You are here: HomeSports2014 06 17Article 313129

‘We lost focus and didn't take our chances’

Read Comments Comments (118)

• Sammy the Sheriff 9 years ago

We can win or draw against Germany and beat Portugal. All is not lost, we can still qualify. All the talk about winning the world cup was premature.

• Mohammed Awuni 9 years ago

he is a joke

• moyo 9 years ago

Akwasi Appiah has no game plan and even the match is repeated today, Ghana is going to loose. How can you trust a coach who has no classmates? He said my selection will not base on the teams performance with South Korea, and ...

• Ern # Brasil 2014 - Kick off!! 9 years ago

Guys, go back and look at my comments from yesterday.

These are the things I said:

In the article “We will die for Ghana against USA – Gyan” I said:

“Defenders - 100% switched on at all times” – they did ...

• Advanced Thinker 9 years ago

AA should have kept the same boys who started the game. Essien and Kevin became disgruntle rebels after being left out from team A and decided to teach AA a lesson if called later as Team B. Why go to war with rebels in your ...

• sooo 9 years ago

If you watched the match you would know that what you have said about KP is wrong. The problem is your coach who kept opare on for long knowing that all opare's crosses went to the opponents. Why should kwadwo asamoah play 3 ...

• KHOPIA 9 years ago

on point, bro...but who was listening?

• UNCLE KOFI 9 years ago

COACH DR. KWASI APPIAH, CONSIDER YOURSELF ACKED. BLACK STARS IS TOO BIG FOR YOU.

• Kwami 9 years ago

This USA match was an ideal opportunity for us to secure a good position in this so called "Group of Death" and we made a complete mess of it. Credit to our boys though, I thought they did extremely well to calm the storm aft ...

• Appletus 9 years ago

I agree with you. You can not bench KP nand Essien... how can a coach even do that?

• Problems. 9 years ago

Reports out of our team camp in Brazil suggests that KVP and Essien have clashed and fallen out of favour with Appiah hence their omission from the side.

We made it so easy for them to play. Our central midfielders did no ...

• Conventional Youth 9 years ago

8-) The Dutchmen & US’s German coach used STEMICs ATTITUDE, TENACITY, TECHNIQUES, ACUMEN, CONCENTRATION, KICKERS & SATIRE to beat Ghana, in 2014 world cup trials and Group's open Game. B|

A=ATTITUDE,

T=TENACITY,

• Avogadro 9 years ago

Maybe this is the wake-up call for us to find a coach who can read the game and know what players needed to be playing. He has no business being called a coach. It's all because Nyantakyi just wanted an ass-kisser. If we w ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

Listen to this silly guy. You lost focus by changing your selection mode altogether in an opening match which called for consistency, not using new players like Opare, and playing Kojo at the left full back when there were ot ...

• Cornell 9 years ago

This coach is a joke. Why on earth would you put our best playmaker at left back. Harrison Afful should have been at that position.

• K. Andoh 9 years ago

Ya that is true. He is very stupid coach. why wld he bench prince and essian? very stupid fool

• vigour 9 years ago

AA will be remembered as the worst coach ever to take charged of the Black Stars. The decision to put Appiah the helm of affairs stem from greed and nothing more.If Appiah is not fired, the Black Stars will soon be like Camer ...

• Ern # Brasil 2014 - Kick off!! 9 years ago

Sammy, Keep faith alive? With Germany waiting to trounce us? I'm sorry........ I cant.....if you want to keep on investing your heart and time in this team, go ahead, but for me, I'm out!

• Torontonian 9 years ago

LOL, I still believe and hope we can draw Germany and win Portugal while the US loses to them. It's not over until it's over.

• www.alancosmos.com 9 years ago

PLEASE MR APPIAH BIG UP WITH OUR BOYS AND DONT BREAK OUR PATRIOTIC HEARTS.WE ARE STILL BEHIND YOU BUT PLEASE THINK BIG-THINK BAMBAARA AND DONT BE AFRAID TO DARE.Just Do It.STAND FAST AGAINST THE GERMANS AND KICK THE PORTUGUES ...

