You are here: HomeSports2014 06 27Article 314516

Blackstars Mess In Brazil, Blame The Government

Read Comments Comments (112)

• Queen 9 years ago

Ghana is now the butt of jokes, just saw Jimmy Kimmel poking fun at our players & the loaded cash

• moyo 9 years ago

The whole of GFA are criminals and earlier they leave the GFA the better. We have to petition the FIFA to the honorable thing by sacking Nyantakyi if he refuse to go.

• Aziz 9 years ago

The Minister for sports and his deputy should be sacked and the government sanctioned for interfering in. GFA affairs.

• Whateverl 9 years ago

Do you even know that Government is not suppose to interfere with football administration in Ghana? The Government is even helping so the buffoonery stop. The SELF-DESTRUCTION button was pushed by the players THEMSELVES. Foot ...

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

Fuck off, then why all these stupid ndc Brazil? Why did tbe government got itself involved by providing the budget for the team? Tell me where the over nine million dollars the government supposedly gave to the team at, you ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

You don't even know what a budget is? A Budget is a PLAN. To Budget doesn't mean the money is already there. To budget means is to PLAN on how to raise revenue and how the revenue is going to be used based on TIMELINES. IGNOR ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

You are really a fool. Show us here where the GFA requested the government to help them with money.

Let me show you how the government is the one interfering in gfa affairs. In the 2010 world cup, it was the Sports Ministe ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Do you even know the difference value between $770,000 and $3m? WABON DODO. And you don't even know that when the GFA prepares its budget and indicate in it that the funds is coming from the state, they sent it to the sports ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

What three million is this illiterate fool talking about? GFA can finance itself without government interference but this stupid government has made the Blackstars as if it is the Ministry of Blackstars.

Your illiteracy fa ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Government took that 14 million because they were the ones which bore the investment in the black stars campaign 2010. And to your ignorant ass, as for what time I sleep , is that your concern or the person I sleep with, is t ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Illiterate fool, who told you I care about you foolish maggot? You can go and hug a transformer or swallow a bullet and safe the world the air your stupid self is wasting, you smelly fool. Yes I know you are making your money ...

• Davi kweku 9 years ago

Damnn!! Bro ye dur.

...the Sports Minister who led the delegation to South Africa who received the price for Blackstairs..Wow!

• Obouba 9 years ago

Nothing can be hidden except the truth. The leaders always keep on hanging the truth in the air and release the lies to us, mmmmmmmmmmmm God is coming soon, you Satan Companies.

• Markus 9 years ago

Hi, im Markus from germany. Im coming to ghana in October for vacation. Im looking for 3-5 dominant men which use me as human toilet and force to give blow job to their dogs. my skype: alte.petze

• Kofi Ntaaba 9 years ago

I am a voter for the President, but frankly! Are the President, GFA and Sports Ministry serious? Why did they have to go into panic mode, made matters worse and disgraced the nation?
    The President needs no committee to tell ...

• Whateverl 9 years ago

The self-destruction button was pushed by the Blackstar players themselves. At that highest level of the sport, it is played by instinct so if you allow your mind to wander unto money, and become fixated on it, it enters from ...

• Man Ghana 9 years ago

The love for our black Stars should not cloud our reasoning. When they were agitating for cash did they not know it would be taxed? If they truly didn't know that after years of plying their skills in Europe then it partly ex ...

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

They want to blame Sulley Muntari for the bad behavior of the officials who accompanied the team to Brazil. Why so many officials? Why should the sports ministry send over 30 officials?

• Asare 9 years ago

You show the world what was wrong in our sport administrations.
    Most Ghanaians does not confront officials and this has led to all this. They want to be respected if even they are doing the wrong thing. This must stop ones a ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Your solution is not new.....most of the people at the GFA have some playing experience too....

The problem is the Ghanaian - soldier go, soldier go come :)

Change your mentality.

• ABC 9 years ago

Yes, why take so many officials to Brazil? What kind of support did they give to the players? And is it a crime to be outspoken? Muntari voiced the questions that were on player's mind. And please, all those of you who are sa ...

