You are here: HomeSports2014 08 02Article 319504

Ghana athletes threaten to seek asylum in Scotland

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

IT IS ABOUT TIME THE PREZ SOUGHT ASYLUM IN USA TOO

• Linda 9 years ago

This nonsense is getting to be too much. Seeking asylum because of not getting all the amount owe you is childish & ridiculous. Scotland will never grant your outrageous demand for asylum.

• A Osei. 9 years ago

Disgrace to Ghana, this silly things is closing it doors on another athletes, the only good thing that cimes out of this nonsense is bronze, out of how many people, u guys sucks.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

SO EVERYTHING IS ABOUT MONEY IN GHANA NOW? WHERE ARE THOSE DAYS WHEN WE RUN AND ALSO PLAY FOOTBALL FOR OUR COMUTY AND REGION WITH SOAKED KENKEY, GLUCOSE AND ORANGES AS OUR ONLY REWARD? BLAME THE NDC ECONOMY ,EVERYTHING IS BAD ...

• SHAMO 9 years ago

MR AKONFEM PREZ PLEASE DONT COME TO GHANA! BECAUSE OF YOU GHANAIANS ARE RUNNING AWAY, USE THAT TO SEEK ASSYLUM YOURSELF

• Belinda 9 years ago

After fighting his father's age, the disrespectful and incompetent GOC / Athletics president has poured his heartless attitude on the athletes to the extent of them seeking asylum

• Kofi Nti 9 years ago

Our participation in these tournaments are always huge loss to the nation. With the ailing economy why don't we stop all these loss-making participation and use the money education?

• THE DRONE 9 years ago

...THEIR MERE FACES EVEN TELL YOU THAT THEY ARE NOT THERE TO DO ANY GOOD RUNNING...

• ME 9 years ago

The Athletes are not respected at all,footballers received huge amount at the WC in Brazil,but at the end they were at the bottom of the table.

• ROY 9 years ago

Ghana should withdraw from participation in sports until such time that the Government can afford the allowances to be paid to the sportsmen and sportswomen. They are making Ghana a laughing stock all over the world.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

The per diem idea is a legacy from John A. Kufuor.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Let's save this money because whether we give it to them or not, those intending to seek asylum have their minds made up.

Give it to them at Kotoka Airport when you come back.

• Tweaa 9 years ago

What a bunch of opportunistic feeders who want to exploit this mishap as a way to stay in Glasgow.

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go.ASAP! 9 years ago

USELESS Mahama will goal. Downn as the most incompetent President in Ghana history. His impeachment is coming very soon. What a crass excuses of a joke! Pay the athletes their fucking money!

• ASYLUM 9 years ago

NO, FRANK, WE SHOULD SEND HIM TO DUBAI WHERE HE HAS HIS $1 BILLION HIDDEN.

OR EVEN BETTER, WE SHOULD VOTE HIM OUT IN 2016, ARREST HIM, PROSECUTE HIM AND JAIL HIM FOR CORRUPTION, LARCENY AND FINANCIAL LOSS TO THE STATE.

• EFO KOKU 9 years ago

If the country is hot for you, pack your things & leave. The country is hot for these athletes and I think they are doing what Gen. Nunoo Mensah has asked them to do.

• makwasi 9 years ago

Ghanaians just forgot what transpired in Brazil. Same thing same thing.

• Management fools 9 years ago

Sack Nyantakyi, Appiah, Dodoo, Galley, Mahama, Amissah, Wampah and Terkper.

• DAVI 9 years ago

No no,we should sack the NDC gang,because the only language NDC gang understands is force.J.J.Rawlings the founder is bad luck to the Nation.BETTER GHANA INDEED.

• DAVID 9 years ago

DAVI, YOU ARE A FOOL.
    DON'T BE POLITICAL.
    A BAD MANAGER IS A BAD MANAGER.

FIRE THE NIGGAS, REGARDLESS OF THEIR PARTY.

ANYWAY, WHICH ON THE LIST IN NOT NDC?
    CAN YOU NAME THEM?
    CAN YOU PROVE IT?
    STAND FOR COUNTRY, NO ...

The culture of per diem is a legacy from 8 years of Kufuor administration

• apuuu 9 years ago

here we go again what is wrong with this government can get his ass together what a shame

• Adwoa 9 years ago

What a GOC president! Francis Dodoo is a big disgrace to Ghana and the Olympic family. A NOC president fighting at intl sporting event?

• kwami 9 years ago

You can demand for the full amount but to use the word asylum is backward and childish.. how is even that possible.. we need to educate our people.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Kwami Kwasea, when did ASYLUM in seeking REFUGE become backward and childish?
    You are mentally RETARDED.

• AdaBoy 9 years ago

Kwami is better informed than you.Why seek an asylum in a foreign country when you dont face persecution in your country of abode? The athletes are blackmailing their country,and they are bluffs.

