You are here: HomeSports2014 03 24Article 304117

2010 World Cup, Blackstars Earned $14M Not $11M

Read Comments Comments (61)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

so gfa n min of sports can use some of these monies to build stadiums in each regional capital? cant you invest in track fields for our athletes? can you seek sponsors for the premier league like the kenyans are doing? cant u ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER ! 10 years ago

THANK YOU MR WHISTLE BLOWER...GHANA GOVERNMENT IS MORE DANGEROUS THAN CANCER AND AIDS COMBINE WHEN IT COMES TO" HOW CAN I CHOP"

• The mask 10 years ago

My brief stay here has brought face to face with a growing social problem facing many Ghanaian female single parents.Many young ladies in their early thirties have had to make time for work and single-handedly caring for grow ...

• Paa 10 years ago

It's less feminism than stupidity. I also know a man who virtually sacrificed his career to try to make his marriage work. But, for whatever reason, the wife and her parents were determined not only to destroy the marriage, b ...

• Gha 10 years ago

What has this nonsense got to do with this article? You two should find the right forum to thrash your problems out. This has nothing to do with sports.

• Paa 10 years ago

I agree. But I couldn't help answering that nonsense from the mask. Now, let's do sports!

• The mask 10 years ago

My brief stay here has brought face to face with a growing social problem facing many Ghanaian female single parents.Many young ladies in their early thirties have had to make time for work and single-handedly caring for grow ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 10 years ago

I love your article, because my wife and I have only one 8-month old baby boy, here in the United States, and our hands are damn full. My wife stays home to take care of the baby, while I go to work and having been here for s ...

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 10 years ago

I expect you to know better. The GFA gave break downs on this money right from the start in 2010. That $14 million you guys are talking about includes the initial amount of $1.5 million. If you take that out, you're left with ...

• SARPONG, aka Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

You are really an idiot. What 1.5 million are you talking about? In 2010, FIFA gave each of the participating teams $1 million as preparstion money and that was not part of the prize money.

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Unlike Ghana in some countries if you earn money you pay taxes on it. If Ghana earned 14 million dollars as reported by FIFA it does not mean they will bring all that money to Ghana. So Mr. Writer you should have factored th ...

• Kanawu 10 years ago

I suspect you are a drug addict. Tell us why GFA should deduct 1.5 million dollars from the money Blackstars won. The participating money in 2010 was one million so why did the gfa take 1.5 million? Sorry, but I think you are ...

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

You make sense sometimes my bruda,it's unfortunate that all the promises given to our past soccer heroes is gone forever and until that is fulfilled to the fullest.our dear black Stars will never win any Cup,until this is don ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Dishonesty has unashamedly grown to be our culture in all things that we do. From the leadership ladder to the down trodden it would be a miracle to miss a step free from stains of corruption.

Highway construction projects ...

• Patriot 10 years ago

The Sports Ministry and GFA need to explain the discrepancies in the figures from FIFA and what they are telling Ghanaians.

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

This Justice Sarpon guy paaa. Folks, don't just buy anything.

He should first of all go check the break downs from the GFA before writing this nonsense.

I have produced the facts from the FIFA and I don't know what GFA figures you are talking about so it is your responsibility as an intelligent debater(if you are one) to counter my figures from FIFA with yours.

What is it? ...

It's you huh? I've always thought you've got your acts together and that you really reason before commenting on anything, oh God, I was sooo wrong. You go do your research well and you'll know how that $14 million became $11 ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

POW, I AM NOT SURE INSULTS DO ANY GOOD TO GHANA OR ANYONE. IF YOU COULD PROVIDE THE BREAKDOWN AS YOU CLAIM, THAT WILL GREATLY HELP IN ADDRESSING THE ISSUES RAISED IN THE ARTICLE. I HOPE NO POLITICAL OR TRIBAL TINT IS INFUSE ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

You continue to claim to have a breakdown of How the GFA arrived at the $11 million so what is preventing you from producing such information here?

Let's get things straight here. I am not a Reporter let alone be a village ...

Am I the one to do your research for you? What I meant is very simple and you remember very well the breakdowns were reported so before you open that stinking mouth of yours to question anything, your first bet was to verify ...

Illiterate fool, you scumbug is the one insisting such a data exist, why don't you provide the evidence to shame the devil, you piece of faggot not worth a dick.

I knew you piece of yaka gbemei will soon resort to your stu ...

If I'm a "ganyobi", you're also "ashantenyobi". You started the tribal card remember. Did you even passed Accra to where ever you are? Was it not shoe shinning business that took you from the "Atwiaa mountains through Kumawu, ...

"Did you even passed"?

Haba, city boy, is that what you learned in the city school? Write;

Did you even pass,OFUI.

I feel bad abusing a retarded illiterate like you. Go and learn how to write good grammar ok?

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Sammy, you should not waste your time on this jss drop out.

"Aboa" didn't you make mistakes in the first story you posted last week? Check some of the comments you posted yesterday too and correct your mistakes before correcting mine. Kookooase boy, you'll soon know who's as illiterat ...

What mistake, you illiterate dumbass. Quote the said mistake here. You piece of intestinal crap is known to make allegations without proving any.

God created houseflies,tse-tse flies,ants,bugs, cockroaches, maggots, mosquitos, fleas, ticks, slugs, leeches, and intestinal parasites , then he lowered his standards and made you.