• Palmwine Tapper 9 years ago

GHs. wants to this declaration LOUD and CLEAR to any DUMB ASS:
    GHs FULLY SUPPORT MUNTARI & KEVIN Boateng. The CORRUPT New Media needs to DEAL w/ it.

• montesqui 9 years ago

@Nana Yaw I heard it was over 50 officials

• Okwatrokwa Se 9 years ago

THE PLAYERS SHOULD DO THE JOB FOR GHANA AND LET SELECTED MEMBERS CHOP FOR NO WORK DONE. DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE - THESE PROFESSIONAL PLAYERS ARE NOT DUMP LIKE US IN GHANA, THEY ARE EXPOSED TO THE CIVILIZED WORLD.

• HOT DAMN 9 years ago

OOOOOOOO MY GOD THIS GUY IS FUCKING SMART????

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

We hear .
    What's the name of the President ?

• readi 2 dye 9 years ago

Everything he touches turns to poison....he is the opposite of midas....sorry no more pepeni...we Shuda known.

• Iwan 9 years ago

Idiot come 2016 NPP will scrambling in the northern regions like vulture for votes. Stupid asshole

• OSO 9 years ago

Iwan you are very emotional.If you think someone speaks wrongly, don't haste to spit on your own face. Besides, he has his opinion just as you and he is an individual. Know also that our dear Dr Bawumia, so honorable; could l ...

Glad you asked. His name is CORRUPT Northener, Mahama

• Ham 9 years ago

Irresponsible use of public money is annoying, painful and frankly disgusting. Ghana is hugely embarrassed by this implosion and chaos... A country that boasts of intellect got it so wrong...PITY

• HOT DAMN 9 years ago

MADAME FUCKERS GFA & GOD DAMN Y'ALL!!!!

• JOJO 9 years ago

hopeless country, with a foolish president

• Asare 9 years ago

The country is not hopeless but it leaders

• Jigga 9 years ago

Well it's the leaders that made the country hopeless

• ABA 9 years ago

How would the government feel if FIFA had turned around and said instead of the $8 million we promised you we will give you $5 million. Do not blame the players but the government! They want to spend the money on themselves ...

• the prince uk 9 years ago

If you have corrupt governent and corrupt nyantakyi and his thieves cronies in power that is what you got. These idiots only cares about money money money but not Ghana no wonder they are been exposed in fixing Ghanaian match ...

• Abraham 9 years ago

Stupid writer why blaming Gorvernment on this issue.Do u know how much Money other countries spend on this World Cup...The Players must know that they in world stage moreover this is not their first time to be in this tournam ...

• Ajayi 9 years ago

Was money the bone of contention in the camp? are this players playing for money kevin and muntari knew that ghana will never make it to the second round so they need their money fast fast before anything can happen

IDIOT! What the FUCKING HECK have you been been Smoking?
    You really sound like a incoherent 2-yr. old. Go back to sch. will ya? My house dog has more brains than you. Take a hike, PUNK! Adults are talking.

• Kasahari 9 years ago

This has nothing to do with the Government.

The GFA is to blame and GFA is NOT government!!!!

Get your facts right!!!!

• Ghanaian Patriot 9 years ago

Why should the government get involve with GFA matters? FIFA don't want governments to interfer in world cup matters that is why it finance local football administration. This government is corrupt.

• Maks 9 years ago

Where was the Sports Minister in all the confusion. He should be held accountable.

• Paa Kwesi 9 years ago

Shame to Mahama and his Sports Ministry, Nyantakyi and his GFA. Unless this corrupt generation leaves the scene....., noting can go on well.

• Oteng.....USA 9 years ago

Ghana, please give him the chance. His mission for this country is not yet done. He has huge potential for this country. To me we must put the blame on:GFA, Sports Ministry, and the Government for failing to pay appearance fe ...

