You are here: HomeSports2014 05 24Article 310419

Ghana is no match for Germany - Beckenbauer

Read Comments Comments (119)

• Sammy- Ghana 9 years ago

talk is cheap,bros lets wait n see.

• BARIMA TOKIAFRE 9 years ago

The field will decide but remember that the day of planning is different from the day of battle. Trust me, GHANA will emerge from the group. I am 100% sure about it

• askantwi 9 years ago

Beckenbauer has never had a Rude Shock before. I just wanna see how he is going to handle this one coming up. Ghana 2 Germany 0.

• ?2U 9 years ago

only fair judgement from the referees can prove who is strong.

• NII COMMEY 9 years ago

The writing is on the wall. The Germans are over confident, and we all know over confidence begets a great fall. Let's go all out against Germany. We control our collective destiny. Gye Nyame

• german power 9 years ago

GERMANY,has excel in world cup tournament as winners,finalist and semi finalist many times.They have proven world cup pedigree.Backenbauer has the bragg right,no African country has won the world cup.Ghana is no match for the ...

• MENSAH 9 years ago

If you Germans would recall,it took a long range shot,that could prevail against the Ghanaian goalkeeper,after a failed and failed formation.
    Ghana's defence,proved impervious for the German forwards,hence,the later went for ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

The Germans can live off on their history with chest beating into the future. But I assure them that they will meet a stronger Ghana on the corner and they'd wish they hadn't met us

• GEORGE 9 years ago

He doesn't seem to be having the slightest respect for Portugal team. He said without Ronaldo there is no Portugal team, which means Portugal stands no chance. He however, showed a bit of respect to Ghana and the US team. He ...

• Ghfuo, Pastor Whodunnit! 9 years ago

Listen u old fuck. If u think we are going to be pushover, then u got smthing get else coming at you like a rocket launcher. Gh is too strong physically and mentally. Germany is only good at tricks, coaching technics, beatin ...

• Charles Adu-Gyamfi (USA) 9 years ago

You are "magic"!!!!!! Ghana 2, Germany 0. Got it!

The only way Germany will beat gh is if he fb can suit up and play. Otherwise, forget it. Gh will destroy germany u racist pricks!

Senile old man!

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Do you remember the kind of "Nyame Boame" style of play we exhibited at AFCON 2012.Take a good look at Appiah's friendly matches against countries outside Africa(Turkey, Japan(Montenegro) and you will understand me. Pay atte ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 9 years ago

Rasheed, you are back again wishing Ghana bad luck because you hate Coach AA.

Don't forget we played Netherlands in a friendly before the 2010 world cup and got walloped 4-1 but Netherlands failed miserably at the tourname ...

• cofie 9 years ago

sammy,Netherlands were the runners-up at the last world cup!That's not failing miserably?

• paapa 9 years ago

which world cup were you watching,the netherland/Holland did better than Ghana.They beat the team Ghana could not beat Urauguy and the mighty Brazil,Netherland won all their matches except the final against spain

• MENSAH 9 years ago

The NETHERLAND TEAM you are talking about wasn't all that good.
    No doubt,they were merely an object of ridicule,by the SPANISH TEAM,in the finals.
    Spanish team was far better than the Netherland's and wondering why the late ...

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

"THAT NETHERLAND'S TEAM WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH".

False.
    They were very good.
    They earned a corner-kick, CLEARLY from a deflection.
    The ref ruled it a goal-kick for Spain.
    The subsequent play resulted in Spain's goal.
    Howa ...

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

If Ghana had come in second, you would not have written what you did about the Netherlands.

• dutch man 9 years ago

A netherland team that was not that good trash Ghana 4-1 in Holland,the same netherland team beat uruaguy 2-1 in regular time,Ghana could not beat USA and uruaguy in regular time,it took Ghana extra time to beat second rate f ...

Thank you guys, I am still reeling the one beer I drank at this funeral last night that knocked me out.

I am not that much of a drinker.

• sidder 9 years ago

you guys have made me smile commenting without insults...making jokes @ sammy... wake up bruh.lol

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 9 years ago

Holland were the runners up in the 2010 W/C.

