You are here: HomeSports2014 03 15Article 303390

Appiah's move to bring back Rajevac is 'backward' - Mark Gleeson

Read Comments Comments (115)

• Consider 10 years ago

One quality of a good leader is his ability to assemble the best brains to be part of his team. If Mr. Appiah sees it prudent to bring his former boss on board, let it be. You got my support!

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Some of you just write simply because you have a computer!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

TYPICAL TRIAL N ERROR TACTICS NKOAA WHICH HE COPIED FROM MILO. SO NOW, HE WANTS TO GO BACK TO HIS MASSA. LOOK AA, UR MASSA AINT SHIT. AS COACH, U HVE MANAGED TO BAG MORE GOALS THAN MILO. SO BELIEVE IN UR CAPABILITIES AND GET ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

As a player, Appiah had all the confidence of a master Defender. But as a Coach he appears timid. He lacks the confidence of Nigeria's Stephen Keshi. But I think he should have drawn inspiration from the local ex-players and ...

• SHAMU 10 years ago

Why are Ghanaians too short and hateful thinking people. Beside that, our sense of understanding is too personal and complete valueless. I really do not understand that at all. We can`t reason, undertand properly, thank at al ...

• Ikemens 10 years ago

Please avoid generalization and let's go the point. The critics of Appiah are not naïve. They have a point; to see their own excel at this high profile tournament. But, Isaac Newton once said, "I can see further, it is becau ...

• Evidence? You Got Evidence!!! 10 years ago

One quality of a good leader is his ability to assemble the best brains to be part of his team. If Mr. Appiah sees it prudent to bring his former boss on board, let it be. You got my support! - consider.

• KMAN 10 years ago

AID MINDED PEOPLE!

• NATIONALIST!!! 10 years ago

GFA NOW RELEASE THE MEANS OF CHOPPING MONEY IS GOING TO BE DIFFICULT SO THEY ARE LOOKING FOR A WAY TO CHOP SOME MONEY!! SO THEY COME UP WITH THIS INVITATION THIS SPENT SERBIAN COACH. APPIAH IS WEAK AND UNDER CONTROL OF GF ...

• Amada 10 years ago

OH SELLAS TETTEH, WHAT IS HAPPENING TO THIS GFA AND AKWASI APPIAH? OUR ENEMIES ARE HAPPY WE ARE NOT USING THE COACH WHO WON THE U20 FIFA WORLD CUP, JUST BECAUSE WE FEAR EXCELLENCE. SELLAS TETTEH HAD TO GO AND BEG FOR COACHING ...

• NII COMMEY 10 years ago

Mark Gleeson's argument is driven by sentimental tantrums of a white man whose guilt compels him to wear the cloak of empathy for a black man. Deep down, he is laughing, whispering to himself, "these monkeys need us". He shou ...

• mayor 10 years ago

he lack confidence in himself or maybe he is afread.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

AA would be a big fool to bring Milo/Coffee into his team. Anyway, is the GFA going to pay Milo? I just hate Milo. He is just an opportunist who may want to claim Ghana's success as that of his.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

no!!!, he is scared, afraid, not ready for prime time... wasting Ghana's money....57 years of independence and we are only going backwards.

• MAN 10 years ago

The world cup has not begun and you are talking about success. Mr. Appiah is looking for success for Ghana and does not care who claims it.

• Obournana 10 years ago

What about you? Block-head denkyira scholar.

• moyo 10 years ago

Pseudo coach Appiah knows Ghanaians will descend on him immediately after the world cup in Brazil. He is looking for someone to blame for his inefficiencies. Today, the country is paying an tactically inept coach $20,000 a mo ...

• Freddie 10 years ago

Consider, I support your idea.
    It is not that Appiah is weak and cannot handle the team. If he needs assistance let him ask for it.

I have supported Akwasi Appiah through thick and thin. But if this is true, then I would say let us begin a campaign to fire him. This Serbian coach was openly angry when the Black Stars beat Serbia. of course, one could unde ...

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

If it's true, is Appiah going to be the first coach ever to have sought assistance else where? No. When coach Sam Arday was first given the Black Stars job, he sought for Brian Kerr the then assistant coach of Man U to be par ...

How can AA trust this ingrate? Milo was no successful coach because the Ghanaian players at South Africa were already good material that I, with no training in football coaching could have used to win matches. What was Milo's ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

THE SOUP WAS ALREADY MADE HE ONLY PUT SALT AND PEPPER IN IT.