• Edward Addai-Munukum London 9 years ago

No planning no accountability. Ministers are good at it. They say anything and get away with it, only to find out later it is all pack of lies. $9million here, $2.3million there who is telling us the truth!

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA CORRUPT MAHAMA FOR YOU GHANA,JDM IS INSANE,COLLAPSING,SINKING GHANA,MAHAMA FOR YOU OOOOOO,2016 GHANIANS SHOULD WAKE UP,NANA ADDO/DOC BAWUMIA ALL THE WAAAAAAAY,PERIOD

• kafefe 9 years ago

you are right.the palyers have to get their money they work for it.

• kafefe 9 years ago

and what muntari did and said is right becouse the officia are even more then the players why?and they gain money more then the players what are they doing there in the first place?compare to the other developing countrie how ...

• bleckis 9 years ago

How much do other countries pay their players in Appearance fee ? How many officials did Germany and USA send at tax payers expense ?

• owurak 9 years ago

Why is it that Mahama`S administration is loaded with thieves.Mahama has given them lincense to steal from the people they are suppose to protect

• Nana 9 years ago

BLAME YOUR FATHER!!!NPP, when shall you learn?

• CARDINAL 9 years ago

You seem to be one bottle short of a six pack. Your discount intelligence card has expired. No need abusing a lobotomized patient like you.

• ABIE 9 years ago

MAY GOD BLESS U....
    WE WILL NEVER COME TO THAT IDIOT COUNTRY AGAIN UNTIL THEY SOLD THAT COUNTRY TO THE WHITE B4 NKWASEA NEAMA…….

• Roll one 9 years ago

Fire burn them babylon ministry

• kojo 9 years ago

Why don't you tell what happened in 2006

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Tell us what happened in 2006 because I have not come across any information that is worth informing readers.

That does not mean there was no scandal in the 2006 tournament but if you have any information, I need it becaus ...

• Adjaloo Kweku Nenya 9 years ago

Nobody should take this Author seriously because he does not know what he is talking about.

First of all, any government can put in place the best of policies and programs, but if those doing the execution are bogus, ther ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

"Nobody should take this Author seriously because he does not know what he is talking about."

Oh really?

"First of all, any government can put in place the best of policies and programs, but if those doing the executio ...

Those who ride on a horse of emptiness and exist in a literary world of limited vocabulary have the penchant to resort to insults. For that is the only weapon of choice as scarcity of ideas becomes a hindrance to unrestricted ...

• Botha 9 years ago

Sorry the guys response to your foolish comment have you dazed. You've been knocked out.

He went through your comment and exposed you as a brain dead fool. Just take a hike.

LOL. Brain dead? you wish u have half the brain gifted to me from heaven, Mr.Sarpong-lite

• Planner 9 years ago

OYIIWA ABA SO again n again n again

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

Ambolley Blay"Stealing from the Ghanaian's is called" Basin Sim qua do,Nyasam papa do,ola la pagede"

• wiseman 9 years ago

D on't blame mahama for this mess blame officials coz of their incomptency and their bruised egos and players greediness. Almost npp writers are full of shit everything is politics even if somebody hve constipation is maham ...

• Concerned citizenA 9 years ago

You call the Players as greedy? Are you just jealous of them or you being an ndc supporter is afflicted with the ndc infectious stupidity disease?

The money is from fifa to the Players and demanding what is yours is not gr ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Election fraud is causing all these failures. John Mahama and his gov't should get out of the scene else we're going nowhere!

• EMMA 9 years ago

Justice Sarpong, thanks for one of the best articles ever on this web.
    That money is not from Ghana Tax payers, but from FIFA and the player have the right to it. Why all these officials in Brazil? NDC GFA money chasers...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Thank you Emma. We should drag all these fools to court and recover taxpayers money for them.

• Town Sheriff 9 years ago

England, Spain, and Italy are out in the first round of the world cup so are we to say we are better than these powerfull nations? Football is sometimes luck which if not on a team's side it fails. Let's stop this unnecessary ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

Nothing good ever comes from the dark continent. The corrupt and morally bankrupt African is a curse to humanity. While the report from Brazil is disgraceful and complete embarrassment to a nation, this useless government ...