Thanks.

• The Stallion 9 years ago

This Rasheed paa. I don't know how to handle you. If you hate Appiah, does that mean Ghana should fall?

• The Truth 9 years ago

You are accusing Rasheed of hating Appiah. Has anybody asked why you hate David Accam? You see how foolish you are Stallion?

• The Stallion 9 years ago

Do I hate Accam? I said he should be dropped, that's all. After all, not all the 26 or 30 players will go to Brazil; some have to be dropped, I lie?
    But Rasheed always refers to Appiah as "wimpy". Do you see the difference n ...

• kwaku ghawa 9 years ago

friends dont get over the bar here. the man knows what he is talking. in pure sense he is talking about his connections in FIFA to fix the match. He has done it before.

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

Please just remember that the one telling you this is The Truth, not me, DIAMOND.

I'm saying this because you, twice recently, accused me of some previous attacks on you.

I remember coming back fiercely to say you were ...

• gbomo bi 9 years ago

remember when we drew Egypt, same inferiority talk, we can qualify. its being the same since we bot into world cup. Rasheed please dp keep the inferiority complex to your self.

Egypt is no comparison to German football power.Germany and portugal will send Ghana and USA packing from first round.you guys are coming to make up the numbers.

• Patapaa 9 years ago

German power,
    Think about what you wrote... you guys are coming to make up the numbers...

Answer: Any team that does not win the trophy can be said to make up the numbers, no?

Therefore Germany would be seen as making ...

• steve 9 years ago

coming bro,you know what this guy means.He saying Ghana is RUbbish,not good enough to rub shoulders with Germany.He has no respect for Ghana in football terms.GHana will earn his respect when Ghana beat Germany and win the gr ...

• nana 9 years ago

Ghana will best Germany 1-0 in Jesus's name

Haaaaa see Rasheed. At least, Appiah has created or developed a game plan and what have you created or done for mankind to see? With this same "Onyame boame soccer", he's been awarded a doctorate. 2 years ago, he was making a ...

• Dr B 9 years ago

Remember Ghana and Czech
    Republic, let the boys concentrate on their game, it's everybody's day. Let the foot do the talking. We fear no foe!

• Nana 9 years ago

Germans are always like that during any World Cup, they did the Same Thing and serbia fuck them up. I was in Germany and they started Fight with the serbians that live in Germany in Frankfurt. Let them still Talk Talk again ...

• benjamin O.anane 9 years ago

beckenbeur should bear in mind that after they lost to portugal,they will not even get a draw with ghana,they will be third for winning usa or fourth for losing to usa. mark it or leave it.

• SKILLO 9 years ago

This same guy , Franz once said Africans cannot host the World Cup. He is very arrogant. Let this motivate us to kick their punk asses so bad...

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

These so called "experts" are simply blinded by arrogance and ignorance.

• Nyorkopio 9 years ago

Yes boss. Beckenbaur will eat his words.

• TWUM 9 years ago

You are right brother. Now look at how Brazil is fumbling but he has not commented.Forgive me to think he is a racist. He is an ARYAN. That is why they call him De Kaiser. ARYANS never see any good in a blackman.
    I do not t ...

• Patapaa 9 years ago

TWUM,
    Please leave out race card or Aryan. Germany has coined Aryan race to motivate themselves. What prevents us from working hard and making life better than it is? Stay focused and ignore the noise around you.

Here is ...

• Patapaa 9 years ago

Typo ... "reason" not "rason"

• Conqueror 9 years ago

FB's analysis are not bad but he will be awoken when Ghana beats Germany. All the Ghanaian players are in strong teams in Europe just like the other African teams going to the World cup.

• Harrison 9 years ago

Instead of taken time to strengthen the team, they rather prefer to renew contacts of non-starter coaches. We will see!

• nab 9 years ago

i thinking you are dreaming about early exit of this Ghana team. Even your own players know Ghana is not an easy walked out.