• OKENTEN 9 years ago

I'M 100% WITH YOU. IT'S NOT OVER TILL IT'S OVER. JUST AS GHANA LOST, SPAIN LOST, GERMANY CAN ALSO LOSE.

• Felix 9 years ago

Masa how well are you vexed in scenarios. We cant do that we are toat. why because germany and Usa will draw there by giving them 4 points a piece now are the chances we are going to win agianst portugal? Ok we win against Po ...

• KojoLee/DRAA@2014Brazil-W/C 9 years ago

Sheriff Sammidu, I joined this forum after Germany 2006 and since then, I have become an active member up till now. Four years counting and preparation, and when the moment arrives, we were just smoked out like a chaff.

A ...

• KHOPIA 9 years ago

This efuomMan is not a coach.HE IS AN OVERPAID VILLAGE IDIOT.

• Mr.N 9 years ago

Akwesi Appiah should start thinking and stop playing this foolishness. A coach job is to fix mistake we lost Holland game in the earlier minute and USA was up 34 sec he could have done the sub to send a message to players tha ...

• KojoLee/DRAA@2014Brazil-W/C 9 years ago

Mr. N(oise) "Akwesi Appiah should start thinking ..."

... Of what? We are coming home period! If B/S survived at this juncture, then they may by all means win the ultimate W/C. Just advice DRAA to start thinking of the nex ...

• OKENTEN 9 years ago

Just as Ghana lost, Spain lost, Germany can also lose.

• NANA KUFUOR 9 years ago

This is not the first time the Black Stars have conceded goal in the first few minutes. Since they cant learn. Blacks we have a problem.

• Kk3 9 years ago

You are giving credence to all the people who wanted a white coach instead of you. You have the job but you seem and act like you are unsure of yourself. Wake up and do your job!

• Mohammed Awuni 9 years ago

somebody slap him for me

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

Why on earth you start Atsu the most useless timid player ever don the jersey. Kwadwo Asamoah should have play behind attackers instead . K APPAIH never learn, the same mistake against Burkinafaso repeated . ldiot Coach

• Whatever 9 years ago

Every international match Ghana plays with Astu in it, we concede goals and lose. Japan, Montegro, Holland. We said it at the African cup of nation that Astu lack of mental resolve, can't hold on to balls and that you don't b ...

• ATTAH (From Cote d'Ivoire) 9 years ago

I'am Ivorian, but my Grand mother is ghanaian, therefore the national team of Ghana is a team that i support but also trust more that I trust the Ivorian team.
    I'am very surprised by the fact that Ghana lost this match which ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

That guy should have been replaced. It wasn't his day.

• tegare 9 years ago

1. Why did aa play asamoah gyan full 90 min.
    2. Why essien
    3. Why was kwadwo asamoah at l full back.
    4. Where was wakaso
    5. Where was other young striker, it it majeed ?
    6. Why were substitutions made so late
    I th ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

KWASIA APPIAH IS TOO KNOWN.OYIWA! SAMMY KUFFUOR SAID WE NEED EXPERIENCE DEFFERDER TO MARSHALL THERE. BUT USELESS PREMITIVE COACH WAS NOT HEARD. EVERY GAME 1ST MINUTE WE LOSE WHY WHY WHY K APPIAH DONT HAVE SENSE IN HIS HEAD OR ...

• Gerard Germany 9 years ago

He say early goal is a disaster, but you have 89 Minutes Time to repair it.
    K.Asamoah äs a leftback was a waste . Useless passes in nowhere land more than 100
    Andre did not get any right pass to Open an attack.
    Muntari is ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 9 years ago

Losing to the USA, a team that is obviously so limited in ability is unforgivable really. All the USA did was paid attention to detail, something we failed to do, Klinsman set his side out to play to their strengths and they ...