• Kofi Osman 9 years ago

Do we need to investigate what went wrong in Brazil? I do not think we do. The whole soccer world knows what went wrong in the Ghana camp. Let's fix it by firing people and replacing them with competent ones. We can additiona ...

• Yao Nkrumah 9 years ago

Yes, the total number of officials was 70, over 3x the BS players!! No wonder Muntari asked them what really they were there to do. Vermins, parasites, leaches, eating off the sweat of the players. Ayeekoo, Muntari. God bless ...

• SAY IT AS IT IS 9 years ago

All that i will say to you is you are one big a fool who does not really think even though you think you can think, anybody who have his or head on will know i am right because you don't really make sense.

• Aziz 9 years ago

Yes, he really will not make sense to you because you don't seem to understand English that well. What is it that doesn't make sense to you, son, maybe I can help you.

• NIPA 9 years ago

You do not make sense because Mahama can't be blamed.....he cannot do the job all by himself that is why his appointees such as the Minister of sports, and the Executives of the GFA. Mahama ca't be blamed for the fiasco, just ...

• Adjoa Yeboah 9 years ago

I have never blamed the stars, as I know they are entitled to that money. Shame on you GFA and government of Ghana. When will you IDOTS learns.
    How sad!

• Whateverl 9 years ago

Does this ignorant one even know that Government under fifa rules is not suppose to interfere with football administration in the country? So how does one blame Government which is even trying to help secretly? Ghanaians send ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Are you for real? Government transporting three million in a plane to Brazil which it talked to the press about is a secret to you mental ?

You didn't even know GFA is supposed to operate independently from government unti ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

I knew Government is not suppose to get involved in football from the very moment GFA adopted the law. Do you even know the series of episode which led to that... It was Yaw Ampofo Ankrah who chanced upon a letter whilst work ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Supposed, you illiterate fool. Who is judging? You the illiterate fool? Hahahahahahahahaha.

• Kwaku Owusu 9 years ago

Sarpong, why do keep calling others who disagree with you views as fools. As educated as you are, it is not prudent for you to be using such words just my two cents for now.

• joseph welbeck 9 years ago

Justice Sarpong, i dont know whom u are but may God bless u.The truth is the truth.This is the best and articulate article every Ghanaian shoud get chance to read.The most annoying thing also this stupid Tamakloe insisting Mu ...

• Don C. 9 years ago

Enough said already. The Country needs to clean up its act before Russia 2018, if the Black Stars qualify. We had our chances, but it was not meant to be.

• Peter 9 years ago

Oh Ghana, so corruption has eaten into every fabric of the Ghanaian society that officials do not care to wash their dirty pants in Brazil. If the so called officials who were sponsored with the tune of $9.6 million whereas F ...

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

My fellow, OKATAKYIE SARPONG, thanks for pointing out the obvious. The root cause of Ghana Black Stars implosion, and row with the GFA/Government officials over the bonus is due to GFA's inefficient management, leadership inc ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Do you even know that Government acting responsibly and getting involved to pay the players was an act of benevolence? You should show appreciation. Had the Government not done that for Fifa who happens to be the ones obliged ...

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

How did the NDC Government act responsibly? By airlifting cash from Ghana to pay the players in Brazil, in this day and age? Stop putting your mouth in front of your brain.

Get educated: It is understood that the GFA is d ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Lonto, you are too pristine, don't even respond to this Ndc paid rat couped up in a dusty room somewhere in Mamobi, Accra. Leave him for me to knock some sense into his illiterate empty head.

• Whatever 9 years ago

When foreign currency - hard cash - come into the country, where does it pass? When Banks buy foreign currency, where does it pass? At first I didn't want to respond to this ignorant response from you. That Money to be receiv ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

When foreign currency - hard cash - come into the country, where does it pass? When Banks buy foreign currency, where does it pass? At first I didn't want to respond to this ignorant response from you. That Money to be receiv ...

