You are here: HomeSports2014 06 25Article 314243

Govt flies cash to pay Black Stars appearance fee

Read Comments Comments (84)

• AGYEMAN! 9 years ago

Doesn't this guy with a whole bunch of cash resemble Gen Mosquito? Okwasea bi nti!

• WHY NOW? AFRICAN MENTALITY? 9 years ago

Why wait till now? You see, no one trust any of you anymore! From fixing matches, to selections---- and from supporters organization to bonus payments! Everything is in an abysmal, shameful and embarrassing mess!

• GHFUO, heaven is NOT for fools!! 9 years ago

I HOPE THE PLANE CARRYING THE CASH IS AMBUSHED AND HIJACKED N ROBBED!

• True Speech 9 years ago

I'm happy NO winning bonuses will be paid. Afriyie Ankrah won't get any winning bonus. Thank you God.

• DAVI 9 years ago

EVEN GHANAIAN PLAYERS DON'T TRUST THE NDC GOV'T.THE NDC CAN MESS UP EVERTHING IN GHANA,BUT PLEASE LIVE OUR SOCCER ALONE,BECAUSE IT'S THE ONE SPORTS THAT CAN UNITIE US.

• KANAWU (U.S) 9 years ago

CARRYING PHYSICAL CASH TO PLAYERS. THAT IS WHY WE ARE ALWAYS THE SAME AND EVEN GOING BACK.

WE HAVE FORGOTTEN OF MALLAM ISSA IN KOFFOUR'S TIME WHEN MONEY WAS STOLEN. GFA DID NOT TAKE ANY POLICY ON THAT.

NOW NDC ARE DOIN ...

• GHFUO, 30seconds WC BLUNDER!! 9 years ago

What a shame!

• Abeikus 9 years ago

I agree with you 100%

• Agbovi 9 years ago

Agyeman,---Not resemble, He is Asiedu Nketiah.the multi-millionair.

• Black Man 9 years ago

I think the team has no problem waiting for their monies to be paid into their accounts but they simply don´t trust the FA because in Ghana you can´t even trust the Pres!! sad sad a shame"

• DAVI 9 years ago

Dumsoooo!Yaa Mahama ooooooo!Na Achriee,Animguase ene Nkomfem Nkoaa.THE NDC CAN NEVER DEVELOP GHANA WITH PROPAGANDA AND LIES.GHANAIAN WILL NEVER FORGIVE NPP,IF THE NPP PARTY DON'T SAVE THE NATION FROM THIS INCOMPETENT NDC GOV' ...

• the prince, UK 9 years ago

Asiedu Nketia holding all this money he cannt even see where he is going. oh dear mother Ghana what can i say?

• VOICE OF THE PEOPLE 9 years ago

What happenned to patriotism and privelege of playing and being showcased in the biggest event on the planet. To hell with this money grabbing nature of Ghanaians and allowing only the dollar to dictate everything. And the sa ...

• Paparrazi 9 years ago

why fly the cash to Brazil. they could've been paid after the match or sent it directly into their accounts to show transparency. talk of how the economy will be affected by this example of the 'little drop of water'.

• SCOTISH 9 years ago

THEY KNEW MAHAMA PROMISES ARE SCAM AND 419 THATS WHY THEY DEMANDED PHYSICAL CASH. MR PRESIDENT EVEN BLACK STAR PLAYERS DONT TRUST YOU.AND ITS VERY BAD. GONE IS NAME IS DAUNTED

AA, WOB3 SU MAAA MAAAA! LIKE IVORIAN PLAYER CRYING IN TEARS. STUPID GFA, U CANT BUY MY PATRIOTISM FOR GH U UNDERSTAND! NKYMAH MADE IT SUCH THAT GETTING THE PRIVILEGE TO WEAR A BSTAR JERSEY WAS IN ITSELF AN "ARRIVAL". TODAY, U ...

• Ern # Black Stars - Dead team walking 9 years ago

Very good question....... this money should have been paid by bank transfer..... they have probably taken twice the amount that they need to pay the players. Half of it will get "lost" on the way

• Paa Joe (UK) 9 years ago

May be they should also buy the players wheelbarrows to carry their money around.
    This story, if true makes our players sitting targets for criminals in a crime & poverty ridden country.
    All the players have a bank account, ...

