You are here: HomeSports2014 05 29Article 310934

Zakkour rubbishes Ghana's title hopes

Read Comments Comments (69)

• TEE 9 years ago

well said my brother. and they can start by working even hard. approaching every game with a different mentality, success is not given, it's rather earned.

• PROF 9 years ago

HARRY IS A TRUTHFUL MAN. WE WILL WIN THE WORLD CUP ONE DAY BUT NOT THIS YEAR.
    WE DONT HAVE THE TEAM AND THE COACHING STAFF.

YOU CAN SAY ACCRA IS CLEANER THAN AMSTERDAM BCOS U R GHANAIAN BUT IT DOES NOT MAKE IT THE TRUTH.

• DOCTOR 9 years ago

PHONEY, STUPID "PROF", YOU CALL YOURSELF A PROFESSOR AND YOU DO NOT KNOW THAT PHYSICAL CLEANLINESS CAN BE SEEN AND SMELLED BUT BUT FOOTBALL RESULTS CANNOT BE PREDICTED WITH CERTAINTY?
    WHAT A DUMB COMPARISON!

KWASEA, DID Y ...

• Akamai 9 years ago

This team is better than 2010 WC.., if we get out of group anything can happen

• PROF 9 years ago

PELE SAID AN AFRICAN NATION WOULD WIN THE WORLD CUP BY THE YR 2000.
    IT IS 14 YRS NOW, PELE THE GREAT IS STILL WAITING.

• Me4U 9 years ago

True talk but that is not motivative for our players and handlers. We need to help them with a winning mentality, although everyone knows that getting out of the group is going to be very difficult. If we are able to get out, ...

• Temat 9 years ago

To beat Germany or Portugal is a tough nut but nothing is impossible because in today's world of soccer no nation can be underrated.Names do not count anymore because they are international professionals and have played sever ...

• ,, 9 years ago

Something special always happens when an African team is a threat. Study the history and prove me wrong.

• PROF 9 years ago

AN AFRICAN COUNTRY WOULD HAVE TO REACH THE SEMIS FIRST.
    OUR PROBLEM IS NOT TALENT. IT IS MANAGEMENT AND LEADERSHIP.

• Akwasi 9 years ago

Zakkour wake up you are dreaming.The boys will put you to shame.

• Ern 9 years ago

Akwasi, you are the one rather who is dreaming.
    Even England know they cannot win it, and are putting in a plan to build a solid squad to try win it in 2022, even that, they say maybe.
    Ghana is the only country where we get ...

• Ekow Sam 9 years ago

Akwasi you said even England can not win it. I will not rate England that much if I were u

• Ern 9 years ago

Ekow Sam, you think player for player, or as a team, Ghana are better than England?

• Tuga 9 years ago

Where from this idiot? Mr foolish man anything is possible before God.God can make impossible to be possible.

• ALLOTEY 9 years ago

IF YOU ARE SO BRAVE TO SPIT OUT UNREQUESTED TRUTHS THEN WHY ARE YOU SITTING PASSIVELY BY WHILE AFEDE DRAG HEARTS DOWN.WE NNED YOUR COURAGE AND SELFLESSNESS IN THE HEARTS FAMILY AFFAIRS TOO NOT JUST NATIONAL AFFAIRS.SPEAK UP Z ...

• Kk3 9 years ago

Let's get this straight, Ghana will not win the World Cup. Not in this world......

• KOFI BONSU 9 years ago

very difficult to swallow the truth but that is it.Harry has said the truth,Ghana should think of coming out from the group,We pray they come out from the group.KWESI APPIAH the coach is joker.

• jabez 9 years ago

Do you know David the GIANT KILLER?.
    Well to let you know when you believe you can win, you will win.
    The current black stars believe they can win so they will win!!!
    Let us all rally behind this team and see how far they ...

• ofa k 9 years ago

i like honest people and harry zakour proved to be one, i admire your honesty

• Agyaaku 9 years ago

Thank you Mr Zakkour. People, led by the Press, are only day dreaming about Ghana winning the World Cup. People should better not fear to tell the truth as it is. The current Black Stars cannot win this year's World Cup. Peri ...