Yes he added pepper cum salt and that gave it a name "pepper soup". How would you have called it without pepper? You see, what Milo did was very important too and not every coach could've done that.

• mugu1 10 years ago

fire Akwasi Appiah now now,even this must not be news,milo must be history by now

TWEAAAHHHH, is Milo anybody's co equal in Ghana's football now? He is just useless and disgruntled man looking for a job.

• Obournana 10 years ago

There you go again, senior kuraseni denkyira scholar. What is wrong with a leader seeking help? Do you know anything about coaching and football at all? Why do we have goal keeping trainer etc although the coach is there? You ...

You have had always had negative things to say about my views! You don't even read what I write. You are full of hate!

• Obournana 10 years ago

Is this your reason for hating him? You don't even understand footbal yet, you try to comment on an issue involving it. There are many instances where two brothers each play in different teams yet, they are brothers and keep ...

You see unlike you, I have never hated AA. I wrote a poem prasing him. Unlike you I try to be objective based on what is current. You have made a career on Ghanaweb to crucify anything I say either good or bad. This makes you ...

• ODEIBI ODAI 10 years ago

Mr.K. Appiah nobody force you to accept the position you are now, so if you feel
    the post is too hot for you resign and stop disgracing your self, Ghana and African coaches. May God bless Africa.

• Nana 10 years ago

Since there is no one why not?

• Sincerity 10 years ago

By Dr.Kwame Nkrumah....The blackman is capable of managing his own affairs. Why do not you call past all living former Black Stars to constitute your advisers. A typical Asante man who belives in ....to solve blackman's probl ...

• Tony Yao Mawutor 10 years ago

It's a mind set; and inferiority complex for that matter, even Abedi Pelé is supporting Appiah in this backward move. A man who has played in the world scene like him still has that complex !
    These kinds of people r man ...

• Peter Dogbe 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah is a Bono not an Asante.

• Evans 10 years ago

The move by Appiah is indeed sad if it is true, Africa shall never learn if we continue this way. African deserve dignity.

• Consider 10 years ago

Mr. Appiah be firm in your decisions, and do not be swayed by these distractions. Assemble the best team possible. As a CEO of an American company, I know what I'm talking about. Thanks to globalization, you can scout the wor ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

It will be a two-way dagger in the Ghana media:

We go far, Milo gets the credit, Appiah gets nothing.
    We go short, Appiah gets the hit, Milo is exonerated.

You assemble the best talent in the world, you succeed, you g ...

The coach hasn't even spoken to any media regarding this move. Milo came in immediately when it was first published and denied the news. Oh well, we'll live to see.

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Ask Appiah to get into camp the 3 best players for each position.
    Yes, 33 total for his preliminary squad, and then select the top one for each position after training.
    33-man preliminary squad!

Everyone who is rejected, ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I am in total agreement that we should take everyone who is rejected, plus everyone who contributed in the qualifying series from Lesotho to Egypt, should be taken to Brazil as a reward for their contribution.

I just count ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Thanks for telling me about Ziese.
    I did not know that.
    It's a great management style.
    I do not see any downside to that policy.

It just encourages the beneficiaries (the unchosen players) to do even better in our next ...

Very sensible, at least instead of the government debating on sending supporters to Brazil on tax payers account, they should rather consider this idea. These few players cum other Ghanaians who'll throng the stands to watch ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Oh, yes, we can kill two births with one stone: rewarding the rejected players while maintaining the number of freely-sponsored supporters.

On the periphery, some of the rejects may even offer some useful input from ringsi ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

two BIRDS.

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Growing up with life, living in it at Betom, may have been 'backward' since nobody told me, a Diamond which is a rare gem could be, or are forever.

To see a diamond with one's naked eye, perhaps, one has to relocate to Akw ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

"The coach hasn't even spoken to any media regarding this move." ***Powacoto***

Coach MRAA long silence means consent. I'm pretty sure that there had being some connections between both men, but coach MRAA may have realiz ...

• apia 10 years ago

obi y3 na de3 a y3 koom...y3 diin. Good point Kojo Lee.

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

My answer about Appiah's silence is exactly the Governor Lee's (below).
    If it had gained popular support, he would have come out to embrace it.

Remember Milo also said that he was Ghanaian and that he wanted to stay?
    It ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

the point here is milo is dishonoured person his is desperate looking for job.
    milo went to give technical info to egyptians on last leg suposed ghana fail to qualify will he be trailing ghana then ?
    we must maintain our pr ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

You and I may have some principles but not those greed GFA officials who is only interested in the % they would get if these deal goes through guess how much they are willing to pay him.