You are a real monument to stupidity

"Did you even passed"?

Did you even pass,OFUI.

I feel bad abusing a retarded illiterate like you. Go and learn how to write good grammar ok?

"Did you even passed"?

Did you even pass,OFUI.

"Did you even passed"?

Did you even pass,OFUI.

"Did you even passed"?

Did you even pass,OFUI.

• Rasheed 10 years ago

How many Ga people own houses in East Legon, Airport Residential area, McCarthy Hill and most of the tony neighbourhoods in Accra? Akans from Kwahu, Akyems, Asantes and Brongs own the best properties in Accra. You should be a ...

Rather feel very sorry for your self.

You human waste will die in your jealousy because your ancestors have sold your lands for ogoglo and renting rooms. You don't even know who owns Accra, you dumbass.

For that illiterate POW

• The Patriot 10 years ago

Mr city boy, I found your argument lacking in logic. If the "village reporter" has been able to collate his evidence, you "city boy" who knows how to use the search engines should be able to tell us the expenses as you have b ...

That human waste called Pow believe coming from bukom makes him a city boy. Only villagers and people who have nothing to be proud of hide behind the idiocy of coming from Accra as an achievement. I am a proud Oseikrom boy a ...

• Naasei 10 years ago

You might be an accessory to the crime being perpetrated on the citizens of Ghana. So far you have exhibited your intellectual deficiency on this issue.

• Rocket LAUNCHER 10 years ago

Go do more research before typing stupidity...

• SAS 10 years ago

He has given us what he found, if you have other facts to prove him wrong, tell us. So far you are not helping yourself as an intelligent person using insults to get your way. Do you benefit from the corruption going on in Gh ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Yes, Justice might be stupid and idiot to you the only sensible among the lot, but to us fools, we are ready to research his information to learn what is going on in this corrupt governing body that sensible ones like your ty ...

• 8540 10 years ago

use this money to renovate accra sport stadium mahama please don't pocket the money

• Haruna Mohammed 10 years ago

He just bought 2 houses in England

• Larry 10 years ago

Where do you disagree with him? Let's hear your side. Do you benefit from this stealing?

• senegal 10 years ago

you see, ghanaian journalist just talk only on radio , they dont do any research. thank you for this insight.

• KWAME AKROFI AMANIE,OHIO-USA 10 years ago

IT,S A PITY GHANA AND HER SO-CALLED LEADERS STINKS WITH CORRUPTION IN EVERYTHING THEY DO BUT ONE DAY,THEY WILL ALL ACCOUNT FOR THEIR MISDEEDS.

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

This is an opportunity to create, loot and share.

• Y3ntei Obiaa 10 years ago

'Cornered' the GFA President`s slot,and is willing to go court to maintain his 'iron grip' on that post!
    Parliament should invite Afriyie Ankra and key past and present GFA officials to set the record straight.
    I mean,it re ...

• Gha 10 years ago

Parliament should set up a committee to investigate our world cup financed.

• BISACOSAN 10 years ago

FIFA PAID US US$14MILLION BUT GFA AND THE SPORTS MINISTRY DECLARED US$11MILLIO. SO WHAT HAPPENED TO THE DIFFERENCE OF US$3MILLION ??? HAS THIS BALLANCE GONE INTO THE POCKETS OF THE LOOTING BRIGADE ???
    AGAIN, IF FIFA PAYS A ...

• THE FIGURES 10 years ago

FIFA must be invited to confirm or deny the figure of US$14 million given in this article as what Ghana received for its participation in the 2010 World Cup. If the Government will not do this, the opposition must take the ma ...

My brother, you are right but the $14 million is the correct figure. Just wait for GFA or the Sports Ministry to explain this away by telling us $3 million went to taxes.

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

No blackstars player can say he earn $14 million for the blackstars. Every ghanaian is a blackstar player, if we choose somebody to play for us doesnt make him any special to and other who didnt.
    Playing football for your co ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

You are not making an iota of sense here rambling on like a drunk. We just want the government to come out and explain to us why we were told of eleven million dollars whilst the figure was fourteen million. Is that too much ...

• Asong 10 years ago

Why is GFA asking Government for support anyway? Is it not the same GFA that went to court to escape being investigated for financial impropriety on the pretext that they are self-funding and 'independent' or some other sort ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

I THINK ASONG IS RIGHT. THE MAIN QUESTION IS THIS; WHY IS THE GOVERNMENT GIVING ABOUT $10 MILLION TO THE SPORTS AUTHORITIES? MAYBE, THE GOVERNMENT AND THE SPORTS AUTHORITIES CAN EXPLAIN TO GHANAIANS WHAT THAT AMOUNT IS GOIN ...

• shampele 10 years ago

what a country of corruption ? sports minister's brother been the spokesman for the same ministry . what do u think will happen . they are all thieves and nothing more. they should continue and it will come to a point that ...

• aboo 10 years ago

Why do u think the govt always profess to wholly support the blackstars when we qualify for the world cup?
    They govt. from the presidency to the GFA collude and steal from Ghanaians.
    This tournament has been pretty much bee ...

• The Patriot 10 years ago

Now the two agencies, Ministry of Sports and GFA should explain to Ghanaians the discrepancies.

• Kanawu 10 years ago

POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil is a wanna be intellectual who cannot even do colour coding even if there is a bird whisppering in his ears.