• USAFan 9 years ago

This has to be one of the most misinformed statements ever! Limited?! You are self consumed and myopic but that's what a fan is supposed to be. No matter, US is our way to the round of 16 and the Black Stars...back to Ghana! ...

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

EVERYTHING MAHAMA TOUCH,SAY,DO COME OUT ZERO,MAHAMA IS JUST BAD LUCH

• K, Puma 9 years ago

I find it really really sad to even comments on this opportunity that we have missed, how on earth that you as a coach would watched a game that you are losing and you couldn't, made amendment earlier on than coming to give ...

• ABBA 9 years ago

THE MAIN PROBLEM FOR OUR LOST IS THE NUMBER ONE CHOSEN GOALKEEPER. WHY?

• KDK 9 years ago

THIS COACH DONT HAVE ANYTHING IN HIS HEAD. WHY KEEP YOUR PLAY MAKER AT LEFT BACK WHEREAS YOU HAVE DEFENDERS WHO ARE ZERO.AKWASI APPIAH KEEP ON MAKING MISTAKE UPON MISTAKE. ATSU DONT DESERVE STARTING ROLE AT ALL . THEY GUY HAS ...

• 4 YEAR OLD 9 years ago

I have said this time and again that Akwasi appiah is no coach at all. This experience has proven those of us who take that position against Appiah, right. Akwsi Appiah is no tactitician, no planner, and no manager. He has no ...

• francis 9 years ago

kwesi must be sacked because he is not up to the task.

• GeoJo 9 years ago

The coach is still experimenting even at the start. The coach became arrogant after we qualified for the WC and after he got the "doctorate degree". Football people not were asking of his starting 11 and to play them in the t ...

• AFUM 9 years ago

WE LOST BECAUSE OF ATSU ! HE DRIBBLE WITHOUT SENSE. FEAR TO ENTER THE 18 BOX GIVEN FAULT PASSES TO GYAN AND JORDAN. NEVER ALLOW HIM IN THE BENCH EVEN ? NEXT TIME

• Kwami 9 years ago

Reports out of our team camp in Brazil suggests that KVP and Essien have clashed and fallen out of favour with Appiah hence their omission from the side.

We made it so easy for them to play. Our central midfielders did n ...

• ohene adjei 9 years ago

you don't excell in group stages by playing like Ghana did. players all over the place with no coherent system. K Asamoah shouldn't have been put at the left back but rather his usual best left midfield. Kwasea bi nti

• PHISCUS 9 years ago

we did not create chances.when opare could not pass or get a cross in and still plays 95 mins? you should have coached them to be alert and go for early goal or prevent early goal like Klinsmann did.he had a strategy and we d ...

• Ghanaman in Yankee 9 years ago

The coach should have selected Prince Boateng as a starter instead of bringing him in during the second half as a substitute. Essien should also have been brought in much earlier.

Watching the game, felt like some of these ...

• SPIDER IN HIS WEB 9 years ago

I don't agree that the players lost their focus on the field. The statistics showed that in the first half they possessed the ball 69% of the time and were still pressing hard in the second half. It is rather the positioning ...

• victor teye 9 years ago

we have lost but let us look ahead

• lke 9 years ago

we lost because of our menim menin attitude prepare to come home n join us

The coach was at fault to ignore repeated call to reorganized the defense. The offense struggled to put the ball in goal hitting the ball all over except into the goal post where it counts.
    I am disappointed in the coach's a ...

• RASTAFARI 9 years ago

SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL COACH WITH LESS PAYMENT

• Sam 9 years ago

The coach must go first
    All the defenders must who played must go.
    The technical adviser must go
    The trainers must go
    The management must go

We need to start new everything.

• BRA KOJO 9 years ago

This coach is so clueless. This USA side to me was the weakest of the three of our meetings but because Kwesi Appiah so clueless, he couldn't think of any tactics. Why bring Adomah in? Why play Asamoah at the full back when A ...

