You are here: HomeSports2014 09 10Article 325247

Atsu goal sees Ghana past Togo in AFCON qualifier

Read Comments Comments (131)

• kuffour 9 years ago

good selection

• Daniel 9 years ago

Though, I do not know very much about this goalkeeper Stephen Adams, I hope he would handle his responsibilities well.

• kosh 9 years ago

this appiah is a joke,hes been a blackstar coach for over two years but stil dont have a number one.i hope we lose so he can get the sack.

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

So if Ghana is beaten, Akwasi Appiah will find another Goal-keeper. What a useless Coach.

When is someone going to ask him to take responsibility of our failure instead of trying to put it on the players.

We were here a ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Oh my nephew, don't invest too much in Blackstars at the moment. The team is emotionally empty.

Muntari's leadership is needed and Adams is a better goalkeeper than Fatau

• Leeeee 9 years ago

the ball keeps bouncing around.

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

LOL- They are the 'soul' of the Nation just like the golden stool is the soul of the soul of the Asantes. Without them, we are nothing. That is why I get headaches with what Appiah and GFA is doing to them.

For our leaders ...

• DAVI 9 years ago

OUT OF FIELD ISSUES ARE AFFECTING THE BLACK STARS PERFORMERS AND NDC MUST TAKE POLITICS OUT OF SPORT.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

When we wanted independence they said NO ,Republic NO ,Atomic Energy NO ,Ghana Airways NO ,Ghana Telecom NO ,Akosombo NO ,Thermal Energy NO ,Tema Harbour and dry Docks NO ,Oil exploration NO ,Sugar Factory NO ,Constitution NO ...

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 9 years ago

I KNOW WITH AA IN CHARGE THERE WAS NO WAY GH WOULD WIN THIS. SO DID WE WIN WITH MILO THEN? SCHLUPP MUST BE USED AS A DESIGNATED STRIKER LIKE GEDO. LET RAHMAN, KASA PLAY ON THE LEFT. AFFUL N ATSU ON THE RIGHT. THIS IS WAT AA S ...

• Zorro 9 years ago

I told you everything you publish in ghanaweb is senseless. we talking about soccer then you riding into politics. why do you hate nana addo so much, what the fuck is wrong with you?

• Frank 9 years ago

Yes muntari should have slapped your father. Local fool.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Who is going to control the defensive midfield? Only Muntari could play as both a defensive and attacking midfielder. With this selection, I hope Kwadwo Asamoah can do that because I don't trust Agyeman Badu in that position. ...

• NEW BORTIANR 9 years ago

5 BEDROOM HOUSE FOR SALE(New Bortianor)
    5 Bedrooms documented and litigation free house on 100ft/100ft plot FOR SALE at New Bortianor....

3 Master Bedrooms
    2 Standard Rooms
    1 Big Hall
    2 Guest Wash Rooms
    1 Kitchen
    Sli ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 9 years ago

GHANA-1 -------TOGO-1

• kuffour wo maame twe 9 years ago

all the ewes are supporting the togolese

• Glo 9 years ago

That is not true. Please check your facts and be intelligent enough not to make such sweeping generalizations. Let us all learn to leave ethnicity out of everything. Ewes are Ghanaians whether you like it or not. I am not sur ...

• Daniel 9 years ago

I wish the Ghana Black Stars well. I hope that the coach has made the right choice in the selection of his players for this tournament in Lome, Togo.

• GEORGE 9 years ago

It is sad that we are still doing try an error. Any way i wish the players good luck. They will be successful this time.

• roy , usa 9 years ago

Can somebody advice the this coach to have his permenant first team. Very sad. No spirit in this squad, but all the best

• Yakubu 9 years ago

It tells you the coach does not know what he is doing. Just trying any combination to see what will work in a competitive match?

• Den 9 years ago

I hope this would be Akwasi Appiah's last match in charge.The man has never coached a football team not even a kindergarten P.E class.We need a coach.Also,can the GFA disband the entire blackstars?make it a privilege to play ...

• VL 9 years ago

Den,
    Now what? Hold your negative energy, the game is not over till the fat lady sings.

• anokwale 9 years ago

His choice of starting Badu was a good one. The Baba choice at left back worked out. Awal had a good game at CB so that initial selection was key. Adams did well considering he saved the first goal and the Togolese player ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

Depth is important. If we are really a football nation, we should be able to field quality up to about even 40 players deep. If we are scared of Togo then we do not belong. I think the substitutions he made are correct. A ...

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

The football field in Africa is so bad good players can not do the same as in Europe.I watched only the second half and I saw field was bad.