"We go far, Milo gets the credit, Appiah gets nothing.
    We go short, Appiah gets the hit, Milo is exonerated." ***Secretary Diaminapock***

Haaaa you made me daff about your Akwasi Ananta drum thing, if you dare hit it you ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Just after we were drawn with Serbia for WC 2010, some called for Milo's termination.

But those of us who believed that he would be professional prevailed.
    But he got a hint.

In retrospect, that was when he might have ...

• David 10 years ago

Why is Kwesi Appiah humiliating himself? Does it mean he doesn't trust himself or does it mean he is not equipped, capable or confident to do the job himself? If the answer to the latter is yes, then Kwesi should resign. Wh ...

AA KNOWS HE DOSENT HVE THE CAPABILITIES TO OUTCOACH GERMANY, PORTUGAL N USA. SO HE WANTS TO BRING IN MILO. IF GH FLOPS, MILO WILL TAKE THE BLAME...

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 10 years ago

KWASI DONT MIND ANYBODY THINK OF WHAT IS ONLY GOOD FOR YOU AND THE TEAM AND GHANA AS A WHOLE

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 10 years ago

WHO IS THIS TALKING FOR AFRICA COACHES? WHO ARE YOU AND WHERE DID YOU PLAY? PLEASE MAKE YOURSELF KNOWN BEFORE CRITICIZE?

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

This couple go to an agricultural show way out in the countryside a fine Sunday afternoon and are watching the auctioning off of bulls. The guy selling the bulls announces the first bull to be auctioned off, "A fine specimen, ...

• Consider 10 years ago

What is important in football is the wining. At the end of the day, the question will be who won the World Cup! The quick response will be the name of the country or the team. The ready answer will not be Kwesi Appiah or Milo ...

• HOLY SINNER 10 years ago

This uncouth coach is telling us the Blackman is not capable of running its own affairs.Inferiority complex and he has already failed.

• Amada 10 years ago

I AM ONE OF THE CITIZENS OF GHANA WHO CLAMOURED FOR A BLACK GHANAIAN COACH FOR THE GHANA BLACK STARS, AND HEREBY REITERATE THAT IF COACH MILO OR ANY FOREIGN SO-CALLED FOOTBALL EXPERT IS ADDED TO GHANA'S TECHNICL TEAM FOR THE ...

• k azumah 10 years ago

is very good for appiah to have a backup.GFA list to appiah.it shall be well with the black stars.

• k azumah 10 years ago

when it comes to soccer Ghana no what to do.sa head coach is african and he lost 5-0 to brazil.akwesi appiah decision is better.

• ago - Mn 10 years ago

Akwasi go back to watch Ghana and Serbia Match , what he (Rajevac) did to you . Then if this is true that your talk to him then am give up the job

Don't blame Akwesi Appiah, many of the so called intellectuals from this part of the world did not believe that a Blackman was capable of ruling his own country when Nkrumah was advocating for Independence

• FARRASINNO 10 years ago

IS IT TRUE, AS KWAME NKRUMAH SAID, THAT A BLACK MAN CAN MANAGE HIS OWN AFFAIRS? KWESI APPIAH HAS NO CONFIDENCE IN HIMSELF. HE THINKS HE CANNOT DO IT WITHOUT A WHITE MAN. HIS ACTION IS A STAB IN THE BACK OF ALL AFRIKANS. VERY ...

• Okro Mouth 10 years ago

Mark Gleeson has never had anything goog to say about Ghana. Remember in 2010 he said Ghana had the weakest team among all the African countries.

What Coach Appiah is demonstrating is unfortunate but it goes to shown the inferiority complex that has engulfed the black race for generations past. If only he knew what hour we are living in, he would not do that. Ignoranc ...

• PRISCA 10 years ago

Roping in technical help is needed. He is the coach. That is his need and has made the request it is not "backward". I have always found kwesi weak on the technical aspect.let's not be emotional and "Africanistic" about this ...