• WTF! 9 years ago

Another opportunity for thieving Mahama to milk Ghana some more. No doubt Ibrahim Mahama's jet was "chartered", just as it has been used to transport Ministers and govt officials to Iran. The reason for flying out the cash do ...

• Nii Tettehvi 9 years ago

U birth thru ur asshole. Stupid fat bitch maame serwaa. Ir whole pussy is infected so u could only birthday thru trumu. Trumu birth!

• Ern # help Gh Fuo find maame serwaa 9 years ago

look at this fucking arsehole..........Gh fuo, stop changing your fucking name and commenting on my comments. If you want to comment on my comment, use your real name - Idiot!

• Yaw 9 years ago

Why do we have incompetent and stupid people in charge of managing affairs in our country?
    Had the players not voiced out their anger,their bonus wouldn't have been released or paid?
    How come nobody seems to get anything ri ...

• Jason 9 years ago

Ghana is indeed a third-world nation and very sad nation..

• FRANCIS 9 years ago

stars should stop playing entertaining game but go extra miles to flip the ball into the net. players should sense that they are pushing the ball into the net rather than shooting unconsciously. let the brain work and let th ...

• ffonky 9 years ago

what was the agreement?
    Payment before or after the tournament?.-appearance fees?
    Football is now business so next time go on writing contracts with the players.

• okofo 9 years ago

Kwasi Appiah SHOULD tell our goalkeeper NOT to kick the ball all the way in, but THROW it to a player.

Kicking the ball inside ALWAYS lands in the territory of our opponents, and on the foot of an opponent, and that is CO ...

• okofo 9 years ago

Did I say Ghana, instead of GOD is on our side?

• Lagos 9 years ago

With the exception of Teams from North Africa who play because they love their Countries, it is so shameful that west African players are always so greedy. These are chaps that are rich in every sense of the word but are gree ...

• Kae_Wobofo 9 years ago

To clean the GFA and also to revamp sports administration in the country.
    Its true the current BS team has given this country some additional exposure,but I belong to a generation which saw legends like Rev. Osei Kofi,Mfum,A ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

The sad thing is that most people will turn this into a political issue. GFA does not have anything to do with Government, they are not government controlled nor are they audited by government. This issue is wholly in the cou ...

• Avogadro 9 years ago

This so backward. It is dangerous for our players, and coaching staff. It is even dangerous for the one carrying the money. Don't our players have bank accounts this money can be paid into? Payment can be confirmed with a ...

• JOJO 9 years ago

my brother this is a country that still thinks like they live in the stone age so everything is done without thinking of the consequences till the unthinkable happens before we react, it's colonial and we need creative, imagi ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

No because they know nothing apart from kicking a ball. This is an opportunity for Brazilian criminals to raid their hotels while they are playing tomorrow. Only egg-heads will handle such cash. Moreover, I hope none of them ...

FLYING OVER 3MIL DOLLARS BY PLANE FOR PLAYERS WHO HVE AS YET TO EVEN WIN A WCUP GAME. CANT U GIVE THEM CHECKS OR WIRE THE CASH, IN CEDIS, TO THEIR ACCOUNTS? LETS LOOK AT HOW THESE WESTERN PLAYERS ARE RECEIVING, THE METHODS/MO ...

• KWASI WUSU 9 years ago

The players should have put the Nation ahead of their PERSONAL interest.And then again who can blame them?. It obviously must have dawned on them, SUDDENLY, how they have been manipulated in the past to play FIXED GAMES and u ...

• eddy. 9 years ago

It's time to seek God's mercies on the match ahead us come Thursday.our leaders who leads this preparetion has totally failed.

BUT THESE FUCKING PLAYERS WANT ALL THIS MONEY? HOW MUCH TAXES IS THE GH GOVT TAKING BACK IN TAXES? EVERY EMPLOYER INCLUDING THE PRESIDENT, MPS, MINISTERS, BUSINESSPPL, WATER, WAAKYE N KENKEY SELLERS PAY TAXES. WHY NOT THESE A ...

• QUESI SANI 9 years ago

where was this money taken from,which banks in ghana cos the ndc chief scribes controlling the countries money says no one which means even the government should be allowed to withdraw not more than $10,000. So pls can a die ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

GFA has let our Black Stars down for camping them in the USA.Govt must probe GFA.Thank you.