• MK 9 years ago

Kwasi GOD bless you , you done will to show your self as good couch. WHAT DID THIS VEEP IS DOING THERE? HIS A BAD LOCK MAN,who sent him .His a bad lock man . Who appointed him as VEEP , GOD don't knows him. BLAME HIM his ou ...

• Stupid coack 9 years ago

It's just that our coach don't know who is a good player and someone who is a lucky player against South Korea. How on earth can a sooo called coach put KPB on
    the bench and let rejected Marseille one day lucky player to sta ...

• Bawumia 9 years ago

For those of u who do not understand soccer but makes useless comments!
    Yes, we lost! So what??
    All we can do is to re -focus on out next match and stop these useless talks abt sacking the coach

• KHOPIA 9 years ago

bAWUMIA, JUST SHUT UP AND GO AWAY!!! FOCUS ON WHAT PRECISELY, BOSS?

• Ghana Midfield Rocks 9 years ago

I have taken my time before I comment on yesterdays atrocity.
    First of all, Jordan looked nervous before the game started, the managers selection was wrong, anybody can see this. John Boye is not a defender he is not even a ...

• KHOPIA 9 years ago

Tumu da!!! Even if we pele and mesi and robert mensah and jesus christ play for us, that ekurasini of a non-coach will ensure that we lose the game.

• apia 9 years ago

BOYE DIDN'T EVEN KNOW WHO DEMPSEY AND ALTIDORE WERE AND NEVER STUDIED THE USA PLAY. HE WAS LAZY AND THAT COST THE TEAM.

• Jo 9 years ago

Coach Appiah should choose the same Black Stars players who played in 2010 World Cup to meet the German’s in our next game, and with the same strategy, the Black Stars can progress to the next round.

• Adjei 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah will be the first, the last coach and the only Black Stars coach to lose to the U.S.A

He should retire from coaching may be coach elementary school football.

• PAPA OH 9 years ago

COACH WTHOUT PLAN B NA USELESS COACH. WE HAVE LOCALS LIKE AIOSON , ADUSEI AND SULE WHO ARE BETTER THAN BOYE AND JONATHAN BUT STILL REFUSE THEM THE CHANCE. SEE NOW

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

He has no clear tactics whatsoever for games like this.Thank you.

• kofi 9 years ago

why did the coach put that golekepper in the game that kepper can take us anywhere

• Whatever 9 years ago

2 days before the match I wrote a comment revealing the strategy the US will employ. Here it is " From the blast of the whistle they(US) would go hunting for the ball so that they’d be the first INITIATE an attack and keep ...

• kojo-usa 9 years ago

There are three tiers in soccer
    1. Elite
    2. Middle
    3. low
    Let's be honest Ghana is in the middle tier with the likes of Mexico, USA...etc
    Unless Ghana takes the next step, there will always be more losses than victories- ...

• KWASEA COACH 9 years ago

What on earth was Kevin Boateng and Essien doing on the benth when they should be on the field playing?

How can you go in such a crucial battle with some of your best weapons not being engaged?

Kwesi Appiah isn't a str ...

• Joe 9 years ago

In as much as we would like to have a Ghanaian Coach in charge of black stars, we cannot use such a clueless coach for such a tournament. I believe there are better Ghanaian Coaches around with better exposure to handle the n ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Opare never played in any of the world cup friendlies, has no experience in world cup yet he puts him in there, first hot match... experimenting. And then Astu, with him Ghana has never won any international friendly match. H ...

• Yaa 9 years ago

The coach hasn't done anything wrong bt its becouse of our bad luck president who only knw hw to spend
    money on priest

• Alex London 9 years ago

Don't blame the coach. The boys have 17 good chances and all but one was wasted. #Bring Back Our Boys, to save us more embarrassment.