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

REMEMBER 2010? WE WERE GOING TO WIN THE CUP BUT FOR THE STUPIDITY OF MY STAR PLAYER-GYAN. LOOK AT THE PERFORMANCE OF THE U20 TEAM, I TELL YOU THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH YOUR JUDGEMENT. THESE SO CALLED FAVOURITES ARE LIVING ...

• pataku 9 years ago

who knows David will beat" Goalite".so tell me if Ghana can not win the cup let me know exactly what country is gonna win the cup.

• Animal Farm 9 years ago

Thanks Zakkour. Ghanaians hardly hear the truth.They are always been fed with lies and most them seem to believe whatever they are told.

• adjen kotoku 9 years ago

Even though am not Hearts of oak fan but Harry is my mentor far back in days of olympics as chairman. Busstop resturant boss. he knows about foot ball, there,s no way ghana can even qalify in our group.b,cos being in group s ...

• Tamakloe 9 years ago

Nonsense. In 2006, Czech Republic was ranked #2 but we whacked them.

• ??? 9 years ago

THEY CANT BEAT THE GERMANS AND THE PORTUGEES.ASK THOSE WHO ARE MAKING THIS NOISE IF THET CAN BET THEIR LAST 100CEDIS ON BS BEATING GER OR POR.I PERSONALLY CANT BET.BCOS THE NEXT MORNING I CANT AFFORD BREAD AND AKASAH

• ALEX 9 years ago

YOU MUST FIRST HAVE A KEEPER LIKE THE SPANISH KEEPER,

• koo frank 9 years ago

Massa. The man is right. Let us face the reality. Sometimes our boys can even pass the ball properly. They forget to run into space to receive passes. How can you compare our team the likes of Brasil/Spain/Gremany/ like at Ro ...

• Charles 9 years ago

Football is not played on paper. On the field of play, wonders happen.
    Accra Great Olympics

• C.O.D 9 years ago

To win the WC, a team must boast of at least 5 world class players on paper. But in tournaments, anything is possible under the Sun. Does our team deep enough to clinch it? Not yet !

• ??? 9 years ago

not yet not yet

• Analyst 9 years ago

There is nothing wrong if you aim to win the ultimate. What difference would it make if we aimed otherwise? After all when the tournament is over and we don't win it (or we win it), life continues normal.
    It is a good menta ...

• Nana 9 years ago

Tell them the truth.We underrate ourselves too much.

• Son of the Soil 9 years ago

One step at a time, lets get out of the group stage first. l am not saying we should not aim high, but at least lets jump over one hurdle at a time and prepare for the next one. And if we can keep on focusing solely on one ga ...

• salinsa 9 years ago

so we shouldn't expect the best?

• Ern 9 years ago

you should be realistic. I also expect the best and hope to be a footballer earning big money one day, but thats not going to happen is it? therefore I do my 9-5. People like you who are not realistic will always be disappoin ...

• Charles 9 years ago

These are different. U she'd not expect 2 yr old to chew the bone of a 17 yr old rabbit. Games take on a different dimension. Serena Williams was knocked out today. In 2004(historical), Greece were European champs while all ...

• ??? 9 years ago

DREAMING

• Ern 9 years ago

Charles, ha ha. I am not saying we should not hope for the best. In a competition, sometimes you can get a lucky run. Yes I agree. Let us hope, but let us not EXPECT! There is a difference. I hope I will find £10 on the floo ...

• Charles 9 years ago

Hope & expect are synonymous - looking up to sth with reasonable confidence. There is no indeed no difference. If we hope to win, it is our expectation, our expectation to win .
    Argentina, the world champions were beaten b ...

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

Harry Zakkour offri djatto no one could believe you when you promised Hearts of oaks that you will make them African champions but it happens is the same thing here you'll not believe that black stars will lift the trophy bu ...

• ??? 9 years ago

YOU ARE A GOAT,SILLY COW.AFTER ALL HE KNOWS HIS FATHER WHAT ABOUT YOU ?YOUR MOTHER WAS A PROSTITUDE,DO YOU KNOW YOUR FATHER?YOUR MOTHER DIDNT SHOW YOU YOUR REAL FATHER.I FEEL SORRY FOR YOU.HE KNOWS HIS COUNTRY ABOA BA.I DONT ...

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

response to silly goat, all your insults is return back to you cause you don't know my parents and yes know i Harry Zakkour was born in James town so i knew exactly what meant he is a disappointed Lebanese, and your mother i ...