• ASOKWA 9 years ago

WE ARE NOT COMING THERE TO LAY DOWN INFRONT OF THE "MIGHTY"GERMANS.THERE IS A LOT INTIMIDATION AND MIND GAMES THAT PROPEL THESE SO CALLED GREAT TEAMS AHEAD OF OTHERS.IF WE ARE ABLE TO SHIELD OUR PLAYERS AND COACHES FROM THESE ...

• Appletus 9 years ago

Of course, who points to his father's house with a left hand?
    On the pitch, we will prove who is supposed to take the group.
    Good olden days football is gone by so fast. The game has eveolved. There no soccer minnow countri ...

• NEZER 9 years ago

I love these dismissive attitudes. They will never know what hit them. It's always gud to appreciate the strength of your enemy.

• Aba! 9 years ago

He doesn't know what hit Egypt?

• KOFI OF AFRICA 9 years ago

HE IS ENTITLED TO HIS OPINION. I DISAGREE ON THE BASIS OF HOW CLOSE GHANA CAME TO BEATING GERMANY IN THE 2010 W. CUP.

GERMANY IS MORE SCARED OF THE B. STARS THAN EVER!

• FRANCE 9 years ago

When was the last time Germany won the WC? Beckenbauer should know being a favourite on paper is nothing but the field. If with all their infrastructure they don't make it to the finals I will hoot at them.

Germany, has won the world cup 3 times,the last one in 1990,they lost the finals in 1966,1982,1986 and 2002,they were semi finalist in 2006 and 2010,so Germany has a great world cup pedigree/history.when did Ghana win the wo ...

• Patapaa 9 years ago

german power,
    You prefer living on past memories, no? You ought to agree that African soccer is getting better; that sooner rather than later, an African team will break through he semi finals, beat one/multiples of your lis ...

• lee 9 years ago

Germany is NOT powerful by your own logic.... The last time you won the WC was 1990... After that you just have been MAKING THE NUMBERS like everyone else... Last min goal saved you from humiliation the last time Ghana faced ...

we are that great,we scored more goels than Ghana toping the group that included Ghana.We did Ghana favour by scoring more goels 4 against Australia,3 against Serbia while Ghana got buy on penalties against Australia and sebi ...

• koffi parker 9 years ago

You were rather scared of Australia and Ghana hence you score more goals,that is call tournament,more goals the better,things will be different this time around my buddy

• Mr Fitch 9 years ago

With guys like you,we'd stifle our children in bed,due to lack of emancipation!

• Chester 9 years ago

You will eat your words,and congrats Ghana after 90 minutes.

• Nyorkopio 9 years ago

Beckenbaur is a dinosaur from the ice age era - before the age of typewriters. He cannot understand the Black Stars of today. He predicted a catastrophic world cup in South Africa. He failed! Beckenbaur will fail again! Black ...

• osu clottey 9 years ago

For Black Stars to come of that group,they must be extra physically fit dedicated to that course,its no joke,the world football critiques don't see the Black Stars surviving that group

• Nyorkopio 9 years ago

Yes sir. That is wise counsel. I saw doubters from out here eat their words the two previous times Ghana participated in the FIFA world cup. They will continue to eat their words until they come to grips with advances in tact ...

• apia 9 years ago

I only hope their lives don't end that way though.

• Patapaa 9 years ago

osu clottey,
    Do you have proof of physicality or lack of? Do not let others cut you to size. Stand up and be counted by working hard and letting your action speak for you! Our good Lord is The God of all mankind ... Ghana, G ...

• OSEI 9 years ago

FRANZ, LET'S WAIT AND SEE. THIS IS FOOTBALL. IF YOU REJUVENATE YOURSELF WITH MUELLER, WE WILL BEAT YOU. MAL SEHEN.

• STEVE 9 years ago

Well that was his opinion. The day will tell.

• focus 9 years ago

I like our chances against the so called mighty Germany. Football is played on the grass and that's where we talk with our feet!

• OhBlackMentality 9 years ago

Imagine Portugal and Germany and the US players....football demands a combination of speed, tact,thinking and coordination. I hope our men do not rely on individual exhibit of skills, unnecessary dribbling and waste of crucia ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 9 years ago

It is okay for some old git to come up and make unguarded and baseless statements like this. Why dont we wait to see what happens on the day? Beckenbauer is not going to kick a ball is he? Germany only beat us in our last enc ...