• Joey 9 years ago

i think Adam is a good choice, bcos fatau has proven not be good enough.

• RICHMOND BOATENG USA 9 years ago

LET US WE ALL PRAY FOR THE TEAM OUR
    BLACK STAR

• BRO DAN-TRC 9 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA; THE LORD BE WITH -THE BLACK STARS OF GHANA. YEA, THE GREAT NATIONAL TEAM OF TOGO AND THE BLACK STARS OF GHANA; -"PLAY SKILFULLY ...

• Tanko 9 years ago

Why is this man not Schlupp instead of Afful? Please what is up with Appiah?

Agree Appiah is waste of space for leaving Schlupp out

• Tanko 9 years ago

Please play Schlupp instead of Afful

• Analyst 9 years ago

I don't think you watched the match against Uganda. In that match Schlupp did not show much creativity to justify his inclusion.
    Also, Afful has not taken Schlupp's position - he has only maintained his position as right ba ...

• Nii Shamo 9 years ago

The EPL resumes this weekend. Schlupp is gone back to play for Leicester, so is not available anyway.

• Analyst 9 years ago

Currently, Fatau is not fit to be even the number 3 goalkeeper for Ghana. Before going to South Africa, he was clearly the best goalie we had but he has destroyed his career by going to South Africa to sit on the bench for ov ...

• Gomoa Dahom 9 years ago

That is excellent, we need to try all the players at our disposal. I hope Adams will live up to expertation and continue be our no. one stoper.

• anokwale 9 years ago

To be honest, we might as well try all our talents. Every time we hype up certain players they get complacent and dissapoint. I think the solution to our inconsistency is to keep it mixed.

• john akpa 9 years ago

Christian Atsu should play on the left. Few left footers can play on the right. Jordan could play on the right with Andre Ayew partnering Gyan.

• kojo 9 years ago

good point

• Nokwarehene 9 years ago

Considering the crosses we get from Afful, I think he should be considered for the right out position. After all he's too skinny and too short to be an excellent defender anyway. When all these defenders return from injuries, ...

• Opoku 9 years ago

I still think they are wasting the previous Accam by starting Jordan before him.David has a better pace and is more versatile than Jordan.

• we have to wake up 9 years ago

i prefer to see j ayew and majid warries to start insted of a gyan

• Wake Up? 9 years ago

Kwasea, if you drop Gyan, who is going to be scoring the goals for you: Jordan?
    When was the last time Warris scored anything: Ghana-Egypt in Kumasi?

Let's be honest, if you don't want to start Gyan, don't even bother to ...

• Ebo Bilson 9 years ago

Nonsense. If warris, Gyan Accam have had the solid midfielders we had in the persons of sule, Essien, Badu, Annan, Derek Boateng etc these young boys would have done better than the dancer & crucial penalties misser.
    Gyan is ...

• Ebo Bilson 9 years ago

If warris, Jordan and accam

• COMMON SENSE 9 years ago

ADAMS THIS YOUR TIME DONT BLOW IT,WE SUPPORT YOU.

• anokwale 9 years ago

He can basic secure his spot as the starting goalie.

• Schalke Fan 9 years ago

Bad luck does not follow him like that maraboue infested Dauda,he`ll do.
    We`ve won the match but the training job is still in trail and error situation.

• Ogyam 9 years ago

We condemn everyone and every decision. This behavior has and does not support prosperity and progress. If we are to complaint and criticize every decision of situations we cannot handle ourselves, then we are not true citiz ...

• Nii from Mamprobi 9 years ago

AA..smh....

• OYIWA 9 years ago

With the partisanship and recklessness of looting, the Black Stars would never be the same again. It has suffered severely under the Mahama NDC gov't.

• DAVI 9 years ago

Smart guy,you have very good understanding of the B.S.Situation.

• Boss 9 years ago

Absolutely disgraceful.

• Kenkey Warriors!! 9 years ago

....brainless AA must go. The guy is indecisive and incoherent when he gives excuses for non performance. He must go.

• DAVI 9 years ago

Inpatient,Hate and Envy is showing on your Face.

• Campaign Against Corruption 9 years ago

The score is currently 1-1

• Josh4real 9 years ago

its 2-1 against togo now. Damn it!

• Koopia 9 years ago

Togo 2 Ghana 2

• Koopia 9 years ago

ghana winning

• naija boy 9 years ago

I love black stars but if a lost is only way out for the coach, I'm all for bad lost. God bless future black stars with a new, ideal and competent coach

• Nijaboy 9 years ago

You are a real fool trying to cause disaffection amongst two brotherly nations. From the radio programme i listened to in lagos today, you would be surprised to know that almost all the callers wanted Ghana to win. When Ghana ...