AMANFOUR, ANOTHER BOCHUM DISASTER AWAITS AA AND GH IN BRASIL..HMMM

• mike gee 10 years ago

Kwesi Appiah, your move for Milo doesn't show smartness. Wait till you lose your job to him. This move is a sense of desperation

HW3, U THINK ITS EASY? WCUP IS NOT A CHICKEN HEARTED TOURNAMNT.....KESHI WON THE AFCON, BUT LOOK AT HOW NAIJA PERFORMED AT THE CONFED CUP? AA PLACED 4TH AT AFCON. AA HIMSELF KNOWS HE IS NOT READY FOR BRASIL...MUAHAHAAAAAAA

• chris boateng 10 years ago

Appiah is showing some sense of immaturity in the job he is doing. He should be bold, and God being on his side, he will surely succeed. He should be self enthusiastic

• Tj 10 years ago

Good move Coach Appiah. Sometimes man got to do what he got do baby. Go for it Akwesi. U are the man after all if u have to fuck twenty women a day to win the cup who cares. Rejevac is coming back period. Go to hell if u don' ...

• GhanaBoy 10 years ago

Leave Apiah alone!, he worked with Milovan Rajevac, he knew his quality.. So dont think Apiah dont know what he is doing. It doesn't matter if Apiah's move will send a wrong signal to Afrcan couches. All what we want is good ...

... And if that was so then, why didn't we give Milo man the upper hand to direct things instead of the coach who doesn't believes himself? Can a blind man lead those with eyes? Bobo won the U20 W/C without any foreign hand. ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

This decision is a shameful and a sad one. Africa cannot still manage our own affairs. If Milo was a good coach, why did he not succeed in Saudi. Kwesi Appiah should bow down his head in shame. He is even too timid to be a co ...

• MAN 10 years ago

In my opinion, it is a good move. Appiah should also add the former Egyptian coach, Hashan, the one who led them to win many African Nations cups. You see both black and white should work together and I think that is the thin ...

• Yamba 10 years ago

USA is coached by a German. Russia is coached by an Italian. Why do we see things If colours? It should be about putting together a capable bench.

• apia 10 years ago

People should stop the racism.

• Yamba 10 years ago

Who is Mark, a South African to tell us who should take us to the World Cup?

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 10 years ago

And that's why South Africa failed miserably in their own backyard. You are a brainless person.

• TRUTH 10 years ago

ALWAYS SOME BLACK PEOPLE MAKE DARK COMMENTS ABOUT OUR SITUATION,IF YOU DONT WANT WHITE MAN TO LEAD YOU WITH ANYTHING,THEN MADE YOUR OWN CAR AND YOUR OWN AIRCRAFT.

• Analyst 10 years ago

There is absolutely nothing Milo can add to our Brazil mission. Even imagining his return at this eleventh our is a big failure already. Should he be made to come will constitute a national disgrace.
    For a country who blazed ...

• jt 10 years ago

I hope this is not true,if Mr AA bring back Milo,then Mr AA should be sacked,infact I will very disappointed to see Mr AA bring him back,where is the confidence of being Ghanaian coach,it was you Mr AA and your assistant Mr ...

• Sincerity 10 years ago

You can send a horse to the river side but you can not force it to drink. Assembling the right squad deviod of favouritism with proper motivation will do the trick. United States of America developed their own kind of footbal ...

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

This idea of bringing in this coach has nothing to do with African coaches. all the Idea is about Ghana so if Ghana need the assistance of even. The great Satan to excel at the World Cup is up to Ghana,we all need the best mi ...

• Atongo 10 years ago

Apiah is proving himself a typical blackman. Has no confidence in his own abilities so he is crying for help and is seeking to call back his former pale-faced boss to save him. Dedecus naturae. Why doesn't he just quit and ha ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

That is his personal opinion and opinion just as noses everyone has one so just continue to voice out your opinions there is nothing wrong with that but just remember that just because others donot follow your opinions they a ...

• KG 10 years ago

Mark Gleeson has no interest in seeing Ghana putting up a good performance at the World Cup. His comments are dogmatic and devoid of any Footbal Tactical Sense.

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 10 years ago

Do you think Milo is going to make Ghana put up a good performance at the World Cup? You are the most stupid. Ghana doesn't need Milo to perform.

• alw 10 years ago

Appiah will fail alone - Tweeeaaaaah

• jt 10 years ago

My fellow Ghanaians,and lover of the game,i believe most of you on this forum knows what happened to Milo when he left Ghana,he has coach two solid countries and he failed,this tell us that,is not only about the coach,but als ...

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

I DO NOT SUPPORT APPIAH'S DECISION TO INVOLVE RAJEVAC IN BRAZIL. IS APPIAH SAYING THAT GFA SHOULD HAVE HIRED RAJEVAC BUT NOT HIM AS THE BS COACH? MY QUESTION IS SIMPLE, ARE WE SERIOUS AT ALL WITH OUR FOOTBALL?