Is it the current Germany on the world's map or another Germany to come? Somebody tell him FB to guard his heart well when watching the match between Ghana and Germany. This is a match that'll take the fittest of the fittest ...

• Richard saanle 9 years ago

idiot Ghana will score germany

• Patapaa 9 years ago

Point of correction... Ghana will out score Germany!
    Please remove "idiot" ... there not need to insult others. State your point and move on to better things.

• Great brainy. 9 years ago

Is rather Germany who have no chance to beat the Black Stars of Ghana.

• COMMON SENSE 9 years ago

Backenbauer is shaking,time will tell.

• Soso 9 years ago

The blackstars must play with speed. No minute should be wasted.

• Boom 9 years ago

He will live to regret, let him say all that he can ,Ghana will beat Germans

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Typical Hitler response to Jesse Owens in the Olympic: No Blackman can beat the superior master race. You know what happened.

• Sam 9 years ago

Everyone has an opinion. That's his opinion!!

• kwaku ghawa 9 years ago

Like in south afrika. he will use his position in FIFA to fix matches like Ghana - Germany in South Africa. FIFI is group of bandits and he is one of them and he knows what is saying. It has nothing to do with the field of pl ...

• Jah -Mülheim an der ruhr. Germany 9 years ago

What Football did the Beackenbauer Played during his Football time. He only Play New York Cosmos with Rasak when USA didn´t know what is call Soccer but he wants to be one of the best Footballers in the world but he is nothi ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Beckenbauer looks blinded by his nostalgic memories of German football history to date. He thinks Ghana will be coming for Germany. He is so mistaken. Ghana will be coming for their football and we will see whether Germany ca ...

• edmond 9 years ago

Im rooting for Ghana just because but if ive to place my serios money on bet hell no i will go for Germany, you all know what i mean

• BENNETT 9 years ago

...IT IS ALL ABOUT TIME! TIME WILL TELL!

• Hmmmmm 9 years ago

Let's hope the referee is good on the day

• HE WHO THINKS 9 years ago

He who thinks he stands strong should better watch out.

• Seaman UK 9 years ago

Beckienbauer a funny man easier said than done who is Germany lets wait and see whoever says Ghana is weak is talking weak WAY GHANA

• Whatever 9 years ago

Geologically, the land of Brazil came from the the land of Ghana. So the Germans should think twice. Ghana will play the match like they're defending their land. The Germans will wish they hadn't played us

• LONDON 9 years ago

HE WHO THINK IS STANDING SHOULD NOT BOAST, DAVID AND GOLIATH.

• George B - Atlanta 9 years ago

what does he know about Ghana football? The trash talking can continue, but the Germans still have to play Ghana before they can advance. Germany will lose to the USA if he wants to know what will happen. By the way the winne ...

• Tiger shark 9 years ago

the kaiser as he is called has short
    memories.Ghana was not a walkover in 2010,He has firgitten how dernaby then struggled to win by a lone Goal.This time the black stars will retire mr loew permanently-

• Al Hajj. A A A Rashid(OH.USA) 9 years ago

Franz B. should stop this nonsense, because modern soccer has become so unpredictable he might have to rethink his statement.

Where was he when Algeria beat W. Germany in 1982?

And to think that he is the manager of the ...

• For Ghana anytime. 9 years ago

Algeria beat West Germany 2-1 at Tthe FIFA WORLD CUP 1982. Ghana can do it, too, with the right tactics, self confidence, discipline and above dedication to the specific job on hand (to beat the team on the other side; be it ...

• For Ghana anytime. 9 years ago

Algeria beat West Germany 2-1 at the FIFA WORLD CUP 1982. Ghana can do it, too, with the right tactics, self confidence, discipline and above all dedication to the specific job on hand (to beat the team on the other side; be ...

• KK 9 years ago

THATS POSITIVE THINKING! WE ONLY GO AND TRY!! ABI!