We did not lose Focus. We had no Focus! Their plan going into the game was to attack Black Stars right away coz they knew black stars like to play 90 min (quantity) Vs. each possession-Good or bad (quality). ...

• Alexander Tuffour 9 years ago

Akwesi appiah need to retired after brazil world cup this coach is greedy why u refuse to built the youth and forget the professional s shame on akwesi appiah corruption coach

• Referee 9 years ago

On that AA, you are correct. Our defense was lost total focus and concentration. It needs to be beefed up totally into a real defense because against the Germans, who have demonstrated that, they can score goals and lots of i ...

• KKA 9 years ago

June 17th, 2014 was not a good day for Ghana. In numerology it is a BAD NATIONAL DAYS LOSS equivalent to June 16th, 1979.

The other other bad days are JUNE 18th, 2014, JUNE 27TH, 2014.

If we pray against this BAD PHENOM ...

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

we had no effective defences yet we left john mensah or someone better in GH many talents

• Koku 9 years ago

Mr. Appiah your defence is very very bad just like the London ARSENAL defence.It is really horrible they are always panicking they are not confident at all.Where's Vorsah AND veteran John Mensah? Your current set of defence t ...

• abroadman 9 years ago

his first selection wasnt cool like the changes .boateng must start

• dman 9 years ago

The worse coach ever playing rabiu and astu over essien and KBP wow only in gh

• Kwasi Ghana 9 years ago

I cannot understand why KPB did not start the game. Where was Wakaso? Jordan and Adoma should only play when the game has been won. AA please reconsider your strategy

• Mac Darling 9 years ago

What bothers me is this! With all our players playing in an overseas league, why is that they still play football like novices?
    None of our payers can read the game, none of them understand the requirement of the positions t ...

• jim 9 years ago

If you don't have the winning mentality or philosophy of the Italians or the germans much less the brazilians or the argentilians how else are you
    going to win over a team such as the USA whose nationhood is about competitio ...

• ABBA 9 years ago

GHANA SHOULD NOT MAKE A MISTATE NOT TO PUT ADAMS STEPHEN AT THE POST FOR THE NEXT MATCH.

• AZAD 9 years ago

Kwasi Appiah got it wrong in his selection. You cannot put experience players on bench and expect to a win a world cup match. It is not about lost of concentration of his selected players but rather he lost his judgement of s ...

• A concerned citizen......222222222 9 years ago

Coach Appiah shot himself in the foot….I told him don’t use fresh “green“players to start but experienced ones and the silent killer did not listen..Why use “hatred” to make your selections? Which means if he coac ...

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 9 years ago

BECOS OF CURRUPTION WE CAN EMPLOY STANDARD COACH, AH AH NDC COACH.

• S Amoah 9 years ago

So Ghana beat USA before at the world cup twice and at this crucial moment they lost focus ?!!. Ghana will be blinded by Portugal and Germany. What a waste of time.

• impromptus 9 years ago

I still cannot understand AA's strategy of filling panic defence

• Jesus Saves 9 years ago

Bad selection for the start.

• impromptus 9 years ago

Our strength is midfield and defence and attack will flow. We cannot play like Bacca or Spain cos we don't have the talismen

• job 9 years ago

I think Akwasi Appiah is a moron, period! How could you put your play maker on left full position back and leave the left full back on bench? Appiah, why do you play Atsu, Rabiu, Jordan at the same time?

• USAFan 9 years ago

The Black Stars spent a lot of time and energy talking trash about the US side and how they were younger faster better. Well, you now have zero points and the US has 3! Good luck beating Germany and next time, do your talking ...

• ensorerobby@ texas u.s.a 9 years ago

a prominent left back defender who has never unearthed any quality left back since he took over as a coach. what is the use of afful and inkoom if kwadjo asamoah a prolific midfielder is playing that position.
    you should ha ...

