You are here: HomeSports2014 06 04Article 311550

Awudu Issaka chides Essien for unprofessional conduct

Read Comments Comments (91)

• KO 9 years ago

This should tell you Ghana is not going anywhere in this world cup. If the team had strong and discipline leaders such nonsense would not have been going on at the bench.

• Kwadwo Adusei 9 years ago

I agree with you 100%. Those are some of the bad behaviors they are teaching the up-and-coming ones.

• VICE RESSIEN 9 years ago

now... the writer of the article was right. there was no reason for essien to switch his spot on the bench, turn his back with absolute contempt to activities on the pitch. essien wouldn't dare do that in europe, which of cou ...

• Ghfuo, RIP Maya Angelou! 9 years ago

Blame aa. The guy is indisciplined. He is failing to see himself as a coach, but a father figure to these players. This is a job that he must do without favorite or allegiance to anyone, any player. Here we have appiah favori ...

• nana yaw 9 years ago

take cure boy arrogance leeds to no where.

• Charles D. Maryland 9 years ago

Yes, Ghana is coming to your house.

• GHFUO, RIP MAYA ANGELOU!! 9 years ago

APPAIH HAS LOST CONTROL OF THE PLAYERS. AT THIS POINT IN TIME. THE PLAYERS JUST WANT TO EXIT THE TOURNAMNT EARLY SO THEY CAN TASTE THE BRASILIAN GIRLS....

THIS GAME WAS A MERE FRIENDLY AND GHPPL ARE OVER ESTIMATING THE ACT ...

• Ern # Dia ris God oooh! ! ! 9 years ago

I didn't watch the game so I didn't see the incident. If it is as you say, then it's ok. However if Essien is misbehaving ha should know that he is the statesman of the team and should set a better example. Anyway his time is ...

• LOL 9 years ago

I KNOW YOU HAVEN'T HEARD THIS IN A COUPLE OF DAYS AND YOU ARE GETTING A WITHDRAWAL SYMPTOMS SO I WILL OBLIGE YOU.YOU ARE AN IDIOT!THERE!I HOPE NOW THAT YOU HAVE HEARD YOUR SPECIAL ACCOLADE YOU CAN STOP TRYING TO GET ATTENTION ...

MUAHAHAHAAAA. WEH THE DUCTH COACH WAS TAKING NOTES THRUOUT THE GAME. DRESSED LIKE BUSINESS MEN ON THE BENCH. WAT WAS AA DOING...? HE AND THE GH TECH BENCH WERE DRESSED LIKE PALMWINE TAPPERS...MUAHAHAHAAAAA, AGYEIIIII! AA, ABR ...

• Conqueror 9 years ago

Yes, we are Ghanaians! Palmwine tappers! That is our history. We were not "coat" men originally and don't intend loosing our heritage. We don't need to write down notes to remember what we are expected to do.

REALLY? WHY DONT U TELL THE PLAYERS TO PLAY BAREFOOT LIKE WEUSED TO BACK IN THE DAYS WEN KOTOKO PLAYED STOKE CITY N BEAT THEM? COACH, 6 NA SUUUOOOOOO!

• Richard 9 years ago

You sit in your living room eating fufu, banku, tilapia, kenkey, fried yam, shito....then you come on here to talk nonsense! If you know how to coach, please go coach the blackstars, if you know how to play, please go play fo ...

Yawnnnnnn! Coach, 6 na suoooo! Make u no fool, u hear. I have nothing against essien. Read my comments!

• ??? 9 years ago

what do you know about football?

• murtala 9 years ago

There was a good reason for that, the guy had ice on is ankle, so the only way to stretch his leg was to seat with his back facing the playing field due to lack of space, it was not on purpose.

• bam 9 years ago

whoa, the dugout must be turned around then. Never seen any player on the bench with icepak with his back to the action. just interest.

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

Some Ghanafuo are too much with unproductive criticisms. The game with Netherlands was a friendly, a warm up, a try game for the Coach to access his game. Essien did what he could do on the field when he was called upon. Whet ...

• yapo 9 years ago

good one masa, give it to them, they talk too much ghanafuo

• Kwadwo Adusei 9 years ago

Kwasi Asante, I disagree with you to some extent because it looks to me, that's the first time I've witnessed something like this, a player sitting unconcerned, with the back to the field, not injured, before the stipulated 9 ...