• A concerned citizen 9 years ago

We are now in the 21st Century old stuff are gone forever. If Ghana could match Brazil 0-1 and England 1-1. Why can we become David to kill the Goaliath[Germany]?

• Pond 9 years ago

Typical.
    Hail Hitler!
    Hehehehehe

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

Ghana will take this group.

• Analyst 9 years ago

Of course the greater pressure is on Germany to qualify or even top the group and they are already feeling it. And this is where Ghana can spring a surprise. But this depends on how good our preparations shall be. We have bet ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

The americans have recruited 7 (SEVEN) USA-GERMAN dual citizens into their national team! Our handlers and coaches better take note! The Americans are not joking under coach Klinsman. I don't care about Germany. I remember ho ...

• Justman 9 years ago

IF WE OUR BOYS CAN OVERCOME COMPLACENCY AND CONCENTRATE 90FULL MINUTES FOR EACH MATCH THEN WE CAN GO FAR.GERMANS ALWAYS PRACTICE 100X A DAY WHAT THEY ALREADY KNOW.CAN I BOYS PRACTICE 200X A DAY WHAT THEY ALREADY KNOW?

Did the ref extend the full time minutes for real Madrid? The equalizer shifted the momentum in madrid' favorite and athletico simply couldn't dig deep..to.come back up from that shift. Wat can aa learn from this user ask? Pr ...

• james naru 9 years ago

Yes, the referee was wrong to extend the time to 5 minutes. I saw the match live and could not understand why it was 5 minutes

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

HEART BREAK TIME WILL BE SOON COME

• james naru 9 years ago

The Black Stars of today is different from the previous ones.
    We will beat Germany 2-0 and top the \group

• james naru 9 years ago

2010 World Cup Group D

Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
    Germany
    3 2 0 1 5 1 +4 6
    Ghana
    3 1 1 1 2 2 0 4
    Australia
    3 1 1 1 3 6 ?3 4
    Serbia
    3 1 0 2 2 3 ?1 3

Ghana vs Germany
    23 June 2010
    20:30
    Ghana
    0–1 G ...

• danger 9 years ago

typical german arrogance at it best.they are really ignorant

• The Son of Man 9 years ago

They are well prepared, confident in their abilities and know they will win. Ghana we are expecting miracles and HOPE we win. On the field, they are better than Ghana player to player. Even the coaches and trainers are far ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

I hope Herr. Beckenbauer haven't forgotten that this is a tournament where any team can beat the other. It happened in 1982 so he must wait and see.

• danny alvez 9 years ago

we said the same thing in 2010 and we lost. we always brag whenever we are going to play against a big soccer nation but we have never won a single match against any of these nations. there is no way ghana can beat germany so ...

• A cool guy 9 years ago

Danny Alvez,that's ya colonial mentality. Things have changed..If Ghana could draw with England and lost just 1-0 to World champions Brazil. Don't you think Ghana can become David to kill Goaliath[Germany]?

• The Son of Man 9 years ago

Yes we can only dream. We can't beat Germany even if we get Balotelli to help us.

• boka 9 years ago

his is what i like to hear

• OKOE 9 years ago

WHILE WE ARE AT THE WORLD CUP, OUR PLAYERS MUST BE FIRM YET HUMBLE. REMEMBER BRAZIL IS A SLAVE LOVING COUNTRY AND WHETHER WE LOSE OR NOT, OUR AFRICAN PLAYERS MUST COMPORT THEMSELVES TO MAKE OUR SISTERS AND BROTHERS THERE PROU ...

• Agyemang 9 years ago

He has spoken just as he should. I believe in the same manner that Ghana's team can be undefeatable if we come to play our game with confidence and consistency.

• Adjoa 9 years ago

WHAT DO EXPECT FROM A THE SON A NAZI?
    Jessie Owen still hunts them.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

He can be right,we have everything but we cant make it because our own blackman will use juju to fight against his own blackman ,German dont do that ,This is one of our big mistake we do for our own down fa ...

• warehouse 9 years ago

WE CAN SURPRISE THEM SINCE THEY ARE UNDER RATING US AND U.S.A.