NOW, OES IT ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

akwasi Appia must take a lead and urge every Player of the stars to buy kantanka made in Ghana car as the brand of 2014 world Cup celebrations

• Akamai 10 years ago

I read the posts and I see ignorance all over the place.... It's simple! 2 choices

1. Do you want the best chance for Ghana to progress in WC or

2. Do want to be emotional about Blackman must manage its own affairs

I ...

• Charles 10 years ago

Appiah is very competent as his results show. His problem is he lacks self belief. He is not bold enough to go ahead to face Germany, Portugal and USA and go into history.
    His greatest mistake will be to allow his fears to ...

• Emma 10 years ago

Akwasi if u can't do the job pls u better step down now how long we need to be under some one shame step down now

• kofi yamoah 10 years ago

Appiah is just like NDC no vision to move forward. You qualify the team out foreign assistant be inventive to go with all ghanaian brain period. Abedi,Desailey, Tetteh etc

• Aspes 10 years ago

If Appiah thinks he is not competent enough to take the Black Stars to the tournament, let him resign to pave the way for a competent coach to be appointed, period.

• KASAVUBU MORDZI S 10 years ago

What has come into Kwasi's beautiful head? Is it not the very man who shrugged him off as his country lost against Ghana? What will happen if the Stars come face-to-face with a country favored by this Serb?
    Kwasi should be m ...

• I'm thinking . i may be wrong. 10 years ago

Has anyone ever figured out how centuries ago, the whiteman discovered the existence of some physically strong beings living several thousand of miles away, built a ship and embarked on a journey to visit them. The motive ...

• watching the watchman 10 years ago

Very well analyzed. We need to start thinking right. Our so called leaders apart from Dr Nkrumah have failed us miserably. There is no confidence in their dealings or if there is confidence,corruption leads them to sell their ...

THE WHITEMAN IS ABLE TO THINK N DO MORE WITH LESS. THE BLACKMAN HAS MORE. BUT TOO LAZY TO THINK OF USING WAT HE HAS TO DO MORE. THERE MAY BE A TIME WEN THE BLACKMAN MAY NOT BE SO FORTUNATE N WILL NEED TO DO MORE WITH LESS. IM ...

• I'm thinking . i may be wrong. 10 years ago

Given it's the dream of every football player to play in the world cup, I pretty much believe each of the potential BS players will do whatever it takes to be included in the final squad.
    These may include 'kissing coach's ...

AA IS STUPID N DATS WHY HE IS LOSING SLEEP. IF HE SELECTS PLAYERS STRICTLY ON MERIT (FITNESS, FORM, NUMBER OF CLUB GAMES PLAYED, CONSISTENCY, JUSTIFY YOUR INCLUSION).HE WONT HVE SLEEPLESS NIGHTS. NATIONAL TEAM COACHES MUST BE ...

• Akufo Addo Jnr 10 years ago

If Akwasi Appiah cannot do the job, he should resign and let a better coach take over. By the way who is going to pay this coach.

• GBE 10 years ago

running to the european for help. Does he have no confidence in his intellectual abilities? He qualified the team and is fearful just like many Africans

• deRRICK 10 years ago

Why are we disgracing ourselves like this Oh GHANA

• Kusi 10 years ago

When an African conscientious person rise to an occasion, he keep his pace and head up toward the more challenging task, re-enforcing the statement that the black man is capable of managing his own affairs. When an Euro-Afric ...

• kwadwo 10 years ago

that is good move

• NIPA 10 years ago

I agree, It also cast a doubt if the GFA knew what they were about by appointing AA. Sad.......some of our decisions as a country makes me sick to the core. We never learn......any country that never seizes the opportunity to ...

• McJohns Sackey-Mensah 10 years ago

I believe Appiah is on the right path. He knows what he is doing, so Ghanains must continue to give him their faithful support. You see one's success is always tied with the successful people around you. Again l say together ...

• david nsonamoah 10 years ago

Its unfortunate if coach kwasi Appia could make such a move.its suicidal, childish and unbravely.it will do a lot of damages to our own coaches.my question to kwasi is this.if he knew he could not handle that post, why did h ...

• MOSIHENE 10 years ago

Remember this GUY snobed you in the last W C after a win over his country SERBIA,IS this a man you can trust?

• Wahala 10 years ago

Should Kwasi Appiah and GFA brings this coach, Kwasi Appiah will come out from the world cup as the most disgrace coach of all time.