• ??? 9 years ago

you do sleep with men.poor you.mamanka prostitude.

• ??? 9 years ago

ABOA BA.WHAT IS YOUR CONTRIBUTION TO THE NATION ATLEAST HE DID HIS BEST.SILLY COW MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWKWASIA

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

if you really want know check with your grand father he tell you the things mr.mugu yaro has done for the nation or get with joy ride and you know much about honorable mugu yaro.this tells me that you are just a novice in the ...

• ??? 9 years ago

With your entire 'focus' on your goal,what have you achievement?SILLY GAY

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

return to sender. kwasia berko, wagini ayegbe.

• KWAKU 9 years ago

HARRY WANTS TO KILL THE SPIRIT OF OUR BOYS EVEN BEFORE THE TOURNAMENT COMMENCES.
    AS A MAN THINKS SO HE IS!
    OUR BOYS BELIEVE THEY ARE CAPABLE. WHY DO YOU WANT DAMPEN THEIR SPIRIT?
    EVER HEAD THAT SONG-SOMETHING INSIDE SO ST ...

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

it doesn't look you have something better to write home since you gay partner expelled you so you just want if you want chat find a better place to die cause paa mugu yaro doesn't fall for all the stupid things you are doing. ...

• ??? 9 years ago

why insulting him?do you have something better to write about?SILLY COW

• KWAA 9 years ago

Nonsense,whether the squad is not or not,who start a tournament with the intention of losing?
    Our players think,they can win the cup,what is a more motivation than that?
    Even the US thinks they can win the the Cup,so why no ...

• Joseph Bonsu-Akoto 9 years ago

Bro, your reseating is false. Let's assume you are traveling from Kumasi to Accra. Do you buy as much gas for the journey or enough from one city to the. next? Definitely in order to do well we have to aim for the cup. And, e ...

• Me 9 years ago

Harry should have rather said that Brazil cannot win the cup. Yes no one knows who will win buts its very foolish of him to say that. When Ghana started in 2006 many in the world gave Ghana no chance all but at the end even ...

• Nana 9 years ago

According to their faith be it done onto them.A A and his boys. Aaaaa neaaa......eako...AMEN.

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

A Ghanaian journalist referring to the Black Stars as "The Africans". I stopped reading after that. Can't you be patriotic enough to write "Ghana" or "The Black Stars"?

• jt 9 years ago

I disagree with Zakkour,2006 world cup,Italy was not the best team to win the cup,but as the tournament continuons,confidence begin to grow and they took it,Is it because Ghana is an Africa country?If it is,i will agree with ...

• ??? 9 years ago

where are the players?can bs beat spain,brasil,germany,argentina,holland.

• Charles 9 years ago

Cameroon beat Argentina at the World Cup. More interesting, Cameroon ended with 9 men. Maradoña was present. Do u believe that? You better do .

• Alah 9 years ago

This man Zakkour, would he have said this if he were the coach or chairman of the GFA? Or would he have said like-wise, if hearts of his era were in situation of the current Black Stars? What a people (Ghanaians) man. Just pr ...

• Ick 9 years ago

I n soccer evrything is possible,2010 we almost went to semi final,so stop that negative talk,Ghana shall excel
    Black Stars we support you.

• Obrefoo 9 years ago

Yes,confidence is good,but let's do our homework well,qualify from the group stages before we can start dreaming.We may be able to get somewhere but then the officiating is another matter even though in soccer anything can ha ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Zakkour sounds like a Lebanese coach.
    Better give these ideas to the Lebanese at the war front

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

appiah is interested in sucking up to abedi pele and others and not necessarily picking the best players..

• Pablo 9 years ago

Mr. Zakkour, I am sorry to hear you talk like this. Imagine telling your child going for an examination that he is surely going to fail. We very often say positive things to the child though we are concious of his level of in ...

• It'sAllGood 9 years ago

Hoping does not cost money and everybody has the right to hope for the best, so BS go! go! go! go oh!

• Di Carlo 9 years ago

The core team might have a similar squad to previous but the bench is stronger than 2006 and 2010 squad,and that will make the fundamental difference as long as the defense is tightened up.players like adiyia,prince tagoe,dra ...

• hammadu songhai 9 years ago

more hope less wrk, less hope more work.