 9 years ago

I totally agreed with you. "In his dreams"

• Saint Anthony. 9 years ago

We shall see if it is in my dreams or not on Sunday.Please let us meet again after the match on ghanaweb.Hmm,small boys are young.

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

In your dreams, the whole group D was weak except Cameroon, Ivory Coast got away but Algeria is waiting for them; We got the other weak team and excape from Mali who were very physical and used their height to tackle badly. T ...

• The Saint 9 years ago

Guinea will beat Ghana,

• ??? 9 years ago

DID YOU SAID GH WILL NEVER PROGRESS?

• jt 9 years ago

Congrats Guinea,Blackstars is ever ready to give you guys a good game,we aré very hungry for the cup after 33yrs,all the best blackstars,we aré behind you in support and prayers

• sowah 9 years ago

I don't think we can beat Guinea this time.There so many forces against us.

• kinofghana ( malta island) 9 years ago

U people said all ghana

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

WHY BALLOT, CAF? THE 5 PENALTY SHOOTOUT IS FAIR AND ALSO ENTERTAINING. IT SHOWS SKILLS, BUT BALLOTING DOES NOT DETERMINE A TEAM'S TRUE STANDARD. CHANGE THIS OLD AND PAINFUL METHOD. WILL THE BALLOT EVER BE USED AT THE WORLD CU ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Mali are entitled to feel cheated. Football outcomes should always be determined on the pitch. Anyway I was happy for GH to face either Mali or Gui.

• senior 9 years ago

hw come we decide a match with lotto and not even penalties. Ah Africans what's wrong with us. always lacking in ur brains. God plz hv mercy

• sowah 9 years ago

Caf acted in accordance with rules of CAF.Do your research before you betray your ignorance.It happened in Italia 90'.

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Did it? I don't recsll that

• Segio Demoli 9 years ago

No it never happen in Italia 90?.Italia 90 applied penalty shoot out.

• GHANA-GUINEA-MALI UNION 9 years ago

ABOLISH THE LOTTO SYSTEM.

LET THEM PLAY EXTRA TIME FOR 30 MINUTES, SUDDEN DEATH FOR 15 MINUTES, AND THEN PENALTIES.

THIS IS NONSENSE!

• Peprah-Gyamfi 9 years ago

This does not fit into 21st century football!!

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

Suppose it was with another team but is playing with another country, how can they play extra time and penalties. The rule is when two countries end up with the same punts and goals. It happened in 1988 and Ivory coast paid f ...

• George 9 years ago

Jordan Ayaw should drop

Try and see it and we will be packing home.

• Watchdog 9 years ago

Your stupidity has become clear. You are worried and scared your darling boy will soon become history in the Black Stars starting line up. So when somebody suggested Appiah be given a chance you are attacking the player as DU ...

You were bitten by a dog so you are now mad. Your brother just told me, so need to bandy words with you anymore. MAD DOG.

• Watchdog 9 years ago

I have told you until you take a bath 6 times a day, the shit through which you were born with will still remain. It looks like it is now spreading from your mouth to your brain, you slimy of a beast.

If jordan who plays in french league 1 is having a tough time as a starter..what do you think appiah' chances will be as a starter? Plus, appiah can arguably play only the 9/10 spots on the field. So of it were you david ansa ...

• Koby 9 years ago

They should allowed over time play... this lots is not a good method.

• The Saint 9 years ago

It was revealed to me. It is going happen live.

• Africa child 9 years ago

But Ghana beat Guinea recently .

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

GHANA BEAT GUINEA NOT ONCE BUT TWICE IN THE QUALIFYING BOTH AT CASABLANCA AND IN TAMALE. HOWEVER, TO BEAT A TEAM THE THIRD TIME CAN BE TRICKY SO GHANA SHOULD BE CAREFUL. JORDAN AYEW SHOULD BE DROPPED BECAUSE OF HIS SELFISH PL ...

• Truthtalk 9 years ago

Kofi stop your lying. The match in Casablanca against Guinea was 1-1 draw. BS won in Tamale on the return leg 3-1.

• BRO DAN -TRC 9 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA; YEA; -'BLACK STARS OF GHANA'- IT IS -'RESTORATION TIME! THE RESTORATION OF SOCCER DESTINY O' AFRICA!! THEREFORE MAY WE BY -'THE ...

• Sam 9 years ago

Now am scared. Anytime ppl like you start your writing with this kind of greeting, Ghana always loose. Somebody did it in world cup and Ghana lost, please stop this kind of greeting

• Arthur Gabriel 9 years ago

Bring it home my boys i know you are capable of it.God should guide you through.

• Paa 9 years ago

I think they should have used, a "fair play system" no. of fouls, no. of yellow cards and no. of red cards instead of random draw. well, wishing GBS GOOD LUCK.