• Kae_Wobofo 9 years ago

And his cabal have been exposed for all to see. I envisaged this self-destruction was going to occur before all this was over!
    And this 'nonsense' about suing the Telegraph is simply an empty threat designed to cow irrespon ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

Please tell our Blackstars they always lack the killer instinct mentality especially when they have scored a goal or leading their opponent.
    Once they see that their opponent is showing signs of weakness or panic or tirednes ...

• Kae_Wobofo 9 years ago

Player revolt is that Nyantakyi and his cabal at the GFA would no choice but,to submit to public scrutiny in order to purge themselves of the corruption tag the has been put on them! Hopefully,that will open up things within ...

• LL Cool J 9 years ago

This was suppose to be secrete. Does this government know that Brasil is a very rough country with full of arm robbers? Am afraid for the safety of these boys. Also, I think any player who played in the qualification matche ...

• SLIMMART 9 years ago

In an act of charity that was reported last Monday by no less a renowned news hostess RACHEL MADDOW on her MSNBC news program, Sulley Ali Muntari was reported to have gone to a poor neighbourhood in the Brazilian town after t ...

• ohene 9 years ago

Ghana fails, in journalism, in every aspect. They have become political commentators, and have no idea how the rest of the world report news to their reading public.

• OKUKUSEKU 9 years ago

MUNTARI WAS PERFORMING HIS DUTY AS A MUSLIM-GIVING ALMS.

• WTF! 9 years ago

Muntari's philanthropy brightly shines against the thievery of the ruling Ghanaian elites and their collaborators. It's serves as a moral lesson on:
    1. earning honest money from honest work;
    2. helping the less fortunate

• Ghana Lover 9 years ago

Reports have it that the plane transporting the $3 million has gone missing and players are now demanding that another $3 million be ferried out to them through a donkey driven cart since they have lost all hopes in the previ ...

• Kofi Wiafe-Sekyere(Morgan) 9 years ago

I hope the Brazilians are not going to charge the GFA for money laundering. Why should the boys be paid in cash instead of depositing the money in their accounts and sending proof of payment to them? What do they need the cas ...

• Emmeyscotland 9 years ago

Simple bank transfer not working?? Why do u transfer money by chattered flight why simple bank transfer can be done.Poor economy, big time expensive options.What a daft country !!!!

• foxy 9 years ago

INFACT, I NEVER WANTED TO COMMENT ON SUCH Bs THAT GHANAIANS ARE TAKING FROM THE PLAYERS.THOSE GHANAIANS SUPPORTING THESE PLAYERS SHOULD NOT STAND THERE AND SAY GHANA IS BAD.JUST FOR A MONTH, YOU ARE DEMANDING $75000. SHAME ON ...

• Mawuko 9 years ago

THESE GUYS NEED TO WATCHOUT IF THEY ARE GOING TO BE MOVING AROUND BRAZIL WITH CASH. AND NEED TO REMEMBER THEY ARE IN BRESIL AS IT SPELT HERE.NOT USA NEITHER EUROPE LET ALONE OUR PEACEFUL MOTHERLAND GHANA. IF THE CIMINALS GET ...

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

These fools have money to pay dubious judgement debts. But no money to pay hard working players and contractors who build our roads. What a useless country

• HE'S NOT AFFRAID 9 years ago

govt flies in cash o pay blackstars appearrance fee

• ohene 9 years ago

Ridiculous! Does the government of Ghana not use the bank?

• ernest 9 years ago

Oooo what a shaim

• Made in Ghana Players 9 years ago

Why this hypocrisy mr ghanaian politician?? are these not born in ghana? i hate politics!!

• Black Man 9 years ago

They should had been paid in cedis! Are they not Ghanaians?

• J.J RAWLINGS, USA 9 years ago

remember US coach is a German and they are going to play draw for both to advance

• Boss 9 years ago

Amazing. In this day and age. A country will actually put $3 million in a plane and fly it around.

• SUAME MAGAZINE 9 years ago

Thanks for letting all the robbers in the world know that the players are going to each have hundreds of thousands of dollars in cash. Every pickpocket and armed robber is going to go to their hotel.

• Jason 9 years ago

What is happening with mother Ghana?