• KO 9 years ago

Please tell him...smh

• anokwale 9 years ago

I believe that coach Appiah saw this and has decided who he thinks is going to really fight for Ghana out there. I think we will see some surprise starters in the mix if there is any misbehavior.

• KO 9 years ago

Typical Ghanaian saying "know it all". If you live in America and you think Essiens' attitude during the game was okay, then you are really "sorry." Do you understand what is called paying attention to details? What kind of j ...

• Africanus 9 years ago

A rich African is always untouchable. They can do whatever they like, good or bad, and still get people to support their actions.

• KUMIWAA 9 years ago

THE CONVERSATIONS GOING ON HERE ARE SIMPLE. ITS THE LITERATES AND THE ILLITERATES. THE LITERATES UNDERSTAND THAT A FRIENDLY IS A LEARNING CURVE THAT EACH PLAYER MUST PAY ATTENTION TO. FIRST, ESSIEN DOESN'T DESERVE TO BE THERE ...

• OB 9 years ago

The core of your discussion is well understood, but it is not about literacy.

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

To KO,
    You should use your real name, do not hide under pretend initials.
    You asking me "what kind job you do in R.I"? I own a business with 6 employees. I may understand discipline more that you.
    Now you may want to lear ...

• wise 9 years ago

thank you very much that you hit the point ignorant, ignorant is killing the whole africa.

• Agya Nimo 9 years ago

Who is Awudu Issak to judge Essien, Ghanians talk too much...aba have u seeing Essien on bench like dis behavour before we talk too much.

• KO 9 years ago

Listen to yourself...Ashanti people and their ignorance talk. you are really "sorry"

• ManIzMan 9 years ago

He asked you a question..but you didn't answering him...Agra Nimo...ask you than have you ever saw him sitting like dat b4....

Because our cache is not serious.....KO,you too you talk 2much....

• they 9 years ago

Because language Shows your Niveau. Our Society cant differenciate seriousness and jokes.

• owusu 9 years ago

Just look for something important to talk about.You are all attention seekers and foam mouth talkatives

• Charles D. Maryland 9 years ago

Yes.

• KWASIA ESSIEN 9 years ago

I SAW THE SAME BUT JUST DID NOT PAY MUCH ATTENTION TO IT. KWESI APPIAH MADE A MISTAKE FOR TAKING ESSIEN. I HOPE THE TECHNICAL BENCH IS TAKING NOTES. I LIKE ESSIEN BUT I WILL BE VERY MAD IF HE IS EVEN FIELDED. AA IS VERY OBSER ...

• sulamana 9 years ago

AWUDU ISSAKA, YOU ARE A TRUE PATRIOT OF GHANA. WE DO NOT NEED SPOILT KIDS PLAYING FOR THE NATION. SUCH BEHAVIOR WILL DESTROY THE SPIRIT OF THE TEAM. DONOVAN WAS CUT FROM THE TEAM PARTLY BECAUSE OF HIS INDISCIPLINE BY TAKING T ...

• Ern # Dia ris God oooh! ! ! 9 years ago

AA had already taught Muntari a lesson, but he refuses to learn. Essien should know his time is up. Many people here have already been calling for him to be dropped. I have been one of the few supporting his call up, but if h ...

• KWASIA ESSIEN 9 years ago

HE WILL BE PENALIZED, AA DOES NOT TALK MUCH BUT VERY OBSERVANT GUY.

• Yorkeshire 9 years ago

A you guys stupid or idiot that's fact I was pissed off that's was ridiculous behaviour I ever encounter on any game either friendly or two families playing , respect the principle, they were disgusting, they were like a boun ...

• Obipapa 9 years ago

I blame Appiah for including Essien in the first place.These players behave differently when they are dealing with their white Coaches and think it is okay to act up when they perform for Ghana.Thank you Issaka for shining li ...

• nii moi 9 years ago

Awuku isaka, I have you finish eating gari. What is professional about playing anywhere outside Ghana. Is what made you a professional?

• Onipa Bone 9 years ago

A bunch of old self centered men. Only out to boost their incomes through WC allowances and Appiah laps up the crumbs. Hungry man.

• Antobam 9 years ago

I am very concerned that Coach Dr.Appiah picked Essien over much healthier and better players.There is nothing special at this time that Essien brings to the team and the assistant captain armband belongs to Kwarasey or Asamo ...