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

Stars, rise your play to the next two notch. PLS GUYS DEFENSE and get the balls to the attackers and strikers

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

RAISE AND RISE HAWA

• Patricia Otto 9 years ago

Ghana will beat Guinea end of the road for Guinea

• cyril 9 years ago

tank God for ma
    king it possible Ghana w
    I'll beat Guinea

• Abass Napuna 9 years ago

it is not fair for Mali. at least the should have known this before the competition and should be done is such case.anyway, new thing learnt.

• bur williams 9 years ago

ghana for the cup.

trust me

• bur williams 9 years ago

ghana for the cup.
    ttust me!

• KOMLAN.N.TSAKLIDJI 9 years ago

Go for win Ghana, just go for win.go go go for win all the way, God bless Ghana.
    JORDAN is not needed in the the half plzzzzzzzzz.

• Papa Quat 9 years ago

Ghana will shork the whole world

• Djivon Eric 9 years ago

I think Ghana will do well in their next game.But the stars should not look down upon their opponent.God bless Ghana.

• MICHAEL BOYE MARQUAYE 9 years ago

What a draw, Ghana plays Guinea in AFCON Quarter finals, what a draw. Ghana at the moment is playing some fantastic football and have proved time and time and again that they are not pushover. They are playing with determin ...

• The Saint 9 years ago

Sorry Ghana is coming home. It was revealed to me.

• RICHMOND BOATENG USA 9 years ago

SORRY GHANA IS GOING TO WIN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.

• Michael Boye Marquaye 9 years ago

How on earth can you say Ghana will be beaten by Guinea, some Ghanaians are really unpatriotic, i mean i have some friends in abroad who are not ghanaians but they send me messages wishing Ghana every success against Guinea w ...

• Santaclausian, Croydon 9 years ago

hello Michael, look, it's all about quality not quantity. What we all try to do in this forum is summarise out points of view and put it across. Your piece is too long and stating what we all know. Tell us something informati ...

• Inusah 9 years ago

God will atone for your sufferings of Ebola.You will be victorious on Sunday by his grace.Amen

• Jonas Ansah 9 years ago

Drawing lots is crazy, they should have played penalties instead. CAF, stop this stupid idea and let penalties decide stalemates like this

• Kofi Agyemang, USA 9 years ago

Black Stars should play with full force right from the beginning but not the way they played from the beginning with Senegal as if each one of them had eaten six balls of "Banku" before the start of the game.

• Bennet Gariba 9 years ago

The game is now getting better so friend let us get ready for beautiful football, Ghana will surely beat Guinea.

• bobostone 9 years ago

In this day and age, we still cast lots to determine the winner of a tough competition such as this? Is this the norm? Why not use penalties or extra time? Somebody should enlighten me on this because I do not understand why ...

• Saint Anthony. 9 years ago

It will happen live.

• KENKEY DEY 9 years ago

For this game, they should drop Jordan for Kwesi appiah. Did you see how the last game, as soon as he came in he was looking sharp and almost scored? jordan is lazy

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

I was very worried and sad watching Stars wasting 14 good corner kicks and many important free kicks.As for our poor crossings,there is nothing to write home about.We can end up in penalty shoot outs so the stars should stop ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

I DONT THINK GHANA CAN BEAT GUINE EASY ON THIER HOME SOIL,1-1 IN MORROCO AND 3-1 IN TEMALE,OUR DEFENDERS SHOULD PLAY A VERY THIGHT GAME BECARFUL FOR PENALTY,GHANA,2-,GUINE,O

• jamp 9 years ago

just be happy Guinea is our old bitch we can fuck them anytime we want.

• Bangarlee sylla 9 years ago

I mean the Guinean team is not a walk over at the park ... But at this stage of the tourney , what team is anyway ? I'm just saying no team looks like a runaway winner at this tourney ... One thing I know is the Guineans have ...

• Inusah 9 years ago

God is fair in his distribution.It is now the turn of Guinea to win the cup to atone for their suffering of Ebola.

• CHAKA, USA. 9 years ago

You've been missing in action. What's up? Dad doing alright? Give him my regards.

• K. DANIEL, KPASSA 9 years ago

Ghana must take this cup at all cost.

• Gyan jnr 9 years ago

4 ds match...Gyan#3# ll score a brace..y'all shud mark ma words nd tip me afta d match...Gyan#3# power!!!!

• Eric 9 years ago

God help ghana

• Mapikidinho jr 9 years ago

Wishing Ghana all the best

• skeezy kwabena agyen 9 years ago

ghana will beat guinea n qualify

• David akologo 9 years ago

Ghana will win de cup