In few days, the name of Ghana is being laughed at and people are thinking what the fuck.

1. Matchfixing with the PRESIDENT of the FA seemingly agreeing and discussing how to fix mat ...

• Martin 9 years ago

Most of the players play overseas where their salaries are often deposited in their banks. I no reason why the players will insist on being paid in cash by the GFA. Are they not aware that carrying all the money around with t ...

• Old Vandal Dallas Tx 9 years ago

Is the government carrying dollars or cedis to brazil, I remember they said no one should be paid in dollars in Ghana, this mahama government is confused. Tweaa they don't know what they are doing now. This is a shame

• Ben 9 years ago

You actually airlifted $3M cash to Brazil? This is a field day for armed robbers in Brazil. The players revolted because the promises made were not being fulfilled. Sending them cash to this tune is not prudent. Gov't should ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

This is what you get when you have idiot running the show I don't blame the players for their money in chash they don't trust the government and I can agree with them what is wrong with Mother Africa politicians apuuu

• the devils advocate 9 years ago

Are we stupid , naive or so corrupt that we don't care anymore about what the world thinks of us ?
    Is our banking system so primitive and archaic we have to charter planes to fly cash across continents in 2014 ?May God have ...

• ANKOBEA-HENE 9 years ago

Pay them $$$$$ they are our diplomats.

• STEVE 9 years ago

In my opinion, the problem lies with the GFA and not the playing body or the government. Nyantakyi and his board of executives have been playing hide and seek with payments due to the playing body for years. Money meant for t ...

• OPELE ABOAGYE 9 years ago

i do love the pic on the other hand of the guy with the load of cash. why cant they do electronic transfers.i hope our players have bank accounts unless the carry their millions with them in duffle bags.

• Hon Actchilles-Dugah Seyram 9 years ago

If it is true physical cash was transported by a chartered flight to Brazil to be given to the Black Stars Players, then we as country (Ghana) will have to be taken to International Criminal Court for illegal movement of mone ...

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for fools!!! 9 years ago

Bitches like money. Bees like honey!
    Armrobbers, police like richfolk, players. Carrying all this money on your person is a distraction and will make you lose concentration.

• Samuel Gyakwaw ( EBO WAMS) 9 years ago

it's a disgrace to Ghana football people, why

• Theophilus 9 years ago

Why do you have to airlift cash? have they forgetting Brazil? that the money could be stolen? maybe they want to come back with an excuse that they money got stolen. This is truly embarrassing!

• Habakkuk Osei, Sunyani, Brong Ahafo 9 years ago

The plane carrying the $3m cannot be tracked on any radar. The govt must send another money by boat, this time, before tomorrow's match with Portugal. If not, Gyan & his cohorts will be no show. Points given to Portugal. ...

• Paa Kofi Sam 9 years ago

Ghana should be ashamed of this! To demonstrate how disorganized and dishonest we are at the full glare of the world is nothing but shameful and embarrassing and that sets Ghana back! A country that can't keep her word can't ...

• CHIKD OF UNIVERS 9 years ago

What afoolish way of dealing with those officials carring money meant for the Black stars.So we do not have bags than to let some one carry mone-ies ment for B/STARS.This not civilization. SHAME

• Tweneboah Frank 9 years ago

So do we have this kind of money in the country, as a nation? And yet businesses are collapsing, and we're still suffering from dumso. It's a shame for NDC government to have taken such childish act to curry such money outsid ...

• Bright Appiah 9 years ago

This is a very shameful to humanity, in a whole president do such.
    This in this morden era,when technology is on doorstep of every individual.Indeed Ghana is not serious.

• Bonsu 9 years ago

Lost of trust n hope in our so called leaders! Dissapointed govt look at the hardship they hv brought to the country! God save Ghana

• Edwin 9 years ago

So when will ghana change,even those we borrow money from how much will thier players take at the end of the game.
    We are suffering and look at what they use our money for oooooooooooo .

• Ahmed Badawi 9 years ago

Ghana black stars, are they playing with their country at heart or Dollars.In fact they not patriotic at all.

• Ahmed Badawi 9 years ago

Dollars for Black Stars.

• Akua Busamm 9 years ago

Do we spend dollars in Ghana?
    What a confused and double standard government. you have collasp de economy with ur unclear policies and still doing