• kwami 9 years ago

Thank you also need to be educated on this subject as well so that you guys can understand how one can seek asylum ans get approved but i don't think the players have the understanding about the news there are paddling around ...

Cash or not. They will still.seek asylum in Scotland! U forget Scotland dey chop pounds?

• Oburoniwewu 9 years ago

Well you are talking about 10 years ago.
    Things have changed. When you apply for asylum you will be locked up in a camp, which is basically a prison but they are not allowed to call it that.
    You will stay in there for year ...

Don't forget that they will be fed 3 meals a day a dog cared for if they get sick. They won't get this for free in Ghana...even with a fulltime job.

• Boss 9 years ago

Aduro. Why issue threats. Just do it. Lessons from Brazil.

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

Oh la la!

• Alah 9 years ago

The truth pertaining the World Cup in which Sulley and others were involved will definitely come to light slowly. These athletes have threatened to seek asylum if they are not paid fully. Similar situation that caused Sulley ...

• HOVAH 9 years ago

HERE WE GO AGAIN WITH THIS BULL. I GUESS THEY HAVENT LEARN ANYTHING FROM THE WACK ASS BLACK STARS HUH... THESE CLOWNS AINT LOYAL

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

Which (government) official deserves a slap in Scotland?

• Asibey 9 years ago

The writer is a fool

• Kwasea 9 years ago

..and your mother is very stupid

• Nana Kwesi 9 years ago

I think Ghana is a failed Nation Under Mahama Government.

• ASEM 9 years ago

NO ONE GETS PAID EASILY IN GHANA: TEACHERS, BLACKSTARS PLAYERS, ATHLETES, POLYTECHNIC LECTURERS, UNIVERSITY LECTURERS, DOCTORS, NURSES ETC. ONLY NDC GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS GET PAID. IDE BII KEKE !!
    BUT AFTER ALL THIS HARDSHIP ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

We should withdraw from these sporting completions. These non performing reps are disgracing Ghana

• Oburoniwewu 9 years ago

99.9% of them either came last or were disqualified .If they think the grass is greener on the other side they should try it and see how tough life is in Scotland and Europe as a whole on asylum seekers. Whether they would be ...

In Ghana the govt is stupid, clueless and don't see humans as wealth but walking carcasses. In scotland, the govt sees an immigrant as wealth that can contribute to gdp and treats them as such.....a number.

What do the authorities on the ground say?

Ghana may have to stop aponsoring participation in all foreign sporting activities.

• Abongo 9 years ago

How many medals have you won for Ghana since the game started idiots

• Pelicles 9 years ago

What is wrong with these Ghanaians? What do they know about Scotland? That country is "drier" than Ghana and I will bet that the government will never accept their asylum.

• Wayome 9 years ago

You don`t deserve the remainder. You can go ahead with your asylum claims. You cannot hold the country to ransom. What have you done to deserve $3500.00 per diem?. Where is the patriotism? you guys failed woefully at the comm ...

Who asked the min of.sports, ioc to send these athletes to the games? Most.lf these athletes went there with forged do times. Others simply went under the guise of athletes to seek greener pastures. So who do u blame?

• Kwame 9 years ago

The Scotish Immigration Authorities should prosecute and jail them for fraud.

• akua 9 years ago

What a useless bunch, you got a plane to Scotland to come and hold your country to randsome over per diem. People have worked hard in Ghana and have not even been paid their salaries. What have you done in this games to rewar ...

• Mereku 9 years ago

Jesus christ!!!! Why would Daily Guide publish such a false story? The issue of per diem is easily verifiable. Several radio stations are reporting all allowances were paid on schedule.

Oh oh oh. Some will drag the name of ...

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

No need going back pls.
    Ebola await u.
    Seek asylum with Ebola.

• papa mensa sampson 9 years ago

there is something about officials always ffs players etc into international games. we just witness the black bullshit not quiet long ago and now the commonwealth games too group. hope the president wouldnt flew up a plane of ...

• DARK DAYS IN GHANA 9 years ago

Ghana government must impose a ban on all international sporting competitions for soccer and athletic competitions.Only participate in competitions in African countries. Do not waste the nations funds on athletes who cannot w ...

• ,, 9 years ago

This is the MOST stupid report of a newspaper.
    Instead this paper should educate us on what seeking asylum entails

• JOJO 9 years ago

NO FUTURE FOR GHANA STAY AWAY AS YOU CAN SINCE GHANA LEADERS ARE BUNCH OF THIEVES

• JJ 9 years ago

With all these trouble escalating in Ghana sport, poor leadership is to blame.

• joe pat seattle 9 years ago

let put it very simple, its the fact,let face with. a ghana man with teaspoon of atwoodo medication in europe would rather drink the medication than going back to kintampo to pleed cassava. thats the real fac, no surprise, gu ...