• OSO 9 years ago

How sleazy y'all have acted to embarrass yourselves and our nation.You have given me cause to say you are all liars and greedy bunch. Y ou know youselves who were involved in this STUPID act and I say therefore that all invol ...

• K Man 9 years ago

Why do people need to make sweeping comments about our own...comments that if an Obroni was writing would say were racist/prejudice..."useless africans" "no good comes from Africa" blah, blah.

Let's stop overeacting and pu ...

• gus 9 years ago

The GFA stinks like rotten fish

• Atta. k 9 years ago

Prosercute Kwasi Nyantakyi,fire Kwasi Appiah and dissolve Blackstars Star

• Kwaku Owusu 9 years ago

Atta, please double check the spelling of prosecute well.

• abena 9 years ago

Rather than blame the players , why not blame the officials. When are ghanaians going to demand that their officials do the right thing. What happened on the international stage was disgraceful, pitiful. Every time people dem ...

• Nana Quashie 9 years ago

Although I accept that there is corruption in this government and I know that many of their hanger-ons were travelling with the Blackstars and living it large when they do not deserve to or at the very least should be paying ...

• KHALID 9 years ago

ITS NOW THAT IM GETTING THE RIGHT INFORMATION

• nanakojo 9 years ago

Why do we always politicise issues in Ghana here?. We put players to perform for our country. They messed up. Then we blame government. Every stupid individual fails in life and guess what, he blames government. Its about ti ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Are you sick or something? Who politicized this tournament? Was it not the government official Deputy Sports Minister Yammin who said he will take Ndc supporters to Brazil? To your empty skull, that was not politicizing, huh? ...

• KWASI APPAU 9 years ago

GREAT ARTICLE, IF SULLEY HAD A GUN HE SHOULD HAVE SHOT THAT CHEATING FOOL. THE GFA AND GHANA GOVERNMENT ARE CORRUPT, THEY HAVE BEEN STEALING MONEY FROM THESE ATHLETES FOR A LONG TIME ITS ABOUT TIME SOMEONE EXPOSED THEM.THANKS ...

• bishop 9 years ago

thank you Kelvin and Muntari we need people like you in our society today for your actions have expossed the corruption done by these greedy so called officials,we are all behind you and i hope we all learn from our lessons, ...

• Kwasi Amo 9 years ago

THE SUPER NDC ARE TRUE CAPITAL THIEVES.WE STILL SUPPORT THEM BEING FOOLS.MAHAMA WILL RECIEVE "DRINK"FROM BRAZIL.WE THE "GOOD FOOLISH FOOLS OF GHANA NEED STAND UP FOR oUR DOLLARS.WE CALL THEM TO ACCOÜNT FOR.LET US MEET AT IN ...

• God's Word 9 years ago

Isaiah 59
    Sin, Confession and Redemption
    1 Surely the arm of the LORD is not too short to save, nor his ear too dull to hear. 2 But your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden his face from you, ...

• Greta 9 years ago

Greece players turn down World Cup bonus, ask PM to build training center instead.
    Ghana, Cameroon and Nigeria have exposed the character of the black man. Selfish, greedy, corrupt and incompetent.

• Pall timmotii 9 years ago

Many thanks Cardinal

• apia 9 years ago

JUST LEAVE HIM ALONE!

• Perpetual duncan-Williams 9 years ago

My comment is I don't care what goes on there...first of all they have to think about they conutry first...as for me I don't care about what goes on at the camp they have play well and win ...

• kwadwo 9 years ago

Y always football set as conflicting matters indis our country.huge sum of money like dis already gone in less dan a month.do de government really tink abt Sme of our people,bcos sme of our people do national assignment which ...

• asampana 9 years ago

all those apportioning blame of this brazil saga are nothing but npp followers. any slightest thing by the government they will not hesitate to drag in the name of the president. was president mahama the coach of the black st ...

• Areo 9 years ago

The idiot flew in the 3 million dollars to Brazil.Who do you wwant us to blame?