IM VERY CONCERNED U PICKED THIS FAT, ATTITUDE WOMAN OVER HALTHIER N BETTER BROADS....

• K. Twumasi, Colorado, USA 9 years ago

Better you go back to take your meds.

U live in a village. Colorado is a village. Kuasini!

• Beez 9 years ago

I noticed the incident and share the same sentiment with Awuku. Its all about discipline and these players lack it..silly haircuts..millions of pics etc etc. You want to go into the WC with a winning attitude. As my father al ...

• har 9 years ago

Every good player doesn't watch his opnt skills n get confuse ,bt he rather think of what he 'll do when he meet d

em .studying game is the work of the coach .,he study n know how to position his players

• fred 9 years ago

Awudu Issaka just want ghanaians to know that he is still around.he shd give us a break.

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 9 years ago

I have always loved Essien and will hardly say a bad word against him. But I think he made a mistake there. Everyone involved with the team should have been attentive 100% throughout the course of that game as many lessons wo ...

• Kwame Nti 9 years ago

You will always be a hypocrite.

• Abicus 9 years ago

Why should Fatau Dauda do this to Kwarasey. Fatau God will punish U !!!!

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Awudu Issaka should be talking about the quality of play and not people sitting on the bench especially when the person had already played the first half. Very useless unprofessional and unproductive comment.

BACK IN 2000 THESE GUYS WERE EVERYWHERE. I REMEMBER SEEING THE SATTELITES TEAM AT HIS MAJESTY NITE CLUB. ISSAKA WITH HIS BLONDE HAIR...LOL
    INDISCIPLINE N LACK OF PROFESSIONAL ATTITUDE SHORTENED THE CAREER OF MANY OF THESE AW ...

• GRATEFUL CITIZEN 9 years ago

Unprofessionalism on the part of Essien? Give the guy a break. Awudu is just seeking attention. Im sure that some of the Netherland players were also chatting without even focusing on the game. If thats the problem, then ever ...

• ebo kobina 9 years ago

WE KNOW SOME PEOPLE ALWAYS WANT TO BE HEARD . BUT I CAN TELL YOU GUYS THAT THERE IS TOO MUCH ENVINESS SHOWN BY MANY GHANAIANS ON THIS FORUM TOWARDS ESSIEN . PLEASE LEAVE THE GUY ALONE TO ENJOY HIS GOD GIVEN TALENT.

• Descartes 9 years ago

YOU ARE ONE HUNDRED PERSENT RIGHT.HIS BEHAVIOUR WAS DISRESPECTFUL TO THE COACHES,TEAM AND SHAMEFUL TO GHANAIANS.ONECE YOU WEAR A NATIONAL JERSEY,YOU ARE REPRESENTATIVE OF A NATION AND THEREFORE DISCIPLINE AND RESPECT IS EXPEC ...

• Yapei 9 years ago

pls let us not go there Essien is a shy person he just want to hide away from the cameraman so just leave him alone

• aaa 9 years ago

it is just friendlies....essential for the coach to establish chemistry. the is a big gap b/n real game and friendlies

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

MR. AWUDU YOU JUST WANT TO BE HEARD. JUST FOR YOUR IGNORANCE SAKE THE GAME WAS NOT WORLD CUP. IT WAS A FRIENDLY MATCH IN CASE YOU DID NOT KNOW. ALL THESE COMMENTS ARE UNCALLED FOR. FIND SOMETHING IMPROTANT TO CRY ABOUT AND I ...

• DD 9 years ago

Ok... so I'm a BIG huge fan of the Essien and co... but I wasn't happy about what Isaka has pointed out! Honestly, I thought I was the only one who noticed it! It was UNPROFESSIONAL!! PERIOD!! Whether warm up or main mega mat ...

• Kwame Osam 9 years ago

I also did watch the match and when the scene under discussion came up for viewers, I immediately felt something was not right although I could figure it out. I had never seen it that way before in any game, be it big or smal ...

• JOSEPH ATTAH-MENSAH AKA CAESAR. 9 years ago

IS AKWASI IN CHARGE. FINES SHOULD BE IMPOSED ON UNPROFESSIONAL BEHAVIOR.

• Waris 9 years ago

Awudu Issaka is absolutley right. Essien looked very unprofessional sitting like that. Even if it is a friendly, it was organised under the auspices of FIFA and players especially the captain should be absolutely engaged on ...