Kwasi Appiah should retain his job. All the rest are bounty hunters and should be sent back home!

• Ringo Watusi 9 years ago

Yes,yes and yes! Akwasi Appiah is Ghana`s hope and is staying. Forget about all those canvasing for his removal. Most of them only want to see the white man train their team irrespective of whether he is good or not.What they ...

• DAVI 9 years ago

AMEN.

• Praygod mmbando 9 years ago

Asamoah gyan is the best stirker in africa and he must play in england for better achievements. Likewise ghana national team under asamoah gyan will do better in 2018 world cup if not to win the tittle

• skillions 9 years ago

Ghanaian language is not technical

• fish 9 years ago

Appiah sucks, Atsu is useless ,Jordan is tired. Adebayor pressing us

• Rasheed 9 years ago

I can coach more than Appiah.

• anokwale 9 years ago

He stuck with Atsu and it paid off.

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Did you watch the match?,Appiah does not know what he is doing?. Right now, Uganda is leading the group, and we are going to meet Guinea away. We need to sack appiah, in order to qualify.

• Jasper 9 years ago

Back up Black stars

African nations will win the world cup tittle when special one jose morinho will lead one of african national team

Tanzania will qualify for AFCON when CUF will ensure right to all nations.

• elorm 9 years ago

bien fait pour le togo

• Bolga STRONGMAN 9 years ago

...ce bon pour le morale,et ça peut te intéresser,méme le BLACK STARS n'aurait pas apprécie que UGANDA à battu le GUINEA 2-0...

• CRANES FAN 9 years ago

UGANDA IS LEADING GUINEA 2-0 IN NAMBOOLE-KAMPALA. It's half-time. Uganda is on fire and Ghana survived in Kumasi without Cranes Striker Massa who has already scored two goals against Guinea.

• Africanus 9 years ago

You Ugandans showed up in Ghana at the right time. You were just lucky. The next time we meet you, whereever it may be, it won't be the same. Just count yourselves lucky.

• Nun 9 years ago

2-2

• CRANES FAN 9 years ago

UGANDA 2-GUINEA 0 (HALF-TIME)
    MASSA- 22ND MINUTE
    MASSA- 43RD MINUTE

• PHARAOHS FAN 9 years ago

CAIRO: EGYPT 0, TUNISIA 1.
    35 MINUTES GONE.

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Appiah must go!

• OGOGLO QUARTER! ! 9 years ago

I NEED A COACHING JOB.SERIOUS...$50,OOO @ MOUTH FOR MILO!!! I'LL TAKE $38,000...OR 35,000,PLUS MISS GHANA 2015..BINGOOOO!!!

• lol 9 years ago

kwasi appiah why do u always put wakaaso at the bench idiot

• Ahem 9 years ago

Looks like Appiah's head will soon be on the chopping block. With the absence of Muntari, KPB, Essien and Kwarasey, the glory days of the Black Stars are over, thanks to the proud and foolish Appiah. He better pray hard that ...

• Kenkey Warriors!! 9 years ago

Nyatankyi and AA must go!

• The Israelites 9 years ago

FINAL SCORE LINE!!!!!

• famous 9 years ago

go ghana

It seems that for the time being the enemies of Coach Kwasi Appiah are gone with the wind.

• Kasa Harri 9 years ago

This was the filla milo gave to Appiah via txt message

• Patriot 9 years ago

Appiah's saving grace is the appointment of a technical advisor. He couldn't have done it on his own.

Nobody hate him personally, he is just not up to the standard of a coach to our Stars.It has nothing to do with being his enemy b`cos we want our Stars to shine and not to fade out as we are doing under his watch.
    D ...

• Assas 9 years ago

Ghana has beaten Togo. We are all happy. But that does not change the equation. Stupid Akwasi Appiah should still go, for the Stars to realise their full potentials under a better Ghanaian coach like Silas Tetteh.

• DAVI 9 years ago

You insult A.A.and want a Whiteman as a Coach and respect YOU.YOU GUYS MUST BE GRETAFUL AND PATIENT.

• Simon Ampadu 9 years ago

This performance of the players is super.they should keep on training very hard.

• TOUCHLINE 9 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS, MILO.

• Ahem 9 years ago

You must be crazy. Who says Milo or Olvatine or whatever his name is is the new coach?

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

Which country or club is he coaching. waste of money

• JOHN AKPA 9 years ago

No tugging!! Players these days tug and hold and think the referee cannot see it.

• S.k 9 years ago

Why Ghanaian so crazy about 'Milo'. When he was in charge Ghana was scoring no goal. Trust me things would have been worse if he had taken Ghana to the World Cup this time around. When is the black man going to learn to handl ...

