You are here: HomeSports2014 06 13Article 312738

Fifa defends blunder ref

Read Comments Comments (19)

• Ghfuo, heaven is not for fools! 9 years ago

Touching is not the same as holding. Lokeren touched fred, but he didn't hold or grants him. Fred slipped in the box and the ref blew a penalty. We need video replays in major soccer tournammts. Goal line tech is good but fif ...

• PARTNER 9 years ago

1. "he didn't hold or GRANTS him".

"fifa must go a step further TO BE BIG PARTISAN".

"look at how Mexico BASED also been robbed"

WHAT DO YOU MEAN IN EACH CASE, PARTNER?

2. Yes, Croatia was badly cheated for Brazi ...

Blame auto correct on my tablet.
    He didn't hold or grab him.
    Fifa must go a step further to be bi partisan.
    Look at how Mexico have also been robbed?
    Both Mexican goals were clean. Dos.Santos may have been offside with h ...

• PARTNER 9 years ago

Ghfuo, thanks for explaining, as I could not get the slightest idea what you meant. Now I got it.

Yes, I guess one could make a case for the Mexicans on the 1st disallowed goal too.

But if we conceded that "Santos may h ...

Tv replay is urgently needed! Fifa, wat a disgrace! First 2 games and we already hve controversy? Tweaa!

• anokwale 9 years ago

The refereeing has been shaky.

• tuy 9 years ago

Any idiot homo sapiens who has eyes could see that the Croatian defender held Fred on the soldiers. The Croatian tried to restrain the Brazilian. The referee made a decision in a split second. The onus was on the Croatian def ...

He touched fred. He didn't bring fred down or hold him. Watch the replay. Fred slipped..watch his feet. Humans are error prone and make dumb decisions isions. This was one of them. We need video replays during major tournammt ...

• PARTNER 9 years ago

It just a touch, at worst a slight rub.
    Fred lost his balance and fell.
    The ref worked for Brazil.
    Cheating unsung teams for the glory of the famous. Disgraceful!

• Opana 9 years ago

You are the only one who saw an infraction here.Making a split second decision doesn't mean a thing if it is wrong.The ref could have saved his reputation by consulting with his linesmen.

• kofi boye 9 years ago

Would someone ask Busacca if he can differentiate between holding, coming into contact or touching....

Football is a game of holding touching and more often contact....

• Joojo, Sask, Canada 9 years ago

Bad officiating is what takes away the joy of this beautiful game. The officials, invariably, always tend to make calls against the teams that they see, in their warped judgement, to be underdogs. Cases in point: 2010 world ...

Massa, even if Cameroon played 11 to 5 they still wouldn't win. They r not united n have no identity upfront. Their precision in the final 3rd is an F!

• PARTNER 9 years ago

Ghfuo, the point isn't that Cameroon did not play well. Nobody is saying they would have won or lost even if they played 11 to 5 men.

The point is that they earned a penalty because a Mexican defender handled the ball in t ...

• PARTNER 9 years ago

"A Mexican defender handled the ball inside his own 18, but there was no call. If it had happened in the Cameroon 18, there w'd have been a call".

Yes, Joojo, I saw that in real time too.
    In fact, it was even more glarin ...

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 9 years ago

So far the football has been fast furious and beautiful. Contrary, officiating has been very poor in the 3 matches played so far. There appears to be global power politics coming into play in this tournament. Black Stars must ...

• NIPA 9 years ago

But Fred overly dramatized the incident to the extent that he was able to coerce the referee in whistling for the foul.

• kwasi kyeremeh 9 years ago

The ref. need to be sack.

• Siisi 9 years ago

FIFA IS ALWAYS IN CONSPIRACY WITH ITS ROXY REFEREES IN PURSUIT OF AN UNDISCLOSED BUT OBVIOUS AGENDA IN THE NAME OF MARKETING AND PROFITS AT THE EXPENSE OF 'SMALLER' COUNTRIES.