• Frimpong 9 years ago

Awful tactics. I thought he went to man city and liverpool not manchester to see freaking david moyes

• Dizzy 9 years ago

Lack of ideas - technical know how - let us down. KPB looked too puffy for KA to trust him with the starting X1. Muntari and Essien are "old stagers" and cannot be "first teamers", though on their day they can play out of the ...

• apia 9 years ago

YOU DID NOT FUCKING HAVE THE RIGHT PLAYERS STARTING THE GAME...COME ON

• GEEKAY 9 years ago

WHATEVER HAPPENED TO REAL STRATEGY!! THE GHANAIAN TEAM IS TOO SHORT!!
    WE NEED AT LEAST TWO PLAYERS ABOUT 6'7 UPFRONT ALONG WITH GYAN, NOW
    THAT'S REAL STRATEGY..ITS NOT JUST ABOUT THE GAME, EVERY LITTLE THING
    HELPS, WE SOME ...

• Appletus 9 years ago

I disagree vehemently with the coach.His selection was not good.
    Why bench KP, Essien, ?
    Why play Kwadwo Asamoah in defence? It does not make sense at all.
    KASA playing at that role for JUVENTUS does not mean he could do s ...

• jobling castro Taiwan 9 years ago

coach Akwesi need to retired after this world cup because he base his own interest corruption coach Ghana blackstar need a white coach that will bring the local team player into blackstar squad if a foreign base buy the youth ...

• sansambonsam 9 years ago

they underestimated the USA team and the difficulty of beating a team three times in a major tournament....time for them to focus on the next game......Germany, the favourite to win FIFA 2014, is beatable

• gomez 9 years ago

coach Appiah lost the match for the stars he is not competent coach? how can u start a gain like this with a second team common sense shd tell u that u go to war with ur best army, to add insult to injury he said he wanted to ...

• kojo-usa 9 years ago

i know for sure Americans have some of the strongest attitude in life....winning being one of them.
    Even with mediocre players , they always have the potential to win.
    Talent and showcasing is not everything

• KOJO 9 years ago

Did any one picks up Delta airlines calling Ghanaians animal?

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

I dont blame you the for the early goals infact as i was wakng up i heard the phrase "TWEDIE KANE".Immediately my mind went on to Germany that we are going to score Germany early goal.
    Nobody expected USA will srprise us lik ...

• Ghana 2 Germany 1 9 years ago

Ghana must take a clue from the USA team which is "Believe in the Impossible". Germany is a strong team but we can beat them. It was a mistake for the US team to prepare for the World Cup in the backyard of our opponent. The ...

• RealityChecker 9 years ago

NADA Germany are the strongest team in the world cup and the favourites. It would be a top flight team like Brazil that could beat Germany.

So GERMANY 3 GHANA 0

• OHENE AKUOKO 9 years ago

AKWASI APPIAH, SHAME SHAMA SHAME YOU THINK U CAN DO THE JOB, WITHOUT KP.BOATENG ND EEEIEN.AGAIN SHAME UNTO YOU

• Richie 9 years ago

Please sack the coach after the world whether we progress or not. We list the game from the bench. He must accept he made bad decisions. Don't blame the players, they did not pick the TEAM. We needed experience to win the mat ...

• kretz - d 9 years ago

I think Appiah made a big technical mistake by not pairing Asamah Gyan and Kevin Prince Boateng in the first half.Appiah should have used the same squad when we met Egypt in the first half. Essien should have started in the ...

• Oheneba 9 years ago

This is Ghana poorest performance i ever seen in world cup.
    This coach has no techinical plan for the team. he is just using the players by their own abilities and talents. andre ayew was not in game despite he scored the g ...

• Yaw Kumasi 9 years ago

Muntari is a stupid b@stard who should not have even made the squad.That fat wanker is lazy and stupid with no thought process. He wanders around like a drunken spirit. He slowed the play down and couldn't even pick out a pas ...

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA. 9 years ago

WATCH OUT