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashid(OH. USA) 9 years ago

1) Akwasi Appiah never learns...lol Why did he get Andre Ayew out instead of his younger brother Jordan when Jordan was visibly tired.

2) Atsu out for Wakaso ? How? When Atsu was a thorn in the Togolese defense.

3) Wha ...

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

Is that a football field to play football

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Alhaji, Appiah is a "trial and error" coach who keeps on changing selection at whims and caprices. I don't blame clueless Appiah, but that ugly gangrenous boy called Ntantakyie. He is the one giving us headaches. Just lo ...

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashid(OH. USA) 9 years ago

My dear Rasheed,to start with I really miss you.

We are really in trouble, with the tactical knowledge or lack thereof of this Appiah guy.

Come to Nyantakyi, I am really surprised, people see him otherwise or he has c ...

• Seaman UK 9 years ago

retire John Boye a CIA agent he is money conscious he took bribe He is the weakest link in the team. Please reyire him enough

• Oheneba 9 years ago

Well done AA well done BS

• obed sakyiamah 9 years ago

they hav done wel they should keep it

• CHAIRMAN 9 years ago

When will Ghanaians ever become appreciative and support ourselves instead of the expatriates and their one goal projects? We will always go for IMF bailout, no wonder. Blame Afriyie Ankrah and Akwasi Appiah for Ghana's perfo ...

• CHAIRMAN 9 years ago

WELL DONE APPIAH, YOU WILL EXCEL IN UGANDA AND GUINEA AND TOP THE GROUP. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF.

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Don't bet on that clueless coach.

• CHAIRMAN 9 years ago

Don't trust the expatriates as well. We need to help our local coaches by our support than always going for bailout from football IMF. They take big sums of dollars yet end up nowhere-Rasheed

• Rasheed 9 years ago

I don't care if it is white or black, provided, that person can perform better than clueless and hopeless Appiah. Look,Appiah is still fumbling ,because with the kind of world class players we have, we should be winning li ...

Among 25 million people I don`t think that Appiah is the only one who can coach our Stars,we can give others some chances.Appiah has been too long on the job with nothing to show,only heartaches.

• Promise Son 9 years ago

Stop these nonsense and support the man with a good heart. How many of these men you are talking about is doing anything extraordinary in the local league, and what have they been doing when given the local BS? All you guys a ...

• BOATENG USA 9 years ago

Appiah admits challenges in Stars goalkeeping department

• Evans Dzamefe 9 years ago

How many times have u seen Jordan's underpants ? He intentionally let his pants
    hang down & every 5 mins pulls it up when it draws further down. In the modern era he is the only player l see doing this at the international ...

• Ghana 9 years ago

God bless our homeland Ghana. And make our nation great and strong!

• VL 9 years ago

Congratulations Black Stars. Go all the way.

• Ahem 9 years ago

Thanks to Christian Atsu, Appiah's hide was saved.

• Gom 9 years ago

We have forgiven you! Go for the gold always!

• Akamai 9 years ago

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

LONG TIME WE SAW BADU TO PLAY,BADU,JORDAN ATSU,AFRIYIE,ITS MY BEST BOYS

• A concerned citizen 9 years ago

Badu was used because of Milo because Appiah best is Rabiu

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

I trust this guy, he is good. I want to change his name from AWFUL TO AWESOME. Pick any eleven stones and call them Black Stars, they will do exploits if appearance fee wasn't the matter.

• Whatever 9 years ago

When you're playing an away match, some naive home teams normally stage miscalculated attacks and give you space at the back for you to exploit. That was the gift Togo handed to us. That is not going to happen when we play a ...

• CHRIS HESSE NY 9 years ago

IT WAS A SHAME GHTV COUILD NOT TELECAST
    GHANA/TOGO LIVE.IT WAS A BIG SHAME INDEED.
    GOD BLESS KWAME INKRUMA AND OHENE GYAN IN MEMORY.
    THEY MADE FOOTBALL ATTRACTIVE THAT MADE BABAYARA,ADDO ADAMETEY,MFUM AND OTHERS PLAYED WIT ...

• kodjo 9 years ago

not names, now ewes can score goal not only being a carpenter or a masion

• kodjo 9 years ago

• A concerned citizen 9 years ago

winning Togo's match should not be used as a yard stick to retain Appiah..more harm has already been done before and after the world cup which remains unresolved..Appiah must go

• WILLIAM CECIL 9 years ago

The coach is now getting wiser than when he said he wanted the opponents to wear out before fielding his best. Silly but now wise??