• Ei Alaji 9 years ago

Tot was the only 1 that saw that,,,, ghana Ghana ,,, is there decilpine in the camp ?

• seaman uk 9 years ago

Essien even turned his back to his paternal/ real father during his father's existence on mother earth. Essien did not take care of his father as expected of him. Essien is a BACK TURNER you are right Awudu

• Richard 9 years ago

So why dont you go replace him on the team?? Can you play? who the fuck are you? Why are you bringing his personal stuff here? Did you take care of his daddy? Do you the circumstances? Shut your dirty mouth!!!

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

Richards don`t reason like that.Anyway there are always bad nuts every where.

• Me 9 years ago

Infact the incident was very very bad. The camera man was so shocked to notice Essien's posture and thus beamed the camera on him. I saw it and felt very sad for what Essien was doing. Remember he acted similarly in Angola - ...

• Kwadwo DK 9 years ago

what was there for Essien to watch, the worst black star have ever played it was so shameful to watch, so I can understand Michael. Did any of you watch Cameroon and Germany that was what I call friendly match, may the Most H ...

• mugu1 9 years ago

Awudu Issaka ass licking dog will you guys stop with that negetive propaganda.what is wrong with you Ghanaians ?
    m. essien you did well in the match don't pay attention these brain dead people

• Richard 9 years ago

Stop this nonsense people! Leave the Man alone! If you can play, please go get a jersey, if not, shut the fuck up!!! You ain't the coach!!!

• BABAGNA, WA 9 years ago

don't forment trouble, it is needless.

• EMMA 9 years ago

Awaudu could have become one of the greatest players of all time. What did he do with his talent? now he talks about Essien as if Essien is the coach.

• JOHn 9 years ago

This team is without a local player except the 3rd goalkeeper. That to me is a bad omen!!!

• Adjei 9 years ago

Guys just calm down, Essien was urinating thats all. Don`t make a mess about that.

• Yakubu 9 years ago

Some people just have to give Essien a break, haba!

• Kwaku, LA 9 years ago

I always like Essien, but I was how he (deputy captain) has turned his back to the game, and the players ignoring to replace the injured player. I shocked my head. Thought I was the only who saw that, till a friend call me fr ...

• ATLANTA FUN 9 years ago

Please Mr Issaka you should have called one of your player friends at the Black Stars camp before going on AIR.This was what happened, Essien took a heavy knock and Coach APPIAH didn,t want to RISK one of his Big Boys and the ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER! 9 years ago

WISH YOU CAN SLAP AWUDU ISSAKA FOR ME.GO GHANA GO OGOGLO QUARTER !!!

• TT 9 years ago

GHANAIANS PLEASE , IT IS TOO EARLY LET's ALLOW THE PLAYERS TO CONCENTRATE , 25 MILLION COACHES IN GHANA .!!!!!!!!!!

• ??? 9 years ago

I WAS SUPRISE If you aren't going all the way,why go at all?

• ALE TSE 9 years ago

Non sense Wudu Issaka packed his things from camp and vowed not to play for the Black Stars again because he wasn't allowed to come to camp with his car and now he his talking against somebody who does he think he is dirty ...

• Man O War 9 years ago

It is just a tune up game. People get real. Essien can do whatever he wants as long as it doesn't affect the coach. The team is a cohesive unit so people just chill and let the game begin.

• Staph 9 years ago

Why some of this guys envy essien

• Iniinii Agosu 9 years ago

What Awudu saw and felt the same millions of Ghanaians saw and f Eet lt.Essien and others should be ashamed. This display of lack of of interest and disunity ought to be addressed by the coach.The bench need to show support.

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

Harry Zakkour the disappointed Lebanese,half Taliban doesn't have confident in Black stars why?

• Alex Kwame Munkoh 9 years ago

We are all Ghanaians and we should all die for our country in terms of serving our country.l hoped the Ghanaian coach should standfirm to put these boys together to teamup for the Best of our country

• Whatever 9 years ago

You must be professional, you're being paid for that

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 9 years ago

All you fools should you go ask Essien why his back was facing the field or the camera before you write nonsense. A bunch of idiots. Yes, I said it.

• big boy weezy 9 years ago

All nation are are depending on the youth look at him what kind of experience does essien have useless boy appiah should be bold and drop him that's why i like white coaches